Flashing 7900GTO to 7900GTX, Anybody done this already?
TS^666^
Jan 10 2007, 01:05 PM, updated 19y ago
Yo. I juts bought a MSI 7900GTO, they say in a review it can easily modded flash to 7900GTX with 15% increase in performance. If anybody done this, please give me some tips and know how. A bit afraid it will ruin my lovely new card.
mcchin
Jan 10 2007, 06:13 PM
any type of modifying have its own risk
since it is new why risk it?
the card , for me is gud enuff already
ps: is there any games that require acceleration more the 7900GTO can handle?
yehlai
Jan 10 2007, 06:26 PM
Even flashing mobo's BIOS can kill the mobo and graphic. Few forumers in C2Duo o'c thread suffer tht arldy. U wanna try?? This post has been edited by yehlai: Jan 10 2007, 06:26 PM
Najmods
Jan 10 2007, 06:46 PM
Its not worth it. You can simply overclock your card to GTX speeds (depends on card). That card was fast enough, with full pipeline and same memory as the GTX (but with tighter timings), pretty much the same like Maserati MC12 and Ferrari Enzo
Flashing a graphics card is easier if something goes wrong, you still can recover it by using a PCI gfx card and flash to original BIOS (I've tried it). Do it on your risk though
TS^666^
Jan 10 2007, 09:50 PM
QUOTE(Najmods @ Jan 10 2007, 06:46 PM) Its not worth it. You can simply overclock your card to GTX speeds (depends on card). That card was fast enough, with full pipeline and same memory as the GTX (but with tighter timings), pretty much the same like Maserati MC12 and Ferrari Enzo Flashing a graphics card is easier if something goes wrong, you still can recover it by using a PCI gfx card and flash to original BIOS (I've tried it). Do it on your risk though I already increase the RAM to 1750mhz and the clock to 700mhz. Mainly I play strategy gaming and will try NFS Carbon later. I will try and see. well 15% of increase in performance is rather tempting, what the different of the OC GTO and the normal GTX?
stevenlee
Jan 10 2007, 10:33 PM
GTO and GTX diffent onli at memory clock speed and other is remain as the for each other...
BurgerRI
Jan 10 2007, 10:52 PM
The guys are mostly right about flashing the GTO to GTX bios, the memory timings are tighter for the GTO bios compared to GTX bios. However there are other kinds of modded bioses out there that will enable GTO's to be clocked slightly higher, refering to the GPU clocks. But since your getting such good GPU and mem clock speeds, I dont recommend you mess around with something good. I'm only able to hit GPU of 720Mhz and Mem of 1650, of course with no volt mod performed.  Your mem clocks rocks
mfcm
Jan 11 2007, 08:29 AM
i hv flashed my gto to gtx  forgot the how much dy i hv push..cz its now lying waiting for new setup
tycheah_7
Jan 11 2007, 08:47 AM
life is about gambling.. go ahead and unlock yourself to the new world
ah_khoo
Jan 11 2007, 04:42 PM
- No Action Talk Only -
most import thing to do b4 messin around w d bios is to back up d original bios and prepare a pci display card. alwez prepare for d worst.
mfcm
Jan 11 2007, 07:45 PM
yea if u hv backup and in case theres sumtin goin wrong u can flashed the gfx back..  but need to done well with correct bios
seeseng
Jan 11 2007, 08:00 PM
Can download the files needed for the flashing here - http://pics.coolaler.com/xoops/msi/7900gto/7900gto.rarAlready got backup copy of GTO bios in there. So just go ahead flash it to GTX. Done mine the same day bought it.
kaiser_falco
Jan 11 2007, 10:54 PM
QUOTE(yehlai @ Jan 10 2007, 06:26 PM) Even flashing mobo's BIOS can kill the mobo and graphic. Few forumers in C2Duo o'c thread suffer tht arldy. U wanna try??  did sumone here mention me??  ...hehehhe my mobo dead on the way to rma n my 7950gx2 burn bcoz of few small error both on the way to rma.....haih very sad....try if your ball is large enough for me takut edi...
mfcm
Jan 11 2007, 11:00 PM
QUOTE(kaiser_falco @ Jan 11 2007, 10:54 PM) did sumone here mention me??  ...hehehhe my mobo dead on the way to rma n my 7950gx2 burn bcoz of few small error both on the way to rma.....haih very sad....try if your ball is large enough for me takut edi...  waa how come both of it burn out bro?  u oc too much with pushing higher?
