Acer Switch Alpha 12 Thread v1, Gone with Alpha, now Switch 3, 5 & 7.

TSiSean
post May 24 2016, 10:06 PM, updated 7 months ago

iz old liao.
4,498 posts

Switch Alpha 12

Model Intel i3 NT.GDQSM.004
Windows Windows 10 Home
CPUIntel® Core™ i3-6100U processor Dual-core 2.30 GHz
Display 30.5 cm (12") QHD (2160 x 1440) 3:2 IPS
Memory 4 GB, LPDDR3
Storage 128 GB SSD

RM 2499

i5 model : NT.GDQSM.003
Model Intel i5 NT.GDQSM.003
Windows Windows 10 Home
CPUIntel® Core™ i5-6200U processor Dual-core 2.30 GHz
Display 30.5 cm (12") QHD (2160 x 1440) 3:2 IPS
Memory 8 GB, LPDDR3
Storage 256 GB SSD

RM 3499

------------------------
Packages includes :
1 year International Warranty
Acer's Synaptics/ELAN Pen (Depends on Luck)
Keyboard included (non-backlit)

My personal Review:
The Good:
- Great IPS Display
- somewhat great travel keyboard
- Run decently cool on light programs
- Good Malaysian Highpoint Service Centre if you are based in KL.

The Bad :
- Badly placed Home and End key...
- Heats up on backplate real quick on intensive apps
- Somewhat sketchy Palm Rejection
- No backlit keyboard
- Lack of Acer Dock/Type C dock currently available
- The Glossy Reflective Display, hard to read if you are under light.
- DENT GATE Find a case or protective cover.... shakehead.gif
- Acer' stylus runs battery like water. What's more it is not rechargable. You need numberous AAAA Battery.
- Bad build quality, currently it is my 2nd replacement unit (waiting for colelction).
First Unit : Faulty Digitizer where there is a deadzone. Second Unit (First Replacement Unit): Dead Left Speaker after a few months of use.
- Acer Switch Alpha 12 battery life only last me through 2-3 hours of use on 100 brightness, not as advertised, roughly 8 hours of use on their website.
- Even through like tasks like Words and Chrome, even running of Edge, the best you can get is 4 hours on Maximum Brightness

Current USB Type-C Compatible Accesories that wouldn't fry your laptop:
iE70P Aluminium USB Hub @ RM 4X.00 @ ALL IT HYPERMARKET.

List of approved items for Type C:
https://docs.google.com/spreadsheets/d/1wJw...NzbA/edit#gid=0

Issues with my Original Purchased Unit:

Dead Digitzer Zone...
=========================
Replacement with new Unit Done of September 6, 2016.

New Unit have Bad Lamination on the screen, where it produce a white spots on the screen. Fortunately it wasn't a big issue, so no big fuss.
On 26 April 2017, after noticing my left speaker unit for my first replacement units is broken, sent to repair and got it back on 1 May 2017, realized no more Acer TrueHarmony and after fixing Auto Rotate is broken, means, the functionality is gone...

So kilang again.... :x
23 August 2017
Laptop completely "power on failure", after packing up heading for university for examinations.
When I reached to the university and tried to turn it on...

==========================================
Original Acer Charger came with Acer Switch Alpha 12:
Manufactured : Chicony Power Technology Co., Ltd
Model : A13-045N2A
UP/N: A045R016L REV: 02
Bar Code on the left

Compatible Original Acer Chargers:
Manufactured : LiteOn Technology Corporation
Model : PA-1450-26
< RM 40 + Shipping from Taobao
Bar Code on the right

This post has been edited by iSean: Jun 9 2019, 08:55 AM
effectz
post May 24 2016, 10:35 PM

1,112 posts

Eyeing this too. Acer fb says out end of this month
chaosneo
post May 26 2016, 01:48 PM

5,694 posts

the specs are very good for the price though the i5 variant could have been a little cheaper. just a tad dissappointed that it does not include Thunderbolt 3 port.
zack9999
post May 26 2016, 02:55 PM

290 posts

Anyone knows whether they have a model with sim card slot?
evanttc
post May 27 2016, 01:03 AM

858 posts

is there anywhere can trade in my Surface Pro 3 for this... .>"<
effectz
post May 27 2016, 11:05 PM

1,112 posts

QUOTE(evanttc @ May 27 2016, 01:03 AM)
is there anywhere can trade in my Surface Pro 3 for this... .>"<
What is the drawback that you want to trade?
evanttc
post May 28 2016, 01:13 AM

858 posts

QUOTE(effectz @ May 27 2016, 11:05 PM)
What is the drawback that you want to trade?
i5 6200, 2K screen.

my spec is 128gb 4gb ram

amaze01
post May 28 2016, 06:12 PM

146 posts

with this product hopefully other PC vendors will catch up with the design/spec and price
evanttc
post May 30 2016, 02:56 AM

858 posts

went to Acer digital mall PJ to hands on..... feeling so GOOD!
TSiSean
post May 30 2016, 11:43 AM

iz old liao.
4,498 posts

QUOTE(evanttc @ May 30 2016, 02:56 AM)
rclxms.gif Can go test!

chaosneo
post May 30 2016, 03:03 PM

5,694 posts

QUOTE(amaze01 @ May 28 2016, 06:12 PM)
with this product hopefully other PC vendors will catch up with the design/spec and price
Asus just did what you hope...
http://www.engadget.com/2016/05/30/asus-transformer-pc/

and it has all the things i want. Core-i CPU + Thunderbolt drool.gif

but it came from Asus and Asus MY service has a reputation... bangwall.gif
OldSchoolJoke
post May 30 2016, 03:40 PM

289 posts

QUOTE(evanttc @ May 30 2016, 02:56 AM)
got price for it?

QUOTE(chaosneo @ May 30 2016, 03:03 PM)
Asus just did what you hope...
http://www.engadget.com/2016/05/30/asus-transformer-pc/

and it has all the things i want. Core-i CPU + Thunderbolt  drool.gif

but it came from Asus and Asus MY service has a reputation...  bangwall.gif
nowadays 2-in-1 loves to copy Microsoft's Surface design biggrin.gif biggrin.gif
but please don't copy the price sad.gif
chaosneo
post May 30 2016, 04:20 PM

5,694 posts

QUOTE(OldSchoolJoke @ May 30 2016, 03:40 PM)
got price for it?
nowadays 2-in-1 loves to copy Microsoft's Surface design  biggrin.gif  biggrin.gif
but please don't copy the price  sad.gif
a bit too late on the price though...

so far, Acer Switch Alpha 12 beat them at price point:
Asus Transformer 3 Pro: USD999 (rm4,000)
Asus Transformer 3: USD 799 (rm3,196)

Acer Switch Alpha 12
i3: rm2,499
i5: rm3,499
i7: rm4,499 ??? (this one i am not too sure)

but of course there are specs differentiation like screen size, ram, storage, and other features.
OldSchoolJoke
post May 30 2016, 04:24 PM

289 posts

QUOTE(chaosneo @ May 30 2016, 04:20 PM)
a bit too late on the price though...

so far, Acer Switch Alpha 12 beat them at price point:
Asus Transformer 3 Pro: USD999 (rm4,000)
Asus Transformer 3: USD 799 (rm3,196)

Acer Switch Alpha 12
i3: rm2,499
i5: rm3,499
i7: rm4,499 ??? (this one i am not too sure)

but of course there are specs differentiation like screen size, ram, storage, and other features.
~RM3.5k for i5 version cry.gif cry.gif
am waiting for Huawei Matebook price. brows.gif

Thanks for info btw...
Lego Warfare
post May 30 2016, 05:02 PM

4,676 posts

Wow.. ASUS design is a direct rip off from Microsoft's SP lol
OldSchoolJoke
post May 30 2016, 05:09 PM

289 posts

OldSchoolJoke
post May 30 2016, 05:10 PM

289 posts

QUOTE(Lego Warfare @ May 30 2016, 05:02 PM)
Wow.. ASUS design is a direct rip off from Microsoft's SP lol
totally. but then cheaper than SP. so no complain tongue.gif
amaze01
post May 30 2016, 05:18 PM

146 posts

sorry just a question here

previous i heard mostly prefer macbook or imac due to screen resolution or true color display(dont know what is the jargon),but right now with such vivid screen from notebook/hybrid/tablet,issit comparable to macbook/imac in terms of display/screen/color(not graphic processing or CPU processing)

This post has been edited by amaze01: May 30 2016, 05:19 PM
Lego Warfare
post May 30 2016, 06:10 PM

4,676 posts

QUOTE(amaze01 @ May 30 2016, 05:18 PM)
sorry just a question here

previous i heard mostly prefer macbook or imac due to screen resolution or true color display(dont know what is the jargon),but right now with such vivid screen from notebook/hybrid/tablet,issit comparable to macbook/imac in terms of display/screen/color(not graphic processing or CPU processing)
All the same + or even better, all their terms are just marketing gimmick. The main difference to me is probably the calibration on how accurate the colours are displayed..
reqpwd
post May 30 2016, 06:38 PM

42 posts

How about this?
http://shopap.lenovo.com/my/en/tablets/thinkpad/x1-tablet/
wongck
post May 30 2016, 09:07 PM

736 posts

Is the device already start selling or still in pre-order?
effectz
post May 30 2016, 09:57 PM

1,112 posts

QUOTE(wongck @ May 30 2016, 09:07 PM)
Is the device already start selling or still in pre-order?
Pre order in 11 street
wilson1234
post May 31 2016, 12:20 AM

53 posts

I'm interested in getting Acer Switch Alpha 12, but would like to wait for some detailed review on the device to come out first.

First of all, would like to seek you all opinion on the price. Is it expensive to get i5 for RM3,499? it seems to be the cheapest and the most value for money comparing other 2-in-1 detachable device.

Previously i've been considering HP Spectre x2, Elite x2, SP4, Lenovo Miix 700. SP4 is running core I but it has a fan for cooling, limited ports, and definitely the more pricey one. The rest is slightly cheaper than SP4, but all running core M3, M5, or M7. And now Acer Alpha 12 seems to be able to get i5 performance with RM3.5k, while you will only get core M3 with this price in other brands.

My budget is RM4k, what say you? would you buy Alpha 12?
wilson1234
post May 31 2016, 12:44 AM

53 posts

And I also notice Asus just released Transformer 3 Pro. Design looks ok, similar to SP4, running core I, has thunderbolt 3. But it will only be in Msia in Q3, and the price seems pricey too.

I compare it this way. Acer Alpha 12 was launched at price US$599 for version i3, US$749 for i5 and US$999 for i7.

While Asus Transformer 3 Pro's starting price is at US$999, and I'm guessing this is for version i5.

This post has been edited by wilson1234: May 31 2016, 09:46 AM
chaosneo
post May 31 2016, 06:27 AM

5,694 posts

QUOTE(wilson1234 @ May 31 2016, 12:44 AM)
And I also notice Asus just realised Transformer 3 Pro. Design looks ok, similar to SP4, running core I, has thunderbolt 3. But it will only be in Msia in Q3, and the price seems pricey too.

I compare it this way. Acer Alpha 12 was launched at price US$599 for version i3, US$749 for i5 and US$999 for i7.

While Asus Transformer 3 Pro's starting price is at US$999, and I'm guessing this is for version i5.
nope bro,
the Asus Transformer 3 Pro will start Core i7 at US$999. while the Asus Transformer 3 will probably have i5 or maybe i3. i got a strong feeling they might skip i3.

both Asus Transformer 3 Pro and Asus Transformer 3, OMG long names... , can we just call them AT3 Pro and AT3, have difference in design in one aspect that is one comes with a SF4 hinge like and one doesn't. only the AT3 Pro have a hinge like the SF4.
wongck
post May 31 2016, 07:41 AM

736 posts

I already pre order it, the only downside I found is, it does not support thunderbolt.
effectz
post May 31 2016, 09:09 AM

1,112 posts

QUOTE(reqpwd @ May 30 2016, 06:38 PM)
Available here? Googled but couldn't find.
chaosneo
post May 31 2016, 09:18 AM

5,694 posts

QUOTE(wongck @ May 31 2016, 07:41 AM)
I already pre order it, the only downside I found is, it does not support thunderbolt.
the Acer Switch Alpha has very good spec for its price in comparison of whats being offer in the market albeit the missing Thunderbolt 3. the Core i5 is the sweet spot i feel.

but if you don't intend to play triple A games on it, it shouldn't come as a disadvantage as it is a capable performer and the USB 3.1 can handle quite a lot of things. plus the main benefit of Thunderbolt is multi screen and/or a connection to eGPU which...
- eGPU casing ---> cost a sum
- a desktop GPU ----> cost another bomb
sweat.gif sweat.gif sweat.gif

i figure it be at least in 2017 before there is more eGPU enclosure in the market and can cross connect between different brands of tablet/laptop.

i do hope Acer will make an Acer Switch Alpha 12 Version 2.0 with Thunderbolt hahahaha... but the AT3 Pro seems like a winner but the price...
wilson1234
post May 31 2016, 09:44 AM

53 posts

QUOTE(chaosneo @ May 31 2016, 09:18 AM)
the Acer Switch Alpha has very good spec for its price in comparison of whats being offer in the market albeit the missing Thunderbolt 3. the Core i5 is the sweet spot i feel.

but if you don't intend to play triple A games on it, it shouldn't come as a disadvantage as it is a capable performer and the USB 3.1 can handle quite a lot of things. plus the main benefit of Thunderbolt is multi screen and/or a connection to eGPU which...
- eGPU casing ---> cost a sum
- a desktop GPU ----> cost another bomb
sweat.gif  sweat.gif  sweat.gif

i figure it be at least in 2017 before there is more eGPU enclosure in the market and can cross connect between different brands of tablet/laptop.

i do hope Acer will make an Acer Switch Alpha 12 Version 2.0 with Thunderbolt hahahaha... but the AT3 Pro seems like a winner but the price...
Yea, I have seen people asking Acer Malaysia on whether Alpha 12 comes with thunderbolt 3, Acer Malaysia said Yes. Though there are people asking them back to verify the fact, but Acer Malaysia hasn't replied to it. Based on most reading I have done, I think the correct answer is No, it doesn't have thunderbolt 3.

Other than getting an additional eGPU, which will cost a bomb as you said. What other valid reason to need a thunderbolt 3? I'm not really a gaming person, so I'm in the midst of convincing myself I don't really need a thunderbolt 3. laugh.gif
wilson1234
post May 31 2016, 09:54 AM

53 posts

QUOTE(chaosneo @ May 31 2016, 06:27 AM)
nope bro,
the Asus Transformer 3 Pro will start Core i7 at US$999. while the Asus Transformer 3 will probably have i5 or maybe i3. i got a strong feeling they might skip i3.

both Asus Transformer 3 Pro and Asus Transformer 3, OMG long names... , can we just call them AT3 Pro and AT3, have difference in design in one aspect that is one comes with a SF4 hinge like and one doesn't. only the AT3 Pro have a hinge like the SF4.
Yea, agreed on the long names. laugh.gif

I don't know why they want to separate the design on the hinges. They should make all with the SF4 hinge and try to make it as thin as possible. I prefer i5, but need it to be standing on its own without the keyboard.
wongck
post May 31 2016, 10:20 AM

736 posts

This device should be fine for me as I use it for checking mail, browsing and presentation. Since the price is much more cheaper than SP4 with the i5 spec.
reqpwd
post May 31 2016, 11:49 AM

42 posts

QUOTE(effectz @ May 31 2016, 09:09 AM)
Available here? Googled but couldn't find.
http://www.lowyat.net/2016/103108/lenovo-f...es-in-malaysia/

It comes with nano sim card slot and 3d imaging module, but the price...
chaosneo
post May 31 2016, 12:04 PM

5,694 posts

someone should start a new thread for the ATP3 and AT3. laugh.gif

QUOTE(wilson1234 @ May 31 2016, 09:44 AM)
What other valid reason to need a thunderbolt 3? I'm not really a gaming person, so I'm in the midst of convincing myself I don't really need a thunderbolt 3.  laugh.gif
QUOTE(wilson1234 @ May 31 2016, 09:54 AM)
I prefer i5, but need it to be standing on its own without the keyboard.
ahhh i just remember one of the good point of thunderbolt 3 which might change your mind is charging. some tablets in the market with thunderbolt 3 are able to charge through a powerbank. but this is very sketchy because different manufacturers set different conditions for accepting power through the USB Type-C. but if the charging with powerbank works, one can actually put the adapter at home and carry a 10,000mAh powerbank with the tablet.

yes me too. i like it able to stand on its own too. with a hinge it is actually more convenient. i already can imagine the lazy pose that i am going to be and with a tablet with hinge to accommodate me.
biggrin.gif laugh.gif

QUOTE(wongck @ May 31 2016, 10:20 AM)
This device should be fine for me as I use it for checking mail, browsing and presentation. Since the price is much more cheaper than SP4 with the i5 spec.
then this device will be a good value for you.
wongck
post May 31 2016, 03:42 PM

736 posts

Will this targus docking work on acer sa12? Since it using usb3.0, should be compatible right?

Targus USB 3.0 Travel Dock
http://www.lazada.com.my/targus-dock110ap-...o-10651306.html
wilson1234
post May 31 2016, 04:25 PM

53 posts

QUOTE(wongck @ May 31 2016, 03:42 PM)
Will this targus docking work on acer sa12? Since it using usb3.0, should be compatible right?
Nice one you got there wongck! Not too sure on the compatibility, need some experts to advise on it.

Here's some other alternatives I have been checking on.

This one need AC to power up the station. But more powerful functions.
http://www.11street.my/productdetail/dell-...-d3100-17333708

This one is the mini dock, no need AC to power up. But you will sacrifice your USB3.0 into a USB2.0
http://www.11street.my/productdetail/dell-...tation-15384456

I'm considering other options as well, such as the new dock by Asus, which was introduced together with the AT3 Pro, and its using USB type C. But I haven't got info on the price.

(*Edit) Disclaimer: Pls check with experts on the compatibility, I am also worried after spending hundreds then not able to connect it. That will be frustrating.

This post has been edited by wilson1234: May 31 2016, 04:27 PM
wongck
post May 31 2016, 04:47 PM

736 posts

Yeah I saw the Dell brand as well but it seems quite odd Acer + Dell, plus the cable seems quite short.

Can we really feel the difference using type-c 3.1 and usb 3.0? if only cater for ethernet/vga/hdmi.

Else wait for acer docking, but I saw it on video seems quite big the size.
TSiSean
post May 31 2016, 10:51 PM

iz old liao.
4,498 posts

QUOTE(OldSchoolJoke @ May 30 2016, 05:10 PM)
totally. but then cheaper than SP. so no complain  tongue.gif
Cheap but not cheap enough rclxub.gif
OldSchoolJoke
post Jun 1 2016, 10:51 AM

289 posts

QUOTE(iSean @ May 31 2016, 10:51 PM)
Cheap but not cheap enough  rclxub.gif
what to do...malaysia currency like this. sad.gif cry.gif
i too wish to have a nice 2-in-1...been spotting for 2-in-1 since Acer W501 era..
hkh m43
post Jun 3 2016, 08:23 PM

265 posts

Just saw the Acer Alpha Switch 12 and tested the keyboard and pen.
The pen is not Wacom but is Synaptics with a replaceable nib and feels as good as Surface.
Keyboard is excellent, but not backlit. Both keyboard and pen in the box.
Build quality excellent.
Has a usb type c 3.1 port which is much more flexible than display port of Surface.

Price of i5 8gb 256gb model is RM3499. Equivalent Surface is 5940 (cheapest Surface is 3939 Core-M, which is also fanless)!

Price of i3 4gb 128gb is RM2499. That's cheaper than a 128gb Surface 3!

This post has been edited by hkh m43: Aug 6 2016, 11:59 PM
LiSheng95
post Jun 3 2016, 09:49 PM

315 posts

start selling d?? wonder how is the performance under load, no fans
yashin
post Jun 3 2016, 11:34 PM

152 posts

No front camera so no skype?

Feels heavy to me when tested in shop. At rm 3500 for i5 not cheap either
LiSheng95
post Jun 4 2016, 12:29 AM

315 posts

QUOTE(hkh m43 @ Jun 3 2016, 08:23 PM)
Just saw the Acer Alpha Switch 12 and tested the keyboard and pen.
The pen is Wacom and feels as good as Surface.
Keyboard is excellent, but not backlit. Both keyboard and pen in the box.
Build quality excellent.
Has a thunderbolt 3 port which is much more flexible than display port of Surface.

Price of i5 8gb 256gb model is RM3499. Equivalent Surface is 5940 (cheapest Surface is 3939 Core-M, which is also fanless)!

