10 Pages « < 3 4 5 6 7 > » Bottom

Fixed Deposit Rates In Malaysia V. No.13, Strictly for FD Discussion Only

bbgoat
post Jul 3 2016, 06:02 PM

6,614 posts

QUOTE(aromachong @ Jul 3 2016, 05:31 PM)
different people have different views on this;

it's their hard-earned cash.. some will be meticulous even few cents matters to them

some don't care at all even for few hundreds or thousands

in the end, it's their decision as that's their $$
I think each of us has the right to do as pleased.

For me, I will NOT over manage the FD returns. What has been described is just too much juggling around, having so many CASA accounts ! biggrin.gif

Time and convenience is more important to me than send funds here and there.

Anyway, each person can do as pleased. Just like there are even people putting money in some banks FD on board rates. biggrin.gif
bbgoat
post Jul 4 2016, 08:02 AM

6,614 posts

QUOTE(guy3288 @ Jul 4 2016, 12:17 AM)
Wanna clarify abit. Was your FD cert showing Instruction on maturity = 2 ,ie renew principal at prevailing rate?

If like that, i also wanna go and change it to 3, ie credit principal and profit into account.

my FD due on 8.7.16 PH, then Sat and Sunday, keep in MBB GIA can get 100+ to spend. that is if i can IBFT all out same day,
but i know i can't ,even with few accounts FYI Deal Hunter.

PS for monthly int, BR's 12m 4.38% still the best right?
Yes, all my SCB FD was Renewal Instruction 2. Last year I changed one of them which matured on Sat to credit all to CASA (not sure if it is "3"). This was done OTC when I was taking out matured FD.

But I did not move to MBB GIA-i at that time, frankly speaking that time was sceptical about it.

Edit: It was posted that BR 4.38% ended already ! Please see afternoon post.

This post has been edited by bbgoat: Jul 4 2016, 06:38 PM
bbgoat
post Jul 4 2016, 10:33 AM

6,614 posts

QUOTE(haur @ Jul 4 2016, 10:27 AM)
Good morning people, any updates on Affin 4.5%pa in Light Street?
If available, will zoom there to make placement by today. Kiasu mode is ON!
Me too, but instead going to call Bayan Baru branch as it is easier to park cars there. I have placed in Light Street on 2 different day before. biggrin.gif

Lets ZOOM .............................. tongue.gif
bbgoat
post Jul 5 2016, 02:13 PM

6,614 posts

Just a quick update, running to airport. Going to be back in a week's time.

Yesterday went to Affin to place the 4.5% 12 mths. Lots of people (mainly Chinese !) there ! Confirmed that it is still limited to selected branch. So Penang island just the Light Street and Bayan Baru branch. Quota 500 mil.

Hopefully next week still available when I am back !

Good luck and next week hopefully can get better promo ! biggrin.gif
bbgoat
post Jul 12 2016, 05:57 PM

6,614 posts

Just came back. "Lost" interest on some FD which matured in last few days. biggrin.gif

Went to HL to withdraw the matured FD. Quite full in the branch. Luckily able to jump queue, but still took 40 minutes to clear FD certs, RENTAS and getting BC. Heard from the officer that due to Raya holidays, some staff not back yet. HL may be carrying out some exercise like the other banks, thus the waiting time may be long.

Went to Affin to place the FD (called first to confirm the 4.5% still available). Easy and no crowd there. Unlike last Monday with crowds and took >1 hr to finish ! doh.gif Just 15 minutes all in to get the FD certs. Served by an officer. She said she heard the Light Street branch has stopped the 4.5% promo. The Bayan Baru branch may meet the quota soon. Asked me to call her to confirm before going there to place for the 4.5% FD.

Last week I did mention that the Affin quota for the promo is 500 million, told by another officer there.

This post has been edited by bbgoat: Jul 12 2016, 06:02 PM
bbgoat
post Jul 12 2016, 08:01 PM

6,614 posts

Did online termination for last week matured OCBC FD. But daily transfer limit max 10k, have to transfer out few times ! doh.gif

Why can't OCBC increase it to 50k like some other banks ! hmm.gif

This post has been edited by bbgoat: Jul 12 2016, 08:03 PM
bbgoat
post Jul 12 2016, 08:19 PM

6,614 posts

QUOTE(aeiou228 @ Jul 12 2016, 08:19 PM)
Didn't try Deal Hunter's tip to bypass bank's daily IBG limit ? See boleh pakai or not ?  tongue.gif
Only one acct there. How to bypass ? tongue.gif
bbgoat
post Jul 12 2016, 09:33 PM

6,614 posts

Transferred from HL and OCBC (OCBC limited to 10k per day, tak boleh pakai >10k tongue.gif ) to MBB. Placed GIA-i. These are for temporary basis. Waiting to spring into action when needed instead of sitting idle in SA. biggrin.gif

