Fixed Deposit Rates In Malaysia V. No.13, Strictly for FD Discussion Only

David3700
post Jun 21 2016, 10:26 PM

1,055 posts

QUOTE(TOMEI-R @ Jun 21 2016, 05:26 PM)
Do you have any idea when this promo will end?

4.5 is the best as of now. Fixed rate rather than those step up promos.
Have been searching around at major banks.....so far this is the best offer currently.
David3700
post Jun 21 2016, 11:09 PM

1,055 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Jun 21 2016, 10:44 PM)
You will need to look for that special branch offering 4.5%
Do you know any branch around Kepong area offering this ?
David3700
post Jun 22 2016, 08:53 AM

1,055 posts

QUOTE(wil-i-am @ Jun 22 2016, 08:07 AM)
BR
What is their current offer ?
David3700
post Jun 23 2016, 02:45 PM

1,055 posts

QUOTE(wil-i-am @ Jun 23 2016, 02:39 PM)
This one seems to be a new one....but must place 20% in saving account
David3700
post Jun 23 2016, 03:16 PM

1,055 posts

QUOTE(TOMEI-R @ Jun 23 2016, 03:06 PM)
I think this would be the better deal.  nod.gif
Why so ?
This one interest is lower and have to place 20% in casa....
May anybody advise what will be the effective interest inclusive of 20% in casa ?
David3700
post Jun 28 2016, 08:19 PM

1,055 posts

QUOTE(eleven dragon @ Jun 28 2016, 07:22 PM)
Affin promo, PJ new town branch is included as well.
Promo expired when.....sifu please advise
David3700
post Jun 29 2016, 07:21 PM

1,055 posts

QUOTE(charmhy18 @ Jun 29 2016, 06:27 PM)
rhb, ocbc, uob lur...will try other banks other days coz i work mon-fri lei
Can share what is the good deals at RHB, OCBC and UOB ?
I think Affin will run out very fast.....
David3700
post Jun 30 2016, 07:46 AM

1,055 posts

QUOTE(cklimm @ Jun 30 2016, 07:09 AM)
why you guys busy searching for affin? I got 4.25% interest on top of 4.25% interest from KFH FD, i ended up with rm 400+ pocket money, which is interest's interest
Can you explain further on this. ....I am interested
David3700
post Jun 30 2016, 09:17 AM

1,055 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Jun 30 2016, 08:14 AM)
You put BIG amount into KFH like really big. They give you the interest upfront. If interest >= RM10k, you can put the given interest into any of those promo rates FD yo boost your effective rates.
Oh, 10k interest. So principal roughly 250k......
David3700
post Jun 30 2016, 09:19 AM

1,055 posts

QUOTE(valencia25 @ Jun 30 2016, 09:06 AM)
Mownink guys!  icon_rolleyes.gif

New Bank Rakyat FD promo starting in July 2016;
12 month - 4.38%
Min - RM 5k!

pls call 0326173800 for any enquiries.. hav a nic day thumbup.gif
That's good....
David3700
post Jun 30 2016, 05:22 PM

1,055 posts

QUOTE(LostAndFound @ Jun 30 2016, 04:45 PM)
He just lo suo way of saying that if your maturity date fall on public holiday or weekend you can get 'extra' interest when you withdraw on exactly the next working day (hence Monday). Some banks at promo rate, some at board rate, some don't give (AFAIK).

Of course, if you're 'holding' your money for a few days to wait for that special day you also lose money on interest for those days, so go count if its worth la.
It's worth the effort if your placement is gigantic..... tongue.gif
David3700
post Jul 1 2016, 05:37 AM

1,055 posts

QUOTE(blackseed202 @ Jul 1 2016, 02:16 AM)
hi guys

im very new with finance so would like to ask some noob questions.

whats the best ratio to put into FD from all your wealth?

lets say you have 1m of cash. how much are you guys putting it into FD. 50%? 30%?

of course considering your risk profile and everything, but just wanted to know the average ratio for people here in lowyat.

cheers!
Depending on whether you want to use the money in near future or not. If all these are extra money, then can put 100%, unless you want to reserve some for other investment. ....

