Working in Singapore V19, All About Living in The Little Red Dot

crazy25kid
post Jun 21 2016, 09:12 AM

Jack of all trades, master of none...in short, a NUB !!
1,424 posts

QUOTE(IwanAGP @ Jun 17 2016, 11:41 PM)
You consult the agent first he/she sure ask you don't move... You know why?? Their contract with the owner will stipulate if the tenant leave within "N" month(s) (normally 3), they have to find one new tenant for the owner.

depends on which agent
your agent is suppose to fight for your interest, not the owner's
crazy25kid
post Jun 21 2016, 04:51 PM

1,424 posts

QUOTE(knwong @ Jun 21 2016, 04:42 PM)
Whereabout in Orchard Road?
not exactly in orchard.
http://www.kln.gov.my/web/sgp_singapore/home
crazy25kid
post Jun 30 2016, 10:05 AM

1,424 posts

QUOTE(KilJim @ Jun 30 2016, 10:01 AM)
How many times a week do you guys withdraw cash to worry so much about the ATM queue?
Over here almost every lunch and dinner is a queue, the once a week ATM queue is the least of my concerns

once a month only for me. laugh.gif laugh.gif
furthermore, most of the time i withdraw, probably odd hours or cause not at the mrt, the queue is negligible
crazy25kid
post Jun 30 2016, 10:18 AM

1,424 posts

QUOTE(saddient @ Jun 30 2016, 10:10 AM)
what bank are u using bro? wow must be good in financial plannng.....

posb

QUOTE(Freedom15 @ Jun 30 2016, 10:15 AM)
Annual sakit...
Can easily shoot up to a few Ks...  sad.gif

did u know paying monthly will lead to you paying roughly an additional 6%
y not just "save" the monthly amt and pay it annually?

crazy25kid
post Jun 30 2016, 10:23 AM

1,424 posts

QUOTE(Freedom15 @ Jun 30 2016, 10:20 AM)
How did you get this 6% from?  hmm.gif

contact your agent and request for the amt you need to pay annually and compare it with the amt u pay monthly * 12 and u will know.
crazy25kid
post Jul 4 2016, 01:04 PM

1,424 posts

QUOTE(simonhtz @ Jul 4 2016, 12:41 AM)
Hi folks,

Matter of preference here, do you guys still maintain your Malaysia cellphone number?

Switch it to prepaid, cheaper plan or even cancel it?

i use redone postpaid...rm8 commitment per month
as my parents are also on redone, it is 24 per month and they get to use rm24 of credit but usually they use about rm20 only. laugh.gif laugh.gif

crazy25kid
post Jul 12 2016, 10:17 AM

1,424 posts

QUOTE(specopsmarines @ Jul 12 2016, 09:49 AM)
What are your AL entitlement guys?

Im being given a decent offer with 12 days AL. Im a bit concerned on this.

21days AL, 14days MC, 3days FCL, 2days CCL

Previously under agency, 12days AL, 6days MC pro-rated ranting.gif ranting.gif

This post has been edited by crazy25kid: Jul 12 2016, 10:17 AM
crazy25kid
post Jul 12 2016, 11:46 AM

1,424 posts

QUOTE(specopsmarines @ Jul 12 2016, 10:20 AM)
Thanks frank.
What do you mean by under agency?
Im offered 12 days AL with 1 month salary gotta pay back if I quit within 1st year, pay back 2 months if I quit within 3 months.
No OT pay. But I think the pay is pretty good 3.8k sgd

outsourced contract staff
that time the term was 12% of annual if i leave before 1 year.

crazy25kid
post Jul 12 2016, 11:46 AM

1,424 posts

duplicated

This post has been edited by crazy25kid: Jul 12 2016, 11:46 AM
crazy25kid
post Jul 13 2016, 09:30 AM

1,424 posts

QUOTE(myroy @ Jul 13 2016, 09:18 AM)
is it easy to apply for a work for fresh grad in Singapore nowdays?

no harder than last time
u just need to prepare a resume and send to apply.

getting the job is another different story.
crazy25kid
post Jul 13 2016, 04:38 PM

1,424 posts

QUOTE(specopsmarines @ Jul 13 2016, 02:34 PM)
He said company will pay the levy. Doesnt affect the salary he offered me.

My concern is, is not getting E pass or S pass something I need to be worried about.

that levy has to come from somewhere or someone
since it is being paid for u, it will come from the "budget" to pay the particular headcount.
if a levy is not required, where do u think the "additional budget" would have went to?
crazy25kid
post Jul 18 2016, 09:47 AM

1,424 posts

QUOTE(jungyu @ Jul 17 2016, 08:39 PM)
Is there anyone renewed your passport at MY high commission before?
What would happen/do I have to do if I can't collect my passport on the date stated?

the date stated is the earliest date you can collect it.
if u cannot make it on that day, go collect it the next afternoon that you are available.
dun drag too long though...not sure how long they going to keep it for u. laugh.gif laugh.gif
crazy25kid
post Jul 21 2016, 09:44 AM

