How to use Credit Card at Fuel Pump - Exact Amount, Just curious

TSwatabakiu
post May 22 2016, 10:57 AM, updated 10y ago

1,573 posts

Alright, at the pump stations, you can either pay cash at the counter or you swipe your credit card at the fuel pump.

I wish to opt for the latter option. And I wish to select a fixed amount to pump. Say, RM40.

I think this is doable, considering you'd have buttons next to the credit card slot.

However, can anyone, enlighten us on how to use it ?

icon_question.gif
arepit
post May 22 2016, 11:01 AM

397 posts

just go over the counter and ask them to cahrge the exact amount
ramdieslow
post May 22 2016, 11:01 AM

122 posts

Use PRESET option when swiping ur card at terminal
matrix88
post May 22 2016, 11:05 AM

2,236 posts

every brand use different method, tell us which brand of fuel you use first.
arepit
post May 22 2016, 11:07 AM

397 posts

QUOTE(ramdieslow @ May 22 2016, 11:01 AM)
Use PRESET option when swiping ur card at terminal
serious??
amirsubhi
post May 22 2016, 11:11 AM

The Power Is IN Your Hand!
1,472 posts

petronas, u can see the keypad on the right

press $ then press intended amount, such as rm50 then enter

then fill up
TSwatabakiu
post May 22 2016, 05:47 PM

1,573 posts

QUOTE(matrix88 @ May 22 2016, 11:05 AM)
every brand use different method, tell us which brand of fuel you use first.
Petronas

QUOTE(amirsubhi @ May 22 2016, 11:11 AM)

then fill up
tried. put in the debit card, but terus accepted and then say please fill in pump. no mention to put in the amount.
amidamaru
post May 22 2016, 07:59 PM

192 posts

QUOTE(watabakiu @ May 22 2016, 05:47 PM)
Petronas
tried. put in the debit card, but terus accepted and then say please fill in pump. no mention to put in the amount.
It didnt mention. Just key in the amount you need then press enter. After that angkat nozle la.
TSwatabakiu
post May 23 2016, 10:02 PM

1,573 posts

QUOTE(amirsubhi @ May 22 2016, 11:11 AM)

then fill up
Before or after putting in the credit/debit card?
amirsubhi
post May 23 2016, 10:28 PM

The Power Is IN Your Hand!
1,472 posts

QUOTE(watabakiu @ May 23 2016, 10:02 PM)
Before or after putting in the credit/debit card?
after put credit card, has been authorized,, then key in intended amount
ramdieslow
post May 23 2016, 11:38 PM

122 posts

QUOTE(arepit @ May 22 2016, 11:07 AM)
serious??
Me using Petron.

Press PRESET, set the amount, then swipe ur card. Once approved, lift the nozzle and fill her up
xixo_12
post May 24 2016, 08:47 AM

i!Retired!i
7,318 posts

should be preset first, enter card, pump in
Kilohertz
post May 24 2016, 09:15 AM

2,173 posts

how about BHP?
shinchan^^
post May 24 2016, 11:55 AM

K66
21,256 posts

QUOTE(ramdieslow @ May 23 2016, 11:38 PM)
Me using Petron.

Press PRESET, set the amount, then swipe ur card. Once approved, lift the nozzle and fill her up
problem is now not always exact amount tangki full edy dry.gif
Zaryl
post May 24 2016, 04:40 PM

Hardcore Casual Gamer
1,711 posts

Ok another question, if TS don't mind me interjecting your thread LOL.

I am not sure if you all are aware of this or not.
When we use our CC at the CC machine at the pump, why does our card got charged RM200 for 8 days per transaction, then later after the 8 days have passed, Rm200 is credited back to our cc?

Example:

You fill in RM50 fuel for full tank.
Then you got charged RM200 for 8 days.

You fill in Rm5 fuel for motorbike also, kena charged RM200 for 8 days, then the credit released back.

