Is there any way tat can improve my english? need help..
University How to improve my English Language?, Having difficulties in Uni..
Jan 12 2007, 09:08 PM, updated 19y ago
Show posts by this member only | Post
52 posts Joined: Oct 2006 |
Im studying in Uni college, n i having difficulties when I have presentation because my english was so poor. poor in the sense of grammer..
Is there any way tat can improve my english? need help.. |
Jan 12 2007, 09:11 PM
6,799 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
QUOTE(joanne871207 @ Jan 12 2007, 09:08 PM) Im studying in Uni college, n i having difficulties when I have presentation because my english was so poor. poor in the sense of grammer.. best way is copycat.. Is there any way tat can improve my english? need help.. serious i have no problem since its the only language i know but when i was in uni in the uk and usually thats what i told all the ppl from china.. and it works with practise just choose somebody who is fluent in english ..not ure friend persay cause he will be pissed off.. then just copy his mannerism etc.. that way u'd correct ure grammer without even reliasing. then just keep talking... but mind u... ure going to be in trouble when it comes to writing which pisses me off when i see ppl cant rite a proper sentence.. .here forgivable as we are writing whatever comes to our mind but at WORK....like official letters...sishh. |
Jan 12 2007, 09:19 PM
36 posts Joined: Oct 2006 |
read books?? or what cstkl1 said just copycat.. or maybe you can start posting your post in proper english(no shortform, grammarwise etc..)
goodluck~! |
Jan 12 2007, 09:24 PM
158 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: 在你的心中 ^^ |
yes, am i... the longer i in working environment, i realised that i need more influential english speaking... any constructive ideas?
This post has been edited by lazy_worm: Jan 12 2007, 09:28 PM |
Jan 12 2007, 09:34 PM
967 posts Joined: Nov 2004 |
i think the cheapest way is to watch english series/movie , but u must choose the type wisely
then, a ~100% english talking environment(perfect english, not broken one) will boost u like NOS. This post has been edited by alvin1378: Jan 12 2007, 09:37 PM |
Jan 12 2007, 09:38 PM
158 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: 在你的心中 ^^ |
QUOTE(alvin1378 @ Jan 12 2007, 09:34 PM) i think the cheapest way is to watch english series/movie , but u must choose the type wisely ya... try to find your most interested movies, copy their dialogue, maybe is a good ideathen, a ~100% english talking environment(perfect english, not broken one) will boast u like NOS. I am watching "Prison break" recently. It's quite a excited drama series. This post has been edited by lazy_worm: Jan 12 2007, 09:42 PM |
Jan 12 2007, 09:45 PM
4,152 posts Joined: May 2005 |
You can start off by buying some English books that uses simple English. Buy something that ineterest you. If you had interest in photoshop before you coulbd get Photoshop for Dummies. Or it could be story books and so on. You will eventually pick up the grammar.
