4 Pages < 1 2 3 4 >Bottom

RX 480 or GTX1070? Or GTX1060?, Which is better?

stringfellow
post Jul 6 2016, 09:20 PM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

If the 1060 is gonna be 1500 with performance of 980 at lower power consumption, nobody would bother with the 480. Anything higher, the. It's a toss-up between staying with 480 AIB, 1060 and 1070 in that order.
stringfellow
post Jul 6 2016, 09:52 PM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

That's why I say that if the price is cheap enough, people are more forgiving when it comes to performance, they adjust expectations. But once the price start scaling up, you start expecting more out of it, right?
stringfellow
post Jul 6 2016, 10:40 PM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

QUOTE(svfn @ Jul 6 2016, 10:30 PM)
i think they will just look elsewhere or get something else. like used cards if they are tight budget, or 1070 if they can afford it.
That's the wisest thing to do, yet I still see them being defensive about it when something a little bit critical was mentioned. They didn't wanna commit to it because it is more expensive than expected, yet they get all up in arms because it was their primary choice earlier on, but did not get it because it is not priced as it should.

*confused*
stringfellow
post Jul 6 2016, 10:51 PM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

QUOTE(goldfries @ Jul 6 2016, 10:43 PM)
Exact same philosophy they have with the APU.

It is indeed a technology filled device, I like it for that but that's about it.

I am however, unable to recommend people an A10-7850K with all the goodies when a Core i3 that's cheaper and processes data equally well.
That's why for AMD, since they're banking on longevity rather than robust immediate performance that I need now, they should make their fortune in consoles. I need the performance and I need it now, I dont want them 2 years later when they're finally "figured out" via driver optimization and can proclaim that it's now finally better than its competing same tier card rivals, but where were those performance when I needed it 2 years ago?

QUOTE(svfn @ Jul 6 2016, 10:43 PM)
oh where got? or you mean regret selling 970/290 to buy rx 480?
Not referring to you. Mostly the folks I see on a certain FB group I'm in. Clearly biased towards AMD, and anything negatively posted gets blasted, even when they know the RX480 is overpriced, and they themselves not buying them. AMD can do no fault according to them.
stringfellow
post Jul 6 2016, 10:57 PM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

AMD, they never learned. Or maybe because that's only the best they can do?
stringfellow
post Jul 6 2016, 11:02 PM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

QUOTE(svfn @ Jul 6 2016, 10:57 PM)
yea, next time see these posts better take with pinch of salt lol.
haha you seem quite pro-Nvidia it appears to me biggrin.gif nothing wrong with that, but have to be fair both sides like abang kentang: blast when blast is due biggrin.gif
I pro-performance. AMD pull a miracle and released a Vega card with performance through the roof that Nvidia cannot answer, I jump ship.

But with tons of caveat. I jumped ship before with the 290X. And AMD lied to me. "Fool me once, shame on me. Fool me twice, shame on you, AMD".
stringfellow
post Jul 6 2016, 11:12 PM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

QUOTE(goldfries @ Jul 6 2016, 11:07 PM)
What drew you to R9 290X?
The claim that it beats the almighty original Titan at a much cheaper price. But even if I save on the cost of the card, I paid heavily in the other department: power consumption and most importantly, temperature. I'm averse to high temperatures, and I thought that after taming it with liquid cooling, that was it. It was not. Reservoir needed topping up. Coolant evaporating. Serious mindfcuk.

