5 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Bottom

Hardware The iPhone, First Mac OS based phones

wei
post Sep 11 2007, 06:38 PM

Get your Macs done right!
6,496 posts

Maxis = No incoming call. Doesn't matter Hotlink or Postpaid.

And I think 3G is a joke in Malaysia. It's sucks.

What's the point of having the latest when you don't make use of it? Show off?
I have many friends with 3G phone, but some of it don't even know how to setup their MMS, not to mention to make a full use of the phone. laugh.gif doh.gif And how many person going to video call with you?

OK, you can say surf net. But how many urgent email/surfing you'll need to do and you can't wait for wifi hotspot? Maybe some ppl will need that kind of convenient, but definitely not eveyone.
wei
post Sep 11 2007, 07:50 PM

6,496 posts

That one i cant answer, I have to wait till i test it.

I do not know the technical details.
But this is what I've been told by some technical ppl:
a) Maxis have a different way to operate the SIM/ Network.
b) Iphone is not fully GSM compliant, therefor some network won't work/ work fully.

Please bare in mind that's just a plain dicussion. No proof on it.

This post has been edited by wei: Sep 11 2007, 08:01 PM
wei
post Sep 11 2007, 08:04 PM

6,496 posts

abang, no, yet to get it. but have 3 frens using it. All tested with digi, celcom & maxis.
Everything is fine except for maxis. you can check mymug forum if you want the details.

stringfellow, can help me grab one? lol...
will do the unlocking if I have the phone, don't mind doing it together.
wei
post Sep 11 2007, 08:58 PM

6,496 posts

hmmm... if you have the moolah to burn, I would prefer the TurboSIM, as it is not that difficult to do as the Silvercard and it does not void your warranty or do any permenant hardware mod to the phone. And the best thing it should work even after the firmware update.

Until I test the iphonesimefree, TurboSIM should be the best bet at the moment.
wei
post Sep 11 2007, 09:40 PM

6,496 posts

Only the visual voice mail (exclusive AT&T feature) & call in for Maxis not working.
The rest is working just fine. This is the last time I'm going to repeat.
wei
post Sep 12 2007, 11:58 AM

6,496 posts

some further note to that.
there's no disk mode if you're thinking to use the iphone 4GB/8GB as your thumbdrive. there is an app to enable it, but it is still not there yet, you have to install on each computer you want to use the iphone as disk.

browsing on safari is fine, but it doesn't handle downloading of files. let's say your fren email you a link of a .mp4 and you would like to download and watch it later on your iphone. you can't. you can view but you can't save the file.

also, attachmeant in email can be viewed, but not save into other location as local file. Same as above.

you wont get call-in when you're using EDGE browsing unless you have the Apple Bluetooth headset.
wei
post Sep 12 2007, 12:45 PM

6,496 posts

battery is fine so far as i was told. it's not "short". just average. powering such huge screen need a lot of power. so charging every the other day seems ok for me.

for sure once you get it for the first few weeks, it's very hard to let it go. therefor you need more recharging... lol.

I always follow this moto when dealing with gadgets: Buy only if you need it, not you want it.
My 3 years old phone is now giving me problem, so i think the iphone is a good replacement wink.gif

Hey iPhone is my 3rd phone tongue.gif

This post has been edited by wei: Sep 12 2007, 12:46 PM
wei
post Sep 12 2007, 05:07 PM

6,496 posts

QUOTE(bearbrick @ Sep 12 2007, 04:45 PM)
Anyone interested to unlock their iphones?
works with digi celcom and MAXIS biggrin.gif
tested 100%
Are you sure? Maxis call in working?
wei
post Sep 12 2007, 05:13 PM

6,496 posts

yes indeed, there's no build-in file browser. and no bluetooth file sharing profile either. but it's just a matter of time. it's a race with hacker & Apple.

Added on September 12, 2007, 5:14 pm
QUOTE(bearbrick @ Sep 12 2007, 05:13 PM)
yes 100% sure.
is it the same method u PM me before?

