QUOTE(Davidtcf @ Jun 21 2022, 10:11 PM)
If that's the way, that's the way, aha aha. DCA I like it.
USA Stock Discussion v8, Brexit: What happens now?
Jun 21 2022, 10:41 PM
Return to original view | IPv6 | Post
15,942 posts Joined: Jun 2008 |
QUOTE(Davidtcf @ Jun 21 2022, 10:11 PM) If that's the way, that's the way, aha aha. DCA I like it. Davidtcf liked this post
Jun 22 2022, 10:06 AM
QUOTE(dwRK @ Jun 21 2022, 11:02 PM) 3 letter acronyms are more common lah... etc, wtf, iou, otw, lol.... I ok with dca... professional sounding... much better than say, aml (add more losers)... The reluctance to admit one was wrong (either wrong decision - wrong stock selection, buying the right stock but at peak earnings or declining earnings etc etc etc etc) leads to the start of Averaging Down and IF LEFT UNCONTROLLED, this ultimately magnifies the losses to extreme proportions. Yup, the biggest risk in one's investment is the reluctance to admit one had screwed up. And they reckon Averaging Down coupled with a forgiving market will help them cover their losses. Seen it way too often. My 18 sen grossly inflated view. |
Jun 22 2022, 12:36 PM
QUOTE(dwRK @ Jun 22 2022, 11:39 AM) hindsight's a bitch mah... buy at the top liao what to do? i sure they know... cut loss is not investor's vocab, paper loss is not a loss until you sell... It does not matter if trader or investor. Make a mistake, do the right thing by keeping the mistake small and manageable. Admit to it. if trader, capital preservation #1... manage drawdown risk, live to fight another day... but they mostly investor with steady job, 10-20 yrs longterm outlook, a few starting only this year, buy only 1-2 share at a time, buy liao what to do? admit wrong or stupid won't solve the problem... so if not cut loss, then dca is a viable option but do it smartly... i'm sure a lot are now waiting for market bottoming to dca... anyways...the market is a brutal teacher... Some stocks, they just do not recover. For example, buy BAT in June 2015? The price then was 60++. Average down? How much money one got? BAT today? How much? Like I said, average down... can die one! |
Jun 22 2022, 02:21 PM
QUOTE(dwRK @ Jun 22 2022, 01:16 PM) sure... i got a few since '97 never recover, some bankrupt... leftovers hold as remembrance lesson to never dca... Eh? Never meant to force anyone. just saying it as it is. Anyway, isn't this one just a public forum, where is best to share our few sen hopefully learn a few sen more. but you trying to force ppl confess their mistake a bit much lah... hahaha |
Jun 22 2022, 02:23 PM
Jun 22 2022, 03:38 PM
QUOTE(kevyeoh @ Jun 22 2022, 02:26 PM) i'm just pulling legs ler on those who advocate DCA.... hehe... but you cannot deny...sometimes also you learn from losing...then only can win... those who wake up earlier instead of blindly doing DCA then consider lesson learn lo.... those who never wake up and continue to DCA into a losing stock or failing company...is not lesson learn lo.... and yeah... stocks are not like index funds. one cannot say, I buy X company and I shall DCA invest in it for 2 years. Every month I buy 1,000 shares. It just does not work this because unlike the index, individual company stocks differs greatly. Fundamentals of the company matters. Business economics of the said company matters. In 2 years stocks can easily go from boom to bust and don't recover. Good companies can run into deep problems. It happens. Haven't we seen it in the glory stocks of just recently? DCA them for 2 years? One could very well be digging the grave 24 times deeper. and sadly most don't ask the most logical questions.... why did the stock fall after I buy? is the market so nice to me that it gives me more and more discount? am I so lucky? or how about the most likely and most logical question: Did I fart up my stock selection so bad? Did I make a mistake? could this be a much better way than buta buta average down all the way? but yea... free discussion for learning and sharing purposes. This post has been edited by Boon3: Jun 22 2022, 03:39 PM sgh liked this post
Jun 22 2022, 08:19 PM
QUOTE(sgh @ Jun 22 2022, 05:45 PM) Some other readers in this forum mention above and I agree. Individual stock vs a basket of stocks in a ETF has different characteristics. The risk with individual stock is so much higher. But with higher risk come with higher returns and losses. So for each investor need to understand each strategy, DCA into a losing stock can be a bottomless pit. As for ETF while it is same the risk is lesser as it has many stocks inside the ETF. However the recent KWEB inform investor if ALL stocks in the ETF all fall then this ETF is same as individual stock sinking. But since ETF it seems KWEB for e.g is slowly climbing up. This may not be the same for individual stock as it can continue to sink until get delisted? Exactly that BOLDED part. AVERAGING DOWN into a losing stock is suicide. And from a small losing position, if one continues to AVERAGE DOWN, that small invested capital explodes exponentially and the losses gets larger. Some investors say still can go for individual stock but go for big market cap stock like GOOGL, AAPL, AMZN, MSFT etc chance of them