Official TM ÜniFi High Speed Broadband Thread V26
GHOSTVIC
Jul 2 2016, 07:38 PM
I cant able to register for UNIFI HOME, since TM claims mine falls under industrial area even though its shophouse. 2 storey shophouse, 1st floor is for living not for business explained them. Yet not listening and keep saying falls under BIZ package. No idea how to tackle this issue. I even sent pics with the snapshots of bedroom, kitchen, toilet, dining and living hall to those doing promotion on the booth, but no response. Shall i go to HQ ?
UNIFI HOME 30mbps is RM199 / UNIFI BIZ 30mbps is RM299
waste of extra RM100, with no IP TV.
I verified with MAXIS, they dont have such issue. They can let customer fix HOME package, since residents area and also ASTRO bill is home package. They even said business users can subscribe for HOME package since cheap.
MAXIS price, 20mbps - RM198 / 30mbps - RM248
ya its pricey compare UNIFI, but no option somehow have to pick MAXIS. Since i cant go for UNIFI HOME, if i take UNIFI BIZ 30 which is 299 , i rather go for MAXIS 20mbps RM198 / 30mbps RM248... But what is the drawback of getting MAXIS, what is the disadvantages of the broadband...But what is the drawback and disadvantages of fixing MAXIS ? Is it worth ? Connection stabilty, freedom, ?
HOW we can show TM ? only ground floor using as business premise and 1st floor is for normal residents. Renting 1st floor portion house for ppl putting them in trouble to get UNIFI, they not doing any business just normal resident why cant TM offer HOME PACKAGE. If ground floor ok would understand... Usually shophouses come with 2 electric bills, 2 water bills, 2 astro bills to differentiate both portion.. Yet TM titiwangsa not concern about this...Infact they telling me other scenarios where even ppl staying at service apartments or business premises with residential units having trouble to register for UNIFI HOME because their address falls under BIZ category in TM database...
how silly is this, previous streamyx had no issue and UNIFI telling nonsense.. TM questioning what guaranty they hav you will not use that portion for business purpose after subscribe for UNIFI HOME... bullshit then what about normal residents who get home package and doing business inside house TM wouldn't know also what as if they go check each n every house..People willing to provide pics as evidence of normal residential use yet talking and giving such a comments... If owner renting premise for 2 different tenants, one portion business use, another portion for normal stay... it sounds ridiculous the normal stay also need to get BIZ package... if both 2 different party then this just creating trouble... if both same party then of course they would be sharing connection and BIZ package sounds ideal.
..... so MAXIS sounds not a good idea ? Wondering, they use TM infra yet their connection not reliable ? If TM infra has issue i believe Maxis will drop also right. They hav capping and throttling ? I dropped idea of getting ASTRO IPTV bundle with FIBER broadband.. definitely ASTRO IPTV would use more bandwidth for smooth streaming if not will be lagging. So take 10mbps MAXIS probably 50 or 70% of bandwidth will be allocated to IPTV, then just about 3 to 5 mbps left for rest of the purpose surfing streaming gaming downloading... So definitely will be having issues then we will be asked to go for more bandwidth probably 20mbps if want smooth connection... eventually we end up paying more...That is why just dropped that IPTV plan and getting plain broadband..
need sifus advice or any contacts u have ?
This post has been edited by GHOSTVIC: Jul 2 2016, 07:42 PM
GHOSTVIC
Jul 2 2016, 07:47 PM
QUOTE(jusbella @ Jul 2 2016, 07:41 PM) Astro IPTV is same like Hyyptv and they got their own dedicated bandwidth and will not affected the speed u subscribe for. Maxis pricey because their are symmetrical (same upload and download speed) technology compare to unifi which is using asymmetrical (different upload and download speed) technology. own dedicated bandwidth ? the agent advised not to go for less than 10mbps if needs smooth streaming since, IF go higher even better it seems. So they allocate certain bandwidth for the IPTV streaming so that no interruption seen while you doing heavy surfing or downloading...
GHOSTVIC
Jul 3 2016, 09:34 PM
QUOTE(jusbella @ Jul 2 2016, 07:50 PM) Agent want gain more commission... Try read more the post... I have amend few thing. Hi Bro, are u sure ASTRO IPTV is using dedicated bandwidth (2mbps) and does not impact broadband speed we subscribing for ? So we do speedtest example for 10mbps we get full bandwidth or atleast 70% ? If using dedicated bandwidth 2mbps why not ASTRO just offer IPTV without bundling with MAXIS FIBER BROADBAND.. I see they still need bandwidth from broadband we subscribe.. otherwise they so generous giving free extra 2Mbps to run IPTV, without interfering our broadband speed ? how to monitor the IPTV speed then, the consumption is just in the range of 2mbps ? Doesn't shooting up during HD channels viewing ? Doesn't slow down internet ?
