▌►LYN SWIMMING THREAD V2 ◄ ▌, C'mon swimmerz!

Sky.Live
post Feb 18 2011, 02:37 PM

Proctected Species
4,390 posts

Hate those who go pool with big bunch of friends, then stand the middle of the pool for the whole day chatting.. = ="

Lately start to swim again, felt very lost.. Any place having swimming lesson?
Sky.Live
post Feb 28 2011, 02:13 PM

Proctected Species
4,390 posts

My goggle's rubber drops off when I wash them I guess.. now lost... gotta get another goggle.. again..

No sure what to get.. expensive or cheap they all seems the same. I bought one RM90 and got stolen.. then I bought another for like RM30 and it's almost the same..
Sky.Live
post Mar 3 2011, 10:43 AM

Proctected Species
4,390 posts

QUOTE(paradiddle @ Mar 3 2011, 10:37 AM)
hi all,

i need some opinion about my conditions.

here the story goes.

i started swimming bout a week ago.
first day - bubbling.
second day - learned breaststroke and done for 8 laps.
third day - 22 laps bs.
4th - 7th - 30 laps per day
8th - rest.

my pain started after the 8th day.

swim for 2 laps and i got groin pain. it hurts a lot. i cant walk for like 5 minutes after swimming.

It doesn't hurt when I swim. but if i cough I can feel it.

is it normal for beginners?

thanks.
Where does it hurt?
Sky.Live
post Mar 12 2011, 02:32 PM

Proctected Species
4,390 posts

I tried the TI style, it's relaxing but then.. something still seems not right for me.. my breathing not that smooth, I can only breath better from the right side but not left.. don't know how to turn my head up so I can take a deep breath, my breath intake is always quick and rushed.. Thus upon finishing 25m I already started to lost my breath
Sky.Live
post Apr 19 2011, 02:28 PM

Proctected Species
4,390 posts

Any idea how to train to swim long distance? Those swimathon, swim from island to island, how did they do it?
Sky.Live
post Oct 24 2011, 12:36 AM

Proctected Species
4,390 posts

QUOTE(dogbert_chew @ Oct 21 2011, 06:29 PM)
Advance Aquatics has teamed up with this Spore Co to bring in Total Immersion to Malaysia.
A few of my triathlon friends attended and can now swim effortlessly for a few KM, damn .. sweat.gif
Kinda interested too.. they offer course almost everywhere in klang valley.. but I think I enquired before, their price is on the high side
Sky.Live
post Dec 1 2011, 01:34 PM

Proctected Species
4,390 posts

The best I tried back few days, 1km at 30mins,.. I cant freestyle all the way, have to alternate free and breast each lap.. my freestyle breathing is not good, too taxing and I'm already run out of breath when reaching the other end.

After the swim I got dizzy for the entire night
Sky.Live
post Dec 1 2011, 11:59 PM

Proctected Species
4,390 posts

QUOTE(dogbert_chew @ Dec 1 2011, 07:02 PM)
Sky .. you can join Sprint Triathlon

swim 750m cycle 20km run 5km ..

This is my favourite because I just started running and the distance is achievable.
Shud be no problem.. kinda hate it when I swim I cant do it continuously. Swimming getting worse instead of better...

But never seen such event before.. The swimming is in open water.. It's gonna be harder
Sky.Live
post Dec 3 2011, 03:29 PM

Proctected Species
4,390 posts

QUOTE(niamh @ Dec 2 2011, 12:34 PM)
hi there, i love swimming however i tend to inhale using nose sometimes, so i wanna know is there any accessories that can put on the nose that allow exhale but prevent inhale?
just leave ur nose slightly higher when u rotate ur body? i think it will prevent water form going in
Sky.Live
post Dec 18 2011, 02:14 AM

Proctected Species
4,390 posts

QUOTE(dogbert_chew @ Dec 5 2011, 10:23 PM)
The nearest to KL would be Port Dickson Triathlon 7th July 2012. Triathlon Malaysia

They usually organize a workshop for beginners a few weeks earlier which involves a slow swim of the actual route.  biggrin.gif
This is info for the 2011 PD Trialthon

Sprint Triathlon
23 July 2011 (Sat), 8.00am
750m Swim, 20km Bike, 5km Run

Olympic Distance Triathlon
24 July 2011 (Sun), 7.30am
1.5km Swim, 40km Bike, 10km Run

Kenyir Lake International Triathlon 2010

Distance : 1.5km swim, 40km bike, 10km run

Hmm kinda difficult to me, my speed only around 1k / 30mins, too slow to do these event..
Sky.Live
post Dec 21 2011, 01:44 PM

Proctected Species
4,390 posts

I did 1 mile (ard 1650m) + warm ups in 1:10, really slow pokes, my body rotation towards left is cacat, so is my left hand catch, makes my body unbalance when I swim, always hit the floating lane guide.. After swim due to over rotation in one direction, my whole body is aching now
Sky.Live
post Dec 27 2011, 05:16 PM

Proctected Species
4,390 posts

QUOTE(JustcallmeLarry @ Dec 27 2011, 01:17 PM)
Helllo everyone, i just found this thread. I use to swim a lot when in Penang but now in KL i didn't swim once bcs i can't a good & clean place. So is it ok you guys recommend me a good place and can i join your. I only know kelana jaya swiiming pool is good but heard a lot of gay stories there so scared. You guys want to do a gathering or not. Lowyat Swimming Gathering???