This post has been edited by wei: Sep 12 2007, 05:14 PM
wei
post Sep 13 2007, 08:48 AM

6,496 posts

To all iPhone owner that's using Maxis line, I want to know if your SIM is older than 5 yr. Did you ever upgrade your SIM during the jump to 64bit card? I can't remember when but there's once that Maxis offered free upgrade for existing SIM to 64bit card that can do more & store more. I wonder if there's any luck with older SIM.
wei
post Sep 13 2007, 05:20 PM

6,496 posts

Tax are varied depends on state. it about 7% +-
wei
post Sep 13 2007, 11:09 PM

6,496 posts

hehehe.... more poison from me.
wei
post Sep 14 2007, 07:02 PM

6,496 posts

iPhone without contract from apple will not be in the price you see now.
Apple get a cut from ATT as ppl subscribe to the call plans. And ATT also have a deal of bearing some cost for the iPhone. That's why it's ATT exclusive. If not, why you think Apple want to play nice with ATT... lol.
wei
post Sep 14 2007, 08:58 PM

6,496 posts

Hard to believe?
Is just that ppl has been ignoring it until something went wrong like many things & matter around us... lol
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/IMEI

This post has been edited by wei: Sep 14 2007, 09:14 PM
wei
post Sep 14 2007, 11:11 PM

6,496 posts

QUOTE(tishaban @ Sep 14 2007, 10:57 PM)
I'm not saying it's not possible to do so technically. I'm just saying that Maxis which to me is the least agile and innovative telco in Malaysia, would grok the iPhone so early on and intelligently (or stupidly) block all iPhones from receiving incoming calls on their network. I haven't seen Maxis being so proactive before.
Dun get me wrong ya. Not trying to accuse u / ur statement.
I'm just trying to portray something else. ah... nvm... since no one get it.

ok, back to the issue. I've been talking with a telco guy... He explain to me that "Maxis techinician don't know what they're doing". So, go figure what he trying to tell me. And lastly, there's also some tibits saying maxis not interested with iphone as they have contract with blackberry.

Time to consider switching telco... have a good weekend.
wei
post Sep 15 2007, 11:40 AM

6,496 posts

the international are most likely:
1. Language pack
2. Keyboard layout/input
3. Roaming features for ATT

but we can always hope biggrin.gif
wei
post Sep 16 2007, 03:35 PM

6,496 posts

QUOTE(H4RRY @ Sep 16 2007, 03:27 PM)
The price for iPhone compnents is actually just around USD199. So, seeing how Apple is selling it at 599 and now 399, they're making enough money to pay back their research cost. They're tied to AT&T because of the 10% revenue sharing and so they can roll out features like Visual Voicemail. They could have easily not do so, just less $$ for them and since they have no experience, it's a good move. They tried it with Motorola, and now AT&T, soon they might even start becoming a telco themselves

1million iPhones with 10% revenue is like 7 million per month without doing anything. 2 years = 168million. Check ur facts.
USD199? And who told you so?
http://www.tuaw.com/2007/01/19/iphone-manu...t-245-83-maybe/

And how you know they're earning enough? And how you know how much is their R&D cost? You work for them?
laugh.gif making a lot of assumption there huh?

Aren't your last statement supporting mine?
QUOTE(wei @ Sep 14 2007, 07:02 PM)
Apple get a cut from ATT as ppl subscribe to the call plans. And ATT also have a deal of bearing some cost for the iPhone. That's why it's ATT exclusive. If not, why you think Apple want to play nice with ATT... lol.
I wonder who that's need to check the fact here.

This post has been edited by wei: Sep 20 2007, 12:14 PM
wei
post Sep 17 2007, 09:21 AM

6,496 posts

QUOTE(MacDaNife @ Sep 17 2007, 08:15 AM)
Sorry guys... I've been misinformed.

The software unlock process does NOT work with Maxis (call-in) yet.

So I guess it's better to wait.
Haiya.... almost jump off the chair...
wei
post Sep 17 2007, 10:01 AM

6,496 posts

Was told that they will be taken care off by Celcom.
wei
post Sep 17 2007, 10:22 AM

6,496 posts

Me and some other guys are getting some contact to maxis ppl, techinician in precise. Hopefully we get a cleary story of what's going on with them. We might also start a petition.

This post has been edited by wei: Sep 17 2007, 10:23 AM

5 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Top

0.0345sec    0.42    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 6th December 2025 - 05:29 PM