Price of i3 4gb 128gb is RM2499. That's cheaper than a 128gb Surface 3!
stylus technology confirm is wacom??
hkh m43
post Jun 4 2016, 06:32 AM

265 posts

QUOTE(LiSheng95 @ Jun 4 2016, 12:29 AM)
stylus technology confirm is wacom??
It was using wacom drivers and the pen box had a replacement nib, but its' Synaptics according to professional reviewers

This post has been edited by hkh m43: Aug 6 2016, 11:58 PM
yashin
post Jun 4 2016, 09:32 AM

152 posts

Pen looks and feels cheap though. The machine feels solid but is quite thick and heavy. The weight was a bit of a shock for such a small device.
yashin
post Jun 4 2016, 05:51 PM

152 posts

Would be nice to put the 3 side by side the

Spectre x2
Acer alpha 12
Surface pro 3 or 4

I have a sp3 and hate windows 10, the previous 8 was so much better. I have found Windows 10 annoying.

Battery life comparisons would be interesting because the sp3 is around 5 hrs and I believe the Spectre x2 is similar or worse.

What really spoils these devices is that Microsoft store is so poor with apps...no kindle for example and a poor paid version of Google drive. I m not a big app person but without even some basic ones it killed off my use of the sp3 as a tablet device

This post has been edited by yashin: Jun 4 2016, 05:52 PM
wilson1234
post Jun 4 2016, 07:18 PM

53 posts

QUOTE(hkh m43 @ Jun 3 2016, 08:23 PM)

Has a thunderbolt 3 port which is much more flexible than display port of Surface.

It is not a thunderbolt 3 port. It's just a USB type C.
TSiSean
post Jun 4 2016, 08:25 PM

iz old liao.
4,498 posts

QUOTE(yashin @ Jun 4 2016, 09:32 AM)
Pen looks and feels cheap though. The machine feels solid but is quite thick and heavy. The weight was a bit of a shock for such a small device.
1250 grams yep seems a bit overly heavy with cover keyboard, 900g just tablet sweat.gif

Surface Pro 4 is only 786g...

I think go get new bluetooth keyboard by Logitech then...
LiSheng95
post Jun 5 2016, 12:12 AM

315 posts

QUOTE(wilson1234 @ Jun 4 2016, 07:18 PM)
It is not a thunderbolt 3 port. It's just a USB type C.
there is now usb c which supports thunderbolt 3. but im not sure whether the one in acer alpha switch 12 supports thunderbolt 3

This post has been edited by LiSheng95: Jun 5 2016, 12:12 AM
wilson1234
post Jun 5 2016, 12:28 AM

53 posts

QUOTE(LiSheng95 @ Jun 5 2016, 12:12 AM)
there is now usb c which supports thunderbolt 3. but im not sure whether the one in acer alpha switch 12 supports thunderbolt 3
Ok I think you misunderstood my sentence. I have already answered your "I'm not sure". Read again my sentence. You are welcome.
shirogawawa
post Jun 5 2016, 01:15 AM

Laptop enthusiast
2,383 posts

The device itself sports a USB 3.1 Type-C port, and that’s it. With an optional dock you can add all the essentials — audio in and out, two USB Type C, three USB type-A, HDMI, and DisplayPort.

Unlike other USB 3.1 equipped devices, the port of the Alpha 12 only serves up fast data transfers, charging other devices and as a dock connector.

NON thunderbolt 3 lo

LiSheng95
post Jun 5 2016, 01:20 AM

315 posts

QUOTE(wilson1234 @ Jun 5 2016, 12:28 AM)
Ok I think you misunderstood my sentence. I have already answered your "I'm not sure". Read again my sentence. You are welcome.
sorry misunderstood your sentence sweat.gif

QUOTE(shirogawawa @ Jun 5 2016, 01:15 AM)
The device itself sports a USB 3.1 Type-C port, and that’s it. With an optional dock you can add all the essentials — audio in and out, two USB Type C, three USB type-A, HDMI, and DisplayPort.

Unlike other USB 3.1 equipped devices, the port of the Alpha 12 only serves up fast data transfers, charging other devices and as a dock connector.

NON thunderbolt 3 lo
but acer do mention their external graphics dock is delivered over usb c thunderbolt 3 sweat.gif

This post has been edited by LiSheng95: Jun 5 2016, 01:20 AM
shirogawawa
post Jun 5 2016, 01:23 AM

Laptop enthusiast
2,383 posts

QUOTE(LiSheng95 @ Jun 5 2016, 01:20 AM)
sorry misunderstood your sentence sweat.gif
but acer do mention their external graphics dock is delivered over usb c thunderbolt 3  sweat.gif
where is the statement link ? blink.gif
LiSheng95
post Jun 5 2016, 01:24 AM

315 posts

QUOTE(shirogawawa @ Jun 5 2016, 01:23 AM)
where is the statement link ? blink.gif
cant find acer official statement but all the news reported, mentioned over here
http://www.lowyat.net/2016/106294/computex...o-convertibles/
http://www.notebookcheck.net/Acer-Graphics...s.161328.0.html
http://www.neowin.net/news/acer-unveils-it...a-thunderbolt-3

This post has been edited by LiSheng95: Jun 5 2016, 01:26 AM
shirogawawa
post Jun 5 2016, 01:28 AM

Laptop enthusiast
2,383 posts

QUOTE(LiSheng95 @ Jun 5 2016, 01:24 AM)
wah, nice, but how come not seeing any thunderbolt 3 port as today i was playing the demo set blink.gif
LiSheng95
post Jun 5 2016, 01:29 AM

315 posts

QUOTE(shirogawawa @ Jun 5 2016, 01:28 AM)
wah, nice, but how come not seeing any thunderbolt 3 port as today i was playing the demo set  blink.gif
thunderbolt 3 now can be integrated into the usb c port biggrin.gif
https://thunderbolttechnology.net/blog/thun...b-c-does-it-all
shirogawawa
post Jun 5 2016, 01:34 AM

Laptop enthusiast
2,383 posts

QUOTE(LiSheng95 @ Jun 5 2016, 01:29 AM)
thunderbolt 3 now can be integrated into the usb c port  biggrin.gif
https://thunderbolttechnology.net/blog/thun...b-c-does-it-all
ohmy.gif but the usb type c port in the acer switch only usb 3.1 , not thunderbolt 3 with usb 3.1 gen 2 , diff story oh blink.gif
LiSheng95
post Jun 5 2016, 01:37 AM

315 posts

QUOTE(shirogawawa @ Jun 5 2016, 01:34 AM)
ohmy.gif but the usb type c port in the acer switch only usb 3.1 , not thunderbolt 3 with usb 3.1 gen 2 , diff story oh blink.gif
That's why I'm not sure too sweat.gif need wait acer to clarify this matter
wilson1234
post Jun 5 2016, 01:42 AM

53 posts

Thx shirogawawa, you have understood it perfectly. The acer egpu is not for Alpha Switch 12.. But it's for aspire switch 12 S..
TSiSean
post Jun 13 2016, 11:19 AM

iz old liao.
4,498 posts

QUOTE(wilson1234 @ Jun 5 2016, 01:42 AM)
Thx shirogawawa, you have understood it perfectly. The acer egpu is not for Alpha Switch 12.. But it's for aspire switch 12 S..
I asked Acer Malaysia page it says it supports their own eGPU, but very funny they didn't mention about USB 3.1C Support Thunderbolt 3.0.

It can allows Display out

This post has been edited by iSean: Jun 13 2016, 11:26 AM
mitodna
post Jun 13 2016, 11:24 AM

14,039 posts

does the USB-C port support to HDMI or DisplayPort, the logo on the USB-C port does port a D logo like display port, thanks

http://www.extremetech.com/wp-content/uplo...ernate-mode.jpg
TSiSean
post Jun 13 2016, 12:28 PM

iz old liao.
4,498 posts

QUOTE(LiSheng95 @ Jun 5 2016, 12:12 AM)
Okay, drop your cash, it won't be supporting the Graphics Dock.
It will just be a Surface Pro 4 replacement.
wilson1234
post Jun 13 2016, 09:14 PM

53 posts

QUOTE(iSean @ Jun 13 2016, 12:28 PM)
Okay, drop your cash, it won't be supporting the Graphics Dock.
It will just be a Surface Pro 4 replacement.
Hi there, I was reading your posts and note that you suddenly mention it allows this and suddenly mention it doesn't allow. So.. Can I understand that based on your latest statement, the alpha 12 can allow display out but cannot support Egpu?

And to repeat again, I believe the egpu is meant for aspire switch 12 S.. It's for device with thunderbolt 3..

Switch alpha 12 has NO thunderbolt 3, so NO supporting egpu
chaosneo
post Jun 14 2016, 09:12 AM

5,694 posts

i second this.

the Acer Switch Alpha 12 is has a USB TYPE-C Gen1:
it is capable of supporting multi monitor / ports / hubs / etc ... but it will not be able to support an eGPU. an eGPU will need 5040Gbps bandwidth on the cable which only thunderbolt can give.

hopefully Acer will make a revision to this if not, the AT3 Pro is looking sweet. it is disappointing as to why they decided not to include it.

below is just reference, prices from http://www.techhypermart.com/

Acer Aspire Switch Alpha SA5-271P-769B
i7-6500U, 8GB, 256GB - rm4,349

Acer Aspire Switch Alpha SA5-271-571N
i5-6200U, 8GB, 256GB - RM3,449

QUOTE(wilson1234 @ Jun 13 2016, 09:14 PM)
Hi there, I was reading your posts and note that you suddenly mention it allows this and suddenly mention it doesn't allow. So.. Can I understand that based on your latest statement, the alpha 12 can allow display out but cannot support Egpu?

And to repeat again, I believe the egpu is meant for aspire switch 12 S.. It's for device with thunderbolt 3..

Switch alpha 12 has NO thunderbolt 3, so NO supporting egpu
This post has been edited by chaosneo: Jun 14 2016, 09:16 AM
TSiSean
post Jun 14 2016, 03:16 PM

iz old liao.
4,498 posts

QUOTE(chaosneo @ Jun 14 2016, 09:12 AM)
i second this.

the Acer Switch Alpha 12 is has a USB TYPE-C Gen1:
it is capable of supporting multi monitor / ports / hubs / etc ... but it will not be able to support an eGPU. an eGPU will need 5040Gbps bandwidth on the cable which only thunderbolt can give.

hopefully Acer will make a revision to this if not, the AT3 Pro is looking sweet. it is disappointing  as to why they decided not to include it.

below is just reference, prices from http://www.techhypermart.com/

Acer Aspire Switch Alpha SA5-271P-769B
i7-6500U, 8GB, 256GB - rm4,349

Acer Aspire Switch Alpha SA5-271-571N
i5-6200U, 8GB, 256GB - RM3,449
Well no idea Malaysia Acer is so fucking confused. doh.gif
Zul_XT
post Jun 18 2016, 05:46 PM

53 posts

Got myself the Switch Alpha 12 two days ago..
The i7 with Windows 10 Pro

In the catalog from Acer Malaysia, the ads shows with Backlit Keyboard.
BUt the Malaysia market one does not come with the backlit version.. I have call Acer Support, they confirm that Malaysia version does not have it, then why the Catalog says so.. demmmm

So far so good.. managed to use it for more than 6 hours without powering up. Enought for 1 day on the move...
Still getting use to it..

This post has been edited by Zul_XT: Jun 18 2016, 05:47 PM
TSiSean
post Jun 18 2016, 06:49 PM

iz old liao.
4,498 posts

QUOTE(Zul_XT @ Jun 18 2016, 05:46 PM)
The i7  with Windows 10 Pro

BUt the Malaysia market one does not come with the backlit version.. I have call Acer Support, they confirm that Malaysia version does not have it, then why the Catalog says so.. demmmm

So far so good.. managed to use it for more than 6 hours without powering up. Enought for 1 day on the move...
Can you try like going intensive task like video edit, or gaming will the back plate easily overheat?
amaze01
post Jun 18 2016, 07:30 PM

146 posts

QUOTE(Zul_XT @ Jun 18 2016, 05:46 PM)
The i7  with Windows 10 Pro

can check what is the available sensors for it?
Zul_XT
post Jun 20 2016, 12:21 PM

53 posts

QUOTE(amaze01 @ Jun 18 2016, 07:30 PM)
can check what is the available sensors for it?
All sensors are in the 'Ready' state.

Zul_XT
post Jun 20 2016, 12:23 PM

53 posts

QUOTE(iSean @ Jun 18 2016, 06:49 PM)
Can you try like going intensive task like video edit, or gaming will the back plate easily overheat?
Im not into Gaming or Video editing.. only software development.
But so far, it more to 'luke warm' feels, which cooler than when my Smartphone heat up..

amaze01
post Jun 20 2016, 12:29 PM

146 posts

QUOTE(Zul_XT @ Jun 20 2016, 12:21 PM)
All sensors are in the 'Ready' state.
Thanks,can i assume it has e-compass/agps and can locate my position even if i use offline map(without internet) or online map?

This post has been edited by amaze01: Jun 20 2016, 12:30 PM
Zul_XT
post Jun 20 2016, 12:35 PM

53 posts

QUOTE(amaze01 @ Jun 20 2016, 12:29 PM)
Thanks,can i assume it has e-compass/agps and can locate my position even if i use offline map(without internet) or online map?
I believed its using the Wifi to locate you. It do correctly identify my location either at Home or Office.

amaze01
post Jun 20 2016, 12:41 PM

146 posts

QUOTE(Zul_XT @ Jun 20 2016, 12:35 PM)
I believed its using the Wifi to locate you. It do correctly identify my location either at Home or Office.
can u try update your Windows Maps,then download Malaysia map.

Then turn off any internet connection and try move around,see it's working or not
tchau83
post Jun 21 2016, 10:21 AM

62 posts

QUOTE(Zul_XT @ Jun 20 2016, 12:23 PM)
Im not into Gaming or Video editing.. only software development.
But so far, it more to 'luke warm' feels, which cooler than when my Smartphone heat up..
Did you find a way to hook it up to an external monitor? Is the Acer USB-C dock for sale yet? Would be hard to use it as a work machine with such a small screen.
zack9999
post Jun 21 2016, 10:49 AM

290 posts

I think can use Microsoft Wireless Adapter to connect.

QUOTE(tchau83 @ Jun 21 2016, 10:21 AM)
Did you find a way to hook it up to an external monitor? Is the Acer USB-C dock for sale yet? Would be hard to use it as a work machine with such a small screen.
wilson1234
post Jun 21 2016, 11:51 AM

53 posts

QUOTE(zack9999 @ Jun 21 2016, 10:49 AM)
I think can use Microsoft Wireless Adapter to connect.
It would be good to use Wireless Adapter. But do you know if Switch Alpha 12 can support WiDi? Just hoping to get a more reliable source to support this fact before we get the wireless adapter.

And i think its better not to assume all new devices will surely support some features. One of the points made in our previous discussion is that USB Type C doesn't mean it has Thunderbolt 3.
zack9999
post Jun 21 2016, 12:08 PM

290 posts

Hi Zul_XT,

Can you charge the tablet using USB type C?

TQ

QUOTE(Zul_XT @ Jun 20 2016, 12:35 PM)
Zul_XT
post Jun 21 2016, 02:44 PM

53 posts

QUOTE(tchau83 @ Jun 21 2016, 10:21 AM)
I have used the USB 3.1 port with VGA output device to connect to a projector. The same device was used with macbook. Now looking for a HDMI version.

My self just for a quick server access and work while on the move. I'm still using my desktop with 2 monitor for software development in office.

Zul_XT
post Jun 21 2016, 04:47 PM

53 posts

QUOTE(zack9999 @ Jun 21 2016, 12:08 PM)
Hi Zul_XT,

TQ
I dont have any USB C charger or cable. Only the VGA connector for now.
Need to go shopping for USB C peripheral...

zack9999
post Jun 22 2016, 09:16 AM

290 posts

There is a 50% off for a Surface Pro 4 right now on Lazada. But I prefer newer tech like Acer Alpha Switch 12, particularly fanless, USB type C. My phone already uses USB Type C to charge and data transfer so it will be easy to share charger and cable. Plus it will be future proof towards new accessories utilizing the USB type C.

Another thing I consider is the repairability. Is the Acer Alpha Switch 12 easy to be repaired?
tchau83
post Jun 22 2016, 10:40 AM

62 posts

QUOTE(Zul_XT @ Jun 21 2016, 02:44 PM)
I have used the USB 3.1 port with VGA output device to connect to a projector. The same device was used with macbook. Now looking for a HDMI version.

My self just for a quick server access and work while on the move. I'm still using my desktop with 2 monitor for software development in office.
What is your adaptor's brand? Judging from amazon and other online comments, usb-c to display adaptors are not universal. Most/All adaptors do not work with certain laptops or monitors, and most adaptors on the market are designed for the macbook. Even Dell's own adaptor has issues with their own laptops (https://www.amazon.com/Dell-Adapter-Type-Ethernet-470-ABQN/dp/B012DT6KW2). And usb-c adaptors are not cheap.
tchau83
post Jun 22 2016, 10:47 AM

62 posts

QUOTE(zack9999 @ Jun 21 2016, 12:08 PM)
Hi Zul_XT,

TQ
Officially, you cannot.

Take note that generic usb-c cables/chargers can destroy your laptopSee here

amaze01
post Jun 22 2016, 08:02 PM

146 posts

can i know whether acer alpha switch 12 i3 is available now?
Zul_XT
post Jun 24 2016, 11:44 AM

53 posts

QUOTE(tchau83 @ Jun 22 2016, 10:47 AM)
Officially, you cannot.

Take note that generic usb-c cables/chargers can destroy your laptopSee here
Thanks bro... for now I did not owned any Usb C type phone.. so no charges available for me to try it out.. but with the article, I will stick to charge using the power adapter then...

thumbsup.gif thumbsup.gif
Zul_XT
post Jun 24 2016, 11:49 AM

53 posts

QUOTE(amaze01 @ Jun 22 2016, 08:02 PM)
can i know whether acer alpha switch 12 i3 is available now?
My vendor quoted me for all 3 version, so I know its available, but not sure about the stock though..
I was told by the vendor that I have to wait for the i7 version since they out of stock, even Acer dont have one, but I managed to get one from TechHypermart..

Can try to give them a call..
Mr Mark is very friendly..
http://www.techhypermart.com/

mitodna
post Jun 24 2016, 03:30 PM

14,039 posts

anyone has recommendation USB-C to HDMI or USB-C to DisplayPort is much appreciated

right now, this is like MacBook
wongck
post Jun 25 2016, 10:38 AM

736 posts

QUOTE(mitodna @ Jun 24 2016, 03:30 PM)
anyone has recommendation USB-C to HDMI or USB-C to DisplayPort is much appreciated

right now, this is like MacBook
I'm using the targus 1 with vga, hdmi, usb3 & ethernet but is using the USB3.1.

Do you need to re-calibrate the pen? Feel not so smooth enough writing on it.

Usually will u put it in sleep mode or just shut it down?
amaze01
post Jun 25 2016, 11:40 AM

146 posts

QUOTE(Zul_XT @ Jun 24 2016, 11:49 AM)
My vendor quoted me for all 3 version, so I know its available, but not sure about the stock though..
I was told by the vendor that I have to wait for the i7 version since they out of stock, even Acer dont have one, but I managed to get one from TechHypermart..

Can try to give them a call..
Mr Mark is very friendly..
http://www.techhypermart.com/
thanks.

have you try this

QUOTE(amaze01 @ Jun 20 2016, 12:41 PM)
can u try update your Windows Maps,then download Malaysia map.

Then turn off any internet connection and try move around,see it's working or not
Zul_XT
post Jul 2 2016, 09:46 PM

53 posts

QUOTE(amaze01 @ Jun 25 2016, 11:40 AM)
thanks.

have you try this
The map failed to location when I turn off the Wifi or go to Flight Mode.
effectz
post Jul 2 2016, 11:22 PM

1,112 posts

I just got my unit, i3. Feels sturdy but a little bit lag.
Zul_XT
post Jul 2 2016, 11:49 PM

53 posts

QUOTE(effectz @ Jul 2 2016, 11:22 PM)
I just got my unit, i3. Feels sturdy but a little bit lag.
What do you mean by lag..
effectz
post Jul 3 2016, 11:22 AM

1,112 posts

Launching application takes a while
tchau83
post Jul 6 2016, 11:03 AM

62 posts

QUOTE(effectz @ Jul 3 2016, 11:22 AM)
Launching application takes a while
Try disabling or uninstalling McAfee antivirus. Its a well known resource hog
yashin
post Jul 6 2016, 05:06 PM

152 posts

Stylus come free or order separate?
TSiSean
post Jul 6 2016, 05:46 PM

iz old liao.
4,498 posts

QUOTE(yashin @ Jul 6 2016, 05:06 PM)
Stylus come free or order separate?
included with keyboard.
reqpwd
post Jul 7 2016, 08:14 AM

42 posts

Any idea when Acer switch 12 S will enter Malaysia market? Which one is better?
wilson1234
post Jul 7 2016, 07:37 PM

53 posts

QUOTE(reqpwd @ Jul 7 2016, 08:14 AM)
Any idea when Acer switch 12 S will enter Malaysia market? Which one is better?
The key points you should concern.

