69 Pages « < 27 28 29 30 31 > » Bottom

USA Stock Discussion v8, Brexit: What happens now?

danmooncake
post Dec 24 2018, 02:42 PM

Market Up, Market Down...Wheee..
10,123 posts

QUOTE(JayCkat @ Dec 23 2018, 09:15 AM)
I am just cautions. The malaysian market is higher than the lows of October.

And we are at the end of the year where there is much window dressing.
Hmm.. I think KLCI hits 52weeks low just about a week ago. That's actually lower than Oct though.
It has bounced back approx 2.5% since then.

It could be window dressing but then again, stocks then to bounce when they hit the 52weeks low where
buyer are waiting but it didn't mean it will go back all the way again.. maybe a re-test will be coming or could just be dead-cat bounce if there's more selling pressure when it gets back halfway there where sellers are willing to dump again.

danmooncake
post Dec 25 2018, 03:14 AM

10,123 posts

Hey guys,

Christmas eve, SP500 closes 2351, it's down 20% now from the top. Officially bears territory.

danmooncake
post Dec 27 2018, 07:54 AM

10,123 posts

Hey guys!

Huge snapback rally tonight... Dow up 1000 pts. biggrin.gif
Santa Claus bull was late but he finally came but still gots lots of head room to move the needle back to the mean.

Let's see if there's any follow up given today is the first big one.

Let's BUY BUY BUY again! thumbup.gif

This post has been edited by danmooncake: Dec 27 2018, 07:56 AM
danmooncake
post Dec 27 2018, 01:11 PM

10,123 posts

QUOTE(mikehwy @ Dec 27 2018, 12:14 PM)
dows movement is almost comical! lost 1.6k pts in 3 days and gained 1k just in 1 single trading day!!!
Perhaps the "Plunge Protection Team" stepped in.. biggrin.gif

danmooncake
post Dec 28 2018, 02:43 AM

10,123 posts

QUOTE(mikehwy @ Dec 27 2018, 02:46 PM)
silly looking Trump was saying it was time for cheap collection yday??
Yeah..he briefly talk about that on Christmas day because he was all alone in WH, 'coz US govt still shutdown
because he didn't get the funding he wants for the border wall. Still waiting for Congress to put something on the table for him to sign and he gets what he wants. Damn stubborn..

If he keeps quiet and didn't say or tweet anything, market goes up (like Dec 26).
But, if he gets itchy fingers and start yapping how bad about Feds or China/TradesWar will escalate,...
market will start tanking..
danmooncake
post Jan 3 2019, 11:53 PM

10,123 posts

Ok guys, AAPL got whacked badly due to poor guidance.... 52 weeks low now, with -10% from yesterday close.
Time to watch for opportunity and play a bit already. biggrin.gif
danmooncake
post Jan 18 2019, 02:02 AM

10,123 posts

Hey guys!

The market has finally retraced 50% from the lows from Dec 24 demise (20% drop from high in 2018) when it
dips over to the bear territory. You can see we got a V shape recovery back to where it last dropped off the support.
The support now become resistance, and it's still chopping thru the supply after one week of hanging around here.
Very thin volume but it is creeping up to test that resistance area and it is showing signs of melting up here.

The question here, will it continues upwards or roll back down to re-test the lows (another flush)? biggrin.gif

Lots of worries and scary headlines that could dampen investors sentiments - slow down in china, trade war issues, interest rates hike again and yet-to surface the true cost to the economy during the US Govt shutdown these past 26 days.

Also, on the positive side, if there's no recession in 2019, US companies continues to turn in stellar earnings despite all the noises.. another possible 10-15% upside for SP500 (from Jan 2 closing price).

Whether you're bull or bear..SP500 2600-2650 level is a major resistance level here to watch here.

This post has been edited by danmooncake: Jan 18 2019, 02:15 AM
danmooncake
post Jan 18 2019, 02:14 AM

10,123 posts

QUOTE(mIssfROGY @ Jan 5 2019, 04:12 AM)
Ops...I mean the last time I visit this thread was like 2008/2009....
Well, it's been 10 years since we've the last recession.. maybe it's time again. brows.gif

QUOTE(mIssfROGY @ Jan 5 2019, 01:07 PM)
Yeaps....did many mistakes (teachers fees I guess).....ended up holding shares is the best tats why I stopped coming scared eyes n hands start itchy lol.
Don't be scare.. market goes up and down. if you're not a trader, long term holders of good quality stocks always win out - eg. Buffett, Munger, Templeton and Bogle (RIP).
danmooncake
post Jan 19 2019, 01:39 AM

10,123 posts

QUOTE(yok70 @ Jan 18 2019, 09:43 PM)
base on what you see in the US, do you think a recession is coming?
Technically, a recession is two quarters of negative growth.