bankrupt is rare. Well in general that is true but no guarantee always. Remember Lehman Brothers, Arthur Anderson ? Big but still can collapse. Which is what I wanted to point out. The WHY the stock is important? Address that issue. Most of the time, we are the ones that screwed up. Okay, talk is cheap. How about a stock that had been on decline (despite paying relatively good dividend year) since 2015. Let's examine this AVERAGING DOWN strategy. Buyer starts with 1,000 shares and each year, the buyer buys another 1,000 shares at the lowest price possible (let's assume this is possible). Like to see the end result? Buyer starts 1,000 shares in 2015 at 65.67. Lowest price was 53.03. If cut loss at lowest price (buyer loses 12.64) But no..... the average down begins. Cause buyer doesn't want to know and understand why the stock is falling... 2015 starts 1,000 shares at 65,67 2015 buys 1,000 shares at 53.03. 2016 buys 1,000 shares at 40.52 2017 buys 1,000 shares at 31.75 2018 buys 1,000 shares at 22.47 2019 buys 1,000 shares at 14.34 2020 buys 1,000 shares at 9.31 2021 buys 1,000 shares at 11.89 Total shares becomes 8,000 Total invested becomes 248.98 !!! (from an investment of 65.67, the buyer has now invested 248.98 - !!!!!!!) Today... the share last traded at 11.16 Which means the 8,000 shares is only worth 89.28 The losses now stands at 159.7!!!! The bottomless pit!!! Wasn't it better that one find out why the stock is falling? (Profits and dividends started declining in 2015!) ( One could have realized the mistake of buying a stock with declining profits/dividends. Admit it, sell and move on. AVERAGING DOWN made the situation so much worst!) The chart below shows the buying points I selected. ![]() but yeah, I know, I know this isn't an American stock but if I can simply pick a stock and highlight the danger, perhaps one should realize what investors like Warren Buffett keeps saying 'if you are in a hole, stop digging!' If Buffett can preach that, why not follow his good advice? |
Jun 22 2022, 11:10 PM
QUOTE(ChAOoz @ Jun 22 2022, 10:48 PM) DCA works well during a bull run but then it will also amplify losses during a bear cycle. It's average down. If the particular stock you dca in able to survive the bear market, you will be a big winner when the eventual bull market returns and the stock growth story is still intact |
Jun 23 2022, 03:04 PM
» Click to show Spoiler - click again to hide... « So that was an example of Continious Buying Method (CBM - I like this better - no need use the other sensitive one) or AVERAGE DOWN killed the 'investor'. The investor bought 1,000 of the stock since 2015 and the buyer did a CBM - 1,000 shares of the same stock BUT at the lowest price each year (assuming the buyer possesses such skill. End result was terrifying to say the least. How about Nvidia. One of the better tech stocks. Let's assume the buyer manages to buy 1,000 shares of the stock at the lowest price each year since 2018. Okay? Wanna see the interesting result? 2018 buys 1,000 shares at 55.36 2019 buys 1,000 shares at 33.87 2020 buys 1,000 shares at 51.44 2021 buys 1,000 shares at 124.62 2022 buys 1,000 shares at 158.8 (lowest price so far) Starts of with 55.36 Due to the CBM, the investment exploded to 422.29 Average cost per chare becomes 84.45 Price of NVida now 163.60 Average winning per share is 79.14 Yes, with CBM the average winning per share is a nice 79.14. But get this, what if the buyer did not do CBM? The cost per share was 55.36 Which means the winning is actually 108.24 that's about 29 donated to the share heaven.... So is CBM good? (yalah... CBM no good - name no one. DCA name only Ong! LOL!) and just imagine if the buyer did not get the lowest price each year... ![]() |
Jun 23 2022, 03:32 PM
QUOTE(Davidtcf @ Jun 23 2022, 03:08 PM) exactly lor. DCA into good stocks. NVIDIA sure good with exploding crypto mining that started a few years ago. FAANG/FAAMG stocks also good picks (doubting Facebook and Netflix tho). Others are Berkshire, P&G, etc. Many in the US market. Wanna try with Europe or elsewhere also can as long good stocks. If lazy or want safer route then DCA into Indexes such as VUAA or VWRA. First example, a long term CBM buy of a stock on a downtrend. 1,000 shares every year at the lowest price. End result? The invested capital ballooned. Losses became much, much larger. So how devastating CBM is? CBM allows the investor to buy and buy. Yes, average cost did become lower but what good did it do? Todays example was Nvidia. Initial investment was 55.36. Thanks to CBM of buying 1,000 shares every year at the lowest price, the cost per share became 84.45. Surely these numbers based on actual stocks showed the absolute weakness of CBM. Buyer is just following... 1,000 shares every year at the lowest price. Nothing else. Which clearly begs the question, why isn't the fundamental of the stock important? Common sense, say if you CBM a stock for 2 years, every 3 months buy once, when 2 years end, many things could go bad. Stock could fall. Stock fundamentals could deteriorate. Earnings could plunge. If I had done a CBM buying of 1,000 shares of Netflix (Fang stocks), I believe the result is gonna be poor. (give me 10 mins... My 24 sen say? Average down is bad. Simply average up is just as bad. But yeah, my inflated views could be badly wrong. |