David3700
post Jul 1 2016, 02:08 PM

1,055 posts

QUOTE(guy3288 @ Jul 1 2016, 01:42 PM)
Today uplifted all  my MBB GIA FDs prematuredly, IBFT to BR for its promo FD 4.38% pa x 12month, monthly interest.

and got a pen, not bad.
So BR promo is monthly interest ? Have to open a casa, very troublesome lah....
David3700
post Jul 1 2016, 03:49 PM

1,055 posts

QUOTE(kino318 @ Jul 1 2016, 03:15 PM)
Hi, thnk you.
I was told bank rakyat, BSN FD is not protected under PIDM. Maybe this is the only concern.
Thk you.
Is that true ? Can anybody advise....
David3700
post Jul 2 2016, 09:34 AM

1,055 posts

QUOTE(klein @ Jul 2 2016, 09:26 AM)
Guys, when will the FD rate start to pick up again? I have s few that will mature soon.. aiyo
I thought a lot of ppl say it will be going down......
David3700
post Jul 2 2016, 09:55 AM

1,055 posts

QUOTE(T231H @ Jul 2 2016, 09:44 AM)
yes,...I think the chances of it going down is more than going up too...
my bets is
42.5% stays
35.0% down
22.5% up
on the next meeting
Seems like you are one of the BNM committee member. ...haha
David3700
post Jul 3 2016, 09:18 AM

1,055 posts

QUOTE(Jupiter Pirate @ Jul 3 2016, 09:10 AM)
Hey everyone,

I have a CIMB savings accout, but I wanna take up Maybank's current 4.25% p.a. FD offer. It says that there that the rate is only applicable if the funds are deposited over the counter. Does that mean that I have to actually carry RM10k worth of money with me over to a Maybank branch? Sounds a bit crazy.
Can bring a bank cheque or write a personal cheque.....
David3700
post Jul 3 2016, 06:15 PM

1,055 posts

QUOTE(cherroy @ Jul 3 2016, 04:51 PM)
I don't think there is need to "micro-manage" on FD too much.

If the sum is substantial, a few RM won't bother much for them generally.
If the sum is not substantial, a few cents won't make much a different.

Sometimes for convenience sake, we need to give and take.
Time and conveniences sometimes is more precious than spending too much time and effort just for "micro managing" on something.

If IBFT limit is 50K, and you have 100K, just perform IBFT/Giro in next day if exceeding the daily limit, first 50K deposit today, another 50k tomorrow, or just get a banker cheque or personal cheque, with cost of Rm0.53+0.15, a merely RM0.68 cents solve all the hassle, instead want to get many account that enable one to send IBFT/Giro with 100K.

"Conveniences" may save one even more.
Ya, just do a bankers cheque and settle all the hassle in one shot...That's what I do when transferring matured FD to another bank

This post has been edited by David3700: Jul 3 2016, 06:17 PM
David3700
post Jul 5 2016, 02:32 PM

1,055 posts

QUOTE(bbgoat @ Jul 5 2016, 02:13 PM)
Just a quick update, running to airport. Going to be back in a week's time.

Yesterday went to Affin to place the 4.5% 12 mths. Lots of people (mainly Chinese !) there ! Confirmed that it is still limited to selected branch. So Penang island just the Light Street and Bayan Baru branch. Quota 500 mil.

Hopefully next week still available when I am back !

Good luck and next week hopefully can get better promo !  biggrin.gif
Hopefully got Merdeka promo come right after this..... tongue.gif
David3700
post Jul 6 2016, 08:20 AM

1,055 posts

QUOTE(wil-i-am @ Jul 6 2016, 12:37 AM)
Promo from Al Rajhi Bank
Good efforts for finding us great deals....

7 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0944sec    0.56    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 06:44 PM