So far, I have not seen any evidence of recession in US other than we have
some slow down in growth and corporate America still bring in record profits quarter over quarter and year over year but no negative growth. The projection for entire 2019 is 2.3-2.5 from 3% for 2018.
We have yet to get the real 2018 4th quarter report, it will be delayed due to US Govt shutdown but I don't think it will be bad. Yes, interest rates have gone up 1 full pts in 2018 but it still historically low, the US fed may just bump up another 50bps for 2019 only.

Recently AAPL and other retailers have reported slower earnings growth but retailers are continuing to evolve from brick and mortal to online and virtual market but still selling stuff.
Look, AAPL projected they'll make 84 billion instead of 89-93 billions for upcoming Q1 but it isn't any negative numbers. That's still BILLIONS and that's 1/4 of Malaysia entire GDP for the year.

A lot of the SP500 companies will continue to make adjustments depending on customer demands, eg. hiring less, reduce prices, and more innovation. Unemployment in US is really low now, and some companies have having difficulty in hiring.

Yes, on the global front, we got the trade war going on now, brexit and other worries but the govt will likely come to their senses and won't tank the economy. Yes, it was overheated (like the housing in China), we've seen China been raising their RDR rates but now with slowdown, they're pumping money back into the market.

Overall, I think the market will continue to play the music for this year, maybe more mellow songs instead of
rock and roll. laugh.gif

This post has been edited by danmooncake: Jan 19 2019, 02:00 AM
danmooncake
post Jan 19 2019, 03:06 AM

10,123 posts

QUOTE(yok70 @ Jan 19 2019, 02:04 AM)
very thankful for your detail sharing!  thumbup.gif

ya, like you said, that's a huge difference between negative growth and slowdown growth. I feel the same, for entire world, the cheering of economy is still playing out nicely. One rather misleading perspective is that some businesses are being beaten up by strong emerging new innovation business models that the old school people can't even imagine. It's just a transformation period. The biggest for now is hard store retailers vs online retail platform. If they don't adapt fast enough, they will vanish soon.

I also agree that for the political trade war leads by the US towards mainly Europe and China, it's not going to be developed into real (trade war). Nowadays, everyone looks for money, otherwise their positions will simply be replaced in the next election. Who cares about nation pride, everyone just care about making a better live, simply put, money is the king.  biggrin.gif
Well, not to say there won't be any black swan event, but the chances are low.

Also, the central banks are also watching the market but eventho they're not suppose to, they
suppose to watch economy.. unemployment rates, inflation/consumption and adjust the rates.

If the central bank raises rates too fast, (like the US Fed), they got scolding (like Trump blasting US Fed Chairman).
It's crazy.. never happen before but I guess US President also cares very much about his investments. biggrin.gif

China banks also got into the game. They lower their RR and then pump more money into the market.
This is Fed manipulation also.. so, we need to heed the mantra - "don't fight the Feds". sweat.gif

This trade war thingy will get resolved. I think Trump just wants more money and benefits and when he
out of the office later, the policies he installed later will surely continue to benefit his businesses and family.

This post has been edited by danmooncake: Jan 19 2019, 03:09 AM
danmooncake
post Jan 30 2019, 12:26 AM

10,123 posts

QUOTE(yok70 @ Jan 23 2019, 02:52 AM)
Nvidia has been correcting quite large lately, now at PE TTM of 20x.

What do you guys think of this stock? I read Jim Cramer's comment today, which makes a lot of sense for me. Yes, if it too depending on selling gaming chips, that's not a great growth engine. We need to see more automobile and AI related chips sales to justified its future growth. On the other hand, AMD is improving, and China's competitions are rising strong.
NVDA feels like AAPL after the disappointing earnings and guidance. Let's watch for AAPL tonight.

I think XLNX could be a better play because of potential expanding 5G space.
Also, watch for MU too..(they're expecting to report on March 20).

If AAPL disappoints, it could bring down the broader market.. eg. the DIA,SPY,QQQ

Time to load up if it revisit the Dec low.
danmooncake
post Feb 1 2019, 04:43 AM

10,123 posts

QUOTE(kevinpang @ Jan 31 2019, 10:34 PM)
Hi All,
Good day. :-)
Hope everyone is doing good.
I visited this forum few years ago, and I see some of you like danmooncake and yok70 still around here. Must be earning a lot. :-)

Would like have some advice from all of you here.
I started trading few years ago(with small account), lost all the money. Then I stop trading for few years.
Recently I attended Adam Khoo' seminar, who teach stock trading. I learned little bit in the seminar. Would like to try again and see if I can start trading again.
Does anyone know about Adam Khoo ? He provide Stock Trading Class. I am thinking of joining his class. Anyone know about him, or joined his class before, please do share with me some of his info. Thanks
Or you think I can continue do self learning ?