Jun 23 2022, 03:41 PM
Davidtcf
Here is Netflix using the same CBM, 1,000 shares each year at lowest price. 2017 buys 1,000 shares at 165.95 2018 buys 1,000 shares at 249.47 2019 buys 1,000 shares at 270.75 2020 buys 1,000 shares at 332.83 2021 buys 1,000 shares at 488.77 2022 buys 1,000 shares at 169.90 Buys 6,000 shares. Total investment is 1677.67 Average cost is 279.611 Unfortunately share closed at 178.89. Buyer using this CBM method would have lost big time in in Netflix! So CBM good? |
Jun 23 2022, 07:01 PM
QUOTE(dwRK @ Jun 23 2022, 04:06 PM) alamak... y'all still at it ah... pening... the problem is not about dca/ad/cbm/whatever... the problem is not selling for profit or cutting loss or hedging it when the time comes... To be more precise, was thought by this one Auntie b4... she told me that buying correctly most of the problem and the most important one is 'should I buy more if the stock falls'. She reasoned, if the share falls after you buy, it only means one thing Bo, it means I screwed up either with my stock selection or my buying price. That was something I learned. Something which I felt had so much truth in it..... |
Jun 23 2022, 07:15 PM
QUOTE(Davidtcf @ Jun 23 2022, 05:28 PM) Ok I re-read and understand fully what you mean now. WOW! For first example the person still gained. You only show 5 years horizon. What if the person hold for 15 years? could you say the same they were bad investments if every year got grow (in 15 years time)? Also most people earn mthly salary and not some rich fag, so of course can't lump sum buy so much at one go. Need to spread it out. If near to the end of 15 years and I'm at the age of 50 for example. Would it still be wise for me to keep buy so many of Nvidia's stock? Or I would follow expert's recommendation to have at least 50% in safer investments such as FD, bonds, etc? That time for me I will reduce my exposure to growth stocks, likely won't be buying as much. Also if super rich the person can't foresee future how well a stock will do.. so definitely they will diversify out to reduce risk. They will likely buy 1k stocks here and there to profit after some time. A stock worth 50 could end up becoming 0 or worth 800 after 5 years. Just see Tesla, no one expected them to be this successful in the beginning? Many even fear to buy Tesla stocks when they were worth 50-100 USD. Would you dare to buy so much Tesla during those days? Or rather wait they proven themselves first? 2nd example show Netflix, for me I wouldn't buy them the first place as I read that they have very high debts and low profit margin. It is basically betting on a company to start making profit after tough beginnings. Hence not surprise when they get hit hard once investors realize their subscriber base have fallen together with reduced profits for the quarter. If one were to invest in such a riskier stock, they could set stop loss at certain price point. That way they would suffer less losses when prices starting bottoming. Some would even use covered options as a safeguard. Thanks for layan me. hehe... Yes, in short fundamentals is so important (and clearly Netflix is a good teaching example!!) when you buy a stock. CBM is just a method of how one does the buying. One which I feel has so much weakness in it. Think about it. If you stretch this method out on a stock on a longer time frame, what's the biggest risk? The biggest risk of course is fundamentals. Fundamentals do change over time. Sometimes the company can be better but there aren't many of them around. There are many that go bust in a time frame, such as 15 years. Think about it... 15 years collecting the stock... and when you finish collecting, the business economics of that stock collapses! How then? You might end up collecting a 'bad' stock for 15 years! Isn't it better in the simple NVIDIA case, the buyer does a proper due diligence? If 55+ is a damn good investment, ie as good as your own reasoning, why buy bit by bit? no? this is all I am saying. stock fundamentals is more important than the buying method. |
Jun 23 2022, 07:43 PM
QUOTE(RayleighH @ Jun 23 2022, 07:04 PM) Could you then elaborate in detail on your strategy of defining a correct stock selection and correct buying price, just like how you detailed out your explanation on why DCA (or Average down) is not right. I would like to learn too if you do not mind sharing your substantial knowledge/experience. It so much depends on who you are, really. I wouldn't know if you are a better speculator, trader or investor. But assuming you are an investor, reading the company numbers matters a lot. The balance sheet, the cash flow. Understanding the business economics. Is the company making more money. Profits is always important and profits without cash flow is BS. All pretty much basic investing. And if course, understanding the risk. And of course, do own dillegence. If I had told you average down is the way to go, look over actual data. Test it out. Does the number makes sense or am I simply talking crap.... etc etc... GL |