Switch 12 S - Core M, thunderbolt 3, more pricey

Switch Alpha 12 - Core I, no thunderbolt 3, less pricey

Its your call what you need it for.
wilson1234
post Jul 7 2016, 08:43 PM

53 posts

QUOTE(wongck @ Jun 25 2016, 10:38 AM)

Wong, is your targus adapter working perfectly fine? all ports can function? any problem noted using HDMI to a monitor?
wongck
post Jul 8 2016, 09:32 AM

736 posts

QUOTE(wilson1234 @ Jul 7 2016, 08:43 PM)
Wong, is your targus adapter working perfectly fine? all ports can function? any problem noted using HDMI to a monitor?
Yes, all ports are working perfectly
Zul_XT
post Jul 8 2016, 12:27 PM

53 posts

QUOTE(wongck @ Jul 8 2016, 09:32 AM)
Yes, all ports are working perfectly
can you show me the Targus you are using . where u bought it..

Zul_XT
post Jul 8 2016, 12:35 PM

53 posts

QUOTE(wilson1234 @ Jun 21 2016, 11:51 AM)
It would be good to use Wireless Adapter. But do you know if Switch Alpha 12 can support WiDi? Just hoping to get a more reliable source to support this fact before we get the wireless adapter.

And i think its better not to assume all new devices will surely support some features. One of the points made in our previous discussion is that USB Type C doesn't mean it has Thunderbolt 3.
Wilson,

Just for your info, The Alpha Switch 12 do Support WiDi. I can project the screen direct to my Sony SmartTV when in Mirror Mode.

kc3832
post Jul 10 2016, 01:14 PM

100 posts

QUOTE(Zul_XT @ Jul 8 2016, 12:27 PM)
can you show me the Targus you are using . where u bought it..
I am using J5 Create USB Type-C to HDMI & LAN Multi-HUB.

kc3832
post Jul 10 2016, 01:51 PM

100 posts

Been using it for almost a month now:-

Pros
1) Fast and furious, I have the i7 Win Pro version.
2) Adequate battery life for me. I am not a gamer but I am able to use it for 5 hours non stop without charging, and the battery is still not fully depleted yet according to the battery indicator, which I don't know how accurate could that be.
3) Good color saturation from the 12" display.

Cons
1) Hate those fingerprint on the screen.
2) No backlit keyboard, I am a night owl and hate to switch the light on when I work.
3) Active Pen execution could have been better and leave a lot to be desired. Please don't throw away your Wacom Intuos.

Anyone can advise where can I get a screen protector and backlit keyboard for the Alpha 12?

Your help is very appreciated.

This post has been edited by kc3832: Jul 10 2016, 01:52 PM
thirumaran
post Jul 12 2016, 06:57 PM

615 posts

QUOTE(kc3832 @ Jul 10 2016, 01:51 PM)
Anyone can advise where can I get a screen protector and backlit keyboard for the Alpha 12?

Your help is very appreciated.
Questions for you:

1) Is it comfortable to use as a tablet when reading say at bedtime?

2 Are there lots of fingerprints at the back when using as a tablet?

3) Hows the boot up time? I know its using SSD

4) How long is the warranty? Read in hardwarezone.sg that in Singapore it comes
with 2 yrs international warranty

5) Where did you buy it and did you get any freebies?

Im using Logitech K810 keyboard that comes with backlight with my Samsung Tab S2. However there is
no trackpad. Im thinking of selling of my Tab S2 if this Acer is comfortable to use as a tablet
for reading and watching movies

This post has been edited by thirumaran: Jul 12 2016, 06:58 PM
kc3832
post Jul 13 2016, 09:36 PM

100 posts

QUOTE(thirumaran @ Jul 12 2016, 06:57 PM)
Questions for you:

1) Is it comfortable to use as a tablet when reading say at bedtime?

2 Are there lots of fingerprints at the back when using as a tablet?

3) Hows the boot up time? I know its using SSD

4) How long is the warranty?  Read in hardwarezone.sg that in Singapore it comes
with 2 yrs international warranty

5) Where did you buy it and did you get any freebies?

Im using Logitech K810 keyboard that comes with backlight with my Samsung Tab S2.  However there is
no trackpad.  Im thinking of selling of my Tab S2 if this Acer is comfortable to use as a tablet
for reading and watching movies
1) It's too heavy as a tablet. I rather use my iPad 2 if I want to read on bed.

2) The back is okay.

3) Depending on what you are benchmarking against, for me it's fast enough.

4) 1 year.

5) Acer Shop at Mid Valley. They gave me a 3 years McAfee Internet Security.

Hope this help! smile.gif
effectz
post Jul 13 2016, 10:15 PM

1,112 posts

QUOTE(kc3832 @ Jul 10 2016, 01:14 PM)
I am using J5 Create USB Type-C to HDMI & LAN Multi-HUB.
Please write some review of this
zack9999
post Jul 14 2016, 11:35 AM

290 posts

But isn't that the purpose of built in kickstand so you can make it stand without having to hold it like an ipad needs.

QUOTE(kc3832 @ Jul 13 2016, 09:36 PM)
1) It's too heavy as a tablet. I rather use my iPad 2 if I want to read on bed.

Hope this help! smile.gif
Zul_XT
post Jul 14 2016, 12:37 PM

53 posts

QUOTE(zack9999 @ Jul 14 2016, 11:35 AM)
But isn't that the purpose of built in kickstand so you can make it stand without having to hold it like an ipad needs.
When using it as a Tablet, I usually in Portrait mode, so the kick stand not applicable.
Since I'm used to have my Xperia Z3 for browsing on the bed before sleep, having the Alpha 12 although its bigger, I found it convenient.

I found an apps in the Windows Store that can provide you with gesture support of 2 fingers up to 5 fingers.
I found it interesting since its easier to navigate in browser, photo gallery with it.

Try look for 'Touch Me Studio', its free for 30 days, and RM21 for the paid version..

zack9999
post Jul 14 2016, 02:44 PM

290 posts

I think that is the point some tablets like Microsoft Surface uses the 3:2 aspect ratio like iPad instead 16:9 which is used by many laptops and great for watching movies.

QUOTE(Zul_XT @ Jul 14 2016, 12:37 PM)
When using it as a Tablet, I usually in Portrait mode, so the kick stand not applicable.
Since I'm used to have my Xperia Z3 for browsing on the bed before sleep, having the Alpha 12 although its bigger, I found it convenient.

I found an apps in the Windows Store that can provide you with gesture support of 2 fingers up to 5 fingers.
I found it interesting since its easier to navigate in browser, photo gallery with it.

Try look for 'Touch Me Studio', its free for 30 days, and RM21 for the paid version..
wilson1234
post Jul 14 2016, 04:45 PM

53 posts

so far i have been quite liking it, i got the i5 8gb ram version. Its fast and smooth. boot and shutdown time is less than 4 seconds (its my preference to disable most of the startup apps, i like to keep it clean when booting). Playing youtube videos is very smooth. One thing i notice is that the default sound setting with Acer True Harmony enabled is not too much to my preference, I disable it and I like it that way (its just my preference).

I have read some reviews complaining that the back is hot and uncomfortable to touch when the tablet is charging. I notice that same too. But i think all tablets with such thin design would have the same problem, so i think its not an issue for me. Furthermore, it is a tablet with kickstand and it is not a laptop that will burn your lap. So its not an issue to me. When it is on battery mode, the back temperature most of the time is normal and only slight warm, which is comfortable to touch.

Holding it all the time as a tablet is definitely some problem considering the heavy weight. Its not my preference to use it that way, so its not an issue to me.
kc3832
post Jul 15 2016, 11:35 PM

100 posts

QUOTE(effectz @ Jul 13 2016, 10:15 PM)
Please write some review of this
I haven't have a chance to test the Ethernet connection yet and I don't have a 4K display, therefore those are not being verify. HDMI to my TV working with no problem. USB ports working fine.

I don't have a USB Type C charger and I have no intention to use it that way.

J5 Create USB Type-C to HDMI & LAN Multi-HUB is quite well built in terms of quality and aesthetic. It's also not too expensive when compared to other multi-function hub. I consider it a good buy. thumbup.gif

This post has been edited by kc3832: Jul 15 2016, 11:35 PM
Zul_XT
post Jul 17 2016, 02:15 PM

53 posts

Im looking for the VGA out adapter since I need to conect to a projector. For TV, I normally just uae the WiDi and mirror the display. You have to use the TV mirror function, like mirroring the android phone.
Dis ypu bought it locally or online? What was the cost..

QUOTE(kc3832 @ Jul 15 2016, 11:35 PM)
I haven't have a chance to test the Ethernet connection yet and I don't have a 4K display, therefore those are not being verify. HDMI to my TV working with no problem. USB ports working fine.

I don't have a USB Type C charger and I have no intention to use it that way.

J5 Create USB Type-C to HDMI & LAN Multi-HUB is quite well built in terms of quality and aesthetic. It's also not too expensive when compared to other multi-function hub. I consider it a good buy.  thumbup.gif

effectz
post Jul 17 2016, 11:38 PM

1,112 posts

Where you bought it?
kc3832
post Jul 18 2016, 12:05 AM

100 posts

QUOTE(effectz @ Jul 17 2016, 11:38 PM)
Where you bought it?
I bought it from All IT Hypermarket, Digital Mall, PJ.

Please remember to ask for some discount. icon_rolleyes.gif
kc3832
post Jul 18 2016, 12:22 AM

100 posts

QUOTE(Zul_XT @ Jul 17 2016, 02:15 PM)
Im looking for the VGA out adapter since I need to conect to a projector. For TV, I normally just uae the WiDi and mirror the display. You have to use the TV mirror function, like mirroring the android phone.
Dis ypu bought it locally or online? What was the cost..
Most of the projector in the market nowadays support HDMI-in. I don't Mirror my desktop during presentation. I usually just Extend the display so that I get multiple screens; I only shared what I need to share to the audience. Even when I am working at home, I will just extend my laptop to the TV and use it as my second display.

I bought it from All IT Hypermarket at Digital Mall, PJ. I am sure you will be able to find the same thing for a little bit cheaper from Lazada or Lelong. icon_rolleyes.gif
Zul_XT
post Jul 18 2016, 12:44 AM

53 posts

QUOTE(kc3832 @ Jul 18 2016, 12:22 AM)
Most of the projector in the market nowadays support HDMI-in. I don't Mirror my desktop during presentation. I usually just Extend the display so that I get multiple screens; I only shared what I need to share to the audience. Even when I am working at home, I will just extend my laptop to the TV and use it as my second display.

I bought it from All IT Hypermarket at Digital Mall, PJ. I am sure you will be able to find the same thing for a little bit cheaper from Lazada or Lelong.  icon_rolleyes.gif
Thx KC

tchau83
post Jul 22 2016, 11:07 AM

62 posts

QUOTE(kc3832 @ Jul 10 2016, 01:51 PM)

Just fyi, Singapore sets come with a backlit keyboard. Don't know whether you can buy just the keyboard though.
kc3832
post Jul 24 2016, 12:58 PM

100 posts

QUOTE(tchau83 @ Jul 22 2016, 11:07 AM)
Just fyi, Singapore sets come with a backlit keyboard. Don't know whether you can buy just the keyboard though.
Thanks for the infor tchau83. thumbsup.gif
Anybody here able to help check from Singapore Acer? I don't mind going there to get one if it's available. notworthy.gif
tchau83
post Aug 3 2016, 01:55 PM

62 posts

I emailed Acer Malaysia and Singapore and found that they are not bringing in the usb-c dock and WiGig dock. Now I'll have to buy a usb-c to video adaptor for it. Kinda sucks, was hoping that I won't need to disconnect a bunch of wires every time I bring it out. Bought a branded usb-c to vga adaptor designed for Macbook from taobao earlier, but it didn't work, so not all usb-c adaptors work.

QUOTE(kc3832 @ Jul 24 2016, 12:58 PM)
Thanks for the infor tchau83.  thumbsup.gif
Anybody here able to help check from Singapore Acer? I don't mind going there to get one if it's available.  notworthy.gif
I asked. Acer SG does sell them, but its not in stock at the moment. You can inquire at acercare.sg@acer.com.
Zul_XT
post Aug 4 2016, 11:15 PM

53 posts

QUOTE(tchau83 @ Aug 3 2016, 01:55 PM)
I emailed Acer Malaysia and Singapore and found that they are not bringing in the usb-c dock and WiGig dock. Now I'll have to buy a usb-c to video adaptor for it. Kinda sucks, was hoping that I won't need to disconnect a bunch of wires every time I bring it out. Bought a branded usb-c to vga adaptor designed for Macbook from taobao earlier, but it didn't work, so not all usb-c adaptors work.
I asked. Acer SG does sell them, but its not in stock at the moment. You can inquire at acercare.sg@acer.com.
I tried my boss Mac USB-C to VGA adaptor and it does work, only that it cost RM 349 for it. I bought 1 from from lelong for RM80, but it seems it was faulty, the internal for some extra wires not soldered to the board. Windows detected the device, but no VGA was out..

Will need to test before buying another one it seems..
wilson1234
post Aug 5 2016, 06:12 PM

53 posts

QUOTE(Zul_XT @ Aug 4 2016, 11:15 PM)
I tried my boss Mac USB-C to VGA adaptor and it does work, only that it cost RM 349 for it. I bought 1 from from lelong for RM80, but it seems it was faulty, the internal for some extra wires not soldered to the board. Windows detected the device, but no VGA was out..

Will need to test before buying another one it seems..
You meant you open up the case to see for internal wiring? Did it install any driver? or Did you manually install the driver?

I bought one USD-C to HDMI adapter from lazada, a cheap one. It works after install the driver.
LiSheng95
post Aug 6 2016, 05:58 AM

315 posts

Just wondering can the USB c port used for charging?
deeplyheartbroken
post Aug 9 2016, 02:49 PM

774 posts

Where to get the i5 version at the lowest price now with credit card payment?
TSiSean
post Aug 10 2016, 12:33 AM

iz old liao.
4,498 posts

QUOTE(deeplyheartbroken @ Aug 9 2016, 02:49 PM)
Where to get the i5 version at the lowest price now with credit card payment?
If you are in Shah Alam Kota Kemuning Area I can suggest you to my cousin. He sold me @ RM 3399 laugh.gif
deeplyheartbroken
post Aug 10 2016, 12:45 AM

774 posts

QUOTE(iSean @ Aug 10 2016, 12:33 AM)
If you are in Shah Alam Kota Kemuning Area I can suggest you to my cousin. He sold me @ RM 3399 laugh.gif
Any freebies in the package?

Cheapest I got is RM 3400 with Acer Supercare & McAfee subsciption
TSiSean
post Aug 10 2016, 08:57 PM

iz old liao.
4,498 posts

QUOTE(deeplyheartbroken @ Aug 10 2016, 12:45 AM)
Any freebies in the package?

Cheapest I got is RM 3400 with Acer Supercare & McAfee subsciption
McAfee was free at the first place blink.gif
I got a free backpack from him. NO Acer Supercare tho.
But yours seem quite value, I only get 1 year international warranty.
TSiSean
post Aug 10 2016, 08:59 PM

iz old liao.
4,498 posts

Also does anyone have problem with the USB 3.1 type C port?
It seems that my USB 3.1C to USB 2.0 Micro B doesn't support.
I'm worried my USB 3.1C is busted on Day 1. lol...
deeplyheartbroken
post Aug 10 2016, 10:51 PM

774 posts

QUOTE(iSean @ Aug 10 2016, 08:57 PM)
McAfee was free at the first place  blink.gif
I got a free backpack from him.  NO Acer Supercare tho.
But yours seem quite value, I only get 1 year international warranty.
It is McAfee Internet Security for 3 years. I don't think it is free though.
hkh m43
post Aug 11 2016, 09:36 AM

265 posts

QUOTE(LiSheng95 @ Aug 6 2016, 05:58 AM)
Just wondering can the USB c port used for charging?
"The Acer does support USB-C charging and it worked fine with our 12" MacBook charger."

Source:
http://www.mobiletechreview.com/notebooks/...ch-Alpha-12.htm

TSiSean
post Aug 12 2016, 09:13 AM

iz old liao.
4,498 posts

... This laptop is a dent gate... sad.gif

I put my charger and tablet in separate compartments in my bag, and bring it to college via LRT.
Caused the dent to the backplate...

And I only got it for 3 days...

This post has been edited by iSean: Aug 12 2016, 01:32 PM
TSiSean
post Aug 12 2016, 10:29 AM

iz old liao.
4,498 posts

Update, after having issues with the screen, the stylus died,
not sure is the battery died or the stylus is fried.
TSiSean
post Aug 12 2016, 06:03 PM

iz old liao.
4,498 posts

QUOTE(wongck @ Jun 25 2016, 10:38 AM)

Do you need to re-calibrate the pen? Feel not so smooth enough writing on it.

Usually will u put it in sleep mode or just shut it down?
Do you have problems with the touch screen?
I now having glitched region with OneNote, Paint, Fresh Paint.
kc3832
post Aug 14 2016, 01:09 AM

100 posts

QUOTE(iSean @ Aug 12 2016, 06:03 PM)
Do you have problems with the touch screen?
I now having glitched region with OneNote, Paint, Fresh Paint.
Sorry to hear about the issues that you have with your Alpha 12. I don't seems to have any of the problems that you have posted. hmm.gif

Frankly, my machine work quite well even after all the torturing that I have put on it.

LiSheng95
post Aug 14 2016, 02:47 AM

315 posts

QUOTE(hkh m43 @ Aug 11 2016, 09:36 AM)
"The Acer does support USB-C charging and it worked fine with our 12" MacBook charger."

Source:
http://www.mobiletechreview.com/notebooks/...ch-Alpha-12.htm
thanks smile.gif

For all who own it, is a power bank through usb c enough to power it while using?
dB7
post Aug 17 2016, 04:31 PM

33 posts

wonder if i3 version enough to run adobe photoshop ?
deeplyheartbroken
post Aug 18 2016, 10:30 PM

774 posts

QUOTE(LiSheng95 @ Aug 14 2016, 02:47 AM)
thanks smile.gif

For all who own it, is a power bank through usb c enough to power it while using?
I think only USB type-C powerbank works
LiSheng95
post Aug 18 2016, 11:06 PM

315 posts

QUOTE(deeplyheartbroken @ Aug 18 2016, 10:30 PM)
can use while charging through usb c powerbank? im afraid the power bank output not enough to power it
deeplyheartbroken
post Aug 18 2016, 11:38 PM

774 posts

QUOTE(LiSheng95 @ Aug 18 2016, 11:06 PM)
can use while charging through usb c powerbank? im afraid the power bank output not enough to power it
Apparently the USB type-C powerbank like the Xiaomi Mi Pro has an output of up to 12V
TSiSean
post Aug 19 2016, 09:03 PM

iz old liao.
4,498 posts

QUOTE(deeplyheartbroken @ Aug 18 2016, 10:30 PM)
Nope. Not up to power requirements, tried.
deeplyheartbroken
post Aug 19 2016, 10:50 PM

774 posts

QUOTE(iSean @ Aug 19 2016, 09:03 PM)
Nope. Not up to power requirements, tried.
Which USB type-C powerbank you tried with?

I had seen few reviews on net that the Xiaomi Mi Pro powerbank with USB type-C can charge a Macbook
TSiSean
post Aug 20 2016, 10:18 AM

iz old liao.
4,498 posts

QUOTE(deeplyheartbroken @ Aug 19 2016, 10:50 PM)
Which USB type-C powerbank you tried with?

I had seen few reviews on net that the Xiaomi Mi Pro powerbank with USB type-C can charge a Macbook
"It can be charged via Acer USB-C adaptor(45W/20V/2.25A) & Acer PD dock. Thank you" - Acer Malaysia.

I have a USB 2.0 to USB Type C adapter.

But apparently you need that specification to charge your phone.
deeplyheartbroken
post Aug 20 2016, 10:43 AM

774 posts

QUOTE(iSean @ Aug 20 2016, 10:18 AM)
"It can be charged via Acer USB-C adaptor(45W/20V/2.25A) & Acer PD dock. Thank you" - Acer Malaysia.

