20 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 6 > » Bottom

Acer Switch Alpha 12 Thread v1, Gone with Alpha, now Switch 3, 5 & 7.

TSiSean
post Jun 13 2016, 12:28 PM

iz old liao.
4,503 posts

QUOTE(LiSheng95 @ Jun 5 2016, 12:12 AM)
there is now usb c which supports thunderbolt 3. but im not sure whether the one in acer alpha switch 12 supports thunderbolt 3
Okay, drop your cash, it won't be supporting the Graphics Dock.
It will just be a Surface Pro 4 replacement.
wilson1234
post Jun 13 2016, 09:14 PM

53 posts

QUOTE(iSean @ Jun 13 2016, 12:28 PM)
Okay, drop your cash, it won't be supporting the Graphics Dock.
It will just be a Surface Pro 4 replacement.
Hi there, I was reading your posts and note that you suddenly mention it allows this and suddenly mention it doesn't allow. So.. Can I understand that based on your latest statement, the alpha 12 can allow display out but cannot support Egpu?

And to repeat again, I believe the egpu is meant for aspire switch 12 S.. It's for device with thunderbolt 3..

Switch alpha 12 has NO thunderbolt 3, so NO supporting egpu
chaosneo
post Jun 14 2016, 09:12 AM

5,694 posts

i second this.

the Acer Switch Alpha 12 is has a USB TYPE-C Gen1:
it is capable of supporting multi monitor / ports / hubs / etc ... but it will not be able to support an eGPU. an eGPU will need 5040Gbps bandwidth on the cable which only thunderbolt can give.

hopefully Acer will make a revision to this if not, the AT3 Pro is looking sweet. it is disappointing as to why they decided not to include it.

below is just reference, prices from http://www.techhypermart.com/

Acer Aspire Switch Alpha SA5-271P-769B
i7-6500U, 8GB, 256GB - rm4,349

Acer Aspire Switch Alpha SA5-271-571N
i5-6200U, 8GB, 256GB - RM3,449

QUOTE(wilson1234 @ Jun 13 2016, 09:14 PM)
Hi there, I was reading your posts and note that you suddenly mention it allows this and suddenly mention it doesn't allow. So.. Can I understand that based on your latest statement, the alpha 12 can allow display out but cannot support Egpu?

And to repeat again, I believe the egpu is meant for aspire switch 12 S.. It's for device with thunderbolt 3..

Switch alpha 12 has NO thunderbolt 3, so NO supporting egpu
This post has been edited by chaosneo: Jun 14 2016, 09:16 AM
TSiSean
post Jun 14 2016, 03:16 PM

iz old liao.
4,503 posts

QUOTE(chaosneo @ Jun 14 2016, 09:12 AM)
i second this.

the Acer Switch Alpha 12 is has a USB TYPE-C Gen1:
it is capable of supporting multi monitor / ports / hubs / etc ... but it will not be able to support an eGPU. an eGPU will need 5040Gbps bandwidth on the cable which only thunderbolt can give.

hopefully Acer will make a revision to this if not, the AT3 Pro is looking sweet. it is disappointing  as to why they decided not to include it.

below is just reference, prices from http://www.techhypermart.com/

Acer Aspire Switch Alpha SA5-271P-769B
i7-6500U, 8GB, 256GB - rm4,349

Acer Aspire Switch Alpha SA5-271-571N
i5-6200U, 8GB, 256GB - RM3,449
Well no idea Malaysia Acer is so fucking confused. doh.gif
Zul_XT
post Jun 18 2016, 05:46 PM

53 posts

Got myself the Switch Alpha 12 two days ago..
The i7 with Windows 10 Pro

In the catalog from Acer Malaysia, the ads shows with Backlit Keyboard.
BUt the Malaysia market one does not come with the backlit version.. I have call Acer Support, they confirm that Malaysia version does not have it, then why the Catalog says so.. demmmm

So far so good.. managed to use it for more than 6 hours without powering up. Enought for 1 day on the move...
Still getting use to it..

This post has been edited by Zul_XT: Jun 18 2016, 05:47 PM
TSiSean
post Jun 18 2016, 06:49 PM

iz old liao.
4,503 posts

QUOTE(Zul_XT @ Jun 18 2016, 05:46 PM)
The i7  with Windows 10 Pro

BUt the Malaysia market one does not come with the backlit version.. I have call Acer Support, they confirm that Malaysia version does not have it, then why the Catalog says so.. demmmm

So far so good.. managed to use it for more than 6 hours without powering up. Enought for 1 day on the move...
Can you try like going intensive task like video edit, or gaming will the back plate easily overheat?
amaze01
post Jun 18 2016, 07:30 PM

146 posts

QUOTE(Zul_XT @ Jun 18 2016, 05:46 PM)
The i7  with Windows 10 Pro

can check what is the available sensors for it?
Zul_XT
post Jun 20 2016, 12:21 PM

53 posts

QUOTE(amaze01 @ Jun 18 2016, 07:30 PM)
can check what is the available sensors for it?
All sensors are in the 'Ready' state.