I have some knowledge like checking stock fundamental and some technical analysis.

Any advice are welcome. :-)

Best Regards,
Kevin
Sorry, I dunno him but if he's teaching you valuable lessons about trading, it maybe worth it to learn the skills.

Once you master FA and TA, you will still need to develop a (YOUR OWN) plan for success and figure out what works and what doesn't.
There is no guarantee but it's matter of managing risks and how you can navigate thru the ups and downs of the market.

One thing that I've learned over the years, you must keep your emotions in check, and NEVER let GREED get in.
Remember, Bulls/Bears win, but Pigs get slaughtered. wink.gif

This post has been edited by danmooncake: Feb 1 2019, 04:44 AM
danmooncake
post Feb 1 2019, 05:14 AM

10,123 posts

QUOTE(yok70 @ Jan 30 2019, 12:34 AM)
Apple is my thing, no wonder NVidia came to my attention. Haha!  laugh.gif

Ya, expectation on today's Apple report is low, any slight positive may drive up the price. However, US/China trade talk makes everyone nervous, so market won't look good no matter what Apple report said. Accusation on Huawei gave more tension to the talk. I like to see Apple back to 140-145 range  cool2.gif

5G topic starts to heat up lately after Huawei announcement of the 5G chip. Guess this topic will go wild along the way into 2020.  icon_rolleyes.gif
AAPL clears the hurdle.
FB crushes estimates.
AMZN also beats..

I think we got all clear now .. also the Fed says "patience" when it comes to rates hike this year. So, likely, may not be
in this quarter. So, all signals to go higher again by end of March.
danmooncake
post Feb 7 2019, 01:43 PM

10,123 posts

Heads up! SEMI conductors stocks (SMH) are on fire! Above that 200ma line!
NVDA recovered and keeps going higher and it will likely get back to where it was after the bad earnings. thumbup.gif
danmooncake
post Feb 9 2019, 03:27 AM

10,123 posts

QUOTE(yok70 @ Feb 8 2019, 01:06 AM)
OH, bear bear are back in play now....
I think it's a minor pull back here. Trend is up from early Jan. Buyers coming back in. biggrin.gif
danmooncake
post Feb 15 2019, 06:59 AM

10,123 posts

QUOTE(danmooncake @ Feb 7 2019, 01:43 PM)
Heads up! SEMI conductors stocks (SMH) are on fire! Above that 200ma line!
NVDA recovered and keeps going higher and it will likely get back to where it was after the bad earnings.  thumbup.gif
Update:
NVDA reports came in. They beat the lowered estimates and also issued positive guidance.
All systems going north now!
danmooncake
post Feb 15 2019, 07:01 AM

10,123 posts

QUOTE(Ancient-XinG- @ Feb 14 2019, 08:49 PM)
LOL. If another 60 days. wtf liao. haha.
I think Trump could be luring the bulls in for the kill...market will continue to creep higher with this teaser. brows.gif
danmooncake
post Feb 16 2019, 04:08 AM

10,123 posts

QUOTE(yok70 @ Feb 15 2019, 09:38 PM)
will trump declare emergency like a crazy man as he always look like one?
He just did.. just to admit he wins and delivered his promises
but if the oppositions file lawsuits and win, he'll blame the court later for not granting him power to divert funds and he'll say
"well, I tried.. but the Democrats refuses our beautiful wall" tongue.gif

IMO, market will continue to creep upwards... nothing will change unless the Fed come out and say... "aha, time to up the interest rate".
then we go down again. biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by danmooncake: Feb 16 2019, 04:08 AM
danmooncake
post Feb 27 2019, 12:15 AM

10,123 posts

QUOTE(mikehwy @ Feb 21 2019, 11:47 PM)
wow. just saw FB at 160!!!
The gap to 153 yet to be filled.. I need it to come down a bit more. brows.gif
danmooncake
post Feb 27 2019, 12:22 AM

10,123 posts

QUOTE(icemanfx @ Feb 26 2019, 10:15 PM)
About half of the 280 business economists polled said they expect a downturn by the end of next year, according to a February survey from the National Association for Business Economics released Monday. Roughly 75 percent say it will happen by 2021. Only 11 percent anticipate the United States avoiding a recession during that two-year window.

https://www.washingtonpost.com/business/201...m=.1dfaacb90a0c
I think the market will likely reach another all time high before the next downturn, there is a FOMO going on now.. that's why it is creeping up daily.

Also, Fed Powell got scolding from Trump early January.. he's keeping quiet now about interest rate eventho the committee may feel it should raise it this year. Inflation also creeping up already..we can see from energy price moving up again. Once oil gets above $60, we can see other consumer prices will go up regardless of tariff.

69 Pages « < 27 28 29 30 31 > » Top

0.3497sec    0.08    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 9th December 2025 - 05:49 AM