This requirement 45W/20V/2.25A is rather high. If that is really the case, it really defeats the purpose since the port is not Thunderbolt capable
Zul_XT
post Aug 26 2016, 09:46 AM

53 posts

QUOTE(deeplyheartbroken @ Aug 20 2016, 10:43 AM)
This requirement 45W/20V/2.25A is rather high. If that is really the case, it really defeats the purpose since the port is not Thunderbolt capable
Anybody tried with the 45W USB C adapter.. ?

tchau83
post Aug 31 2016, 07:19 PM

62 posts

QUOTE(iSean @ Aug 20 2016, 10:18 AM)

USB type C cable/port is specced for high power delivery. A USB 2.0 port/cable/powerbank cannot deliver such power, so a USB2.0 to type C adaptor won't work.

Since USB-C is still new, its better to confirm that the individual cables/adaptors work for the Acer before getting it.

Anyway, I found a dock that does work (check the reviews). Freaking expensive though.
Plugable dock

TSiSean
post Aug 31 2016, 10:38 PM

iz old liao.
4,498 posts

QUOTE(tchau83 @ Aug 31 2016, 07:19 PM)
USB type C cable/port is specced for high power delivery. A USB 2.0 port/cable/powerbank cannot deliver such power, so a USB2.0 to type C adaptor won't work.

Since USB-C is still new, its better to confirm that the individual cables/adaptors work for the Acer before getting it.

Anyway, I found a dock that does work (check the reviews). Freaking expensive though.
Plugable dock
Docks are always expensive.
Went to lowyat found a USB Type 3.1C to 4x USB 3.0 already costs me RM 38.... rclxub.gif
Zul_XT
post Sep 2 2016, 05:39 PM

53 posts

I tried using the USB C charger my boss use to charge his Nexus 6P and Macbook, it seems that the battery is charging...
From the label, the charger is rated 14.5 with 2.0 amp..
TSiSean
post Sep 3 2016, 09:29 AM

iz old liao.
4,498 posts

QUOTE(Zul_XT @ Sep 2 2016, 05:39 PM)
I tried using the USB C charger my boss use to charge his Nexus 6P and Macbook, it seems that the battery is charging...
From the label, the charger is rated 14.5 with 2.0 amp..
which charger? tho? I'm making a compatibility list.
Zul_XT
post Sep 3 2016, 11:36 PM

53 posts

QUOTE(iSean @ Sep 3 2016, 09:29 AM)
which charger? tho? I'm making a compatibility list.
I will take a photo of the charger and update on Monday.
Zul_XT
post Sep 5 2016, 12:18 PM

53 posts

QUOTE(Zul_XT @ Sep 3 2016, 11:36 PM)
I will take a photo of the charger and update on Monday.

yltan
post Sep 5 2016, 04:29 PM

194 posts

I'm thinking of getting this as well. Best price seem from techhypermart website unless anyone got better source.

Anyone know where got display unit like those at Harvey Norman.
TSiSean
post Sep 5 2016, 05:43 PM

iz old liao.
4,498 posts

QUOTE(yltan @ Sep 5 2016, 04:29 PM)
I'm thinking of getting this as well. Best price seem from techhypermart website unless anyone got better source.

Hmmm I think you can better wait, also consider properly.
This stylus will eat your battery life like water.

Stand isn't technically secure, also with Intel Core 7th Krabby Lake coming out, and NVIDIA's GPU getting more portable.
I too kind of regret for not waited, but I need a working solution for college. So I can't opt out.

They said MidValley Acer store has it or Digital Mall.
Low Yat also have at the ThunderMatch but no keyboard.

This post has been edited by iSean: Sep 5 2016, 05:44 PM
chaosneo
post Sep 5 2016, 06:48 PM

5,694 posts

QUOTE(yltan @ Sep 5 2016, 04:29 PM)

All IT at ioi city mall at putrajaya got a display unit. actually two shops there got display but i forgot the other.
Doraku
post Sep 5 2016, 06:54 PM

Old threads digger
1,155 posts

QUOTE(Zul_XT @ Sep 5 2016, 12:18 PM)

Look like a ipad charger for me hmm.gif cool2.gif
yltan
post Sep 5 2016, 08:30 PM

194 posts

QUOTE(iSean @ Sep 5 2016, 05:43 PM)
Hmmm I think you can better wait, also consider properly.
This stylus will eat your battery life like water.

Stand isn't technically secure, also with Intel Core 7th Krabby Lake coming out, and NVIDIA's GPU getting more portable.
I too kind of regret for not waited, but I need a working solution for college. So I can't opt out.

They said MidValley Acer store has it or Digital Mall.
Low Yat also have at the ThunderMatch but no keyboard.
I'm not so much on stylus but mainly for portability and tablet mode. Not sure how long need to wait for Intel Core 7th Krabby Lake and at what price. I need to get one this week. I'm located at puchong guess the nearest would be Digital Mall.

Doraku
post Sep 5 2016, 09:48 PM

Old threads digger
1,155 posts

QUOTE(yltan @ Sep 5 2016, 08:30 PM)
I'm not so much on stylus but mainly for portability and tablet mode. Not sure how long need to wait for Intel Core 7th Krabby Lake and at what price. I need to get one this week. I'm located at puchong guess the nearest would be Digital Mall.
The krabby lake processor have better performance and better battery life, you should wait
yltan
post Sep 10 2016, 06:09 PM

194 posts

Anyone managed to successfully install Remix OS on this?
TSiSean
post Sep 15 2016, 07:06 PM

iz old liao.
4,498 posts

Anyone noticed the Stylus Holder Loop starting to break off...?
Mine did.... doh.gif
Zul_XT
post Sep 16 2016, 09:48 PM

53 posts

QUOTE(yltan @ Sep 10 2016, 06:09 PM)
Anyone managed to successfully install Remix OS on this?
I managed to run Remix OS with VBox.. but mouse seems off..
yltan
post Sep 16 2016, 10:37 PM

194 posts

QUOTE(Zul_XT @ Sep 16 2016, 09:48 PM)
I managed to run Remix OS with VBox.. but mouse seems off..
I tried to install as per the instruction but when reboot, it boot into Windows 10. I already disable the secure boot after setting password to the supervisor password in order to disable the secure boot. Care to share how you do it. You could PM me on this as some might not interested on this here. Thanks...
ryuzaki_L
post Sep 18 2016, 12:21 PM

800 posts

is the keyboard with backlit?

It shows there is back lit on acer MY webpage
http://www.acer.com/ac/en/MY/content/serie...n/switchalpha12
TSiSean
post Sep 18 2016, 07:55 PM

iz old liao.
4,498 posts

QUOTE(ryuzaki_L @ Sep 18 2016, 12:21 PM)
is the keyboard with backlit?

It shows there is back lit on acer MY webpage
http://www.acer.com/ac/en/MY/content/serie...n/switchalpha12
For all Malaysian units no.
deeplyheartbroken
post Sep 19 2016, 08:17 PM

774 posts

Any news on the 7th gen processor update?
TSiSean
post Sep 24 2016, 07:46 PM

iz old liao.
4,498 posts

QUOTE(deeplyheartbroken @ Sep 19 2016, 08:17 PM)
I have low hopes for you.
Better wait for a better alternative bro smile.gif
mystvearn
post Oct 13 2016, 02:16 PM

6,639 posts

I am looking for a windows tablet. Is this a good surface 4 replacement?

Another thing is, does it get hot when using it? I see the reviews, all from overseas. Climate not like Malaysia.

Also, where is the best place to buy this?
TSiSean
post Oct 13 2016, 02:51 PM

iz old liao.
4,498 posts

QUOTE(mystvearn @ Oct 13 2016, 02:16 PM)
I am looking for a windows tablet. Is this a good surface 4 replacement?

Another thing is, does it get hot when using it? I see the reviews, all from overseas. Climate not like Malaysia.

Also, where is the best place to buy this?
For web surfing yes. okay lah. Quite cool is reasonable warm air conditioning conditions, as long you don't play 4K movies or games should be fine.
But I personally have tons of issues with the RMA unit and the Original unit, and the stylus too.
Went to highpoint lowyat more than 10 times already not mistaken sweat.gif

I'd bought the i5 version, abit overkill for 8GB of RAM.
but storage is sufficient for light users like me.
Try looking to Asus Transformer 3, but I technically not sure when's the launch.

Its speakers Stylus is fairly wonky, the metal plastic surface is easily dented. If you don't use it should be fine. But defeats the purpose.
Very awkward position using the headphone jack on top.

Plus no Thunderbolt Type C support. rclxub.gif

This post has been edited by iSean: Oct 13 2016, 06:31 PM
mystvearn
post Oct 13 2016, 03:55 PM

6,639 posts

QUOTE(iSean @ Oct 13 2016, 02:51 PM)
For web surfing yes. okay lah. Quite cool is reasonable warm air conditioning conditions, as long you don't play 4K movies or games should be fine.
But I personally have tons of issues with the RMA unit and the Original unit, and the stylus too.
Went to highpoint lowyat more than 10 times already not mistaken  sweat.gif

I'd bought the i5 version, abit overkill for 8GB of RAM.
but storage is sufficient for light users like me.
Try looking to Asus Transformer 3, but I technically not sure when's the launch.

Its speakers Stylus is fairly wonky, the metal plastic surface is easily dented. If you don't use it should be fine. But defeats the purpose.
Very awkward position using the headphone jack on top.

Plus no Thunderbolt Type C support.  rclxub.gif
I actually want to buy to use Onenote for meetings importantly. Based on this, I don't think I want to buy it now. The Asus has fans, not sure when it will release also. the Trasnformer 3 (not pro) only has a USB C port. It is like Asus is asking you to choose between the Transformer mini or the Pro version.

Review of the Pro is available here: http://www.ultrabookreview.com/12543-asus-...-t303ua-review/

This post has been edited by mystvearn: Oct 13 2016, 03:56 PM
TSiSean
post Oct 13 2016, 06:33 PM

iz old liao.
4,498 posts

QUOTE(mystvearn @ Oct 13 2016, 03:55 PM)
I actually want to buy to use Onenote for meetings importantly. Based on this, I don't think I want to buy it now. The Asus has fans, not sure when it will release also. the Trasnformer 3 (not pro) only has a USB C port. It is like Asus is asking you to choose between the Transformer mini or the Pro version.

Review of the Pro is available here: http://www.ultrabookreview.com/12543-asus-...-t303ua-review/
OneNote better find N-Trig's digitizer.

Asus Transformer 3 no thunderbolt support? hmm.gif
I remember reading got one.
mystvearn
post Oct 14 2016, 04:34 PM

6,639 posts

QUOTE(iSean @ Oct 13 2016, 06:33 PM)
OneNote better find N-Trig's digitizer.

Asus Transformer 3 no thunderbolt support?  hmm.gif
I remember reading got one.
Why no powerful Windows tablet as light as android tablet...
thirumaran
post Oct 14 2016, 08:53 PM

615 posts

Anyone know where I can get a screen protector for this?

Just got the i3 unit with free 3 yrs Acer warranty from Lazada.

Replaced my Samsung tab s2 with this. The s2 was lighter but
getting a bit old with no new models from Samsung
mystvearn
post Oct 14 2016, 11:57 PM

6,639 posts

QUOTE(thirumaran @ Oct 14 2016, 08:53 PM)

Replaced my Samsung tab s2 with this.  The s2 was lighter but
You don't mind the extra weight of this tablet? Windows ecosystem does not have lots of touch based apps. I thought the s2 is still doing fine?
TSiSean
post Oct 15 2016, 01:00 AM

iz old liao.
4,498 posts

QUOTE(mystvearn @ Oct 14 2016, 04:34 PM)
Why no powerful Windows tablet as light as android tablet...
Lenovo Mixx line ok they released new one today.
Not sure when reaches MY ah.
TSiSean
post Oct 15 2016, 01:02 AM

iz old liao.
4,498 posts

QUOTE(thirumaran @ Oct 14 2016, 08:53 PM)

Replaced my Samsung tab s2 with this.  The s2 was lighter but
Screen Protector? I don't think it will work with the Digitizer.
You can ask a friend or China Taobao agent to order RM 35 for tempered glass.
But find someone help you stick la sweat.gif

thirumaran
post Oct 15 2016, 07:23 AM

615 posts

QUOTE(mystvearn @ Oct 14 2016, 11:57 PM)
You don't mind the extra weight of this tablet? Windows ecosystem does not have lots of touch based apps. I thought the s2 is still doing fine?
Yes. A bit heavy but my primary use is for watching movies and the stand helps a lot.

S2 is still ok but updates are slow and you need to buy a separate keyboard for productivity
mystvearn
post Oct 15 2016, 10:46 AM

6,639 posts

QUOTE(iSean @ Oct 15 2016, 01:00 AM)
Lenovo Mixx line ok they released new one today.
Not sure when reaches MY ah.
http://www.techradar.com/reviews/pc-mac/ta...-1327606/review
This?
QUOTE(thirumaran @ Oct 15 2016, 07:23 AM)
Yes. A bit heavy but my primary use is for watching movies and the stand helps a lot.

S2 is still ok but updates are slow and  you need to buy a separate keyboard for productivity
I see. You might as well get an ultrabook.
thirumaran
post Oct 15 2016, 11:04 AM

615 posts

QUOTE(mystvearn @ Oct 15 2016, 10:46 AM)
http://www.techradar.com/reviews/pc-mac/ta...-1327606/review
This?

I see. You might as well get an ultrabook.
I like the acer. Office already provides an ultrabook
unequalteck
post Oct 17 2016, 08:43 PM

Custom member title
2,690 posts

need some feedback for this. what u guys mostly use for with this 2in1?
c_s_mak
post Oct 28 2016, 02:47 PM

123 posts

Those who have alpha 12, do you think the ram or ssd is upgradable?
thirumaran
post Oct 28 2016, 03:23 PM

615 posts

QUOTE(unequalteck @ Oct 17 2016, 08:43 PM)
need some feedback for this. what u guys mostly use for with this 2in1?
I use it for Web surfing and movies with the i3 version.

My friend who has the i5 version is using it for her client presentations on the go (she is an insurance agent)
thirumaran
post Oct 28 2016, 03:46 PM

615 posts

QUOTE(deeplyheartbroken @ Sep 19 2016, 08:17 PM)
surface 5 pro will launch next year only, I guess only then Acer will update.

QUOTE(c_s_mak @ Oct 28 2016, 02:47 PM)
Those who have alpha 12, do you think the ram or ssd is upgradable?
Nope

This post has been edited by thirumaran: Oct 28 2016, 03:46 PM
unequalteck
post Oct 28 2016, 05:09 PM

Custom member title
2,690 posts

QUOTE(thirumaran @ Oct 28 2016, 03:23 PM)
I use it for Web surfing and movies with the i3 version.

My friend who has the i5 version is using it for her client presentations on the go (she is an insurance agent)
Bought it hahahaha

This post has been edited by unequalteck: Oct 28 2016, 05:12 PM
unequalteck
post Oct 28 2016, 05:10 PM

Custom member title
2,690 posts

Double post

This post has been edited by unequalteck: Oct 28 2016, 05:10 PM
thirumaran
post Oct 28 2016, 05:19 PM

615 posts

QUOTE(unequalteck @ Oct 28 2016, 05:09 PM)
Bought it hahahaha
i3 or i5?

did u get 3 yrs warranty upgrade foc?
TSiSean
post Oct 28 2016, 07:06 PM

iz old liao.
4,498 posts

QUOTE(unequalteck @ Oct 28 2016, 05:09 PM)
Bought it hahahaha
take off your stylus and place it else where....
my stylus holder broke doh.gif
unequalteck
post Oct 28 2016, 09:55 PM

Custom member title
2,690 posts

QUOTE(thirumaran @ Oct 28 2016, 05:19 PM)
i3 or i5?

did u get 3 yrs warranty upgrade foc?
How to get that upgrade? I bought it from harvey norman

QUOTE(iSean @ Oct 28 2016, 07:06 PM)
take off your stylus and place it else where....
my stylus holder broke  doh.gif
Lol okay. Actually rarely use the stylus
thirumaran
post Oct 29 2016, 07:08 AM

615 posts

[quote=unequalteck,Oct 28 2016, 09:55 PM]

Aisey man, buy from Lazada, cheaper the HN and free wireless mouse + 3 yr ACER warranty

I actually posted about this earlier
unequalteck
post Oct 29 2016, 01:11 PM

Custom member title
2,690 posts

[quote=thirumaran,Oct 29 2016, 07:08 AM]
[quote=unequalteck,Oct 28 2016, 09:55 PM]
Aisey man, buy from Lazada, cheaper the HN and free wireless mouse + 3 yr ACER warranty

I actually posted about this earlier

[/quote]
sad.gif ya saw it. Punching my heart now
k3v1n
post Nov 4 2016, 10:14 PM

Camouflage Artist
1,232 posts

Hi...wanna ask, compare to surface 3, which one is good?
taqu
post Nov 5 2016, 09:24 AM

864 posts

QUOTE(k3v1n @ Nov 4 2016, 10:14 PM)
Hi...wanna ask, compare to surface 3, which one is good?
As a Surface 3 user, I'd say it's a good all-rounder device, if U can accept Atom performance. Not too heavy as pure tablet, accurate display, silent, never gets hot & great pen. The cons: price, average Atom performance, slower MicroSD performance & slow Micro USB charging (5-6 hours). I use it as secondary software development machine, photography works & tablet use.
wkyrichie
post Nov 9 2016, 01:21 AM

237 posts

Hi.. I'm thinking of getting a laptop that can double up as a tablet and I have a few questions..

1) Is the Acer Switch worth it? So far it has the best specs from the shops I surveyed. The Asus and lenovo brands mostly have atom / coreM processors

2) What is this thunderbolt that you guys are talking about?

3) Should i get an i3 or i5? I don't play much games on my laptop. Just stream alot of videos/movies

Appreciate your assistance. Tq
TSiSean
post Nov 9 2016, 08:05 PM

iz old liao.
4,498 posts

QUOTE(wkyrichie @ Nov 9 2016, 01:21 AM)
Hi..  I'm thinking of getting a laptop that can double up as a tablet and I have a few questions..

1) Is the Acer Switch worth it? So far it has the best specs from the shops I surveyed. The Asus and lenovo brands mostly have atom / coreM processors

3) Should i get an i3 or i5? I don't play much games on my laptop. Just stream alot of videos/movies

Appreciate your assistance. Tq
Besides, the buggy, keyboard and trackpad and stylus, easy to break stylus holder.
Build Quality is alright. But might dent or easily.

Front facing speakers is modest.
If you plan to travel easy and light for 1kg get this or an iPad.
But If I have a second option, might be an iPad.

Somewhat okays, if you buy thin and light and prepare for compromises.

The USB Type C Port, is either comes with Intel thunderbolt, which you can connect it to a Powerful Gaming Dock for GPU.
This doesn't come with Thunderbolt so don't bother.

Get i3 should be safe, if you want to save some cash.
But i5 abit pricy, but it is okay if you can find a value for extended warranty online.
TSiSean
post Nov 11 2016, 04:54 PM

iz old liao.
4,498 posts

Fun fact, don't buy AAAA batteries from any retail stores for RM 45-60
Buy a 9V battery, potong inside get 6x AAAA battery biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by iSean: Nov 11 2016, 04:55 PM
thirumaran
post Nov 11 2016, 07:39 PM

615 posts

Extra RM200 off today only at lazada.

Includes free mouse + anti virus + 3 yrs warranty
thirumaran
post Nov 15 2016, 11:40 AM

615 posts

For those of you who find the bundled charger too bulky, try charging it with a 3rd party USB C charger.

I got the Apple USB C Charger (19W) during 11/11 sales, and it works great!
chaosneo
post Nov 15 2016, 12:06 PM

5,694 posts

QUOTE(thirumaran @ Nov 15 2016, 11:40 AM)
For those of you who find the bundled charger too bulky, try charging it with a 3rd party USB C charger.

this is awesome information! thanks.
its good to know. i wonder does powerbank is capable of charging it?
Zul_XT
post Nov 15 2016, 02:30 PM

53 posts

can you post the Photo of the charger..
Previously I tried with the Macbook charger, it works, but if not mistaken its 39W

Thank you.
TSiSean
post Nov 15 2016, 02:37 PM

iz old liao.
4,498 posts

Does it have the prongs thingy to curl up the wire?
thirumaran
post Nov 15 2016, 05:55 PM

615 posts

QUOTE(Zul_XT @ Nov 15 2016, 02:30 PM)
can you post the Photo of the charger..
Previously I tried with the Macbook charger, it works, but if not mistaken its 39W

Thank you.
QUOTE(iSean @ Nov 15 2016, 02:37 PM)
Does it have the prongs thingy to curl up the wire?
Sorry its 29W

http://www.apple.com/shop/product/MJ262LL/...c-power-adapter

What prongs thingy? U need to buy the 2M cable separately.

