Hardware The iPhone, First Mac OS based phones
youngkies
Jan 30 2007, 03:25 PM
Monday <--> Friday
at last China show some fight back/feedback/their best ability to iPhone http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/406169QUOTE(fariz @ Jan 30 2007, 11:17 AM) QUOTE A chinese company has apparently announced a new cellular phone that looks remarkably similar to Apple's iPhone, according to one report. The new phone called M8 -- which is said to be designed by Chinese firm Meizu -- features touch-screen functionality and boasts a smaller footprint than Apple's iPhone with an accompanying smaller screen, but offers a higher 720x480 resolution than Apple's 320x480 iPhone. The M8 is driven by an ARM11 processor with video codec support, according to VR-Zone.com, and offers a built-in 3.0-megapixel digital camera on the back side with a 0.3-megapixel camera facing forward. The M8 runs Windows CE 6.0 and offers both Bluetooth as well as TV-out connectivity, catering to GSM+TD-SCMA for mobile communication. Pricing and storage capacity for the new phone are unknown, according to the source, though Apple's iPhone will initially sell for $499 and $599 in 4GB and 8GB capacities, respectively. Source: MacNN -contributed by Fariz- This post has been edited by youngkies: Jan 30 2007, 03:26 PM
youngkies
Feb 26 2007, 12:47 PM
Monday <--> Friday
QUOTE(wei @ Feb 26 2007, 12:52 PM) Apple just aired an iPhone teaser ad in US.  go get it ppl. very teasing Google Video
youngkies
Feb 26 2007, 01:30 PM
Monday <--> Friday
QUOTE(azxel @ Feb 26 2007, 01:58 PM) with all the big hoo haa and lawsuit with the iPhone, why don't they just change the name to 'MacPhone'?  I mean, they call the iBook the MacBook now anyway... but 'MacPod' does sound weird. i thought cisco vs apple over iphone is over recently. for got where i read it from, hardmac most probably, that they going to share that name, and apple hv to be readily integrate cisco tech in apple product/iphone
youngkies
Mar 7 2007, 12:02 AM
Monday <--> Friday
QUOTE(giasens @ Mar 5 2007, 07:17 PM) im not sure it's off topic or what. but a malaysian made the news  LOL Bring in the Clones: iPhone Interface on PocketPC http://osnews.com/comment.php?news_id=17386http://gizmodo.com/gadgets/gadgets/appleyo...ideo-241347.phpit is already in the front news of lowyat.net for sometime. QUOTE(cutun1217 @ Mar 6 2007, 04:30 PM) i saw a lot of clone iphone when i came to china. same idea with Ipod nano and mp4 player. the clone Iphone even offer more functions, as advertised by the seller  . but im not brave enough to try  . just wait for the ori one. china can make/clone/duplicate almost everything. but another thing is, how reliable are their cloned devices (esp. without proper QC)
youngkies
May 19 2007, 08:59 AM
Monday <--> Friday
QUOTE(joshua_chin @ May 18 2007, 06:06 PM) i juz asked the apple shop and they told me the phone will be released in malaysia in january. hope the price is not too high, i wan my iphone leh!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! btw, is this phone supports chinese input method? anyone know about this? there will be chinese support when the phone reach the right market.
youngkies
May 23 2007, 09:40 AM
Monday <--> Friday
QUOTE(Rithrade @ May 23 2007, 09:16 AM) Umm guys? What's all this talk about unlocking? Care to explain plz? I'm already getting my iPhone and bringing it back here. Would REALLY appreciate it if some1 told me it doesn't work in M'sia. According to *Apple* staff, it should work fine. Again, please reply before June. Cause well...u know la. the phone will be locked to cingular when it is released in US, under cingular only. that means, the phone cant use any network other than cingular until an unlock method or generic/unbranded set is made.
youngkies
May 24 2007, 10:42 AM
Monday <--> Friday
Easy, wait patiently til early 2008 then.