Boy Team:
???
Girl Team:
???
You swim your laps, they gay and backstab over there..

Best water for me is Bukit Jalil and Taman Permaisuri (Bandar Tun Razak), but both toilet sucks.
I rather good water than good bathroom pool than poor water quality which I just bare it for a while during bathing, or worse, change and bath ta home.

Kelana I used to go as a kids, ever since renovated (10years back?) I never been before

QUOTE(pilotHans @ Dec 25 2011, 10:50 AM)
suddenly Sprint Triathlon sounds tempting-

so 20laps within 30mins...hmm..i think its acrhivable but im cant do freestyle all the way, always rotate with breathstroke, k'll try to reCount my laps.......usually when i swim, i just swim non stop without counting the laps..counting would make me more tired  sweat.gif maybe i'll ask my spouse to calculate.....running 5kms...hmm..i can run tasik titiwangsa 2rounds then stop/tired...so how many km's is that?  sweat.gif cycling? nope - never tried since my last kid when i was in school more then 10years ago  doh.gif
Running is quite ok i think, so is cycling, but to do them at one go is quite difficult.

I think if you can swim non stop you should be good to go, as most of us join endurance race for our own sense of achievement rather than aiming for podium finish.

The nearest I can think of is Malakoff Duathlon, cant remember the detail try google for it, sort of 3.5km run, cycle 10 or 15km then run 3.5km

This post has been edited by Sky.Live: Dec 27 2011, 05:18 PM
Sky.Live
post Dec 28 2011, 12:17 PM

Proctected Species
4,390 posts

cause you cannot surf forum while you swim, probably those godlike ppl can do it while MTBing and Running hehe

Yeah I wanna try Putrajaya Pool one day, maybe today
Sky.Live
post Feb 10 2012, 12:32 PM

Proctected Species
4,390 posts

Any idea where is the best place to get training flipper, paddle, and pull-buoy? I realise buying up the set would set me up near to RM200..
Sky.Live
post Feb 10 2012, 05:56 PM

Proctected Species
4,390 posts

QUOTE(Patrick Star @ Feb 10 2012, 04:45 PM)
Hi All,

Anyone of you having arm/shoulder pain during swimming?

What are the causes? How to solve this?

Need advise..

I have it too, main reason not relax enough..

How to be relax? I am still learning it...
Sky.Live
post Feb 10 2012, 10:11 PM

Proctected Species
4,390 posts

Yup, I'm in a class now as why I need to get those gear as mentioned. Did near 3000m that day.. My strokes are wrong, when I leave my arms, I am actually pushing my whole hand forward and not lifting my elbow high enough according to the coach..

Sky.Live
post Feb 13 2012, 04:02 PM

Proctected Species
4,390 posts

QUOTE(senyii @ Feb 12 2012, 11:31 PM)
Weekday too far for me..
How far is cheras to Bukit Jalil? i stay in Cheras too, it takes at least 20minutes to get there but well.. that's what you need to do if you wanna swim.. what to do..

I used to go Tun Razak Pool but their time is too odd and I cant accommodate to their time, their pool is really clean tho.. I have no complains about their water cleanliness.. Both toilet is below satisfactory level but you can always bath at home afterwards if you really cant stand it
Sky.Live
post Feb 14 2012, 11:41 AM

Proctected Species
4,390 posts

QUOTE(senyii @ Feb 14 2012, 12:26 AM)
Because I work in kl ma so cheras to kl then to bucket jalil is bit far...
lol i stay in cheras, travel to nilai for work, then go bukit jalil swim, then go back home..
Sky.Live
post Feb 14 2012, 11:53 AM

Proctected Species
4,390 posts

Bukit Jalil - Powerswim

I am learning that.. well not exactly learning. Just someone to push u to swim more.. did 4000m yesterday.. only my 2nd class.

They offer various classes, try enquiry..

Bandar Tun Razak is cheap, used to learn there but it's matter of luck which coach u get, some is good some just main main.. walk in la.. i dun think they bother to answer ur call

Sky.Live
post Feb 14 2012, 12:13 PM

Proctected Species
4,390 posts

QUOTE(joonming @ Feb 14 2012, 12:03 PM)
Thank you for the info, actually is for my boy not myself.
i learn swimming by myself, that i don't know how to teach them.
Oh.. there's a lot of kids learning there, perhaps u can join the adult class (join me? haha) when you fetch ur children over. at least it's better than most parents sitting there 2 hrs doing nthg or playing with ipad/iphone

0.0518sec    1.27    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 01:05 AM