Never need to answer any online question. Not sure if it was because it was done when I placed the first GIA-i OTC. biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by bbgoat: Jul 12 2016, 09:39 PM
bbgoat
post Jul 12 2016, 09:40 PM

6,614 posts

QUOTE(Human Nature @ Jul 12 2016, 09:37 PM)
Assuming the FD with OCBC was placed physically, how do you uplift it online? Was it based on your standing instruction?
When placed OTC, no SI given. I think anyone can terminate the FD. When we view the FD online, click on the FD and it will show "Withdrawal" as one of the option. Try it and see.
bbgoat
post Jul 12 2016, 10:06 PM

6,614 posts

QUOTE(TOMEI-R @ Jul 12 2016, 09:59 PM)
My friend's Citibank Flexi Housing loan account was hacked using email phising (yes, he was careless) and he lost RM50k in one day.
I have CB acct. Not sure how they hack into the second level security of h/p PIN.

Anyway, banks like MBB, CIMB & RHB also limit 30k per day, SCB, HL & Affin 50k per day. UOB ibg 50k per day.

10k is kind of low nowadays. biggrin.gif
bbgoat
post Jul 13 2016, 12:02 PM

6,614 posts

QUOTE(David3700 @ Jul 13 2016, 11:54 AM)
What is the min amount ?
bbgoat
post Jul 13 2016, 03:54 PM

6,614 posts

QUOTE(nexona88 @ Jul 13 2016, 03:30 PM)
BNM cut rate wor..

Standard Chartered & all other banks people can go fly kite. they all said rate maintain..
sweat.gif Luckily I logged in my large sum FD with Affin 4.5% in recent weeks, last one just yesterday after returning from overseas holiday. sweat.gif rclxms.gif

http://www.thestar.com.my/business/busines...licy-committee/

This post has been edited by bbgoat: Jul 13 2016, 03:55 PM
bbgoat
post Jul 13 2016, 03:57 PM

6,614 posts

QUOTE(Bonescythe @ Jul 13 2016, 03:53 PM)
Huhu.. dash away my hope 5% fd won't happen this year
Opr reduced
Big Bones finally admitted on the 5% DREAM FD rate ! brows.gif

Well there goes my 4.6% prediction also ....................... cry.gif
bbgoat
post Jul 13 2016, 04:06 PM

6,614 posts

QUOTE(David3700 @ Jul 13 2016, 04:04 PM)
Large sum.....50 mil ??
tongue.gif biggrin.gif

For a poor guy like me, 50k maybe ? brows.gif
bbgoat
post Jul 13 2016, 04:38 PM

6,614 posts

QUOTE(nexona88 @ Jul 13 2016, 04:33 PM)
there's goes the best rate in town..

nice knowing Affin 4.5% FD bye.gif
I actually have been ignoring Affin until early June with the 4.5%. Till yesterday have placed sums that I have to ask myself to put a halt to them. So it seems I am lucky in that aspect. biggrin.gif
bbgoat
post Jul 13 2016, 04:41 PM

6,614 posts

QUOTE(nexona88 @ Jul 13 2016, 04:39 PM)
report semua tak boleh pakai punya  bruce.gif
We all can pick a guess and be analyst as well ! whistling.gif
bbgoat
post Jul 13 2016, 04:44 PM

6,614 posts

Glad to see MBB has given me the add'l 0.5% for the GIA-i interest. So saved me from having to call them. thumbsup.gif
bbgoat
post Jul 13 2016, 04:45 PM

6,614 posts

QUOTE(nexona88 @ Jul 13 2016, 04:43 PM)
lucky u.. just on time & didn't wait any longer..
hahha so true.
Lucky in FD but unlucky in USD ! cry.gif cry.gif
bbgoat
post Jul 13 2016, 05:00 PM

6,614 posts

QUOTE(nexona88 @ Jul 13 2016, 04:58 PM)
MYR gonna be weaker in coming days  hmm.gif  hmm.gif
You can't win them all ! sad.gif
bbgoat
post Jul 13 2016, 07:57 PM

6,614 posts

QUOTE(lowdensity @ Jul 13 2016, 07:43 PM)
As far I know as long as the FD is issued by Bank (Conventional or Islamic) the FD is protected by PIDM . If the FD is issued by Investment uniy then it is not protected where banker will notify before you subscribe.

But PIDM, if I'm not mistaken, only insured up to 200k per account or per individual (this I'm not sure).
Not all banks are PIDM protected, BSN and BR.

PIDM 250k protection per depositor per member bank.

http://www.pidm.gov.my/downloads/2011/HandbookDI_2011.pdf

10 Pages « < 3 4 5 6 7 > » Top

0.0904sec    0.55    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 11th December 2025 - 10:54 AM