youngkies
May 24 2007, 01:13 PM
Monday <--> Friday
QUOTE(Rithrade @ May 24 2007, 11:27 AM) U know as good as I do, that early 2008 will be June 2008  Nope. Early 2008 will be January 2008. Latest will be March as that is the end of Q1 2008.
youngkies
May 24 2007, 11:31 PM
Monday <--> Friday
youngkies
May 25 2007, 07:42 AM
Monday <--> Friday
youngkies
Jun 1 2007, 07:38 AM
Monday <--> Friday
QUOTE(d3vilzzzz @ May 31 2007, 10:27 PM) have u guys heard of the next gen iphone to be a multi touch 1? the multi touch technology was created by Jeff Han..go search his name up on google.. it seems Apple bought the patent for it n thus they are going to use it in the next gen iphone/// how true is this? current to be released iphone is already using the multitouch technology. off track: while LG prada could be close to multitouch technology, but they are called capacitative touchscreen.
youngkies
Jun 2 2007, 12:15 AM
Monday <--> Friday
QUOTE(civic98 @ Jun 2 2007, 12:07 AM) Guys with PDA Phones, check this out, real cool:- http://pocketpcfreewares.com/en/index.php?soft=1840It locks the screen just like the iPhone, to unlock, slide it, IT WORKS!! Attached is the screen from my XDAIIi. wow... must try, but left my xda dock at home
youngkies
Jun 2 2007, 01:13 AM
Monday <--> Friday
QUOTE(civic98 @ Jun 2 2007, 12:17 AM) No need for dock, just copy it to your XDA. It's just amazing things that these ppl at XDA Developers come out with  no dock, no transfer cable, will try to transfer to other phone then send it via BT or IR later. amazed by what a malaysian developed last time, the exact iphone interface alike. Added on June 2, 2007, 2:15 amtransferred it to my xda IIi but not working yet This post has been edited by youngkies: Jun 2 2007, 02:15 AM
youngkies
Jun 2 2007, 08:30 AM
Monday <--> Friday
QUOTE(d3vilzzzz @ Jun 2 2007, 02:40 AM) sorry r fellow pros..me noob noob.. da multi touch tech demoed..da iphone has the same capabilities.. i mean other den being able to sense more den 1 touch? the touchscreen technology used in iphone is called multitouch. basically it is just a name to make it stands out more, sound more better etc. they named it multitouch because basically 1. you use finger rather than stylus, 2. you can use two fingers esp for the pinch, zoom features etc. This post has been edited by youngkies: Jun 3 2007, 10:33 PM
youngkies
Jun 13 2007, 01:23 AM
Monday <--> Friday
QUOTE(seveneleven @ Jun 13 2007, 01:15 AM) No MMS, 3G, GPS, 2MB Cam, No Flash/Java Support for a could-be RM3K phone. I'd think about it. iphone have MMS, no 3G, but edge and wifi. OS X based, ipod-ish, accelerator etc etc is the something else that worth its price. think about it too. it is just of different league to compare with typical nokia, SE, moto etc. Consider PDA phone too, low mp camera, no gps etc, and easily fetch price above 2k.
youngkies
Jun 14 2007, 06:04 AM
Monday <--> Friday
oh ya! to civic. thanks for the intro to unlock2slide. get it work on my xda dy. :claps:
youngkies
Jun 22 2007, 05:15 AM
Monday <--> Friday
QUOTE(SetaNoriyasu @ Jun 22 2007, 04:25 AM) I'm surprised no one has highlighted the China tPhone clones yet lol link --> http://www.engadget.com/2007/06/20/keepin-...clone-on-video/I am not surprised as we already have whole topic talking about that here: http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/406169
youngkies
Jun 23 2007, 03:29 PM
Monday <--> Friday
the video is boring. he is so monotonous  taking away the iphone attractive features.
youngkies
Jun 24 2007, 12:45 AM
Monday <--> Friday
apart of the interface, the ipod alike features is as attractive too.
youngkies
Jun 27 2007, 09:22 PM
Monday <--> Friday
hm.. the pics are ok-ok. typical 2mp camera. but some do have good color and composition.