cstkl1
Jan 11 2007, 11:36 PM
whats the point..
mfcm have nearly the same setup as my second rig except i am on SLI. and i have an evga mobo. weird was actually even considering the same psu.. but decided to get the zalman cause the efficiency rate is much higher and cheaper somemore..
waiting for my evga mobo. also getting a crucial ballistix tracer but again whats the point if ure using amd cpu.
again even if u overclock ure gpu, flash it...dont expect a lot of diff. without overclocking ure cpu which u cant do much with that cpu.
whats ure rams runnin at??
will break the 200k barrier end of the month to prove my claim that its breakable with this card in SLI.
and ure claim of 15 percent faster for flash gto is based on mem speed. not on benching... not much.
but if u wan will pm u the site after the 20th.. its in my hdd for bookmark where u can download the bios.
again even in that forum no diff. reason i guess is the tight timings and the difference was like 3 percent.
This post has been edited by cstkl1: Jan 11 2007, 11:39 PM
mfcm
Jan 11 2007, 11:48 PM
yup its differ when u running on amd compare to intel platform..summo when u oc the cpu u'll get better result as cstkl1 said
TS^666^
Jan 13 2007, 12:59 AM
QUOTE(BurgerRI @ Jan 10 2007, 10:52 PM) The guys are mostly right about flashing the GTO to GTX bios, the memory timings are tighter for the GTO bios compared to GTX bios. However there are other kinds of modded bioses out there that will enable GTO's to be clocked slightly higher, refering to the GPU clocks. But since your getting such good GPU and mem clock speeds, I dont recommend you mess around with something good. I'm only able to hit GPU of 720Mhz and Mem of 1650, of course with no volt mod performed.  Your mem clocks rocks  whats ur brand of display? QUOTE(mfcm @ Jan 11 2007, 08:29 AM) i hv flashed my gto to gtx  forgot the how much dy i hv push..cz its now lying waiting for new setup  benchmark please. QUOTE(ahpaul82 @ Jan 12 2007, 09:48 PM) So far i tested only 1peice of 7900GTO after flashing GTX bios got artifact only .. Remember to test your VGA using 3DMARK06.  more dtails as in brand and speed/
BurgerRI
Jan 13 2007, 10:15 AM
^666^
I'm using an MSI 7900gto.... so whats your bench results so far with ur gto and proc?
TS^666^
Jan 13 2007, 04:33 PM
QUOTE(BurgerRI @ Jan 13 2007, 10:15 AM) ^666^ I'm using an MSI 7900gto.... so whats your bench results so far with ur gto and proc? havent bencmark my proc but when i run 3dmark05 before and after oc for gpu is still 9222.
mfcm
Jan 13 2007, 08:04 PM
QUOTE(^666^ @ Jan 13 2007, 04:33 PM) hehe push it more bro..i got 10k last time  will update back my new result since jus finished fix all my stuff now
TS^666^
Jan 13 2007, 08:32 PM
QUOTE(mfcm @ Jan 13 2007, 08:04 PM) hehe push it more bro..i got 10k last time  will update back my new result since jus finished fix all my stuff now  i thought after oc can get 11k++??
cstkl1
Jan 13 2007, 10:42 PM
this is mine at sli using amd x2 5200 at 3ghz hehehe for 3d mark 05
TS^666^
Jan 13 2007, 11:19 PM
QUOTE(cstkl1 @ Jan 13 2007, 10:42 PM) this is mine at sli using amd x2 5200 at 3ghz hehehe for 3d mark 05 why so high???
mcchin
Jan 13 2007, 11:31 PM
QUOTE(^666^ @ Jan 13 2007, 11:19 PM) sli maaa
ahpaul82
Jan 13 2007, 11:52 PM
QUOTE(^666^ @ Jan 13 2007, 12:59 AM) more dtails as in brand and speed/ Is a MSI Brand. Didn't do any OC test, just purely flash to GTX's BIOS, but too bad got artifact .  This is the first batch of GTO, VGA card at Stock speed.