1,424 posts

QUOTE(KilJim @ Jul 20 2016, 10:51 PM)
Can only beli HDB if your wife is a PR too though

still need wait 3 years after PR approved.
crazy25kid
post Jul 22 2016, 09:23 AM

1,424 posts

QUOTE(huaweie5830 @ Jul 22 2016, 08:19 AM)
Nope,

U can choose, full or progresively

u can choose, but whether ur company wants to accommodate is another thing.
as u do full, they have to pay full for their portion too.

crazy25kid
post Aug 5 2016, 11:35 AM

1,424 posts

QUOTE(kevin613 @ Aug 5 2016, 11:08 AM)
by law lah...
not sure how common it is nowadays for landlords to "not register", or "lock one room" then rent out the whole house without registering.
i used to rent one whole unit without the owner locking up one room, at lower than market rate for a unit directly opposite MRT station

So you checked with HDB whether the landlord registered you or not?
The lock 1 room tactic is for renting before MOP is fulfilled.
Registration is to HDB to ensure the HDB is not overcrowded.
The advertisement may have been advertised as a whole unit but filed as renting rooms.
crazy25kid
post Aug 24 2016, 10:55 AM

1,424 posts

QUOTE(tailtwist @ Aug 24 2016, 08:58 AM)
Buy a resale HDB flat and no more left to spend liao.....dont even need to go that far....unless both parties are earning 5 digits each monthly

both 5 digits cannot buy hdb liao
crazy25kid
post Aug 25 2016, 09:49 AM

1,424 posts

main complain i see is no friends
well...take it from samy vellu, if there is no frens, we make frens
when u were schooling, from primary to secondary to college or uni.
all ur frens were with u from day 1 till now?
no...u make new ones along the way...so make the effort to make new friends.
no-one taught you how to make friends when u were schooling, but now u forgot how to make friends?
if ur life only revolves around going to office then back facing 4 walls...it is ur fault for not having friends.
find a hobby and go online to find the interest group nearby and particpate
with that, you know people with the same interest which will help in small talk and take it from there.
crazy25kid
post Aug 25 2016, 02:12 PM

1,424 posts

QUOTE(zephyrus9999 @ Aug 25 2016, 12:15 PM)
personally i think friends are not everything. my best buddies here are french since i face them everyday, badminton / drinking / party buddies are locals, talk cock whining buddies are msians and prcs, ocassional drinking with aussies and brits. heck got even so tired walking around till bored of it. i think the value of childhood friendship means more to me. thats why i cant figure out how some who emigrate to places like aus & uk, will 360deg adapt to the social circle there?. Long run, end up chinese mix chinese also. Some will be dog tail wagging wannabe whites, but I have and know my roots and tend to enjoy the malaysian life despite how fuked our country is to an extent. Justifiable from a perspective of better living? Well just a matter of time before you miss the roadside nasi kukus nasi lemak, goreng pisang, 'challenging' environment, variety of sights, stuffs like that. well at least to me SG is culturally diverse from the outside, but no depth at all. just walk around and see how superficial everyone is. chasing time, chasing money, chasing careers, double faces in work, ultimately you feel the sense of emptiness. the infrastructure, development yes are 5stars but its more like catered from the foreigners success. like what locals telling me it feels like being caged, espcially when expats (bunch of them!) easily making >15k + condo allowances + good car vs them confined in small rooms and smelling mrt armpits everyday. opps, a little off topic

first off, i nvr said anything abt forgetting ur roots.
i just gave a solution for the part where everyone complains of being lonely and having no friends which is very much in your own hands.
u are at a new place....u can either continue complaining and be miserable or try to make some changes and make your stay a bit more comfortable.
it may or may not work out in the making friends part....but if u do not try, u will definitely continue being miserable.

for the other factors, different approaches based on individuals.
for example, generally, most of us will say the food here sucks
for me, i eat to live and my favorite food is mcd anyway, so tat is nothing to me
for my wife, she lives to eat, so she goes by the thinking of " if u dun nitpick, it is still edible" then once a while pay the premium for those food you like which tastes like back home
crazy25kid
post Sep 5 2016, 01:24 PM

1,424 posts

QUOTE(deodorant @ Sep 5 2016, 12:09 PM)
I assume you Husband and Wife both SPR? Installments shouldn't be a problem - 400k flat repayments over 25years should be around $1.6-$1.7k, which is under the 30% MSR. Then you can pay the installment from your CPF OA contributions as well which should help cash flow.

[edit] 400k resale ie 320k loan is $1,452 monthly repayment (HDB loan @ 25 years). I personally feel it's easily sustainable especially since most of that loan can be paid by your monthly CPF contributions.

there is also the part of "rent saved" if currently renting a whole unit which is currently paid by the take home pay instead of CPF
crazy25kid
post Sep 8 2016, 11:13 AM

1,424 posts

QUOTE(shawnmy @ Sep 8 2016, 10:55 AM)
Guys,  i would like to rent a sharing room,  if anyone had any sharing room available just let me know.  I'm not gonna  physically be there 24/7. I just want to fullfill the MOM rules.  HR inform its a new rule set by mom whereby you need to have singapore address prior to pass collection. Im currently staying at JB.

i tot they used to put company address for the sg address.

0.0283sec    0.47    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 27th November 2025 - 07:03 PM