download 10.11.3 installer

TSAshroft98
post Jun 9 2016, 02:55 AM, updated 10y ago

228 posts

hi guys

so I'm trying to update from yosemite to specifically 10.11.3 el cap. but updating through app store will go to 10.11.5 which I'm afraid it might be buggy. i found a 10.11.3, 5.77gb installer torrent(as p2p not that reliable) so i would like to see other options first.

any links or suggestions? i did my (google) research and all i found is 1.5-2.0gb combo update cry.gif where it might not work when updating from yosemite(correct me if I'm wrong)

any help would be a big welcome. thanks icon_question.gif
wei
post Jun 9 2016, 10:07 AM

Get your Macs done right!
6,496 posts

You will need either 10.11.3 installer or 10.11-10.11.2 installer + combo updater 10.11.3.

Combo updater is not the full installer.
TSAshroft98
post Jun 9 2016, 03:36 PM

228 posts

QUOTE(wei @ Jun 9 2016, 10:07 AM)
You will need either 10.11.3 installer or 10.11-10.11.2 installer + combo updater 10.11.3.

Combo updater is not the full installer.
some internet posts said a specific 10.11.X installer is not available which makes me wondering.What version of El Cap is in the Installer downloaded from App Store?

Maybe i might just wanted to download the Installer and create a bootable disk. create clean install, upgrade a combo to 10.11.3 and then use migration assistant for time machine backups.

even if so, can i revert to yosemite by just using the Time Machine full restore? or i need the yosemite installer first? confused.gif
wei
post Jun 9 2016, 04:06 PM

Get your Macs done right!
6,496 posts

Mac App Store will offer the latest version. You can't pick older revision to download. Which currently 10.11.5. You have to find other way to get older version's installer.

I'm not sure what issue with 10.11.5 you worried about. If it is about the WebCL bug, there're workaround, and it's only selective Mac facing it.

You can always revert to your Time Machine backup. As stated: https://support.apple.com/kb/PH21950?locale=en_US

0.0143sec    1.71    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 23rd December 2025 - 01:02 AM