This post has been edited by ahpaul82: Jan 13 2007, 11:56 PM
cstkl1
Jan 14 2007, 12:09 AM
11740k for Single Gto on 4200 x2 @ 2765,,,,,, 11740 | cstkl1 |Geforce 7900GTO | MSI N7900gto 512MB DDR3 (698/1626) | Nvidia Forceware 93.71 | AMD Athlon64 X2 4200+ @ 2765MHz http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/330286
TS^666^
Jan 14 2007, 12:14 AM
QUOTE(cstkl1 @ Jan 14 2007, 12:09 AM) 11740k for Single Gto on 4200 x2 @ 2765,,,,,, 11740 | cstkl1 |Geforce 7900GTO | MSI N7900gto 512MB DDR3 (698/1626) | Nvidia Forceware 93.71 | AMD Athlon64 X2 4200+ @ 2765MHz http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/330286i really dunno whats wrong with my system.
cstkl1
Jan 14 2007, 12:18 AM
easy first ure cpu bound, bottleneck hey even at 5200 x2 3000ghz also bottleneck later end of month when i get my mobo.. will post sli score and single card score on core 2 duo e6600
second ure ram timings do differ because of amd mem controller... so better timing, better speed do differ in fps therefore ure gfx score higher ..
good card but ure ram and cpu not enough. advice go for x2 4200 or 5200 since now price dropping. both also u have to oc
TS^666^
Jan 14 2007, 12:27 AM
QUOTE(cstkl1 @ Jan 14 2007, 12:18 AM) easy first ure cpu bound, bottleneck hey even at 5200 x2 3000ghz also bottleneck later end of month when i get my mobo.. will post sli score and single card score on core 2 duo e6600 second ure ram timings do differ because of amd mem controller... so better timing, better speed do differ in fps therefore ure gfx score higher .. good card but ure ram and cpu not enough. advice go for x2 4200 or 5200 since now price dropping. both also u have to oc just bought my pc. will buy psu 650w coolermaster. then ddr800 x2 1gb. haih. after that only cpu, sli mobo and cpu. a lott athings have to upgrade again.
cstkl1
Jan 14 2007, 12:38 AM
ok by then u got another problem...
u cant find that graphic card...
heard already in ly a few left..
TS^666^
Jan 14 2007, 12:41 AM
QUOTE(cstkl1 @ Jan 14 2007, 12:38 AM) ok by then u got another problem... u cant find that graphic card... heard already in ly a few left.. mine one of the last in lowyat. nope, im going to sell of mine and get a 8800gts in 4 months time. so before that, i need to upgrade the others item in my rig.
cstkl1
Jan 14 2007, 12:45 AM
ver little diff friend. GTx and ure gto a lot of difference but dont expect much from a gts like big difference like the gtx. actually ure just cpu bound solve that and u can already be hitting shattering scores.
ahpaul82
Jan 14 2007, 12:46 AM
Old score also, Original GTO's BIOS, OC to 700/800 :
cstkl1
Jan 14 2007, 12:47 AM
currently i am offering a top up for my sli 7900gto for any 8800gtx sli anybrand.
TS^666^
Jan 14 2007, 12:53 AM
QUOTE(cstkl1 @ Jan 14 2007, 12:45 AM) ver little diff friend. GTx and ure gto a lot of difference but dont expect much from a gts like big difference like the gtx. actually ure just cpu bound solve that and u can already be hitting shattering scores. so do i need to OC? QUOTE(cstkl1 @ Jan 14 2007, 12:47 AM) currently i am offering a top up for my sli 7900gto for any 8800gtx sli anybrand. .... well i also would prefer a single dx10 8800gtx.
cstkl1
Jan 14 2007, 01:02 AM
yup. u hardly even using the full strength of ure card. find some friend who has a c2d. ask him can do test with ure card.
also a lot of ppl here are buying a 8800gtx and gamin at 1280x1024??
sishhh waste....
go get a 24 inch and game at 1900x1200... then its worth it. remember at low resolution or mid dont expect a lot of difference .... but higher resolution difference becomes apparent. example go check ianho selling his 20inch monitor.. i can understand y since he bought a 8800gtx well its worth it at his new 30inch monitor.
TS^666^
Jan 14 2007, 01:05 AM
QUOTE(cstkl1 @ Jan 14 2007, 01:02 AM) yup. u hardly even using the full strength of ure card. find some friend who has a c2d. ask him can do test with ure card. also a lot of ppl here are buying a 8800gtx and gamin at 1280x1024?? sishhh waste.... go get a 24 inch and game at 1900x1200... then its worth it. remember at low resolution or mid dont expect a lot of difference .... but higher resolution difference becomes apparent. example go check ianho selling his 20inch monitor.. i can understand y since he bought a 8800gtx well its worth it at his new 30inch monitor. my reso is 1440 now. i play strategy games and lags when a lot of troops.
cstkl1
Jan 14 2007, 01:21 AM
hmm cpu bound. are u referring to company of heroes btw
my sli setup with the amd x2 5200 was playing with everything max average fps at 83fps. thats with the latest patch weirdly with single card it is at 68fps average. so u see first the game hasnt been optimized for sli for example like fear second cpu bound cause my friend with e6600 7900gt 512mb can already get 80 fps average with everything high at his oc of 3.2ghz..