Now my question is:

What's the main reason banks do this kind of faggotory?? doh.gif
Why not just the exact RM50 or RM5 for the fuel we fill in and no "temporary" charged for certain amount of days.

Can someone explain?

thanks.
happyking4ever
post May 24 2016, 04:45 PM

354 posts

QUOTE(Zaryl @ May 24 2016, 04:40 PM)
Ok another question, if TS don't mind me interjecting your thread LOL.

I am not sure if you all are aware of this or not.
When we use our CC at the CC machine at the pump, why does our card got charged RM200 for 8 days per transaction, then later after the 8 days have passed, Rm200 is credited back to our cc?

Example:

You fill in RM50 fuel for full tank.
Then you got charged RM200 for 8 days.

You fill in Rm5 fuel for motorbike also, kena charged RM200 for 8 days, then the credit released back.

Now my question is:

What's the main reason banks do this kind of faggotory??  doh.gif
Why not just the exact RM50  or RM5 for the fuel we fill in and no "temporary" charged for certain amount of days.

Can someone explain?

thanks.
I asked bank about this before, it said is standard practice. But since we are not paying the balance or interest for it, I guess no big deal.

I only knew about it when bank system got too smart and SMS me about the charge of RM200 after I filled the petrol.
confused.gif

This post has been edited by happyking4ever: May 24 2016, 04:45 PM
arepit
post May 24 2016, 04:48 PM

397 posts

so the card will still be charged the rm200 amount first la...even if we set the amount to be let say...rm50?

then by all means, better let it take it course...just stop whenever we want...
Zaryl
post May 24 2016, 05:23 PM

Hardcore Casual Gamer
1,711 posts

QUOTE(arepit @ May 24 2016, 04:48 PM)
so the card will still be charged the rm200 amount first la...even if we set the amount to be let say...rm50?

then by all means, better let it take it course...just stop whenever we want...
yes, if let say you just want to fill in rm30 for the sake of want the fill in the fuel bar just by 1 but not really full tank,
might as well you fill in full tank until the fuel nozzle stops automatically.

because the rm200 will still be charged for 8 days, irregardless of any amount you want to fill the petrol in the first place.

Now i know some people might think this is no big deal. But to those who always monitor their CC outstanding balance and fear that particular rm200 (for 8 days) will just hit the CC limit, it is a big deal. hmm.gif
dares
post May 24 2016, 09:16 PM

834 posts

QUOTE(Zaryl @ May 24 2016, 05:23 PM)
yes, if let say you just want to fill in rm30 for the sake of want the fill in the fuel bar just by 1 but not really full tank,
might as well you fill in full tank until the fuel nozzle stops automatically.

because the rm200 will still be charged for 8 days, irregardless of any amount you want to fill the petrol in the first place.

Now i know some people might think this is no big deal. But to those who always monitor their CC outstanding balance and fear that particular rm200 (for 8 days) will just hit the CC limit, it is a big deal.  hmm.gif
Because the system always needs to know the charge amount before approving the charge, and since you havent started refuel, there is no way the system can know how much you are gonna charge.

So what the system does, is to use RM200 as the amount to run the approval process. Once it is approved, the RM200 will be entered into the unbilled amount on your account.

As to why it take 8 days, I guess it's just how long it takes to reverse the balance.
SUSMatrix
post May 25 2016, 10:20 AM

King of Char Siew!
15,022 posts

QUOTE(dares @ May 24 2016, 09:16 PM)
Because the system always needs to know the charge amount before approving the charge, and since you havent started refuel, there is no way the system can know how much you are gonna charge.

So what the system does, is to use RM200 as the amount to run the approval process. Once it is approved, the RM200 will be entered into the unbilled amount on your account.

As to why it take 8 days, I guess it's just how long it takes to reverse the balance.
Just swipe card and pump exact amount lah...all this is pointless...kena charge RM200 for 8 days somemore, later system screw up then no reverse charge....sweat.gif

0.0183sec    1.71    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 22nd December 2025 - 04:26 PM