16 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > » Bottom

USA Stock Discussion v8, Brexit: What happens now?

Boon3
post Jun 24 2022, 05:42 AM

15,942 posts

QUOTE(Davidtcf @ Jun 24 2022, 12:21 AM)
you don’t trust DCA don’t need to preach to others to follow your style also.

Is like if one or Christian force u to become Christian.. but u strong Buddhist, u like or not?

We can debate which and what is each about but no forcing please. In investing hard to say which is right or wrong since both ways also got strategy to make money.

Here is US stock section.. very different compare to Bursa. Wanna discuss Bursa can discuss elsewhere more suitable. I personally only invest in banks and reits in Bursa as an alternative for my emergency funds. That is all what Bursa means to me. Dislike how our currency keeps getting weaker under stupid gov, hence can’t convince me to pump more money there. Also lack of foreign investors, much manipulation, and so much institutionalise control of the stock market (by EPF, Lembaga Tabung etc buy sell in bulk).
Hmmm.. wow!! Did I strike a nerve on the comment on Harta?

Anyway do yourself a favour. If someone suggests a 'theory' to you, for example, do not average down, run back tests. Test it out yourself. If it holds true it holds true. If it doesn't, it doesn't. Do your own study... look at the data.

anyway here's the post on Netflix again. I noted someone said my method of CBM was wrong. I am supposed to buy the same dollar amount every time. Would the math come out different? ( rolleyes.gif )

2017 buys 1,000 shares at 165.95
2018 buys 1,000 shares at 249.47
2019 buys 1,000 shares at 270.75
2020 buys 1,000 shares at 332.83
2021 buys 1,000 shares at 488.77
2022 buys 1,000 shares at 169.90

Buys 6,000 shares.
Total investment is 1677.67
Average cost is 279.611

Unfortunately share closed at 178.89.

2017 Buys 1,000 shares at 165,95
2018 Buys 0.66521 shares at 249.47
2019 Buys 0.612927 shares at 270.75
2020 Buys 0.488603 shares at 332.83
2021 Buys 0.339526 shares at 488.77
2022 Buys 0.976751 shares at 169.90

each year spending exactly 165.95.

Total shares 4,093
Total invested amount is 995.70

Based on 178.89, the value of the shares is only worth 732.1998

end result is still the same.

Again, this is what the data showed.

This post has been edited by Boon3: Jun 24 2022, 06:03 AM
Boon3
post Jun 24 2022, 09:05 AM

15,942 posts

QUOTE(prophetjul @ Jun 24 2022, 08:42 AM)
Boon3 Kor....the gauntlet is thrown.    tongue.gif
Firestarter you. tongue.gif
Boon3
post Jun 24 2022, 09:26 AM

15,942 posts

QUOTE(greyPJ @ Jun 24 2022, 08:10 AM)
curious, if dca tsla goog appl or msft since 2017 do they yield the same result?

if they all yield the same result then you have a strong hypothesis.

if not, you just pick and choose a stock to suit your point.
The point is this...

If someone suggests a 'theory' to you, for example, do not average down, run back tests. Test it out yourself. If it holds true it holds true. If it doesn't, it doesn't. Do your own study... look at the data.
Do think about that.

Now did I chose Netflix to prove my point? Maybe. Suggestion was do CBM on a big cap stock. Suggestion was also the go-go invincible FANG stocks. I chose Netflix. Well, you have the right to suggest I am guilty. No problem. But remember, in the Netflix example, handicap was given - purchases were made only at around each of the year lows. (in real life, that's almost impossible)

But think about the math behind all this CBM. Continuous Buying method where one buys a stock constantly over a period of time.

For me, I know my common sense says it probably won't work ...

1. It took the fundamental of the stock out of the equation. In real life, Fundamental of the stock is crucial. Yes, there are few stocks that perform rather well over a long period of time but in general, a lot of stocks, fundamentals changes - either the company own management or the economics of the business changes.