TS^666^
Jan 14 2007, 04:01 AM
QUOTE(cstkl1 @ Jan 14 2007, 01:21 AM) hmm cpu bound. are u referring to company of heroes btw my sli setup with the amd x2 5200 was playing with everything max average fps at 83fps. thats with the latest patch weirdly with single card it is at 68fps average. so u see first the game hasnt been optimized for sli for example like fear second cpu bound cause my friend with e6600 7900gt 512mb can already get 80 fps average with everything high at his oc of 3.2ghz.. cd2 is better???
TS^666^
Jan 14 2007, 01:11 PM
I need help, I wanna upgrade end of this month. What should I upgrade? Should i ditch the AMD and mobo and buy a E6600? Or should I get more ram total 2GB and maybe DDR800? Or get X2 5200+?
sempronic
Jan 14 2007, 02:08 PM
QUOTE(^666^ @ Jan 14 2007, 01:11 PM) I need help, I wanna upgrade end of this month. What should I upgrade? Should i ditch the AMD and mobo and buy a E6600? Or should I get more ram total 2GB and maybe DDR800? Or get X2 5200+? no need to upgrade that much and loose ur money.... just upgrade what is necessary 1st....... i think u didnt push ur GC really hard...try compare ur OC setting with other 7900GTO user....try to get to thier setting.... and u should OC ur proc and ram to thier highest limit.... try it.... u should get the higher score.... ps:dont wanna the GC??trade with me ar...heheheh
cstkl1
Jan 14 2007, 02:11 PM
QUOTE(sempronic @ Jan 14 2007, 02:08 PM) no need to upgrade that much and loose ur money.... just upgrade what is necessary 1st....... i think u didnt push ur GC really hard...try compare ur OC setting with other 7900GTO user....try to get to thier setting.... and u should OC ur proc and ram to thier highest limit.... try it.... u should get the higher score.... ps:dont wanna the GC??trade with me ar...heheheh  wei i jual larr remember me... kajang guy selling card for RM1600 for both or rm 850 per card...condtion got buyers for both card then i sell both...
TS^666^
Jan 14 2007, 02:11 PM
QUOTE(sempronic @ Jan 14 2007, 02:08 PM) no need to upgrade that much and loose ur money.... just upgrade what is necessary 1st....... i think u didnt push ur GC really hard...try compare ur OC setting with other 7900GTO user....try to get to thier setting.... and u should OC ur proc and ram to thier highest limit.... try it.... u should get the higher score.... ps:dont wanna the GC??trade with me ar...heheheh  thats the weird thing. im also thingking to change mobo to asus sli. feel like this msi sucks.
cstkl1
Jan 14 2007, 02:15 PM
QUOTE(^666^ @ Jan 14 2007, 02:11 PM) thats the weird thing. im also thingking to change mobo to asus sli. feel like this msi sucks. the m2n32 sli was the best mobo for amd... ok i try again to post wts for gpu
TS^666^
Jan 14 2007, 02:20 PM
QUOTE(cstkl1 @ Jan 14 2007, 02:11 PM) wei i jual larr remember me... kajang guy selling card for RM1600 for both or rm 850 per card...condtion got buyers for both card then i sell both... wei, why never sell earlier. if not i buy from u la. haih. QUOTE(cstkl1 @ Jan 14 2007, 02:15 PM) the m2n32 sli was the best mobo for amd... ok i try again to post wts for gpu that one expensoive wor. 900+ i need normal sli.
cstkl1
Jan 14 2007, 02:29 PM
QUOTE(^666^ @ Jan 14 2007, 02:20 PM) wei, why never sell earlier. if not i buy from u la. haih. that one expensoive wor. 900+ i need normal sli. wei i was selling like for month so many school kids asking for RM 600 crazy and worst still i see joker selling 7900gt for rm600...ish ish ish...
cstkl1
Jan 14 2007, 02:32 PM
i even sold a x2 5200 (1week old) asus m2n32 sli ( 2 months old)to sempronic friend for rm 1300 ishhh... didnt know i was getting a big bonus this month...ishh
TS^666^
Jan 14 2007, 02:33 PM
QUOTE(cstkl1 @ Jan 14 2007, 02:29 PM) wei i was selling like for month so many school kids asking for RM 600 crazy and worst still i see joker selling 7900gt for rm600...ish ish ish... i browse but neberr seee. aiyo. if not i buy 750 also nevermind. save money. now have to sell my mobo. is asus 570ultra sli good? or suggest me better?
