Working in Singapore V19, All About Living in The Little Red Dot
SUSdangerminimouse
Oct 17 2016, 11:06 AM

I maybe looking into Singapore but I have one concern, if I were to have kids, do they have good childcare while the parents work?
I mean, does any of you who have kids but no relatives in Johor and Singapore send your kids to babysitter and collect them after work?
Is it expensive?
SUSdangerminimouse
Oct 17 2016, 05:28 PM

QUOTE(Fiona Chin @ Oct 17 2016, 11:48 AM) I get to bring my baby and nanny to work. He is sleeping now in front of me haha. Half of my room turned to his playground and bed. My boss is ok with the arrangement. Colleague also welcome the baby, keep coming to my room to play with him. Some company have their own nursery. Otherwise you need to go put them in either gahmen or private nursery, quite expensive but still affordable I heard, around 1k? Hand foot mouth disease free of charge though. wah 1k a month? Pretty expensive. What about passing your kid to a next door baby sitter? got such thing? In Singapore need to be registered baby sitter? I doubt most offices allow you to keep your baby in the office. I been to two Singaporean offices, they don't allow these facilities.
SUSdangerminimouse
Oct 17 2016, 05:44 PM

QUOTE(crazy25kid @ Oct 17 2016, 05:41 PM) hdb is public housing if u can own a property, you are expected to be staying there nanny ranges from 800-1k for working hours mon-fri additional charges may apply if baby stays overnight childcare center have diff pricing based on age and status of the child and also branding basically, 2-18months is infant care and will cost 1.4k at least 18months onwards, the pricing is 800-1k. this is based on normal 1...if you wan high class child care, the pricing does not apply. wah like this I should open nursery biz in Singapore. So good money.
SUSdangerminimouse
Oct 17 2016, 05:59 PM

QUOTE(crazy25kid @ Oct 17 2016, 05:45 PM) it is...there is also a waiting list for centers. you mean waiting list to get your kid into the center or waiting list for those prospectors who want to open babysit centers?
SUSdangerminimouse
Oct 17 2016, 06:30 PM

QUOTE(crazy25kid @ Oct 17 2016, 06:19 PM) then why aren't people rushing to open baby sitter biz when demand outstrip supply?
SUSdangerminimouse
Oct 18 2016, 11:45 AM

QUOTE(Fiona Chin @ Oct 18 2016, 09:02 AM) Ya expensive but affordable if two of you are working. Or one of you stay at home watch the baby also can. The baby so small you want to leave it with a stranger meh? Later got torture or never being fed he also don't know how to complain. My office is ok with the arrangement. My boss and higher up mostly ang moh. They value family value more. Some MNCs also have this kind of arrangement. Depend how you nego one. Bring your kids to work, everyday  . Lucky my baby don't cry alot la, if not annoying to colleague in office. Its quite distracting, actually to have your baby in office, even if the baby is in nursery. I know what you mean, nobody wants their kid to be in the hands of a stranger. How about the arrangement of in-laws coming to Singapore then going back to Msia after 1 month (to take care of the kids)? Or can they just go to the causeway and chop passport then go back into Singapore? Can that escape the 1 mth visa requirement?
SUSdangerminimouse
Nov 29 2016, 02:49 PM

Thinking of applying job in spore in near future
but fiancée, tell me if wanna go spore to work, cannot have baby.
any good childcare facilities in Spore? or nursery?
SUSdangerminimouse
Nov 29 2016, 03:04 PM

QUOTE(KilJim @ Nov 29 2016, 02:59 PM) If you cannot have baby, then why bother about those? well maybe can convince her spore has good nursery or childcare centers.
SUSdangerminimouse
Nov 29 2016, 03:48 PM

QUOTE(KilJim @ Nov 29 2016, 03:31 PM) I don't have experience myself, but pretty sure SG has better nurseries and childcare in general Now the price of them, and availability (location, getting an open spot) is a different story heard they are expensive. everytime I hear people go to Spore to work, all don't want to have kids. either that or one of the couple have to stay at home to raise the kid while the other works.
SUSdangerminimouse
Nov 29 2016, 04:14 PM

QUOTE(crazy25kid @ Nov 29 2016, 04:08 PM) how much is it back in MY? I have 2 kids, my wife and I are still working. Don't know. You mean you are living in Spore? But having baby is very hassle, because have to watch over the baby all the time.
SUSdangerminimouse
Nov 29 2016, 04:18 PM

QUOTE(KilJim @ Nov 29 2016, 04:16 PM) You have to understand the first world country situation (Japan, Scandinavian countries, etc) Even if it wasn't due to cost, the birth rate would be low But focusing on the money aspect, it's simple How much does you or your wife earn vs the child care cost? Unless you're earning less than 2+k each or have more than 2 children, it usually doesn't make sense to stop working and care for the child That's purely the money aspect of course seriously don't know until I find job there.
SUSdangerminimouse
Nov 29 2016, 05:41 PM

QUOTE(crazy25kid @ Nov 29 2016, 05:36 PM) so in MY dun need to look after the baby?  MY got my parents to help mah. And her parents too. Spore we are all alone.
SUSdangerminimouse
Dec 6 2016, 10:12 AM

QUOTE(babychai @ Dec 5 2016, 11:26 PM) Guys, Would like to know during interview, employer will ask you "Why you want to work in Singapore?" right? Mind to share your answer? TQ  I be direct: Money Money Moneh !!!!
SUSdangerminimouse
Dec 6 2016, 10:13 AM

Does anyone know any good job sites to apply job in spore?
SUSdangerminimouse
Dec 6 2016, 10:35 AM

QUOTE(Kelv @ Dec 6 2016, 10:23 AM) Which industry you are looking at? Finance/Accountancy
SUSdangerminimouse
Dec 7 2016, 09:04 AM

QUOTE(knwong @ Dec 6 2016, 01:16 PM) Employer: Reject! Reject! Reject! Might as well go to other countries that has bigger currency if aiming for money alone Other country not open door like Singapore. Interviewee: Just admit it lah, you need us Malaysians because your local Singkie staff are lazy and demand higher $$$. We Malaysians can do the same work but 40% discount. If you don't employ us, then in place you have to bring in Filipina or PRC people who will cut your ques and squat all day long. We Malaysian cainis are best option because we are the closest to your gene pool, culture and we work harder than your local singkie kiasu behavior. This post has been edited by dangerminimouse: Dec 7 2016, 09:05 AM
SUSdangerminimouse
Dec 7 2016, 09:06 AM

QUOTE(kai91 @ Dec 7 2016, 12:33 AM) when i interviewed, a few employers asked "why sg?" i just said better life quality (lower living cost - ignore conversion & better purchasing power) the job that i ended up at, my employer never asked me that, in fact he was selling sg to me  If he want you - he sell sg to you. If he not want you - he tell you how bad it is to live in Sg and beg you not to come back.