2. the math....

a) if the stock increases over time, a CBM will see the buyer constantly adding up. The average cost will increase. Simple math says so. One could also use the earlier example on NVIDIA. Where the CBM (again using the benefit of magically buying at the lowest price each year) increased the average cost price each year. Of course, the result will still show a win but at a cost of having a significant buying price.

b) if the stock decreases over time? Okay, Guilty. I was lazy. Or I cheated. I used BAT as an example. But the end result showed magnified losses if one buys every year, and again at the lowest possible price.

3. Okay, not so sure about doing more tests. If time permits, I will. But I don't think it will be healthy. End of the day, if you don't believe what I had suggested, run your own tests. This is what I personally do myself. Last time, ppl say Maybank is a fantastic dividend stock. But I ran the test, using the hypothesis of buying at the lowest possible price and if one bought and held Mayank since 2013, the result would shown that the dividend investment in Maybank loses out to the benchmark of EPF dividends.

4. Finally, when will it end. wink.gif

If I prove the same thing on TSLA, someone would suggest another stock.... hahaha... tak habis la...

Boon3
post Jun 24 2022, 09:29 AM

15,942 posts

QUOTE(dwRK @ Jun 24 2022, 09:17 AM)
go learn some ta... wink.gif

TA discussions lagi susah la... and lagi puke.gif puke.gif
Boon3
post Jun 24 2022, 09:30 AM

15,942 posts

QUOTE(AthrunIJ @ Jun 24 2022, 09:12 AM)
So far he is.

He is trying to provoke a thought in everyone.

Don't simply DCA, CBA, bla bla bla.

Nothing wrong with that.
If I suggest TA is good for you, wouldn't you want to run some millions of tests on it?

cool2.gif
Boon3
post Jun 24 2022, 09:32 AM

15,942 posts

QUOTE(greyPJ @ Jun 24 2022, 09:30 AM)
so dont simply average down, it can be said with everything else, dont simply buy a stock, dont simply hold, dont simply sell etc... its as good as saying nothing.

for some stock dca works, so cannot simply harping on dca fail.

in short there is no fix rule in stock market, we need a little bit of luck too.
No problem. I respect your right of opinion.

However, how about this. Since I had shown some examples of why CBM failed, why don't you show me back an example of CBM working?
Boon3
post Jun 24 2022, 09:39 AM

15,942 posts

QUOTE(Davidtcf @ Jun 24 2022, 09:33 AM)
Yea would prefer he use Google and Amazon as his analysis.  Top stocks in the US market.

Or heck choose S&P 500 etf also ok!

Boon.. 1,2,3 ready let’s go please!
If index, I already told you I would STFU la.

let me do, the first one suggested earlier. TSLA
Boon3
post Jun 24 2022, 09:44 AM

15,942 posts

QUOTE(Davidtcf @ Jun 24 2022, 09:41 AM)
ok stocks why avoid Google and Amazon then.. ceh like this cheat la keep choose the stocks you like.
don't get feedback from others pun.

btw I have not bought Tesla, Netflix that you've listed  tongue.gif

Apple also another good example can use in your thesis.
Walauehhh.... be a bit nicer can ah?

if you refer earlier posting...

greypj said..

curious, if dca tsla goog appl or msft since 2017 do they yield the same result?

TSLA was first on the list.

If I ignore, then also considered cheat? laugh.gif laugh.gif laugh.gif

Boon3
post Jun 24 2022, 09:49 AM

15,942 posts

QUOTE(AthrunIJ @ Jun 24 2022, 09:47 AM)
No,

I based it on gut feeling and some industrial knowledge.

🤭😛
Then WHEN can I test out your gut? laugh.gif
Boon3
post Jun 24 2022, 09:56 AM

15,942 posts

Ok this one last one...

** if anyone insist on buying constant $ each year - please enter data into excel sheet *

TSLA - buying 1,000 shares at lowest price each year

2017 buys 1,000 shares at 61.31
2018 buys 1,000 shares at 52.65
2019 buys 1,000 shares at 44.37
2020 buys 1,000 shares at 83.51
2021 buys 1,000 shares at 580.88
2022 buys 1,000 shares at 650.28

my data was from the chart posted on msn.money.

https://www.msn.com/en-my/money/stockdetail...tp&duration=Max

if any mistakes, please feel free to correct.