TS^666^
Jan 14 2007, 02:34 PM
QUOTE(cstkl1 @ Jan 14 2007, 02:32 PM) i even sold a x2 5200 (1week old) asus m2n32 sli ( 2 months old)to sempronic friend for rm 1300 ishhh... didnt know i was getting a big bonus this month...ishh what system are u looking at now?
cstkl1
Jan 14 2007, 02:34 PM
asus m2n32 sli rocks...
y not u wait for the 680 version for amd.
TS^666^
Jan 14 2007, 02:36 PM
QUOTE(cstkl1 @ Jan 14 2007, 02:34 PM) asus m2n32 sli rocks... y not u wait for the 680 version for amd. cant take it, lag. i also got bonus but dont wanna spend so much ler. use to buy a gaming rig at 14k and hardly use it. thinking to upgrade slowly other item per month.
Lov3Lov3
Jan 16 2007, 01:23 AM
hmm saw some review that 7900GTX is better. but to play games i think it is more than enough for 7900GTO lo. ^^
cstkl1
Jan 16 2007, 02:33 AM
think it was like 3 percent difference average for overclock vs overclock
sempronic
Jan 24 2007, 02:26 AM
QUOTE(cstkl1 @ Jan 16 2007, 02:33 AM) think it was like 3 percent difference average for overclock vs overclock yeah...still remember u.....with the toyota car.... heheh.... cannot afford ar ur GC for this time....heheh
HaHaNoCluE
Feb 6 2007, 02:03 AM
wher to download the MSI 7900GTX bios n flash software leh??? same technique as flashing mobo bios??? i haf a PCI gc ar.. so no worry lor.. can i use thermal paste (those we use for proc cooler) n replace the thermal tape dat use on the gc ram ar?? wher can buy thermal tape os ar??? those single side n double side tape type... tq...
* getting msi 7900gto
mfcm
Feb 6 2007, 06:39 PM
yeah u can flash it like flashing bios from dos..but forgot dy where i get the bios  cz last time save the link..but forgot to copy it b4 reformat..
TS^666^
Feb 6 2007, 08:02 PM
mfcm
Feb 7 2007, 12:15 AM
wakaka u compare gto to gts wit wat model?  hahaha if compare 7900gto vs 8800gts   u noe oredi the result
HaHaNoCluE
Feb 9 2007, 02:12 AM
he's (666) like saying evo faster or porsche turbo faster.... well i'm 1 without 30" monitor n think 7900gto is more than enuf, coz i never care benchmark only wanted for my games... it's like super hyper expensive rams n normal high performance ram... i rather spend my time using my toys than admiring them... well, i like 8800 too but at the moment i don't need it but i'll get it too or ATI... when i need it... so anyway can boost up a bit for 7900gto so that i can have fun with it b4 leaving it someday??? tq...
Added on February 10, 2007, 9:47 pmtried to flash n got this msg:
nvidia firmware update utility (version 5.36)
checking for matches between display adapter(s) and image(s)...
adapter: geforce 7900gt (10de, 0291, 10de, 042b) H:N B:01.pci.d:00,F:00 warning: firmware image pci device id (10de.0290) does not match adapter pci device id (10de.0291) warning: firmware image pci subsystem id (10de.0343) does not match adapter pci subsystem id (10de.042b) warning: firmware image board id (7100) does not match adapter board id (712c)
error: gpu mismatch
a:\>
anyone can help??? me totally no idea... tq....
Added on February 11, 2007, 12:25 ammy problem solved.. gotta add parameter '-4 -5 -6' after the command..
C:\> nvflash 7900gtx.rom -4 -5 -6
got more than 11k at 3dmark05 stock...
This post has been edited by HaHaNoCluE: Feb 11 2007, 12:25 AM
HaHaNoCluE
Feb 13 2007, 12:03 PM
gts too lame to go half way... go all the way to gtx mah... hmmm dat 1 untouchable at d moment... This post has been edited by HaHaNoCluE: Feb 13 2007, 12:04 PM