I got this tip from Acer forums and Amazon Acer Aspire Alpha buyers
yltan
post Nov 15 2016, 06:02 PM

194 posts

How is the charging speed as I noticed that the original bundled charger is 45W against this Apple charger of 29W?

QUOTE(thirumaran @ Nov 15 2016, 05:55 PM)
Sorry its 29W

What prongs thingy?  U need to buy the 2M cable separately.

I got this tip from Acer forums and Amazon Acer Aspire Alpha buyers
thirumaran
post Nov 15 2016, 07:06 PM

615 posts

QUOTE(yltan @ Nov 15 2016, 06:02 PM)
How is the charging speed as I noticed that the original bundled charger is 45W against this Apple charger of 29W?
I haven't measured yet.

But according to post #7 on this thread below, it's the same:

https://community.acer.com/t5/Windows-Table...ort/td-p/452567

This post has been edited by thirumaran: Nov 15 2016, 07:06 PM
ahngao_23
post Nov 28 2016, 04:31 PM

25 posts

hi all,

acer switch alpha 12 vs lenovo miix 510 which 1 should i buy ? can advise ?

TSiSean
post Nov 28 2016, 06:17 PM

iz old liao.
4,498 posts

QUOTE(ahngao_23 @ Nov 28 2016, 04:31 PM)
hi all,

Well I will say give a try for the Lenovo.
I've been plague by many problems with this laptop,
Keyboard magnets not working fine, and left speakers abit janked up.
Structural integrity of the top left corner can be clicked.
A giant dead round pixel in bottom right corner.
Stylus pen battery easily go flat.
Keyboard stylus loop broken off. [Ordered Microsoft Surface Pen Loop from Cousin in Aussie for replacement]

It is more up to date compared to the out of date Acer laptop now.
thirumaran
post Nov 30 2016, 08:44 PM

615 posts

QUOTE(ahngao_23 @ Nov 28 2016, 04:31 PM)
hi all,

So far I haven't had any issue with my unit except for the poor trackpad which is a design issue.

Bought in early October with additional 3 yr warranty. Offer still available and now with RM150 coupon I think.
Acer even has an accidental damage and theft warranty now.

I believe it has to do with batches. Old vs new batch. Read the overseas Acer forums before making your decision.

Intrigue
post Nov 30 2016, 10:19 PM

L O W Y A T E R
3,943 posts

Guys, does this comes with backlit keyboard? Saw lazada some review says NO but acer website does have backlit.

Im looking at the i5 variant 8gb 256gbssd
TSiSean
post Nov 30 2016, 11:22 PM

iz old liao.
4,498 posts

QUOTE(Intrigue @ Nov 30 2016, 10:19 PM)
Guys, does this comes with backlit keyboard? Saw lazada some review says NO but acer website does have backlit.

Im looking at the i5 variant 8gb 256gbssd
Malaysian Unit doesn't have that.
But comes with 1 year international warranty.

I think you need to go Singapore to get the Backlit Keyboard.

This post has been edited by iSean: Nov 30 2016, 11:22 PM
Intrigue
post Dec 1 2016, 10:55 AM

L O W Y A T E R
3,943 posts

QUOTE(iSean @ Nov 30 2016, 11:22 PM)
Malaysian Unit doesn't have that.
But comes with 1 year international warranty.

I think you need to go Singapore to get the Backlit Keyboard.
AcerMalaysia replied to me mentioning have backlitkeyboard.

This lazada looks like a good deal to me. What do u guys think?

sonyfanzz
post Dec 1 2016, 11:06 AM

682 posts

QUOTE(Intrigue @ Dec 1 2016, 10:55 AM)

hypermark sell for 3.1k...
TSiSean
post Dec 1 2016, 11:26 AM

iz old liao.
4,498 posts

QUOTE(Intrigue @ Dec 1 2016, 10:55 AM)

Depending on your case, but most of us got it doesn't includes it.

Intrigue
post Dec 1 2016, 02:55 PM

L O W Y A T E R
3,943 posts

Ordered mine from techhypermart + additional 2 yrs warranty + shipping for RM3488

Local shop selling me RM3360 and some at RRP.
Intrigue
post Dec 1 2016, 10:34 PM

L O W Y A T E R
3,943 posts

May i know what casing did you guys use?
TSiSean
post Dec 1 2016, 10:37 PM

iz old liao.
4,498 posts

QUOTE(Intrigue @ Dec 1 2016, 10:34 PM)
May i know what casing did you guys use?
Didn't use casing, but dropped my device a few times quite heart broken...
Might need to skin it one day rclxub.gif
Zul_XT
post Dec 2 2016, 10:23 AM

53 posts

I'm using it naked too.. saw case for SA12 on lazada and ebay.. but it seems bulky..
Malaysia version does not include Backlit keyboard.. bought my i7 on June.. already call Acer on that and they confirm it..

Maybe the version with backlight is not from Acer Malaysia..
At first I choose SA12 due to the backlit keyboard, but a bit disappointed when mine does not..
But the pricing was far cheaper to Surface when it come to the processor..

TSiSean
post Dec 2 2016, 10:37 AM

iz old liao.
4,498 posts

QUOTE(Zul_XT @ Dec 2 2016, 10:23 AM)
I'm using it naked too.. saw case for SA12 on lazada and ebay.. but it seems bulky..
Malaysia version does not include Backlit keyboard.. bought my i7 on June.. already call Acer on that and they confirm it..

Maybe the version with backlight is not from Acer Malaysia..
At first I choose SA12 due to the backlit keyboard, but a bit disappointed when mine does not..
But the pricing was far cheaper to Surface when it come to the processor..
Link case I can't find it tho.
Zul_XT
post Dec 2 2016, 10:44 AM

53 posts

QUOTE(iSean @ Dec 2 2016, 10:37 AM)
Link case I can't find it tho.
sorry... I google it..
here one of it..
http://www.gumdropcases.com/products/acer-...ant=32243623620
Intrigue
post Dec 2 2016, 12:01 PM

L O W Y A T E R
3,943 posts

I managed to get a case from http://www.acer.clickasia.my/

Initially i ordered the wrong one and i called them up and a guy mentioned there is a case for switch alpha and swap me with it. Price inclusive of delivery is around RM107

Rmk: http://www.acer.clickasia.my/acer-switch-11-12-snap-case - Bought the wrong one as i only realised there is another variant of Switch bangwall.gif

This post has been edited by Intrigue: Dec 2 2016, 12:03 PM
TSiSean
post Dec 2 2016, 12:26 PM

iz old liao.
4,498 posts

QUOTE(Intrigue @ Dec 2 2016, 12:01 PM)

Initially i ordered the wrong one and i called them up and a guy mentioned there is a case for switch alpha and swap me with it. Price inclusive of delivery is around RM107

Rmk: http://www.acer.clickasia.my/acer-switch-11-12-snap-case - Bought the wrong one as i only realised there is another variant of Switch  bangwall.gif
Didn't saw the case tho.
Rather go get a pouch for RM 30 at lowyat sweat.gif
mydurian
post Dec 2 2016, 12:29 PM

854 posts

Looking to get this too. But somewhat pricey. But think gain, 1/4 of the unit price. hmmm..... http://www.gumdropcases.com/products/acer-...ant=32243623620
black_orphen
post Dec 2 2016, 09:54 PM

QUOTE(iSean @ Nov 28 2016, 06:17 PM)
Well I will say give a try for the Lenovo.
I've been plague by many problems with this laptop,
Keyboard magnets not working fine, and left speakers abit janked up.
Structural integrity of the top left corner can be clicked.
A giant dead round pixel in bottom right corner.
Stylus pen battery easily go flat.
Keyboard stylus loop broken off. [Ordered Microsoft Surface Pen Loop from Cousin in Aussie for replacement]

It is more up to date compared to the out of date Acer laptop now.
QUOTE(iSean @ Dec 1 2016, 10:37 PM)
Didn't use casing, but dropped my device a few times quite heart broken...
Might need to skin it one day  rclxub.gif
Hi Sean,

Sorry for asking this, is it because of your "careless" usage causing all the cons that you mentioned above?

because honestly i am thinking to buy this switch alpha 12, but after i read your review I am a bit doubtful.

are the cons of product is because of quality of product itself or it is because it was not handle with care?

That's why i am asking this question. Please dont get me wrong, i dont mean to hurt someones feeling, i just need some lights before really buying this product.

Anyway, thanks for the review. I appreciate that.
TSiSean
post Dec 2 2016, 11:46 PM

iz old liao.
4,498 posts

QUOTE(black_orphen @ Dec 2 2016, 09:54 PM)
Hi Sean,

Sorry for asking this, is it because of your "careless" usage causing all the cons that you mentioned above?

because honestly i am thinking to buy this switch alpha 12, but after i read your review I am a bit doubtful.

are the cons of product is because of quality of product itself or it is because it was not handle with care?

That's why i am asking this question. Please dont get me wrong, i dont mean to hurt someones feeling, i just need some lights before really buying this product.

Anyway, thanks for the review. I appreciate that.
Depends on what you think, because I'm a robust user. I travel and write and draw notes on the laptop alot during my last 5 months on college.
I need thin and light for college.
This laptop have proven abit unsuited for me, but it needs to stay with me for another 2 years.
I also cram my laptop into my stuffed bag with books and into public transport.

Dead pixel issue wasn't caused by me, it was manufacturer fault, my first unit had a dead zone with the stylus where I can only somewhat write on it.
Speakers wasn't its best selling point, despite being front facing speakers.
The speaker have a particularly clickly sound on the left. I don't think dropping it on the wooden floor off a short table will effect it much.
(I owned a Bluetooth Speaker, so I don't use it much).

Magnets for this keyboard is really weak, it can't hold up to its weight after a few weeks.

The reason why I drop it alot, because I use a small desk table next to my bed.
The weight distribution of the tablet and the stand angle doesn't do well around 70-80 degrees and clicks back.

Acer Stylus Holder - that one tons of people been complaining on the Acer Forum.
Can go Singapore/Aussie to buy replacement for RM 20. rclxub.gif

This post has been edited by iSean: Dec 2 2016, 11:47 PM
black_orphen
post Dec 3 2016, 03:56 PM

QUOTE(iSean @ Dec 2 2016, 11:46 PM)
Depends on what you think, because I'm a robust user. I travel and write and draw notes on the laptop alot during my last 5 months on college.
I need thin and light for college.
This laptop have proven abit unsuited for me, but it needs to stay with me for another 2 years.
I also cram my laptop into my stuffed bag with books and into public transport.

Dead pixel issue wasn't caused by me, it was manufacturer fault, my first unit had a dead zone with the stylus where I can only somewhat write on it.
Speakers wasn't its best selling point, despite being front facing speakers.
The speaker have a particularly clickly sound on the left. I don't think dropping it on the wooden floor off a short table will effect it much.
(I owned a Bluetooth Speaker, so I don't use it much).

Magnets for this keyboard is really weak, it can't hold up to its weight after a few weeks.

The reason why I drop it alot, because I use a small desk table next to my bed.
The weight distribution of the tablet and the stand angle doesn't do well around 70-80 degrees and clicks back.
Acer Stylus Holder - that one tons of people been complaining on the Acer Forum.
Can go Singapore/Aussie to buy replacement for RM 20.  rclxub.gif
Thanks for your honest explanation.
Actually I also have more concern about the magnet port. Because I can forsee that i will quite often attach and detached this device. Do you think your device had this problem because of oftenly detach and reattached the keyboard?

About the speaker i also will not bother so much since we can still use bluetooth speaker if it really necessary.

Another question, am I able to do a fresh install in this device? Lets say, something bad happen and I need to do a fresh windows install on the device. Do I just do a common windows fresh install like in the desktop or we should go to ACER Service Center?

thirumaran
post Dec 3 2016, 06:45 PM

615 posts

QUOTE(Intrigue @ Dec 2 2016, 12:01 PM)

Rmk: http://www.acer.clickasia.my/acer-switch-11-12-snap-case - Bought the wrong one as i only realised there is another variant of Switch  bangwall.gif
Bro,

how to order this case if the product page showing case for a different model (as per your link)?
TSiSean
post Dec 3 2016, 11:37 PM

iz old liao.
4,498 posts

QUOTE(black_orphen @ Dec 3 2016, 03:56 PM)
Thanks for your honest explanation.
Actually I also have more concern about the magnet port. Because I can forsee that i will quite often attach and detached this device. Do you think your device had this problem because of oftenly detach and reattached the keyboard?

About the speaker i also will not bother so much since we can still use bluetooth speaker if it really necessary.

Another question, am I able to do a fresh install in this device? Lets say, something bad happen and I need to do a fresh windows install on the device. Do I just do a common windows fresh install like in the desktop or we should go to ACER Service Center?
Well you can bring it to Highpoint, they can fresh reinstall for you for free under warranty smile.gif
---------------------
Normally the device will have its own factory reset, unless that factory reset folder is corrupted or you half way reset Windows, your tablets suddenly collapse into its keyboard case/you close it yourself, the install will be corrupted.
You are technically required to bring it back to Highpoint.

Or if you prepared a Microsoft Windows Repair Disc after you purchased the laptop
https://support.microsoft.com/en-us/help/17...tem-repair-disc

Basically everything should be fine.

I think it is due to wear and tear opening and close, I went to test our Surface Pro 4 today also face this issues, but I really like surface pro pen. Unlike Acer one.
Surface feels like got flexible rubber tip easy to write one.

Surface Pro Pen doesn't work for Acer Switch Alpha 12
(Lenovo Mixx works not mistaken.)
black_orphen
post Dec 3 2016, 11:56 PM

QUOTE(iSean @ Dec 3 2016, 11:37 PM)
Well you can bring it to Highpoint, they can fresh reinstall for you for free under warranty smile.gif
---------------------
Normally the device will have its own factory reset, unless that factory reset folder is corrupted or you half way reset Windows, your tablets suddenly collapse into its keyboard case/you close it yourself, the install will be corrupted.
You are technically required to bring it back to Highpoint.

Or if you prepared a Microsoft Windows Repair Disc after you purchased the laptop
https://support.microsoft.com/en-us/help/17...tem-repair-disc

Basically everything should be fine.

I think it is due to wear and tear opening and close, I went to test our Surface Pro 4 today also face this issues, but I really like surface pro pen. Unlike Acer one.
Surface feels like got flexible rubber tip easy to write one.

Surface Pro Pen doesn't work for Acer Switch Alpha 12
(Lenovo Mixx works not mistaken.)
Noted, thanks bro smile.gif

Btw i will keep this product in view while waiting some other reviewer. Because I trust daily user review more than those youtuber reviewer who review this product just based on < 1 month usage. :|
black_orphen
post Dec 6 2016, 12:49 AM

iSean,
How about the screen durability?
Is the screen is easily being scratched?
TSiSean
post Dec 6 2016, 06:14 AM

iz old liao.
4,498 posts

QUOTE(black_orphen @ Dec 6 2016, 12:49 AM)
iSean,
How about the screen durability?
Is the screen is easily being scratched?
Screen durability? I didn't scratch it so far.
Not sure is glass or plastic.

Dropped it face on twice I recalled, mostly it will land on its back because I set the hinge too small of an angle for the near 70-90 degree view
The glass on the top left corner has abit of flex. not sure why might be the button placement or somewhat.

Overall, if you plan to write alot of notes get an N-Trig Tablet from Lenovo or Microsoft Surface Pro 4.
Lenovo Mixx 510 you just lost out the SD Card function.
But still acceptable.
Intrigue
post Dec 8 2016, 09:09 AM

L O W Y A T E R
3,943 posts

QUOTE(thirumaran @ Dec 3 2016, 06:45 PM)
Bro,

how to order this case if the product page showing case for a different model (as per your link)?
I call them.

Btw, anyone use usb c to chaarge this?
thirumaran
post Dec 8 2016, 01:09 PM

615 posts

QUOTE(Intrigue @ Dec 8 2016, 09:09 AM)
I call them.

Btw, anyone use usb c to chaarge this?
using apple 29w usb c charger. see my comments few posts earlier

Intrigue
post Dec 8 2016, 02:04 PM

L O W Y A T E R
3,943 posts

QUOTE(thirumaran @ Dec 8 2016, 01:09 PM)
using apple 29w usb c charger.  see my comments few posts earlier
Can share a photo? Will IP6plus adapter can do?

Btw, here is my sleeve

Intrigue
post Dec 8 2016, 02:40 PM

L O W Y A T E R
3,943 posts

To add on, anyone tried car charger?
thirumaran
post Dec 8 2016, 04:16 PM

615 posts

QUOTE(Intrigue @ Dec 8 2016, 02:04 PM)

Btw, here is my sleeve
Here is a photo:

IP6 plus adapter will be too slow

This post has been edited by thirumaran: Dec 8 2016, 04:17 PM
thirumaran
post Dec 8 2016, 04:41 PM

615 posts

Btw, here is my sleeve
is it just a sleeve and not a snap on case?
black_orphen
post Dec 8 2016, 08:34 PM

Btw, here is my sleeve
Nice sleeve, where you bought it? How much?

QUOTE(Intrigue @ Dec 8 2016, 02:40 PM)
To add on, anyone tried car charger?
I thought we should avoid a car charger as much as possible? Since the car charger doesnt deliver a stable current that might damaged your devices.

Except in an emergency situation.

This post has been edited by black_orphen: Dec 8 2016, 08:43 PM
TSiSean
post Dec 9 2016, 12:05 AM

iz old liao.
4,498 posts

Btw, here is my sleeve
with tablet on?
Intrigue
post Dec 9 2016, 11:41 AM

L O W Y A T E R
3,943 posts

QUOTE(thirumaran @ Dec 8 2016, 04:41 PM)
is it just a sleeve and not a snap on case?
It is just a sleeve with a magnet. Not an snap on case. I will share a photo of it later on
Intrigue
post Dec 9 2016, 12:17 PM

L O W Y A T E R
3,943 posts

Thereyou go

effectz
post Dec 10 2016, 09:59 AM

1,112 posts

Btw, here is my sleeve
Mana beli? Berapa ni?
SUSCherryx
post Dec 13 2016, 09:25 AM

440 posts

Thinking to buy this. Any suggestions on where I should buy it? Online? Stores? Senheng??
Intrigue
post Dec 17 2016, 09:08 PM

L O W Y A T E R
3,943 posts

QUOTE(effectz @ Dec 10 2016, 09:59 AM)
Mana beli? Berapa ni?
QUOTE(Cherryx @ Dec 13 2016, 09:25 AM)
Thinking to buy this. Any suggestions on where I should buy it? Online? Stores? Senheng??
Sleeves bought at clickasia. Try call them
effectz
post Dec 18 2016, 06:30 PM

1,112 posts

Already bought from Lazada
Intrigue
post Dec 20 2016, 12:51 PM

L O W Y A T E R
3,943 posts

Bought usb c charger and usb c to c cable from machines and cost 227 and 89 respectively. Bought another usb 3.1 hub extender with rj45 port for 155. Raking this machines price to around 4k+.

This post has been edited by Intrigue: Dec 20 2016, 12:52 PM
thirumaran
post Dec 21 2016, 08:20 AM

615 posts

QUOTE(Intrigue @ Dec 20 2016, 12:51 PM)
Bought usb c charger and usb c to c cable from machines and cost 227 and 89 respectively. Bought another usb 3.1 hub extender with rj45 port for 155. Raking this machines price to around 4k+.
Which hub extender did you get?
Intrigue
post Dec 21 2016, 09:52 PM

L O W Y A T E R
3,943 posts

QUOTE(thirumaran @ Dec 21 2016, 08:20 AM)
Which hub extender did you get?
i think the name is macallan or what. At first wanted to buy from normal shop but worried about the quality as i intend to use this tablet for work

Wonder will this works

Targus AC Automotive 200W Power Inverter
unfished
post Dec 23 2016, 04:46 PM

can SP4 or 3 sleeve be used for the SA12
unfished
post Dec 23 2016, 05:01 PM

Ive just realised my SA12 keyboard "question mark slash " key is not functioning. Anyone has similar problems and solution to it . Thanks ...
TSiSean
post Dec 23 2016, 08:28 PM

iz old liao.
4,498 posts

QUOTE(unfished @ Dec 23 2016, 05:01 PM)
Ive just realised my SA12 keyboard "question mark slash " key is not functioning. Anyone has similar problems and solution to it . Thanks ...
Just exchange your whole device at highpoint.

also beware of dead pixel if you get replacement unit.