This post has been edited by stringfellow: Jul 6 2016, 11:16 PM
stringfellow
post Jul 7 2016, 12:31 AM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

QUOTE(-cmi- @ Jul 7 2016, 12:08 AM)
Well, some people just love underdog.
Tbh, i do hope AMD can catching up with the technology pace.
We just have 2 big players in the GPU market and if AMD keep losing their way, it definitely doesnt serve us, consumers any good. The price released by AMD is quiet competitive for RX480 but when it came to Malaysia, the pricing seems doesnt follow the trend due to pricing markup set either by AMD Malaysia, distributors or retailers.
I agree with that sentiment, as long as the product is worth supporting for. I cannot be expected to keep AMD afloat when they're providing crappy product in the face of competition, and is asked to continue support the underdog even when their products aren't compelling. For competition to exists and benefit consumers, both have to be equally competitive. If AMD isnt competitive performance-wise and is expected to be "supported" just to keep Nvidia competitive price-wise, that strategy will not work for long. Nvidia will know their competitor is being supported on the basis of "charity" of their dwindling fanbase and soon enough, their frustrated fanbase will realise that they cannot shoulder this unnecessary burden of carrying AMD on their shoulders any longer. Right now, AMD's position is precarious. They used to be competitive performance-wise during the 7970 days, but those days are long gone. Now all based on promises and "future promises" that their product will become relevant, and yet so far, that hasn't happened, if at all.
stringfellow
post Jul 7 2016, 01:47 AM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

QUOTE(damien5119 @ Jul 7 2016, 01:34 AM)
tbh, i dont think anyone here understands what your trying to say. your arguments are all over the place. but i applaud the effort your putting to get your points across.
Liddis.

You take Uber balik kampung. You spend a bit more, you get there faster.
You take bus balik kampung. You spend less, you get there eventually, but slower.

Now you ask people who take Uber balik kampung to congratulate people who take bus balik kampung on the basis that it's cheaper for them to get back to kampung, when the Uber car got you back faster and more efficient than a bus.

¯\_(ツ)_/¯

Guess which one is AMD which is Nvidia.

This post has been edited by stringfellow: Jul 7 2016, 01:53 AM
stringfellow
post Jul 7 2016, 09:45 AM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

QUOTE(damien5119 @ Jul 7 2016, 09:41 AM)
both Nvidia.
e.g gtx 1070 and gtx 750ti, one is faster but more expensive, another is cheaper but slower
Sure. But in the context of what this thread is all about?

And in the case of the 750Ti, what AMD card powered by PCIE slot alone that has the same comparable performance as it?

R7 360/E variant?
https://www.techpowerup.com/gpudb/?mfgr%5B%...ort=released&q=

750Ti: gets you there like a bus, slow as f**k, still gets you there.
R7 360: it's like walking there. Check Waze for time for arrival. tongue.gif

http://gpuboss.com/gpus/Radeon-R7-360-vs-GeForce-GTX-750-Ti

This post has been edited by stringfellow: Jul 7 2016, 09:55 AM
stringfellow
post Jul 7 2016, 09:57 AM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

QUOTE(damien5119 @ Jul 7 2016, 09:41 AM)
both Nvidia.
e.g gtx 1070 and gtx 750ti, one is faster but more expensive, another is cheaper but slower  biggrin.gif

price points exist for a reason. gtx 1060 will maybe also be around 970/980 performance.
the fact is amd brought the level of performance down to the 200usd price point is what people are exited about.
Had Nvidia done this first, people would be congratulating nvidia instead.
/
I congratulate the RX480, if I'm in the US. I'm not in the US, so that "performance for USD200" doesn't apply here. It's USD300/RM1299 here. For that price, the "bought the level of performance down to 200USD" doesn't count. Get back to me, when AMD Malaysia get off their ass and bring it back to RM850-950, then I'll wholeheartedly agree with you.

This post has been edited by stringfellow: Jul 7 2016, 09:57 AM
stringfellow
post Jul 7 2016, 12:04 PM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

QUOTE(bamkai @ Jul 7 2016, 11:58 AM)
What if I told u you don't need amd to bring down market price. If u wan high performance u get pascal if u want mid range u get gtx 1060. If u want lower u get used 970 or 980. What the hell amd existed for? All of the card has way better quality  build. Run by better software. Higher resale value. Way I see amd is just annoying bug that keep kacao u from making purchase . The way nvidia sells are more time realistic. Precise to what consumers needs. Those who complains high end pascal expensive can only blame the poor competitive level of technology from amd.
Hmmmm, I cant agree with you there. The time when 7970 vs 780 and 7970Ghz Edition vs 780Ti, they were competitive. Just that after that, they lost their way. And because they were competitive at that time, prices were slashed left and right. They lost their edge on the higher end after that, Nvidia pulled ahead and price slowly creeping up.

