Working in Singapore V19, All About Living in The Little Red Dot

LY115
post Jun 22 2016, 09:45 AM

185 posts

QUOTE(ThanatosSwiftfire @ Jun 22 2016, 09:40 AM)
Sigh tax quite pain. Too bad no rebate tis year
compare to Malaysia... Singapore income tax consider low already...

provided with the security in Singapore... the money is well paid for...
LY115
post Jun 22 2016, 11:07 AM

185 posts

QUOTE(ThanatosSwiftfire @ Jun 22 2016, 10:58 AM)
Isit. I still feel pain leh when paying tax.
No choice but to pay the taxes...

Take an example: People with taxable earning of RM60,000 and SGD50,000..

in Malaysia
- First RM50,000 is taxed at RM2,000
- Following RM10,000 is taxed at 16% = RM1,600
- Total is RM3,600
- which converted to be 6% on RM60,000

in Singapore
- First SGD40,000 is taxed at SGD550
- Following SGD10,000 is taxed at 7% = SGD700
- Total is SGD 1,250
- which converted to be 2.5% on SGD50,000

LY115
post Jun 22 2016, 11:13 AM

185 posts

QUOTE(Ultimaweapon @ Jun 22 2016, 09:56 AM)
I've a few questions, hope I can get some advice on it:-

4. What is a comfortable salary range for Malaysians working in SG? Is 4k acceptable?
I mean, without spending much on luxuries.

Btw, I've submitted almost 20+ resumes before landing this job recently.
Good luck to job-seekers out there!

Thanks!  smile.gif
Sorry can't really answer your previous questions... i think it is best to wait till you have the approval before commencing.

with salary of SGD4,000 ... it is pretty comfortable without lavish spending...
my experiences for occasion fine dining and normal meals cost only $800/month...

the rest you just need to plan out...
LY115
post Jun 22 2016, 11:35 AM

185 posts

QUOTE(Ultimaweapon @ Jun 22 2016, 11:26 AM)
That's what I intend to do, but I'm only worried if there's any repercussions... hmm.gif
Then SGD4k is ok I guess, not a lot but good enough...good to know  thumbup.gif .
Yeah probably still needs a good planning and budgeting..
the sudden change in purchasing power will drive you into shopping spree...

i bought so many that end up not utilising it... sad.gif
LY115
post Jun 22 2016, 01:18 PM

185 posts

QUOTE(Ultimaweapon @ Jun 22 2016, 12:54 PM)
A week, I see. Thanks for the insight. I guess the thing to do now is wait.
I was thinking of renting a private room but never thought of private bathroom.
Private bathroom usually comes with master room right?

How about wifi and mobile? Did they ask for deposit?
Are we allowed to install Singapore's equivalent of Unifi at the rented room?
Well, commonly is HDB Common Room or Master Room (with private bathroom)...rental varies according to areas...

Usually wifi will be provided together with room rental... else you may negotiate with the landlord...there's ISP provides contract free internet...
Depends on your work permit... Telco may ask for deposit in some cases...

If the unit is fiberoptic ready... you can install up to 8 internet services... sorry to say...Unifi equivalent??? nah...it's 100 times Unifi... thumbup.gif

0.0831sec    1.42    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 27th November 2025 - 08:18 AM