Also, anyone got this problem the device only gets 3 hours of battery life when you unplug and run on minimum settings?
ryuzaki_L
post Dec 25 2016, 06:41 PM

800 posts

QUOTE(iSean @ Nov 11 2016, 04:54 PM)
Fun fact, don't buy AAAA batteries from any retail stores for RM 45-60
Buy a 9V battery, potong inside get 6x AAAA battery biggrin.gif

Are all brand of 9V battery also having the same structure? Any solder on the AAAA battery?
lin00b
post Dec 26 2016, 04:13 PM

nobody
3,592 posts

anyonecan recommend usb-c dock? with dvi output and normal usb output
TSiSean
post Dec 26 2016, 04:38 PM

iz old liao.
4,498 posts

QUOTE(ryuzaki_L @ Dec 25 2016, 06:41 PM)
Are all brand of 9V battery also having the same structure? Any solder on the AAAA battery?
should be.
ryuzaki_L
post Dec 27 2016, 10:41 PM

800 posts

At the end didn't buy Acer and go with Lenovo Miix 510 instead. Couldn't find a better in LYP.
Either the i5 version is sold out or the price is not competitive. Therefore got the Lenovo with RM3300 for i5/256 ssd/8gb ram with 2 years warranty, lenovo active pen and back lit keyboard.
chaosneo
post Dec 28 2016, 10:34 AM

5,694 posts

QUOTE(ryuzaki_L @ Dec 27 2016, 10:41 PM)
At the end didn't buy Acer and go with Lenovo Miix 510 instead. Couldn't find a better in LYP.
Either the i5 version is sold out or the price is not competitive. Therefore got the Lenovo with RM3300 for i5/256 ssd/8gb ram with 2 years warranty, lenovo active pen and back lit keyboard.
that is quite a deal. i didn't know Miix 510 got i5.
TSiSean
post Dec 28 2016, 12:53 PM

iz old liao.
4,498 posts

battery life how? hmm.gif

sonyfanzz
post Dec 29 2016, 01:28 AM

682 posts

pen is 2048 or 4096 pressure sensitivity one? confused.gif
ryuzaki_L
post Dec 29 2016, 08:58 PM

800 posts

QUOTE(iSean @ Dec 28 2016, 12:53 PM)
battery life how?  hmm.gif
not too sure how to measure, to me is ok. but definitely won't get 8hrs as claimed.

QUOTE(sonyfanzz @ Dec 29 2016, 01:28 AM)
pen is 2048 or 4096 pressure sensitivity one? confused.gif
how to check?
willgan
post Dec 30 2016, 07:57 PM

302 posts

hi all,

just got my alpha yesterday...
so far, its good...
i love the quiet sound... the screen is good.. i leave it to 10%,
typing on the lap seems fine.. keyboard seems sturdy enough... and the back extender doesn't really hurt your leg since its not sharp edges..

battery life is quite acceptable... 4-5 hours...
reading ebooks without wireless probably last about 7-8 hours..
youtube streaming at 1080p... around 3-4 hours..

heat... the right side at the back do heats up... but i don't think its the problem since its liquid cool.. probably the back used as heat sink.. so a bit hot... but front panel seems fine..

pen seems work as the same as the old switch..

i haven't test the camera yet.. but not very important

what to improve:

1. can improve the width of display size.. reduce the width of the edges
2. Battery can still improve...
3. Keyboard backlight, why on earth did acer make double standard for APAC.. please don't save a little bit just for the sake of saving.. People who use portable devices need every single of these features.. If the keyboard has battery and ports like SD or usb-c / mini display.. its even better.. you can plug in external HDD / Dvd drive an don't have to worry about additional power..
4. Microsoft, Acer, Asus, Lenovo... WHERE IS POWER BANK TO CHARGE USB-C powered devices... NOW ALREADY 2017 (almost)..
5. PLEASE MAKE THE CHARGER MORE PORTABLE LIKE MACBOOK.. you don't expect us to bring a 1.2 KG and 400Grams Brick around right.. please make it to 100Grams.. If you don't know how to do it, get a better power brick vendor..

i have the first switch... its good, but slow ..
i have a samsung ativ 9 ... its good as well, in terms of battery... but its aging.. and 4GB ram only.. fan is noisy once it kicks in... like a hissing sound..

This post has been edited by willgan: Dec 30 2016, 08:16 PM
hkh m43
post Dec 30 2016, 11:06 PM

265 posts

QUOTE(willgan @ Dec 30 2016, 07:57 PM)
i have the first switch... its good, but slow ..
I agree. I have the first switch too (and some other machines) and it's still going strong.

The detachable wireless keyboard is a killer design (but missing a middle button for scrolling like thinkpads), as well as the kickstand...if only the Lenovo X1 Tablet keyboard was detachable...

There's a Vaio Z Canvas it's cheaper now, but also old..

This post has been edited by hkh m43: Jan 19 2017, 10:58 AM
theMadMan
post Jan 18 2017, 02:02 PM

20 posts

QUOTE(hkh m43 @ Dec 30 2016, 11:06 PM)
The detachable keyboard is a killer design (but missing a middle button for scrolling like thinkpads), as well as the kickstand...if only the Lenovo X1 Tablet keyboard was detachable...
Hi, I have read through this thread with interest. I actually recommended someone to buy the Switch Alpha i5 recently. I was just curious what you meant by the comment above. How is the X1 Tablet keyboard not detachable?
hkh m43
post Jan 19 2017, 10:57 AM

265 posts

QUOTE(theMadMan @ Jan 18 2017, 02:02 PM)
Hi, I have read through this thread with interest.  I actually recommended someone to buy the Switch Alpha i5 recently.  I was just curious what you meant by the comment above.  How is the X1 Tablet keyboard not detachable?
In the original all-plastic Switch 12 (5Y10 processor), the detachable keyboard is also wireless (not bluetooth, but something like logitech wireless without a dongle).

As a consequence the keyboard can be on your lap and the tablet can be on your desk or propped up on a stand resulting in very good ergonomics (esp with the trackpoint).
The keyboard can also be attached giving a clamshell laptop like experience as the kickstand is flat.
Need to see in-person to appreciate...

[The screen is also good quality, cons are the pen is bad, as well as weak processor and battery life).

I'll edit my comment above to make it clearer.
theMadMan
post Jan 19 2017, 12:36 PM

20 posts

QUOTE(hkh m43 @ Jan 19 2017, 10:57 AM)
In the original all-plastic Switch 12 (5Y10 processor), the detachable keyboard is also wireless (not bluetooth, but something like logitech wireless without a dongle).
Cool. Thx for clarifying thumbup.gif Wireless detachable keyboard would be good in some use-cases, but then it would contain a battery (adding to weight of the cover) and would need to be charged up. So it's a trade-off whistling.gif
weilung
post Feb 11 2017, 11:00 AM

395 posts

got the newer batch (actually almost got the earlier batch, last unit in stock & cheaper by 200, but the body was dented so went to another store). Still has the stylus/pen included, and the newer batch, keyboard in now backlit. Been using for amount 2 3 weeks (work + leisure), i5 model.

So far pretty happy. Friend was saying shouldve gotten the surface, better quality and what-not. so far no issues. Got 3M car-wrap from a auto shop and wrapped the back of it, so its notw black and matte and not-so-easy to scratch. messed up the logo abit but its fine as i got a sticker and covered it up.

As a 2-in-1, i'm pretty happy with it. just dont understand why u gotta hold the power button for 4-5 seconds for it to turn on.

9.5/10. happy so far.

This post has been edited by weilung: Feb 11 2017, 11:01 AM
amaze01
post Feb 11 2017, 11:56 AM

146 posts

https://www.asus.com/ca-en/2-in-1-PCs/ASUS_...specifications/

just asking i wish to get this model as it's around RM1600 and with 1TB HDD.

how is the performance of Intel Core M-5Y10 with 4GB RAM and 64GB SSD?

I use it for web browsing/youtube/email/office/file transfer/light photo edit and maybe light online gaming.

or i should consider top-up RM700-RM800 for switch alpha 12 or miix 510?

This post has been edited by amaze01: Feb 11 2017, 12:05 PM
TSiSean
post Feb 11 2017, 01:53 PM

iz old liao.
4,498 posts

QUOTE(amaze01 @ Feb 11 2017, 11:56 AM)
https://www.asus.com/ca-en/2-in-1-PCs/ASUS_...specifications/

just asking i wish to get this model as it's around RM1600 and with 1TB HDD.

how is the performance of Intel Core M-5Y10 with 4GB RAM and 64GB SSD?

I use it for web browsing/youtube/email/office/file transfer/light photo edit and maybe light online gaming.

or i should consider top-up RM700-RM800 for switch alpha 12 or miix 510?
Light online gaming will not even happen with that sweat.gif
Get miix 510
Eiraku
post Feb 11 2017, 04:47 PM

Geeking since 1985!
7,037 posts

QUOTE(iSean @ Feb 11 2017, 01:53 PM)
Light online gaming will not even happen with that  sweat.gif
Get miix 510
Can confirm the 510 can do light gaming fine. Tried Left 4 Dead and Magica 2 and they ran okay without getting too warm even for an extended LAN party thanks to the active cooling.

Switch 12 i5 should be able too but because it's passively cooled it might run quite hot with extended gaming loads.

This post has been edited by Eiraku: Feb 11 2017, 05:05 PM
TSiSean
post Mar 6 2017, 08:29 PM

iz old liao.
4,498 posts

Anybody getting disappoint battery life lately?

hmm.gif

Mine dropped from 4 hours to roughly less than 3 hours. rclxub.gif

Consider Changing the Laptop and will be sent to warranty...
TSiSean
post Apr 9 2017, 02:06 AM

iz old liao.
4,498 posts

Bumps: Anyone have issues with their units?
My left speaker broke after about 6 months of use.
effectz
post Apr 9 2017, 08:07 AM

1,112 posts

How to right click without mouse?
TSiSean
post Apr 9 2017, 12:33 PM

iz old liao.
4,498 posts

QUOTE(effectz @ Apr 9 2017, 08:07 AM)
Right click on bottom right region of the trackpad?
If not long press on tablet screen (works for desktops mostly)

I think you might have a defective unit here.
effectz
post Apr 9 2017, 09:59 PM

1,112 posts

QUOTE(iSean @ Apr 9 2017, 12:33 PM)
Right click on bottom right region of the trackpad?
If not long press on tablet screen (works for desktops mostly)

I think you might have a defective unit here.
On pad, tap or press?
TSiSean
post Apr 9 2017, 10:10 PM

iz old liao.
4,498 posts

QUOTE(effectz @ Apr 9 2017, 09:59 PM)
On pad, tap or press?
Bottom right, click once will response. If tak, reconnect the keyboard. Still can't send to Highpoint for replacement unit.
Zul_XT
post Apr 11 2017, 01:02 PM

53 posts

QUOTE(effectz @ Apr 9 2017, 08:07 AM)
You should be able to tap the touch pad or screen with 2 fingers or long press with single finger.

Dont forget to enable the function first in the Setting - Devices - Mouse and TouhPad

This post has been edited by Zul_XT: Apr 11 2017, 01:06 PM
TSiSean
post Apr 20 2017, 12:07 AM

iz old liao.
4,498 posts

Anyone just realized this from the update? Or I just kena adware that cause this? hmm.gif
rafistrght
post Apr 25 2017, 11:41 PM

22 posts

Hi all Sifus,

Bought my i5 in last November.

So far I'm okay but Recently I have experience the followings issues:-

1. Screen doesn't respond to touch/swipe sometimes when I'm in tablet mode. Occasionally I need to use my stylus to touch on the screen again before it can detect my touch. Otherwise, whether I was swiping left, right, up or down also it all don't seem to work.

2. Whenever I am searching for something via google search, the keyboard will just disappear after typing in the first alphabet. I need to manually touch the 'keyboard' icon at the lower right section of my screen to bring it out again, it is very annoying tho.

Anyone experience the same thing? Can help? confused.gif
TSiSean
post Apr 25 2017, 11:55 PM

iz old liao.
4,498 posts

QUOTE(rafistrght @ Apr 25 2017, 11:41 PM)
Hi all Sifus,

Bought my i5 in last November.

So far I'm okay but Recently I have experience the followings issues:-

1. Screen doesn't respond to touch/swipe sometimes when I'm in tablet mode. Occasionally I need to use my stylus to touch on the screen again before it can detect my touch. Otherwise, whether I was swiping left, right, up or down also it all don't seem to work.

2. Whenever I am searching for something via google search, the keyboard will just disappear after typing in the first alphabet. I need to manually touch the 'keyboard' icon at the lower right section of my screen to bring it out again, it is very annoying tho.

Anyone experience the same thing? Can help?  confused.gif
I think it is better you try "drawing" one screen if there's any glitch zone. Because my first unit has a broken digitizer.

Anyhow my second unit, the left speaker died on me, waiting for 3rd replacement unit at Highpoint.
I'm surprised your stylus haven't died on yet, I replaced 6 batteries, because I'm a frequent user as a student...

You used the on screen keyboard often? I find it to be very glitchy as it doesn't register keys into the search box at times.
Windows problem most likely.
rafistrght
post Apr 27 2017, 12:20 AM

22 posts

QUOTE(iSean @ Apr 25 2017, 11:55 PM)
I think it is better you try "drawing" one screen if there's any glitch zone. Because my first unit has a broken digitizer.

Anyhow my second unit, the left speaker died on me, waiting for 3rd replacement unit at Highpoint.
I'm surprised your stylus haven't died on yet, I replaced 6 batteries, because I'm a frequent user as a student...

You used the on screen keyboard often? I find it to be very glitchy as it doesn't register keys into the search box at times.
Windows problem most likely.
Thanks for the reply!

Anyway pardon me but what do you mean by 'drawing' the screen? And for the 'glitch zone', are you referring to the unresponsive touch screen? Just to give you a clearer picture, everything is okay when I'm using the laptop mode (with the keyboard attached and a bluetooth mouse connected). But the screen starts to be unresponsive whenever I switched to Tablet mode (keyboard detached with no mouse). As I swipe on the screen, I can see there's a line following the swiping gesture/ direction, but it is just not following or responding to my swipe and touch. Based on that, is it still considered a 'glitch zone'?

So far my speaker is doing good. My stylus and on-screen keyboard are fine as well because I'm always on Laptop mode. Only once in a blue moon I'll work on Tablet mode and when I do, I'll experience all the above.

TSiSean
post Apr 27 2017, 12:51 AM

iz old liao.
4,498 posts

QUOTE(rafistrght @ Apr 27 2017, 12:20 AM)
Thanks for the reply!

Anyway pardon me but what do you mean by 'drawing' the screen? And for the 'glitch zone', are you referring to the unresponsive touch screen? Just to give you a clearer picture, everything is okay when I'm using the laptop mode (with the keyboard attached and a bluetooth mouse connected). But the screen starts to be unresponsive whenever I switched to Tablet mode (keyboard detached with no mouse). As I swipe on the screen, I can see there's a line following the swiping gesture/ direction, but it is just not following or responding to my swipe and touch. Based on that, is it still considered a 'glitch zone'?

So far my speaker is doing good. My stylus and on-screen keyboard are fine as well because I'm always on Laptop mode. Only once in a blue moon I'll work on Tablet mode and when I do, I'll experience all the above.
Define "tablet mode", where you only detach your keyboard, where the automatic "Windows settings" will switch to "Tablet Mode", (there's a setting at the charm/notification's setting menu.

Or you already disabled the "Tablet Mode" setting in the charms/notification menu, and when you disable the keyboard you are still using "Desktop Mode"?

Because I always find that "Tablet Mode" offered by Windows was quite annoying because I have tons of .exe application running. And running that I lost all my icon in the Start Bar.

Off Topic, just sent in my tablet into RMA today.
They don't want to replace my whole unit doh.gif
chaosneo
post Apr 28 2017, 10:19 AM

5,694 posts

New product joining Acer Switch Lineup, Acer Switch 3 and Acer Switch 5.

https://www.lowyat.net/2017/130383/acer-int...chable-laptops/

so far, what we know...

- no price yet.
- available June 2017
- kickstand is now auto-retractable when the device is lifted up.
- integrated fingerprint sensor on the power button.

Acer Switch 3
- no liquid cooling
- either Intel Pentium or Celeron processors.
- 1920 x 1200 display
- no backlit keyboard

Acer Switch 5
- liquid cooling.
- Intel Core i5 or i7 possible.
- 12-inch 2160 x 1440 display.
- backlit keyboard.
TSiSean
post Apr 28 2017, 10:50 AM

iz old liao.
4,498 posts

QUOTE(chaosneo @ Apr 28 2017, 10:19 AM)

so far, what we know...

- no price yet.
- available June 2017
Acer Switch 3
- no liquid cooling
- 1920 x 1200 display
- no backlit keyboard
Acer Switch 5
- liquid cooling.
- backlit keyboard.
Don't keep your hopes up for "Backlit Keyboard"
Our Malaysian model doesn't even have it.
Their Stylus Quality was disappointing enough...

This post has been edited by iSean: Apr 28 2017, 10:55 AM
rafistrght
post Apr 28 2017, 12:23 PM

22 posts

QUOTE(iSean @ Apr 27 2017, 12:51 AM)
Define "tablet mode", where you only detach your keyboard, where the automatic "Windows settings" will switch to "Tablet Mode", (there's a setting at the charm/notification's setting menu.

Or you already disabled the "Tablet Mode" setting in the charms/notification menu, and when you disable the keyboard you are still using "Desktop Mode"?

Because I always find that "Tablet Mode" offered by Windows was quite annoying because I have tons of .exe application running. And running that I lost all my icon in the Start Bar.

Off Topic, just sent in my tablet into RMA today.
They don't want to replace my whole unit doh.gif
Basically whenever I detach my laptop from the keyboard, I assume it will automatically switch to "Tablet Mode" most of the time right? I didn't click on anything to disable the "Desktop ;ode" nor the "Tablet Mode".

I think I need to send back to the shop and see what they have to say.

Sorry to hear that Bro, but unless its like a total damage or something, normally they won't replace you with a new unit right?
hanissyazwan
post Apr 30 2017, 06:33 AM

DARK ULTIMATE
1,180 posts

Guys. Where to buy silicone case or good case for switch alpha?? Anyone can point a website?? I am thinking want to buy with local seller. More easy and faster...

Im a new user. Bought a second hand unit. Starting date sticker mention under the stand hinge jan 2017.
Feel lucky coz first owner just use for 3month only.
And sell to me rm1900.
Its 256ssd 8gb ram.

This post has been edited by hanissyazwan: Apr 30 2017, 06:36 AM
TSiSean
post Apr 30 2017, 11:21 AM

iz old liao.
4,498 posts

QUOTE(hanissyazwan @ Apr 30 2017, 06:33 AM)
Guys. Where to buy silicone case or good case for switch alpha?? Anyone can point a website?? I am thinking want to buy with local seller. More easy and faster...

Im a new user. Bought a second hand unit. Starting date sticker mention under the stand hinge  jan 2017.
Feel lucky coz first owner just use for 3month only.
And sell to me rm1900.
Its 256ssd 8gb ram.
untung kao kao. There's no Silicon case.
Do check with the battery life, because this thing can't last more than 4 hours on Max brightness.
Silicon case I don't think it exists, the corners will suffer a lot of scratches to be honest with you. sweat.gif
And belakang will easily dent...

This post has been edited by iSean: Apr 30 2017, 11:28 AM
hanissyazwan
post Apr 30 2017, 11:58 AM

DARK ULTIMATE
1,180 posts

QUOTE(iSean @ Apr 30 2017, 11:21 AM)
untung kao kao. There's no Silicon case.
Do check with the battery life, because this thing can't last more than 4 hours on Max brightness.
Silicon case I don't think it exists, the corners will suffer a lot of scratches to be honest with you.  sweat.gif
And belakang will easily dent...
Ok latter i screen shot battery history to u.
I saw u guys talking about casing at few page before. Where to buy or can u share with me local supplier contact ?
Im now at giant plentong johor. Searching for casing. Seems like nobody know casing existed 😳.
Or anybody selling at garage sale?

This post has been edited by hanissyazwan: Apr 30 2017, 03:13 PM
hanissyazwan
post Apr 30 2017, 12:15 PM

DARK ULTIMATE
1,180 posts

I want to buy this.
https://www.gumdropcases.com/products/acer-...ant=32243623620 where can i find it?
Any local supplier website you guys know?

