No Porn On Sony HD-DVD Blu-ray?, Another Format War Has Abruptly Ended
TSBernard Yeo
Jan 13 2007, 10:22 AM, updated 19y ago
Well known porn movie producer said they are forced to use HD-DVD because Sony has prohibited xxx-rated movies to be released in Blu-ray format. source: http://www.sgknox.com/2007/01/11/no-porn-on-blu-ray/________________________________________________ People are going to buy only one player for their homes. And it's probably the format that is going to be most widely used. I'm thinking the decision to buy these players will come from a significant percentage of young men. Sony's going to lose this format war again, just like betamax vs VHS. They haven't learnt from their mistake. People are going to be people. It's not so much that porn will be excluded, it's more like the perception that there is going to be less titles available. This is going to affect PS3 sales.
Lingo20052003
Jan 13 2007, 10:37 AM
edit.....................
This post has been edited by Lingo20052003: Jan 13 2007, 10:38 AM
psyhun
Jan 13 2007, 12:22 PM

Haven't you heard........ manufacturers are releasing dual format players..........
ubhm
Jan 13 2007, 01:22 PM
Im going with sony on this, good move.
redken
Jan 13 2007, 06:10 PM
Dual Format Player will only increase the cost la. I dun prefer this to happen, i hope we can stick to one.
underworld
Jan 14 2007, 12:16 PM
NO JAV ??? impossible......
psyhun
Jan 14 2007, 12:28 PM

QUOTE(redken @ Jan 13 2007, 09:10 PM) Dual Format Player will only increase the cost la. I dun prefer this to happen, i hope we can stick to one. Well getting one of those HD DVD/Blu-Ray players are already mega expensive by itself...... I don't think its much of a problem paying a little more to enjoy both......... plus, dual format players doesn't increase production cost significantly :/
redken
Jan 14 2007, 03:32 PM
QUOTE(psyhun @ Jan 14 2007, 12:28 PM) Well getting one of those HD DVD/Blu-Ray players are already mega expensive by itself...... I don't think its much of a problem paying a little more to enjoy both......... plus, dual format players doesn't increase production cost significantly :/ Define significant? RM1? RM100? It's not even out there in the market and u have already label it insignificant. How can u justify this? I reckon at least a price increment of 30 - 50%.
saiga
Jan 14 2007, 09:00 PM
LG launching one in Feb.But the price is damn expensive man. $1199!
Mgsrulz
Jan 14 2007, 11:00 PM
QUOTE(saiga @ Jan 14 2007, 09:00 PM) LG launching one in Feb.But the price is damn expensive man. $1199!  i'd rather buy a 360+add on and a ps3
Ginryu
Jan 15 2007, 12:04 AM

Don't Blu-Ray already have japanese porn on it?
Also HD-DVD is nowhere in sight in Japan. Blu Ray already won there.
redbull_y2k
Jan 15 2007, 12:36 AM
QUOTE(Ginryu @ Jan 15 2007, 12:04 AM) Don't Blu-Ray already have japanese porn on it? Also HD-DVD is nowhere in sight in Japan. Blu Ray already won there. Really? But Glayz only release their vids on HD-DVD.
ubvmadman
Jan 15 2007, 12:52 AM
I have read that the reason why Sony is banning porn on Blu-Ray is the fact that the PS3 console uses the Blu-Ray format. Sony does not want litigious parents to sue Sony over children watching pR0N on their kiddy game console. This is odd given that there will be a HD DVD player for the XBox 360. Another reason (which I think is more accurate) seems to be that HD DVD is cheaper and easier to manufacture for the porn companies. CES 2007: HD DVD versus Blu-ray - The porn industry says HD DVDThe thing about porn tipping the balance in the battle between Betamax Vs. VHS is more of an urban myth than reality. The early Betamax tapes (the old L500) could only hold 1 hour of play whereas the standard VHS tape could easily record 2 hrs - hence most porn makers opted for VHS since the majority of their blue movies library was >1hr. Personally, I will opt for the format that has less restrictive region coding (Malaysia is in the same Blu-Ray coding as Japan/USA - yahoo!) and I will have to wait and see how crazy the DRM restrictions are.
g5sim
Jan 15 2007, 05:59 AM
QUOTE(ubvmadman @ Jan 15 2007, 12:52 AM) I have read that the reason why Sony is banning porn on Blu-Ray is the fact that the PS3 console uses the Blu-Ray format. Sony does not want litigious parents to sue Sony over children watching pR0N on their kiddy game console. This is odd given that there will be a HD DVD player for the XBox 360.Another reason (which I think is more accurate) seems to be that HD DVD is cheaper and easier to manufacture for the porn companies. You are correct that some p0rn studios are reluctant to put their vids on BD because of PS3. Currently >95% Blu-ray players are PS3. Although the average age of gamers are now 33yo, parents still buy gaming consoles for their children. HD DVD players are 50% XBox Add On and 50% standalone players. XBox 360 do not come with the Add On, only those who wish to experience HD (what ever the content might be) would buy the add on.
g5sim
Jan 15 2007, 06:02 AM
QUOTE(ubhm @ Jan 13 2007, 01:22 PM) Im going with sony on this, good move. Remember that if they are willing 'censor' contents, the way they are doing now, they would not have problem doing 'censorship' on other contents.
SUSSetsunahq
Jan 15 2007, 12:29 PM

format war ended? far from it
hello bt porn
MR.Shiney
Jan 15 2007, 02:04 PM
new experience watching porn. using a magnifying glass  wait.. im not suppose to discuss this. im under age This post has been edited by MR.Shiney: Jan 15 2007, 04:05 PM
Mgsrulz
Jan 15 2007, 04:34 PM
QUOTE(MR.Shiney @ Jan 15 2007, 02:04 PM) apeh...people standard 4/5 dah tengok... where've you been?