I'm a fan of performance, I rather not see it plateau like how little performance increases there is on the CPU field, because Intel is monopolizing. Nvidia still is improving with their Pascal release, but if AMD isnt there to push them for it, I dont see them releasing monster cards like 1080Ti or Titan Pascal, because they dont have to, when there is no competition. AMD needs to buck up and get competing on the higher end segment, minus all these PCIE overcurrent nonsense and searing hot temps and power-guzzling requirement.
stringfellow
post Jul 7 2016, 05:14 PM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

http://videocardz.com/61917/nvidia-geforce...ost-249-299-usd

1060, USD249 MSRP, Founders Edition USD299. July 19th worldwide.

First of all, f**k you Nvidia for that FE extra cost, you're bleeding the freaking budget demographics too!!? mad.gif

Second of all, still no top view to confirm the existence or disappearance of SLI fingers. IF there's only one SKU, and it's 6GB, and no SLI, that isn't right. So it may be true that the 1060 is 980's performance at stock and encroaching to the domain between 980-980Ti when overclocked. Nvidia scared to cannibalise their own 1070 card sale.

Caveat: provided these slides are real.
stringfellow
post Jul 7 2016, 05:27 PM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

QUOTE(svfn @ Jul 7 2016, 05:24 PM)
yalo why need founders edition for budget mid range cards doh.gif

i thought only 3GB no SLI?

anyway, remember to wait for benchmarks tongue.gif and i wonder how long will it take for AIB cards hmm.gif for that overclocking goodness.
Yup, wait for benchmark. Never take GPU makers claim as gospel these days.
stringfellow
post Jul 7 2016, 07:29 PM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

AMD's GCN architecture is one hot mama. Not in the sexy kind of hot. tongue.gif
stringfellow
post Jul 7 2016, 10:10 PM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

It's official. GTX1060. USD249 MSRP.

http://nvda.ws/29vZXsG

For USD10 more you get a card that is 980 stock versus a card that had to be heavily overclocked by extreme overclockers to get to 980 stock. We have not looked into how far the 1060 can go OCed. wink.gif
stringfellow
post Jul 7 2016, 10:24 PM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

QUOTE(hyperspeed @ Jul 7 2016, 10:18 PM)
1070>1060>rx480 with pricing 2k,1.3k, and 1.2k. Amd is LOST with worst oc capability
Once we have the benchmark results to confirm, this thread has reached its objective. biggrin.gif
stringfellow
post Jul 8 2016, 01:06 AM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

QUOTE(nill @ Jul 8 2016, 12:49 AM)
$70 difference is not minimal ($229 vs $299)
I think retailers will use the excuse of weaker ringgit to increase price of GTX1070 instead next month when 1060 release.
239 to 299. 60 dollars.

OR, 1060 could drop price close enough to RX480 price, that AMD's price gouging on the local price for the RX480 will look embarrassing, and they had to drop the RX480 price instead.

The fairer comparison would be comparing the AIB cards. Nobody wants the reference cards on both camps right? Since they exhibits so much problems?

This post has been edited by stringfellow: Jul 8 2016, 01:06 AM
stringfellow
post Jul 13 2016, 06:37 PM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

Now, you see what I had to deal with in the public FB group I talked about before, Goldfries? I gave up and did the most sensible thing, play more games rather than continue arguing. Cherry picking doesnt even begin to describe it.

This post has been edited by stringfellow: Jul 13 2016, 06:43 PM
stringfellow
post Jul 13 2016, 07:26 PM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

Blocked. icon_rolleyes.gif Been exercising this privilege more often these days.

4 Pages < 1 2 3 4 >Top

0.0376sec    0.58    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 22nd December 2025 - 10:56 AM