GHOSTVIC
Jul 4 2016, 08:21 PM
QUOTE(mztang52 @ Jul 3 2016, 10:48 PM) They are using dedicated bandwidth for Astro IPTV, as you can see that the IP address for Internet and IPTV is defferent. But, you can't check for the speed because this IP is connected directly to Astro, only Astro decoder can access to their server. hi bro, i have called and verified with astro agents but they not very sure about it and requested me to check with IPTV tech and yet receiving calls from them. As per normal agents 2mbps allocation is not sufficient and atleast 4mbps for IPTV streaming as it will consume more bandwidth for HD channels viewing. i believe the dedicated bandwidth , we talking here is already assigned in the configuration via specific VLAN setting on the port. Are you able to connect IPTV cable in any port or just on the dedicated port ? So if dedicated bandwidth assign for IPTV then no interruption for other usage. But agents told me, the bandwidth is sharing if high usage on IPTV then internet/downloading has impact. If high usage on surfing/downloading then IPTV has significant impact. Yet i need to get clear picture from IPTV TECHNICIAN.
GHOSTVIC
Jul 4 2016, 08:54 PM
QUOTE(jusbella @ Jul 4 2016, 08:27 PM) Agent is just promote the service, they are not technical team. As in, IPTV is different VLAN ID, so technically it will be same as Hyyptv, the speed assigned will be around 8-10mbps doesn't matter which speed you subscribe for. so we define different VLAN ID for the IPTV and apply fix bandwidth, definitely from the speed we subscribed for. If sign for 10mbps how much bandwidth assign to IPTV and how much left for other usage ? That is why they saying take higher speed if you heavy user so you dont feel the delays/interruption since more speed need to be assigned for IPTV.. so isn't that sharing bandwidth , sharing speed of broadband we subscribe. Even call it as "dedicated bandwidth" for IPTV still consume from the bandwidth we subscribe. use IPTV and Downloading simultaneously, i believe can feel the difference for 10mbps speed. if 8mbps goes to IPTV... the balance for other usage is that sufficient depends on what task we engage to..
This post has been edited by GHOSTVIC: Jul 4 2016, 08:59 PM
GHOSTVIC
Jul 4 2016, 09:11 PM
QUOTE(jusbella @ Jul 4 2016, 09:01 PM) Do u understand wat is called dedicated bandwidth? Its like IPTV reserved for 8mbps in standard! So if u subscribe 5mbps so u get 5mbps (internet) + 8mbps (iptv) if u subscribe 10mbps so u get 10mbps (internet) + 8mbps (iptv) if u subscribe 20mbps so u get 20mbps (internet) + 8mbps (iptv) if u subscribe 30mbps so u get 30mbps (internet) + 8mbps (iptv) if u subscribe 50mbps so u get 50mbps (internet) + 8mbps (iptv) if u subscribe 100mbps so u get 100mbps (internet) + 8mbps (iptv) AND SOOO ON!! oh sorry i dont have idea on this bro, i thought the bandwidth is assigned by us from the speed we subscribe as you said before 2mbps will be dedicated to IPTV . ok i will get more information on this about the reserved bandwidth, all this while hearing about sharing, not about this reserved. thanks for the info bro.
GHOSTVIC
Jul 4 2016, 09:31 PM
QUOTE(zher4883 @ Jul 4 2016, 09:05 PM) Wow Wow Wow, chill bro!  No need to get so nervous towards these guys. If the chose to ignore fact, that's their problem. come on la brothers, i am asking because i do not understand. I am asking because i am not getting clear pictures from people outside. That is why i am looking information from the seniors here, of course details we have will be differ compare to seniors and juniors. we not chose to ignore the fact, we just trying to get more information. i am accepting the facts he gave me and that will useful for my next action.
GHOSTVIC
Jul 7 2016, 01:17 PM
QUOTE(soonwai @ Jul 4 2016, 10:48 PM) Have you asked in the Maxis FTTH thread? The Maxis rep guy there seems to be quite knowledgable. thanks bro, will check with them as well.
GHOSTVIC
Jul 7 2016, 01:17 PM
QUOTE(soonwai @ Jul 4 2016, 10:48 PM) Have you asked in the Maxis FTTH thread? The Maxis rep guy there seems to be quite knowledgable. thanks bro, will check with them as well.
GHOSTVIC
Jul 7 2016, 01:18 PM
QUOTE(raynman @ Jul 4 2016, 10:51 PM) That is correct. Unifi uses different VLAN tags to isolate the bandwidth dedicated to IPTV and the bandwidth dedicated to the Internet. They don't share bandwidth as what GHOSTVIC has misunderstood. thanks for the clarification bro, i am start getting clear pictures from you guys.
GHOSTVIC
Jul 7 2016, 01:19 PM
QUOTE(calvinlaw510 @ Jul 4 2016, 11:38 PM) i check my tplink router iptv setting, maxis pakai vlan tag too... thanks for the sharing bro, really appreciate this.
GHOSTVIC
Jul 7 2016, 01:22 PM
QUOTE(mztang52 @ Jul 5 2016, 06:29 AM) Just beleive me. IPTV will not affect your speed. Or do you want me to do a video to shiw you? hahaha thanks for the sharing bro, video ? wow that must be great i would welcome that, even many people with less knowledge on IPTV will see benefits from your video bro. if i never ask you seniors, for sure i end up with wrong information.