Besides that, you can try talking more in English. Also try thinking in English. I suppose that English is not your first language. So when a taught comes to mind, then try to translate it into English. When you have a difficulty, ask a friend to help you out. Since you pointed you that your grammar is bad, write down the sentence for your friend to read, then your friend can help you correct it. Try Peter and Jane book or other children story book if you still find them interesting. They are very helpful as they use simple sentences. It is easier for you to learn and identify the grammar rules from there. This post has been edited by mumeichan: Jan 12 2007, 09:46 PM |
Jan 12 2007, 09:46 PM
433 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
QUOTE(cstkl1 @ Jan 12 2007, 09:11 PM) best way is copycat.. No offence dude but how can you teach someone to be a copycat. No wonder you're writting terrible English. I am also not very good at English but I know the only way for me to improve is through hardwork and not through cheating. serious i have no problem since its the only language i know but when i was in uni in the uk and usually thats what i told all the ppl from china.. and it works with practise just choose somebody who is fluent in english ..not ure friend persay cause he will be pissed off.. then just copy his mannerism etc.. that way u'd correct ure grammer without even reliasing. then just keep talking... but mind u... ure going to be in trouble when it comes to writing which pisses me off when i see ppl cant rite a proper sentence.. .here forgivable as we are writing whatever comes to our mind but at WORK....like official letters...sishh. The only way to improve your English is through reading. There is no shortcut. In fact there is no other way. Start by reading simple books or newspaper. Books for children such as Harry Potter, Narnia or any books by Enid Blyton are the best choice to improve your grammar and sentence construction. I know some people will feel embarassed by reading books for children but it is better now then regret latter when you have difficulty getting a job. A lot of Malaysian graduates are unemployed because of their poor command in English. My advice to you is to always practice what you learn. Always write a full sentence. Make your sentences simple and easy to understand. No need to write fancy words. Think in English and not in Chinese. Don't try to translate from Chinese to English. Another advice is don't write "sms" type of English. My boss who is very good in English is extremely particular about this because she feels "sms" English is the root of all the problems. |
Jan 12 2007, 10:20 PM
1,852 posts Joined: Oct 2006 From: K.L |
do ur uni offer any short english course like UTar did? u should have join it for ur own benefit.. btw.. here is 1 of de similar thread wif urs..
english have a look n it may help u instead.. |
Jan 12 2007, 10:25 PM
439 posts Joined: Nov 2004 From: Semenyih |
Yes like someone said, speak more english but with people who can speak good english. Its like when I was in Australia, I was forced to talk english not minglish since people will stare at you funny if you do. After a few months, my english improved a lot, I was more conscious with my grammar and so on.....try doing that. Start learning to speak good english with people who can.
Jan 12 2007, 10:26 PM
86 posts Joined: Apr 2006 From: Petaling Jaya |
read books...but if you're lazy, then just read short essays and try to see how other ppl write and then learn from them. if dunno any words, can always check here.
Jan 12 2007, 10:29 PM
283 posts Joined: Aug 2005 From: Third Rock from the Sun |
QUOTE(joanne871207 @ Jan 12 2007, 09:08 PM) Im studying in Uni college, n i having difficulties when I have presentation because my english was so poor. poor in the sense of grammer.. To improve it there's lotsa ways. Read the newspaper, listen to the news, and also, practise writing more. Is there any way tat can improve my english? need help.. |
Jan 12 2007, 10:34 PM
722 posts Joined: Jun 2006 |
QUOTE(joanne871207 @ Jan 12 2007, 09:08 PM) Im studying in Uni college, n i having difficulties when I have presentation because my english was so poor. poor in the sense of grammer.. I assume that you want to improve your English in term of speaking (presentation). What i would really suggest is to talk more to your friends who are good in English. Try to listen and eventually speak even if it's broken English. And from there try to mend yourself.Is there any way tat can improve my english? need help.. |
Jan 12 2007, 10:44 PM
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]()
52,874 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
Presentation is more toward public speaking while conservation with friends won't help much. Other factors that plague presentation may include stage/crowd fright, nervous and "gagap" (don't know what's called in English, sorry!).
Jan 12 2007, 11:00 PM
QUOTE(David83 @ Jan 12 2007, 10:44 PM) Presentation is more toward public speaking while conservation with friends won't help much. Other factors that plague presentation may include stage/crowd fright, nervous and "gagap" (don't know what's called in English, sorry!). I think if you read the start of the thread she mentioned that her problem was grammar in speaking, not stage fright and nervousness. However what you have said is applicable if she indeed had those problems.In order to improve your grammar, you need to know where the problem lies and allow people to check you everytime you speak and correct you. |
Jan 12 2007, 11:05 PM
Conserve with the right person is important. If you conserve with your friends in English but your friends are having the same level of proficiency as you, no point of hoping that it'll improve your English conservation nor the grammar.
For grammar, it's advisable to improve by reading or practising using exercises. Once the fundamental is strong, you can start to focus on fluency and syntax in conversation. |
Jan 12 2007, 11:11 PM
2,171 posts Joined: Jun 2006 From: With the Geordies |
speak,read,listen to the language. find the word in dictionary if don understand..my opinion^^..