Jun 23 2022, 07:45 PM
QUOTE(dwRK @ Jun 23 2022, 07:38 PM) lol... it means your timing sucks... scenario failed... even pros make mistake with entry... solution is stoploss and cutloss... dca is time bomb waiting on margin call and liquidation but good entry is a different conversion let's not digress... Cut loss is very important but then... remember the law of Aunties... if you keep cutting all the time, what are you gonna cut next? |
Jun 23 2022, 07:47 PM
QUOTE(RayleighH @ Jun 23 2022, 07:35 PM) While I agree that stock fundamental is very important in deciding which company's stock to buy, I believe that most of the people here who mentions DCA is not advocating to buy bit by bit. It's just that that is all the available money that they have at that time (i.e. 55+) to buy the stock. That is why when they have fresh funds available, they DCA into the same company stock again, providing that the company still have strong fundamentals. Yup. I did say... If CBM was done on the index, I would have stfu. On the other hand, some who mention DCA here were also referring to index funds. You may sustain losses in the short term from a broad base USA index funds from entering at the peak but you will have very low probability to go bust (unlike China's ETF). Can I continue picking your mind? What are your criteria in defining whether a company has strong fundamentals or not? |
Jun 23 2022, 07:50 PM
QUOTE(Davidtcf @ Jun 23 2022, 07:30 PM) Also remember it is impossible to time the market. People the most can just speculate whether market will go up or down depending on economic, inflation, political situation etc. When covid first hit everyone thought gonna be doomsday and started panic selling. The moment Fed announce stimulus and cutting of interest rates immediately every stock pump to the moon. And this is what makes the stock market bloody interesting... so stimulating Then now correction is happening.. we already witness stocks fall so much in their price. Some people even paper loss up to 6 figures. Some lost 20% of their portfolio (esp if started last year). But we still DCA coz know good times will come back one day. Past shows that after one time of bear market/recession, there will be 4-5x period of growth after that. If choose safe route, you will lose also if just put money in bank as the value of your money will keep become smaller. Earning 3% also not enough to fight inflation these days. Also history has shown the best times to invest is during a bear market. If choose to avoid entirely and wait things start to show sign of improvement, then you’ll miss out on the best days to enter during that period. You won’t be the only one wait to jump ship into full throttle investing when recovery start to show. Other hedge fund, sea of investors, millionaires, billionaires will be throwing their money into the stock market at the same time. Some more we talking about the US, hottest stock market is found here. That time if you slow in taking out your money how? Or if you run out of money since they are put elsewhere? Only to see the prices leap from one high to another high. That time will start asking why didn’t enter the market when it’s at all time low. ps... We have the I, R and the C....which is all caused by the idiot who said.... MAGA. |
Jun 23 2022, 08:02 PM
Jun 23 2022, 08:10 PM
QUOTE(sp3d2 @ Jun 23 2022, 07:51 PM) In my personal experience, any stocks that I purchased that fall around 20 to 30%, but then the fundamental remains strong, it will rise again to break even after 6 months. Fundamental strong as so many interpretations. This is very limited to my personal experience as I Only buy those stock with the best fundamental Only. So when It goes down, I don't get nervous or anxious. Especially if the company economics is cyclical. Take Harta. Local glove stock. So said that it's the best managed. Cash rich etc etc.. but business economics has now changed for the worst, the stock will be hit just as bad as others. |
Jun 23 2022, 08:18 PM
QUOTE(RayleighH @ Jun 23 2022, 07:52 PM) Personally, I am an investor. One aspect that has been on my mind for quite a while is that, how does one be able to gain an insight/understand the nature of the business of the company that one is looking at? Or simply, where does one go to gain these knowledge? How do you get familiarized in the operation nature of different companies in different industries, especially if one is not from that industry? Would you mind sharing how is it for you? I play only local stocks ya. So for me, Bursa Malaysia is the main goto website. And I read a lot. And I am a trader. Knowing your best skill set is so very important. And it does help for you to try to look at stocks from a business perspective. Incorporate lots of common sense reasoning. For example.. there are new snippets that DaGe and its chips news snippets... https://www.bloomberg.com/news/articles/202...making-industry So from a business perspective.. sooner rather later.. when China enters a business, be damn sure that a price war will happen. Hence, one cannot be too gung ho on this business. Ya.. something like this.. |
| Change to: | 0.0491sec
Time is now: 22nd December 2025 - 05:34 AM |