TSiSean
post Apr 30 2017, 02:12 PM

iz old liao.
4,498 posts

QUOTE(hanissyazwan @ Apr 30 2017, 12:15 PM)
I want to buy this.
https://www.gumdropcases.com/products/acer-...ant=32243623620 where can i find it?
should be around rm 300-400 if buy from amazon.
black_orphen
post Apr 30 2017, 07:07 PM

QUOTE(chaosneo @ Apr 28 2017, 10:19 AM)

so far, what we know...

- no price yet.
- available June 2017
Acer Switch 3
- no liquid cooling
- 1920 x 1200 display
- no backlit keyboard
Acer Switch 5
- liquid cooling.
- backlit keyboard.
Now I understand why the current name is Switch Alpha 12.

@iSean
Do you plan to buy one of these? tongue.gif

TSiSean
post May 1 2017, 08:49 AM

iz old liao.
4,498 posts

QUOTE(black_orphen @ Apr 30 2017, 07:07 PM)
Now I understand why the current name is Switch Alpha 12.

@iSean
Do you plan to buy one of these? tongue.gif
Nope, unless I extend my warranty and my device keep failing until the 3rd year and they have to replace me a new one
I have little confidence in Acer that they will change with their build quality.

Because I have to send my Switch Alpha 12 to repair for 4-6 times, the battery life only 4 hours max instead of 8 hours claim, stylus also kind of lousy for writing, on Max screen brightness also outdoor can't see shakehead.gif

I think I rather save up wait for next Gen touch screen Macbook, if not iPad Pro + Apple Pencil liao.

This post has been edited by iSean: May 1 2017, 08:51 AM
TSiSean
post May 1 2017, 09:12 AM

iz old liao.
4,498 posts

QUOTE(hanissyazwan @ Apr 30 2017, 12:15 PM)
I want to buy this.
11street have import but kind of overly expensive...
http://www.11street.my/productdetail/gumdr...switch-36468796

But I found this tho. http://www.11street.my/productdetail/kurok...016021&promo-id

This post has been edited by iSean: May 1 2017, 09:13 AM
black_orphen
post May 1 2017, 04:48 PM

QUOTE(iSean @ May 1 2017, 08:49 AM)
Nope, unless I extend my warranty and my device keep failing until the 3rd year and they have to replace me a new one
I have little confidence in Acer that they will change with their build quality.

Because I have to send my Switch Alpha 12 to repair for 4-6 times, the battery life only 4 hours max instead of 8 hours claim, stylus also kind of lousy for writing, on Max screen brightness also outdoor can't see  shakehead.gif

I think I rather save up wait for next Gen touch screen Macbook, if not iPad Pro + Apple Pencil liao.
How about the Asus Transformer 3 Pro? Is it better than this Acer Switch Alpha 12? Do you have any info about that?
chaosneo
post May 1 2017, 07:33 PM

5,694 posts

QUOTE(black_orphen @ May 1 2017, 04:48 PM)
How about the Asus Transformer 3 Pro? Is it better than this Acer Switch Alpha 12? Do you have any info about that?
it is better in most case except a few points which is the hinge, noise, and price.

TSiSean
post May 1 2017, 09:15 PM

iz old liao.
4,498 posts

QUOTE(black_orphen @ May 1 2017, 04:48 PM)
That one goodie but Macbook Pro Price.
But no stock in Malaysia.

Btw, I went to Low Yat Plaza today to claim back my unit, they fixed the speaker, but Acer HD Audio Manager, no more Acer TrueHarmony Software, then checked again they bricked my "Rotation Lock" and "Auto Rotate" vmad.gif mad.gif

Bapak betuk doh.gif

Saw Lenovo Miix 510 not bad.
Stylus is Wacom, not some random third party ELAN stylus atleast...

I will surely buy extension warranty liao zzz

This post has been edited by iSean: May 1 2017, 09:16 PM
black_orphen
post May 1 2017, 10:19 PM

QUOTE(chaosneo @ May 1 2017, 07:33 PM)
it is better in most case except a few points which is the hinge, noise, and price.
Problematic hinge? Any specific bad issue about the hinge? Any info? Is it not durable enough?

QUOTE(iSean @ May 1 2017, 09:15 PM)
That one goodie but Macbook Pro Price.
But no stock in Malaysia.

Btw, I went to Low Yat Plaza today to claim back my unit, they fixed the speaker, but Acer HD Audio Manager, no more Acer TrueHarmony Software, then checked again they bricked my "Rotation Lock" and "Auto Rotate"  vmad.gif  mad.gif

Bapak betuk doh.gif

Saw Lenovo Miix 510 not bad.
Stylus is Wacom, not some random third party ELAN stylus atleast...

I will surely buy extension warranty liao zzz
For the i5 8GB 256GB, the transformer 3 pro price is RM ~4700. I think still cheaper than macbook pro...

About lenovo miix 510, i have tried it. The pen is very nice an precise. But bit felt uncomfortable with the type cover.

Btw, in term of battery life...which one better? Lenovo miix or this alpha switch?

This post has been edited by black_orphen: May 1 2017, 10:21 PM
TSiSean
post May 2 2017, 12:10 AM

iz old liao.
4,498 posts

QUOTE(black_orphen @ May 1 2017, 10:19 PM)
Problematic hinge? Any specific bad issue about the hinge? Any info? Is it not durable enough?
For the i5 8GB 256GB, the transformer 3 pro price is RM ~4700. I think still cheaper than macbook pro...

About lenovo miix 510, i have tried it. The pen is very nice an precise. But bit felt uncomfortable with the type cover.

Btw, in term of battery life...which one better? Lenovo miix or this alpha switch?
Dunno my Switch Alpha 12 battery lasted me 3-4 hours instead of proclaimed 8 hours, and I just surf the internet only and use Office Suite only.
If student I will highly recommend Mix if stylus use.

Hinge not durable enough is common, because it is Surface style one without the "Wristband hinge" sadly.
you can push it down with ease if you writing like tablet.
Common issue with these type of hybrid.

This post has been edited by iSean: May 2 2017, 12:12 AM
Shynn
post May 18 2017, 08:32 PM

52 posts

QUOTE(iSean @ Apr 28 2017, 10:50 AM)
Don't keep your hopes up for "Backlit Keyboard"
Our Malaysian model doesn't even have it.
Their Stylus Quality was disappointing enough...
i am currently oversea and asked my fren to buy switch alpha i5 8gb 256gb while he is in KL lowyat. at 1st, i tot the keyboard isnt backlit, bcos i saw a youtube unboxing of this unit mentioning tat the keyboard isnt backlit bangwall.gif and i am kinda disappointed. but then when i got my unit (few days ago) (i know switch 5 is coming soon), i am surprised tat the keyboard is actually backlit rclxms.gif not disappointed at all now flex.gif Malaysian unit

This post has been edited by Shynn: May 18 2017, 08:35 PM
TSiSean
post May 18 2017, 11:29 PM

iz old liao.
4,498 posts

QUOTE(Shynn @ May 18 2017, 08:32 PM)
i am currently oversea and asked my fren to buy switch alpha i5 8gb 256gb while he is in KL lowyat. at 1st, i tot the keyboard isnt backlit, bcos i saw a youtube unboxing of this unit mentioning tat the keyboard isnt backlit  bangwall.gif and i am kinda disappointed. but then when i got my unit (few days ago) (i know switch 5 is coming soon), i am surprised tat the keyboard is actually backlit  rclxms.gif not disappointed at all now  flex.gif Malaysian unit
wut. Now got backlit variant in Malaysia liao? hmm.gif
Congrats tho.

Abit kesian because Switch 5 is technically better la

dilbert
post Jun 11 2017, 08:23 AM

30 posts

QUOTE(iSean @ May 2 2017, 12:10 AM)
Dunno my Switch Alpha 12 battery lasted me 3-4 hours instead of proclaimed 8 hours, and I just surf the internet only and use Office Suite only.
If student I will highly recommend Mix if stylus use.

Hinge not durable enough is common, because it is Surface style one without the "Wristband hinge" sadly.
you can push it down with ease if you writing like tablet.
Common issue with these type of hybrid.
This post has been edited by dilbert: Jun 11 2017, 08:24 AM
dilbert
post Jun 11 2017, 08:27 AM

30 posts

QUOTE(Shynn @ May 18 2017, 08:32 PM)
i am currently oversea and asked my fren to buy switch alpha i5 8gb 256gb while he is in KL lowyat. at 1st, i tot the keyboard isnt backlit, bcos i saw a youtube unboxing of this unit mentioning tat the keyboard isnt backlit  bangwall.gif and i am kinda disappointed. but then when i got my unit (few days ago) (i know switch 5 is coming soon), i am surprised tat the keyboard is actually backlit  rclxms.gif not disappointed at all now  flex.gif Malaysian unit
I'm selling mine core i7, 8gb ram, 256gb ssd, interested? Item 1 year old hardly use. Using company laptop instead.
SUSkopiko82
post Jun 20 2017, 01:03 PM

just waiting for the official launch of the best 2-in-1 that can beat surface pro
Eve V rclxm9.gif flex.gif
kayclum
post Jul 14 2017, 11:15 AM

465 posts

hi, anyone know where to get a new keyboard dock for alpha switch 12
TSiSean
post Jul 15 2017, 11:39 AM

iz old liao.
4,498 posts

QUOTE(kayclum @ Jul 14 2017, 11:15 AM)
hi, anyone know where to get a new keyboard dock for alpha switch 12
go call up Acer Malaysia or Highpoint.
TSiSean
post Aug 23 2017, 02:45 PM

iz old liao.
4,498 posts

Sad news to break, my Switch Alpha 12 officially died on me. sad.gif
Warranty expired 2 weeks back. Haish.
thirumaran
post Aug 23 2017, 04:57 PM

615 posts

QUOTE(iSean @ Aug 23 2017, 02:45 PM)
I bought together with 3 yrs warranty
effectz
post Aug 23 2017, 10:22 PM

1,112 posts

QUOTE(iSean @ Aug 23 2017, 02:45 PM)
how come?
TSiSean
post Aug 23 2017, 10:25 PM

iz old liao.
4,498 posts

QUOTE(effectz @ Aug 23 2017, 10:22 PM)
how come?
I also wondering why. I packed it up by closing the keyboard cover then bring to campus to use.reach campus the thing can't turn on....
Should have pay for the extended warranty....
tzh2001
post Sep 11 2017, 03:37 PM

Heart warming
385 posts

just brought i5 version for my sis for her study in UK
hopefully no any issue during this 1 year sweat.gif
as per salesman, only i5 & i7 unit come with backlit keyboard sweat.gif
TSiSean
post Sep 11 2017, 07:11 PM

iz old liao.
4,498 posts

QUOTE(tzh2001 @ Sep 11 2017, 03:37 PM)
as per salesman, only i5 & i7 unit come with backlit keyboard  sweat.gif
Well it should be an "OK" device la.
Hopefully it isn't a lemon unit like mine. doh.gif
tzh2001
post Sep 12 2017, 08:05 AM

Heart warming
385 posts

QUOTE(iSean @ Sep 11 2017, 07:11 PM)
Well it should be an "OK" device la.
Hopefully it isn't a lemon unit like mine.  doh.gif
after i tried for 1 week, the only complain was the power button sweat.gif
why have to press so many second to back from sleep confused.gif
thirumaran
post Sep 14 2017, 10:23 PM

615 posts

if im not mistaken, someone in this thread mentioned that for the new batches,
even the i3 models come with backlit keyboard
thirumaran
post Sep 14 2017, 10:24 PM

615 posts

QUOTE(tzh2001 @ Sep 12 2017, 08:05 AM)
after i tried for 1 week, the only complain was the power button sweat.gif
why have to press so many second to back from sleep  confused.gif
from sleep, just need to press once.

from shutdown (off), need to press 5 seconds
tzh2001
post Sep 15 2017, 11:34 AM

Heart warming
385 posts

QUOTE(thirumaran @ Sep 14 2017, 10:24 PM)
from sleep, just need to press once.

from shutdown (off), need to press 5 seconds
weird hmm.gif
i tried many times, but still have to press 5 seconds

QUOTE(thirumaran @ Sep 14 2017, 10:23 PM)
then maybe the reseller still having old stock hmm.gif
1zR4eL
post Oct 2 2017, 10:49 PM

1,852 posts

where do you get the unit?
tzh2001
post Oct 10 2017, 11:28 AM

Heart warming
385 posts

QUOTE(1zR4eL @ Oct 2 2017, 10:49 PM)
where do you get the unit?
danga city mall johor bahru, but i didnt remember shop name
Zul_XT
post Oct 24 2017, 04:46 PM

53 posts

QUOTE(thirumaran @ Sep 14 2017, 10:23 PM)
I believed the first batch don't have a Backlit Keyboard. I bought the Switch Alpha i7 version last June 2016 because of the backlit keyboard, but after unbox, not! Call Acer, the tech said Malaysian version does not. The Catalogue does not state anything about the Backlit Keyboard is only on certain region. Feels cheated, but so far after 1 n half year no issue.

I did replace the LCD screen though due to I accidentally dropped the Switch while it still in the bag, bang the corners, got crack from the side towards the Camera lens. Cost of replacement RM800 at Highpoint USJ.
huhu

TSiSean
post Oct 24 2017, 06:35 PM

iz old liao.
4,498 posts

QUOTE(Zul_XT @ Oct 24 2017, 04:46 PM)
I believed the first batch don't have a Backlit Keyboard. I bought the Switch Alpha i7 version last June 2016 because of the backlit keyboard, but after unbox, not! Call Acer, the tech said Malaysian version does not. The Catalogue does not state anything about the Backlit Keyboard is only on certain region. Feels cheated, but so far after 1 n half year no issue.

I did replace the LCD screen though due to I accidentally dropped the Switch while it still in the bag, bang the corners, got crack from the side towards the Camera lens. Cost of replacement RM800 at Highpoint USJ.
huhu
shakehead.gif I should be grateful because my bag always dropped off from the chair. :S
No damaged but dent lah, I did used a padded pouch.

But then my charger is now fucked up sweat.gif
Then I need to twist it at certain angles to make it work.
So I've order an Acer original charger off Taobao for RM 28+ RM 4.50 international shipping.
Coming soon around these few days, hopefully it works, and doesn't kill my Switch Alpha 12, after some time :S

It has the Acer Logo on the charger, I suppose for their older series laptops and not manufactured by the Company 群光電能科技股份有限公司 for the original model [A13-045N2A]。
https://item.taobao.com/item.htm?id=5506290...ucket=14#detail

This post has been edited by iSean: Oct 24 2017, 06:43 PM
SUSLumiaaa
post Oct 25 2017, 02:40 PM

172 posts

good for photo editing ke?

i5-7200U
http://www.11street.my/productdetail/acer-...-7200u-47567528

This post has been edited by Lumiaaa: Oct 25 2017, 02:42 PM
TSiSean
post Oct 25 2017, 06:26 PM

iz old liao.
4,498 posts

QUOTE(Lumiaaa @ Oct 25 2017, 02:40 PM)
Personally I have issues with Adobe Photoshop, if you want to draw, I guess you go get the Lenovo Miix 5XX/7XX series.
Because for some unknown reasons my units are a lot of GUI delays. [Using Adobe Photoshop CC on Trial Reset].

Also the stylus isn't really accurate.
SUSLumiaaa
post Oct 25 2017, 07:29 PM

172 posts

Im looking for something to edit the RAW images from my camera when traveling
TSiSean
post Oct 25 2017, 08:20 PM

iz old liao.
4,498 posts

QUOTE(Lumiaaa @ Oct 25 2017, 07:29 PM)
Im looking for something to edit the RAW images from my camera when traveling
Not the suitable device.
mr_zobody
post Oct 26 2017, 10:04 AM

21 posts

QUOTE(iSean @ Oct 25 2017, 06:26 PM)
Personally I have issues with Adobe Photoshop, if you want to draw, I guess you go get the Lenovo Miix 5XX/7XX series.
Because for some unknown reasons my units are a lot of GUI delays. [Using Adobe Photoshop CC on Trial Reset].

Also the stylus isn't really accurate.
I work in an creative agency and among the many Macs here, I have a Surface while others have the Acer Switch, Lenovo Mixx and Dell Venue, etc.
I think for the price, the Switch isnt too bad. The best is still the Surface, of course. Microsoft has really perfected the pen + screen combo, imo.

PS: Using Adobe CC 2015

This post has been edited by mr_zobody: Oct 26 2017, 10:05 AM
TSiSean
post Oct 26 2017, 12:40 PM

iz old liao.
4,498 posts

?
QUOTE(mr_zobody @ Oct 26 2017, 10:04 AM)
I work in an creative agency and among the many Macs here, I have a Surface while others have the Acer Switch, Lenovo Mixx and Dell Venue, etc.
I think for the price, the Switch isnt too bad. The best is still the Surface, of course. Microsoft has really perfected the pen + screen combo, imo.

PS: Using Adobe CC 2015
Do you encounter GUI and Graphics delays when panning in and out ?
mr_zobody
post Oct 26 2017, 01:41 PM

21 posts

QUOTE(iSean @ Oct 26 2017, 12:40 PM)
?
Do you encounter GUI and Graphics delays when panning in and out ?
Yup, slightly for my Surface, but not super irritating. I think its due to the integrated graphics. All the others i mentioned (Acer and Lenovo) also get the same with the worst being from the Venue Pro.

Considering the price for a Wacom tablet + PC with GPU combo, this is a small tradeoff, tbh
TSiSean
post Nov 1 2017, 05:56 PM

iz old liao.
4,498 posts

If anyone intend to replace your broken Acer Switch Alpha 12 charger, can try purchasing Lite-On Technology's Model PA-1450-26.
< 500g

I've replaced mine for <RM 40 smile.gif
I was quoted RM 100 by the people over at Acer AMA tho :/

This post has been edited by iSean: Nov 1 2017, 05:57 PM
thirumaran
post Nov 2 2017, 04:53 PM

615 posts

QUOTE(iSean @ Nov 1 2017, 05:56 PM)

If anyone intend to replace your broken Acer Switch Alpha 12 charger, can try purchasing Lite-On Technology's Model PA-1450-26.
< 500g

I've replaced mine for <RM 40 smile.gif
I was quoted RM 100 by the people over at Acer AMA tho :/
You can also get a compatible USB-C charger (more convenient I think)
TSiSean
post Nov 2 2017, 05:02 PM

iz old liao.
4,498 posts

QUOTE(thirumaran @ Nov 2 2017, 04:53 PM)
Given one USB Type-C and one USB 3.0 are the provided ports by the Switch Alpha 12, rather use their provided charger than brick a Type C port.
Zul_XT
post Nov 23 2017, 05:11 PM

53 posts

QUOTE(thirumaran @ Nov 2 2017, 04:53 PM)
my self have been using an USB C Charger bought from ebay. It replaced the big power brick with the power cable.
Have been using this charger for almost 6 months..

Helper USB Type C Wall Charger Fast Charging Power Adapter for MacBook MateBook

so far no issue...

This post has been edited by Zul_XT: Nov 23 2017, 05:12 PM
TSiSean
post Nov 23 2017, 05:24 PM

iz old liao.
4,498 posts

QUOTE(Zul_XT @ Nov 23 2017, 05:11 PM)
my self have been using an USB C Charger bought from ebay. It replaced the big power brick with the power cable.
Have been using this charger for almost 6 months..