Jan 12 2007, 11:13 PM
QUOTE(Grajindo @ Jan 12 2007, 11:11 PM) Read, comprehend, write, listen, converse ... should be more precise.Get a good dictionary will be another effective steps too but make you will use not just as a decoration in the book shelf. |
Jan 12 2007, 11:17 PM
QUOTE(David83 @ Jan 12 2007, 11:05 PM) Conserve with the right person is important. If you conserve with your friends in English but your friends are having the same level of proficiency as you, no point of hoping that it'll improve your English conservation nor the grammar. Yes you are right, assuming that she does not have or cannot find any friends that have better english than her, then reading, writing and doing exercises and then have someone good in english to check for her, is the answer as well. If she could converse with someone who speaks really good english, that would be better because if you combine the two then you will definitely excell faster in english.For grammar, it's advisable to improve by reading or practising using exercises. Once the fundamental is strong, you can start to focus on fluency and syntax in conversation. |
Jan 13 2007, 12:35 AM
52 posts Joined: Oct 2006 |
QUOTE(mumeichan @ Jan 12 2007, 09:45 PM) You can start off by buying some English books that uses simple English. Buy something that ineterest you. If you had interest in photoshop before you coulbd get Photoshop for Dummies. Or it could be story books and so on. You will eventually pick up the grammar. im starting to read newspaper and doing exercise everyday.. and how to write a good essay? not an essay, but write in a project(report).. im always using the simple words..and cant twist the word.. in Uni, if my english cant improve, then i will left behind compare to others..Besides that, you can try talking more in English. Also try thinking in English. I suppose that English is not your first language. So when a taught comes to mind, then try to translate it into English. When you have a difficulty, ask a friend to help you out. Since you pointed you that your grammar is bad, write down the sentence for your friend to read, then your friend can help you correct it. Try Peter and Jane book or other children story book if you still find them interesting. They are very helpful as they use simple sentences. It is easier for you to learn and identify the grammar rules from there. u r true, english is not my first language.. regret tat didnt learn well in primary and secondary school.. QUOTE(oucheev @ Jan 12 2007, 09:46 PM) No offence dude but how can you teach someone to be a copycat. No wonder you're writting terrible English. I am also not very good at English but I know the only way for me to improve is through hardwork and not through cheating. i dun feel embarassing by reading books for children but i feel embarassing when presenting using the poor english in front of the lecturer and students... -.- the simple words make me feel im not improving my english..(u know wat im trying to say?) im in Uni, but not in secondary sch anymore...write a report(presentation),cant use simple words..mayb i should improve in english knowlegde?learning new words?The only way to improve your English is through reading. There is no shortcut. In fact there is no other way. Start by reading simple books or newspaper. Books for children such as Harry Potter, Narnia or any books by Enid Blyton are the best choice to improve your grammar and sentence construction. I know some people will feel embarassed by reading books for children but it is better now then regret latter when you have difficulty getting a job. A lot of Malaysian graduates are unemployed because of their poor command in English. My advice to you is to always practice what you learn. Always write a full sentence. Make your sentences simple and easy to understand. No need to write fancy words. Think in English and not in Chinese. Don't try to translate from Chinese to English. Another advice is don't write "sms" type of English. My boss who is very good in English is extremely particular about this because she feels "sms" English is the root of all the problems. QUOTE(David83 @ Jan 12 2007, 11:05 PM) Conserve with the right person is important. If you conserve with your friends in English but your friends are having the same level of proficiency as you, no point of hoping that it'll improve your English conservation nor the grammar. u r right, thanks for ur info..For grammar, it's advisable to improve by reading or practising using exercises. Once the fundamental is strong, you can start to focus on fluency and syntax in conversation. |
| Change to: | 0.0212sec
5 queries
Time is now: 26th November 2025 - 10:34 PM |