Zul_XT
post Jun 20 2016, 12:23 PM

53 posts

QUOTE(iSean @ Jun 18 2016, 06:49 PM)
Can you try like going intensive task like video edit, or gaming will the back plate easily overheat?
Im not into Gaming or Video editing.. only software development.
But so far, it more to 'luke warm' feels, which cooler than when my Smartphone heat up..

amaze01
post Jun 20 2016, 12:29 PM

146 posts

QUOTE(Zul_XT @ Jun 20 2016, 12:21 PM)
All sensors are in the 'Ready' state.
Thanks,can i assume it has e-compass/agps and can locate my position even if i use offline map(without internet) or online map?

This post has been edited by amaze01: Jun 20 2016, 12:30 PM
Zul_XT
post Jun 20 2016, 12:35 PM

53 posts

QUOTE(amaze01 @ Jun 20 2016, 12:29 PM)
Thanks,can i assume it has e-compass/agps and can locate my position even if i use offline map(without internet) or online map?
I believed its using the Wifi to locate you. It do correctly identify my location either at Home or Office.

amaze01
post Jun 20 2016, 12:41 PM

146 posts

QUOTE(Zul_XT @ Jun 20 2016, 12:35 PM)
I believed its using the Wifi to locate you. It do correctly identify my location either at Home or Office.
can u try update your Windows Maps,then download Malaysia map.

Then turn off any internet connection and try move around,see it's working or not
tchau83
post Jun 21 2016, 10:21 AM

62 posts

QUOTE(Zul_XT @ Jun 20 2016, 12:23 PM)
Im not into Gaming or Video editing.. only software development.
But so far, it more to 'luke warm' feels, which cooler than when my Smartphone heat up..
Did you find a way to hook it up to an external monitor? Is the Acer USB-C dock for sale yet? Would be hard to use it as a work machine with such a small screen.
zack9999
post Jun 21 2016, 10:49 AM

290 posts

I think can use Microsoft Wireless Adapter to connect.

QUOTE(tchau83 @ Jun 21 2016, 10:21 AM)
Did you find a way to hook it up to an external monitor? Is the Acer USB-C dock for sale yet? Would be hard to use it as a work machine with such a small screen.
wilson1234
post Jun 21 2016, 11:51 AM

53 posts

QUOTE(zack9999 @ Jun 21 2016, 10:49 AM)
I think can use Microsoft Wireless Adapter to connect.
It would be good to use Wireless Adapter. But do you know if Switch Alpha 12 can support WiDi? Just hoping to get a more reliable source to support this fact before we get the wireless adapter.

And i think its better not to assume all new devices will surely support some features. One of the points made in our previous discussion is that USB Type C doesn't mean it has Thunderbolt 3.
zack9999
post Jun 21 2016, 12:08 PM

290 posts

Hi Zul_XT,

Can you charge the tablet using USB type C?

TQ

QUOTE(Zul_XT @ Jun 20 2016, 12:35 PM)
Zul_XT
post Jun 21 2016, 02:44 PM

53 posts

QUOTE(tchau83 @ Jun 21 2016, 10:21 AM)
I have used the USB 3.1 port with VGA output device to connect to a projector. The same device was used with macbook. Now looking for a HDMI version.

My self just for a quick server access and work while on the move. I'm still using my desktop with 2 monitor for software development in office.

Zul_XT
post Jun 21 2016, 04:47 PM

53 posts

QUOTE(zack9999 @ Jun 21 2016, 12:08 PM)
Hi Zul_XT,

Can you charge the tablet using USB type C?

TQ
I dont have any USB C charger or cable. Only the VGA connector for now.
Need to go shopping for USB C peripheral...

zack9999
post Jun 22 2016, 09:16 AM

290 posts

There is a 50% off for a Surface Pro 4 right now on Lazada. But I prefer newer tech like Acer Alpha Switch 12, particularly fanless, USB type C. My phone already uses USB Type C to charge and data transfer so it will be easy to share charger and cable. Plus it will be future proof towards new accessories utilizing the USB type C.

Another thing I consider is the repairability. Is the Acer Alpha Switch 12 easy to be repaired?
tchau83
post Jun 22 2016, 10:40 AM

62 posts

QUOTE(Zul_XT @ Jun 21 2016, 02:44 PM)
I have used the USB 3.1 port with VGA output device to connect to a projector. The same device was used with macbook. Now looking for a HDMI version.

My self just for a quick server access and work while on the move. I'm still using my desktop with 2 monitor for software development in office.
What is your adaptor's brand? Judging from amazon and other online comments, usb-c to display adaptors are not universal. Most/All adaptors do not work with certain laptops or monitors, and most adaptors on the market are designed for the macbook. Even Dell's own adaptor has issues with their own laptops (https://www.amazon.com/Dell-Adapter-Type-Ethernet-470-ABQN/dp/B012DT6KW2). And usb-c adaptors are not cheap.

20 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 6 > » Top

0.0237sec    0.98    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 17th December 2025 - 03:39 PM