Helper USB Type C Wall Charger Fast Charging Power Adapter for MacBook MateBook

so far no issue...
Good Officially not using this device.
Warranty expired.
Power Surge on USB port killed everything even the keyboard cover doh.gif

Motherboard i5/8GB - RM 600
Keyboard - RM 80
Labour Fee - RM 100
GST 6%

So please buy and extend the damn warranty if haven't expired doh.gif
effectz
post Dec 12 2017, 08:25 PM

1,112 posts

I can't turn on now aiyaa
Advice?
TSiSean
post Dec 12 2017, 08:29 PM

iz old liao.
4,498 posts

QUOTE(effectz @ Dec 12 2017, 08:25 PM)
I can't turn on now aiyaa
Advice?
power button LED got light up?
If got just unscrew the two screws and unplug batteries and plug back.
effectz
post Dec 12 2017, 08:32 PM

1,112 posts

QUOTE(iSean @ Dec 12 2017, 08:29 PM)
power button LED got light up?
If got just unscrew the two screws and unplug batteries and plug back.
No. then how?
effectz
post Dec 12 2017, 08:50 PM

1,112 posts

If charge, the led turns orange right?
Now nothing omg
TSiSean
post Dec 12 2017, 10:45 PM

iz old liao.
4,498 posts

QUOTE(effectz @ Dec 12 2017, 08:50 PM)
If charge, the led turns orange right?
Now nothing omg
Hmm if you ada cash/warranty go Highpoint repair. Else 3rd party repair.
effectz
post Dec 12 2017, 11:16 PM

1,112 posts

QUOTE(iSean @ Dec 12 2017, 10:45 PM)
Hmm if you ada cash/warranty go Highpoint repair. Else 3rd party repair.
How about your problem earlier? How can that happened?
Warranty ended Jun this year doh.gif
TSiSean
post Dec 12 2017, 11:51 PM

iz old liao.
4,498 posts

QUOTE(effectz @ Dec 12 2017, 11:16 PM)
How about your problem earlier? How can that happened?
Warranty ended Jun this year  doh.gif
USB power surge aka short circuit need to replace whole logic board doh.gif
All USB ports fried.

effectz
post Dec 13 2017, 06:31 AM

1,112 posts

QUOTE(iSean @ Dec 12 2017, 11:51 PM)
USB power surge aka short circuit need to replace whole logic board  doh.gif
All USB ports fried.
You input power into usb?
TSiSean
post Dec 13 2017, 01:19 PM

iz old liao.
4,498 posts

QUOTE(effectz @ Dec 13 2017, 06:31 AM)
You input power into usb?
Nope plug in 3rd party hard drive enclosure. Then Windows USB Power Surge warning, then fried. rclxub.gif
effectz
post Dec 13 2017, 02:40 PM

1,112 posts

QUOTE(iSean @ Dec 13 2017, 01:19 PM)
Nope plug in 3rd party hard drive enclosure. Then Windows USB Power Surge warning, then fried.  rclxub.gif
Enclosure?
effectz
post Dec 20 2017, 06:38 PM

1,112 posts

Any recommended 3rd party repairer? Where did they order spare part from?
RhythmYun
post Jan 24 2018, 02:04 AM

63 posts

Bought a LG 29UM59A, but after plugging in the USB-C, cannot detech the monitor.

In device manager, it's detected as 'Billboard display' ...

Any idea what may go wrong? INcompatible USB-C cable? Driver?
TSiSean
post Jan 24 2018, 07:30 PM

iz old liao.
4,498 posts

QUOTE(RhythmYun @ Jan 24 2018, 02:04 AM)
Bought a LG 29UM59A, but after plugging in the USB-C, cannot detech the monitor.

In device manager, it's detected as 'Billboard display' ...

Any idea what may go wrong? INcompatible USB-C cable? Driver?
hmm.gif wut Never tried tho sweat.gif Type C is a reversible connection impossible like that one Unless you gotten some faulty cable la
takiyasamsama
post Apr 21 2018, 03:50 PM

Does it have palm rejection features? I need this features for note taking and sketching.
TSiSean
post Apr 21 2018, 08:43 PM

iz old liao.
4,498 posts

QUOTE(takiyasamsama @ Apr 21 2018, 03:50 PM)
Does it have palm rejection features? I need this features for note taking and sketching.
Stylus is bad, I gave up the pen.
Will get new iPad as a better replacement.

Switch 5/7 maybe better
takiyasamsama
post Apr 22 2018, 02:42 AM

QUOTE(iSean @ Apr 21 2018, 08:43 PM)
Stylus is bad, I gave up the pen.
Will get new iPad as a better replacement.

Switch 5/7 maybe better
Really? How bad are we talking about here? Like, when using Autodesk Sketchbook and you turned on the pen mode and the stylus won't work?; or it work its just not that great?

If the stylus is an issue I could use Adonit Ink or Wacom Ink
TSiSean
post Apr 22 2018, 06:01 AM

iz old liao.
4,498 posts

QUOTE(takiyasamsama @ Apr 22 2018, 02:42 AM)
Really? How bad are we talking about here? Like, when using Autodesk Sketchbook and you turned on the pen mode and the stylus won't work?; or it work its just not that great?

If the stylus is an issue I could use Adonit Ink or Wacom Ink
As I'm an Engineering Student, would recommend you to get a better powered chip.
This thing lags with photoshop autocad.

Won't recommend you get.

The new low end iPad now support Apple Pencil, I will switch to that.
Heard good reviews on the Pro Model, not sure about this new one.

Pen is bad
takiyasamsama
post Apr 22 2018, 09:18 AM

QUOTE(iSean @ Apr 22 2018, 06:01 AM)
As I'm an Engineering Student, would recommend you to get a better powered chip.
This thing lags with photoshop autocad.

Won't recommend you get.

The new low end iPad now support Apple Pencil, I will switch to that.
Heard good reviews on the Pro Model, not sure about this new one.

Pen is bad
Haha bro same field! Probably I wont be installting autocad on it perhaps just for presentation to clients and sketching sometimes (light sketching).

Also I want to eliminate missing notes and messy desk in the office so probably all my notes after this just in the tablet.

I was planning to get Samsung Tab S3 but then I cannot installed my windows based heat exchanger sizing tool, planning on getting iPad too but...Apple was never an option. In the end it's either Surface Pro or Acer but then again, I already have USB-C peripheral so that's why I'm thinking of getting Acer Switch Alpha 12.
TSiSean
post Apr 22 2018, 09:23 PM

iz old liao.
4,498 posts

QUOTE(takiyasamsama @ Apr 22 2018, 09:18 AM)
Haha bro same field! Probably I wont be installting autocad on it perhaps just for presentation to clients and sketching sometimes (light sketching).

Also I want to eliminate missing notes and messy desk in the office so probably all my notes after this just in the tablet.

I was planning to get Samsung Tab S3 but then I cannot installed my windows based heat exchanger sizing tool, planning on getting iPad too but...Apple was never an option. In the end it's either Surface Pro or Acer but then again, I already have USB-C peripheral so that's why I'm thinking of getting Acer Switch Alpha 12.
Avoid at all cost, rather get a decent Gaming Laptop or one that supports Thunderbolt 3.
TSiSean
post May 14 2018, 02:33 PM

iz old liao.
4,498 posts

Anyone from Singapore can confirm pricing for replacement keyboard dock?
Because retarded Highpoint jacked up the keyboard price.

TS wants to be working second hand / first hand Switch Alpha 12 / Switch 3/5/7 backlit/non-backlit keyboard.

This post has been edited by iSean: May 14 2018, 02:33 PM
TSiSean
post Jun 25 2018, 10:55 AM

iz old liao.
4,498 posts

QUOTE(Zul_XT @ Oct 24 2017, 04:46 PM)

huhu
Now is my turn to crack the screen doh.gif
Time to get a new laptop lah doh.gif
effectz
post Jun 25 2018, 12:32 PM

1,112 posts

QUOTE(iSean @ Jun 25 2018, 10:55 AM)
Now is my turn to crack the screen  doh.gif
Time to get a new laptop lah  doh.gif
How? Lol. Looking for normal or 2 in 1 still?
TSiSean
post Jun 25 2018, 07:01 PM

iz old liao.
4,498 posts

QUOTE(effectz @ Jun 25 2018, 12:32 PM)
How? Lol. Looking for normal or 2 in 1 still?
Most likely get an proper clamshell and an iPad with Apple Pencil
Too disappointing Liao this switch Alpha 12

This post has been edited by iSean: Jun 25 2018, 07:02 PM
thirumaran
post Aug 4 2018, 06:53 PM

615 posts

Any idea if screen burn is covered by Acer Warranty? I bought mine with 3 years Acer Extended Warranty
TSiSean
post Aug 4 2018, 07:45 PM

iz old liao.
4,498 posts

QUOTE(thirumaran @ Aug 4 2018, 06:53 PM)
Any idea if screen burn is covered by Acer Warranty?  I bought mine with 3 years Acer Extended Warranty
Just bring to highpoint and ask and order the replacement part if they allow.

Screen burn in as in white spots on the screen? In full R/G/B Background .
Mine had a similar case. But didn't RMA.

Gotten 2 units. All screen burn in after a few weeks of use.

It is very noticeable in all recent display panels. Seems like bad lamination.

Also screen is mounted with motherboard. Hopefully your technician is skillful to do the repair.

Complaint for replacement battery as well.

This post has been edited by iSean: Aug 4 2018, 07:46 PM
thirumaran
post Aug 4 2018, 08:08 PM

615 posts

QUOTE(iSean @ Aug 4 2018, 07:45 PM)
Just bring to highpoint and ask and order the replacement part if they allow.

Screen burn in as in white spots on the screen? In full R/G/B Background .
Mine had a similar case. But didn't RMA.

Gotten 2 units. All screen burn in after a few weeks of use.

It is very noticeable in all recent display panels. Seems like bad lamination.

Also screen is mounted with motherboard. Hopefully your technician is skillful to do the repair.

Complaint for replacement battery as well.
Wow, tks for the quick reply. Yes, white spots, appeared after two years. Other than that, no issues. Based on ur comments, maybe i should just live with it
TSiSean
post Aug 4 2018, 08:21 PM

iz old liao.
4,498 posts

QUOTE(thirumaran @ Aug 4 2018, 08:08 PM)
Wow, tks for the quick reply. Yes, white spots, appeared after two years. Other than that, no issues. Based on ur comments, maybe i should just live with it
Optional normally it is not noticeable until your whole. Background is a single colour.
CressC
post Sep 18 2018, 03:25 PM

164 posts

Hi, I've just joined the family with Acer Switch 5.
I need confirmation that the USB 3.1 port supports video outputs like HDMI, VGA, and DisplayPort before I proceed to buy the adaptor.
Anybody done this before? Which brand of adaptor you're buying?
effectz
post Sep 18 2018, 05:43 PM

1,112 posts

I'm eyeing usb c adaptor to sd card, hdmi, rj45 etc. Anybody can share?
chaosneo
post Sep 19 2018, 08:26 AM

5,694 posts

QUOTE(effectz @ Sep 18 2018, 05:43 PM)
I'm eyeing usb c adaptor to sd card, hdmi, rj45 etc. Anybody can share?
rm135 hub with PowerDelivery, GiGalan, CardReader, 3xUSB port. 😊

https://www.lazada.com.my/products/ugreen-u...s526593076.html?
TSiSean
post Sep 19 2018, 10:21 AM

iz old liao.
4,498 posts

Not all Dongle are built the same

if you can find the dongle here should be okay.
thirumaran
post Nov 4 2018, 04:34 PM

615 posts

Friend of mine sent her unit for warranty recently. The glue holding the screen was giving way and the keyboard wont hold on to the magnetic part of the screen.

Turns out the battery had expanded inside. Extended warranty does not cover the battery, but because the battery was causing other issues, they replaced the battery foc
mitodna
post Nov 4 2018, 07:02 PM

14,039 posts

QUOTE(thirumaran @ Nov 4 2018, 04:34 PM)
Friend of mine sent her unit for warranty recently. The glue holding the screen was giving way and the keyboard wont hold on to the magnetic part of the screen.

Turns out the battery had expanded inside. Extended warranty does not cover the battery, but because the battery was causing other issues, they replaced the battery foc
Same here, the battery expanded, causing the screen , a mark, worse, they can replace the screen for free but not the battery, for earlier switch model
TSiSean
post Nov 15 2018, 03:46 PM

iz old liao.
4,498 posts

QUOTE(weibuy @ Nov 15 2018, 03:42 PM)
Any idea where to find new Keyboard Dock For Switch Alpha 12? Please help.
Either you buy from Taobao, or buy from Repair Center.
A Bluetooth Keyboard from Logitech will costs less than buying a new one.
TSiSean
post Nov 15 2018, 04:47 PM

iz old liao.
4,498 posts

QUOTE(weibuy @ Nov 15 2018, 03:42 PM)
Any idea where to find new Keyboard Dock For Switch Alpha 12? Please help.
Keyboard Non-Backlit Model : Keyboard Acer CHICONY KT1P_A50B KT1 - RM 80 (if you purchase with other repairs in 2017) - RM 260 (standalone keyboard)
TSiSean
post Nov 15 2018, 04:48 PM

iz old liao.
4,498 posts

well did she paid for other issues ?
thirumaran
post Nov 15 2018, 06:26 PM

615 posts

QUOTE(iSean @ Nov 15 2018, 04:48 PM)
well did she paid for other issues ?
No. All covered
TSiSean
post Nov 15 2018, 08:34 PM

iz old liao.
4,498 posts

QUOTE(weibuy @ Nov 15 2018, 08:32 PM)
Can buy online? Search lazada and Shopee didn't found any.
Nope only Highpoint Sdn Bhd (Acer).
Well do notify me if you get cheaper price. tho.
stickmanchong17
post Nov 21 2018, 08:16 PM

359 posts

Problem: When I press the ON/OFF button, the laptop turns on (you can hear the fan moving, sound,etc) but it immediately shuts down. Then a few seconds later, it switches on again. How can I get it to start normally? I've already installed latest updates.

In urgent need for help. Thanks. icon_question.gif
TSiSean
post Nov 21 2018, 08:38 PM

iz old liao.
4,498 posts

QUOTE(stickmanchong17 @ Nov 21 2018, 08:16 PM)
Problem: When I press the ON/OFF button, the laptop turns on (you can hear the fan moving, sound,etc) but it immediately shuts down. Then a few seconds later, it switches on again. How can I get it to start normally? I've already installed latest updates.

In urgent need for help. Thanks.  icon_question.gif
This Laptop doesn't have any moving parts blink.gif What you even talking lol.
You sure you're using Switch Alpha 12 as your laptop laugh.gif
stickmanchong17
post Nov 21 2018, 09:20 PM

359 posts

QUOTE(iSean @ Nov 21 2018, 08:38 PM)
This Laptop doesn't have any moving parts  blink.gif  What you even talking lol.
You sure you're using Switch Alpha 12 as your laptop  laugh.gif
My bad. 'moving' as in 'the fan starts working'.
I'm using Acer Swift 3.
Since I urgently need help, I just posted in any thread which contains the word 'Acer' which is more active.

To paraphrase, my notebook is unable to start normally. Even if it starts normally, ie shows login screen, and after I've login, then the notebook shuts down suddenly. It sort of reboots but shows a blank black screen. It is unable to show the login page.

TLDR: My notebook can't start properly. It restarts every 10 seconds after I press ON/OFF. What are my options?
TSiSean
post Nov 21 2018, 10:05 PM

iz old liao.
4,498 posts

QUOTE(stickmanchong17 @ Nov 21 2018, 09:20 PM)
My bad. 'moving' as in 'the fan starts working'.
I'm using Acer Swift 3.
Since I urgently need help, I just posted in any thread which contains the word 'Acer' which is more active.

To paraphrase, my notebook is unable to start normally.  Even if it starts normally, ie shows login screen, and after I've login, then the notebook shuts down suddenly. It sort of reboots but shows a blank black screen. It is unable to show the login page.
TLDR: My notebook can't start properly. It restarts every 10 seconds after I press ON/OFF. What are my options?
Bad RAM / Hard Drive / Motherboard / Faulty Power Supply / Battery can be an issue.
Have you tried factory reset the machine?

This post has been edited by iSean: Nov 21 2018, 10:06 PM
stickmanchong17
post Nov 24 2018, 09:34 PM

359 posts

QUOTE(iSean @ Nov 21 2018, 10:05 PM)
Bad RAM / Hard Drive / Motherboard / Faulty Power Supply / Battery can be an issue.
Have you tried factory reset the machine?
I think I would just send it back to Acer Malaysia for full checkup. Thanks for the feedback!
thirumaran
post Jan 24 2019, 09:01 AM

615 posts

Guys, just a word of caution on this model. Both my friend (i5) and my unit (i3), the battery inside expanded causing the screen to pop out after roughly 2 years.

Luckily we both have 3 years warranty

This post has been edited by thirumaran: Jan 24 2019, 09:01 AM
yltan
post Mar 21 2019, 05:12 PM

194 posts

QUOTE(thirumaran @ Jan 24 2019, 09:01 AM)
Guys, just a word of caution on this model. Both my friend (i5) and my unit (i3), the battery inside expanded causing the screen to pop out after roughly 2 years.

Luckily we both have 3 years warranty
I had the same issue with the bloated battery that affecting the screen to pop out.

Sent to service center and later they confirmed is the battery problem. They initially wanted to charge me for the replacement of the battery since the battery only cover 1 year warranty even though I bought the extended 3 years warranty.

However, I highlighted your friend case and they replaced it FOC for me.

Thank you for sharing and thank you the service center for the replacement. thumbup.gif thumbup.gif thumbup.gif
TSiSean
post Mar 21 2019, 06:42 PM

iz old liao.
4,498 posts

QUOTE(yltan @ Mar 21 2019, 05:12 PM)
I had the same issue with the bloated battery that affecting the screen to pop out.

Sent to service center and later they confirmed is the battery problem. They initially wanted to charge me for the replacement of the battery since the battery only cover 1 year warranty even though I bought the extended 3 years warranty.

Thank you for sharing and thank you the service center for the replacement. thumbup.gif  thumbup.gif  thumbup.gif
Nice. I will try to use this to replace me screen also laugh.gif
thirumaran
post Mar 21 2019, 08:04 PM

615 posts

QUOTE(yltan @ Mar 21 2019, 05:12 PM)

Thank you for sharing and thank you the service center for the replacement. thumbup.gif  thumbup.gif  thumbup.gif
teh tarik on you
cpc1225
post Apr 14 2019, 06:28 PM

I was about to buy the switch 5 with i3 processor , quite worry after I learned the battery problem.

TSiSean
post Apr 14 2019, 06:58 PM

iz old liao.
4,498 posts

QUOTE(cpc1225 @ Apr 14 2019, 06:28 PM)
I was about to buy the switch 5 with i3 processor , quite worry after I learned the battery problem.
You scare then unscrew the two screw beside 😂

I rather it bloated and claim my cracked screen heheh

Anyhow I think buy iPad better la.
This tablet easily overheat underload because passive cooling battery life not is strong point.

Get proper ultrabook

This post has been edited by iSean: Apr 14 2019, 07:00 PM
cpc1225
post Apr 15 2019, 05:25 PM

Almost bought the ipad, almost meet my usage requirement with compromises but not supporting mouse really don't work for me.
TSiSean
post Jun 22 2019, 03:57 PM

iz old liao.
4,498 posts

QUOTE(cpc1225 @ Apr 15 2019, 05:25 PM)
Almost bought the ipad, almost meet my usage requirement with compromises but not supporting mouse really don't work for me.
Well mine already half dead laugh.gif
kennedytham
post Jun 27 2019, 11:56 AM

15 posts

Just noticed this. Look more serious than before

This post has been edited by kennedytham: Jun 27 2019, 11:57 AM

ekhoono
post Oct 20 2019, 08:39 AM

114 posts

Hi. My aplha 12 can"t start after 2 week no use!. sent shop they just reset and use 1 day ok. Charging then start LOCKING. and black out. What wrong? Now can't start. Any sifu help.
TSiSean
post Oct 20 2019, 09:54 AM

iz old liao.
4,498 posts

QUOTE(ekhoono @ Oct 20 2019, 08:39 AM)
Hi. My aplha 12 can"t start after 2 week no use!. sent shop they just reset and use 1 day ok. Charging then start LOCKING. and black out. What wrong? Now can't start. Any sifu help.
Bring to Highpoint let them take out the battery and plug it back in.
I've encounter this problem before.

Tell them that, your issues is more towards charging then the system locks up and black out everytime.
With some luck they might replace the whole unit for you, if that warranty still exists... laugh.gif

I've replaced my motherboard for RM 600++ last time.
TSiSean
post Oct 20 2019, 09:54 AM

iz old liao.
4,498 posts

QUOTE(kennedytham @ Jun 27 2019, 11:56 AM)
Just noticed this. Look more serious than before
Backlight bleed on IPS monitor is normal.
But white spots nope.
effectz
post Dec 28 2021, 10:49 PM

1,112 posts

Anybody tweak registry too install win11?
effectz
post Oct 26 2024, 08:52 PM

1,112 posts

Last post was 3 years ago lol. My screen popped most likely bcs of battery bloated. Contemplating to replace battery or just buy new one 😂
Intrigue
post Jun 8 2025, 02:49 PM

L O W Y A T E R
3,943 posts

Anyone wants to buy mine? LOL... i have one basically just for youtube.
TSiSean
post Jun 10 2025, 01:18 PM

iz old liao.
4,498 posts

QUOTE(Intrigue @ Jun 8 2025, 02:49 PM)
Anyone wants to buy mine? LOL... i have one basically just for youtube.
the battery and keyboard not yet dead? laugh.gif
Dont think the things even costs RM 300 some one would buy.
Intrigue
post Jun 14 2025, 05:53 PM

L O W Y A T E R
3,943 posts

QUOTE(iSean @ Jun 10 2025, 01:18 PM)
the battery and keyboard not yet dead?  laugh.gif
Dont think the things even costs RM 300 some one would buy.
the battery still lasted 1hr+ and keyboard still working fine. LOL

0.2556sec    1.08    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 17th December 2025 - 08:45 AM