Total shares bought at 6,000
Total investment 1473
Total average per share = 245.50

As per post #10611

2. the math....

a) if the stock increases over time, a CBM will see the buyer constantly adding up. The average cost will increase. Simple math says so. One could also use the earlier example on NVIDIA. Where the CBM (again using the benefit of magically buying at the lowest price each year) increased the average cost price each year. Of course, the result will still show a win but at a cost of having a significant buying price.
The initial buy in was 61.31.
Due to the CBM, average buying price became became 245.50

And again, as mentioned, the result will show a win but at what cost?
Is it justifiable to use CBM and see the cost go from 61.31 to 245.50?

Boon3
post Jun 24 2022, 09:56 AM

15,942 posts

QUOTE(Davidtcf @ Jun 24 2022, 09:49 AM)
i still nice wat.. wrote nicely  biggrin.gif

sorry if didn't catch my sarcasm earlier  happy.gif  biggrin.gif

okok wait u do analysis on the 3 stocks I've mentioned. *waits patiently*
LOL! Only 3 stocks, boss?

sad.gif
Boon3
post Jun 24 2022, 10:11 AM

15,942 posts

QUOTE(Davidtcf @ Jun 24 2022, 09:49 AM)
i still nice wat.. wrote nicely  biggrin.gif

sorry if didn't catch my sarcasm earlier  happy.gif  biggrin.gif

okok wait u do analysis on the 3 stocks I've mentioned. *waits patiently*
Nah... your 3 stocks.

I am lazy...

but your CHOSEN 3 stocks will show the same result with TSLA, NVIDiA....

the average cost price would have increase significantly if one uses a CBM of buying 1,000 shares at the lowest price each year. whistling.gif laugh.gif

You have the right not to believe.... and if you do not believe, feel free to check yourself.

======================================================

so think about it....

we are looking at back test on stocks on stocks on the back of a very, very strong bull run.

time has gone by.
business economics are changing.
the inflation.
the interest rates.
the war. Not only the russian war but the (trade) war between US and China.

Boon3
post Jun 24 2022, 10:14 AM

15,942 posts

Organized chaos.. laugh.gif

haven't heard that in a long time. tongue.gif

Boon3
post Jun 24 2022, 11:58 AM

15,942 posts

QUOTE(greyPJ @ Jun 24 2022, 10:38 AM)
at this point in time its still a win, during a bear market.

at the end of the day we just dont know the future.

if it reaches 3000 in 2025 its a wonderful idea to keep buying now at 700-800.

if it laosai to 300 in 2025 then you are right, dont buy the dip.

no one knows what will happen.
But isn't this THE OTHER point?

You We won't know what will happen!

And if we don't know what will happen, what's the upside to buying so long into the future? Dare we say something like 'Netflix lost of subscribers' would not not happen?

stock goes up, we end up adding significantly to our average price.
stock goes down, we end up magnifying our losses.

Boon3
post Jun 24 2022, 12:03 PM

15,942 posts

QUOTE(Davidtcf @ Jun 24 2022, 11:01 AM)
question is, no one force you to buy 1000 stocks for every DCA. Also depends whether you can afford or feel if that particular stock is too saturated in your portfolio or not?

We not only see x number of stocks, but total value of that 1 stock in your portfolio.
For diversification experts say not exceeding 5% of a stock would be just nice for a portfolio (value of a stock when bought to make up that 5%). Exceeding that amount means you are putting too much eggs into one basket. Stock splits would be good for this reason also.

DCA also not just blindly k.. need to be smart about it too.  smile.gif
Eh? Putting 1,000 is simple for eyes mah... no need to add in the extra division into the excel table. laugh.gif

Didn't I show in the Netflix example?

Where the amount put per purchase is the same?

let me paste again.... hehe... is okay...

2017 Buys 1,000 shares at 165,95
2018 Buys 0.66521 shares at 249.47
2019 Buys 0.612927 shares at 270.75
2020 Buys 0.488603 shares at 332.83
2021 Buys 0.339526 shares at 488.77
2022 Buys 0.976751 shares at 169.90

each year spending exactly 165.95.

Total shares 4,093
Total invested amount is 995.70

Based on 178.89, the value of the shares is only worth 732.1998

end result is still the same.

Again, this is what the data showed.

Changed the 1,000 shares buy in... but result still the same.

Portfolio? LOL! Aiyoh... I don't think you want me to start talk 3 talk 4 long long in it. This one... you not pening, meh? laugh.gif
Boon3
post Jun 24 2022, 12:09 PM

15,942 posts

QUOTE(Medufsaid @ Jun 24 2022, 11:22 AM)
i sense some tragic backstory behind this. maybe boon gor's close friend kena sweet talked by some UT salesman to DCA end up lose big and cannot FIRE (retire early)  hmm.gif
Nice shot! laugh.gif

Sorry to break your heart but I have never bought any UT before. biggrin.gif

Boon3
post Jun 24 2022, 12:12 PM

15,942 posts

QUOTE(RayleighH @ Jun 24 2022, 11:25 AM)
Would the other scenario be (from an investor POV):
2017 buys 1,000 shares at 61.31
2018 share price greater than 61.31 so wait for price to go below.
2019 share price greater than 61.31 so wait for price to go below
2020 share price greater than 61.31 so wait for price to go below
2021 share price greater than 61.31 so wait for price to go below
2022 share price greater than 61.31 so wait for price to go below

Total shares bought at 1,000
Total investment 61.31
Total average per share = 61.31
Total money waiting for price drop a.k.a uninvested or FD = 1412
That would be logical.

But perhaps adding the criteria of no declining profits/fundamentals in the stock.

but then..... laugh.gif ..... we wouldn't be having this nice little chat, would we? smile.gif
Boon3
post Jun 24 2022, 12:14 PM

15,942 posts

QUOTE(prophetjul @ Jun 24 2022, 11:29 AM)
I believe the topic was DCA or CBM into individual stocks. Yes. It may not be stand alone. But Going into portfolio management is just a totally different subject.
And it's endless.
i just like to see Boon's theory on individual stocks and not the effects as a portfolio of stocks.
For someone, the one, the very elite few, who really makes money with Maybank's investment... errr..... I cannot be showing you too much. tongue.gif
Boon3
post Jun 24 2022, 01:03 PM

15,942 posts

QUOTE(RayleighH @ Jun 24 2022, 12:35 PM)
So basically the conclusion of these discussion is buy only once in a company stock with solid foundation. Whether it is only in one company, or diversified into a hundred companies or a thousand companies, up to you. Don't buy when price goes up because of minimizing potential returns. Don't buy when price goes down because potential Netflix. Don't DCA at all. Put the rest of your money in FD/EPF.  whistling.gif  icon_rolleyes.gif
LOL!

Everything needs conclusion one meh?

Basically I could have said try not to D** into stocks.

There is really no upside with such buying strategy.

stock goes up, we end up adding significantly to our average price.
stock goes down, we end up magnifying our losses.

there.... after that.... you can draw that picture out of the wall or color it anyhow you want. biggrin.gif
Boon3
post Jun 24 2022, 01:04 PM

15,942 posts

QUOTE(Davidtcf @ Jun 24 2022, 12:50 PM)
Yea that’s what I got from his replies.

Maybe he just pro Bursa and started shitting at all of us here who’s into US stocks.

Ask us don’t DCA, don’t buy when stocks are priced low, don’t buy when priced high. So basically means don’t buy at all? lol no idea what point he’s trying to say.
LOL!

Nakal you. Don't add roses and lavender into my drawing la... tongue.gif

16 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > » Top

0.0405sec    0.68    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 23rd December 2025 - 06:41 AM