> Wiring for cctv keep on getting spoiled

TSimin
post May 3 2016, 04:39 PM, updated 10y ago

818 posts

Hi

My house has 8 cctv, all connected to one decoder. The problem is, the wiring for these cctv keep on going kaput (not sure the power supply or the video wire), one after another. From the original 8 cctv, now only 4 cctv is working (the other 4 has 'video loss' displayed). I can confirm that the cctv still works, because if I detach the cctv and put it on another place, it's working fine.

Not sure what's the problem though. The wiring is only about a year old. All cctv are located outside my house. I remember that the 3 cctv gone 'offline' few days ago (when it was heavy rain & thunderstorm). Btw I checked the wiring at the cctv end, nothing seems wrong. Even the cctv is still ok... so if somehow the petir renders the wiring kaput, how can I check it?

gs20
post May 3 2016, 04:40 PM

1,685 posts

It's time to tukar installer.
TSimin
post May 3 2016, 04:43 PM

818 posts

QUOTE(gs20 @ May 3 2016, 04:40 PM)
It's time to tukar installer.
Actually one of the cctv that has gone kaput much earlier was installed few years ago by another installer...

Just in case, back to the days when I use streamyx here, my modem would go kaput almost every time there's a thunder here... sweat.gif sweat.gif

Nowadays using unifi no such problem already.
joe_mamak
post May 3 2016, 04:44 PM

363 posts

What sort of wiring or CCTV cameras? Analog? Digital?
TSimin
post May 3 2016, 04:45 PM

818 posts

QUOTE(McD_burger @ May 3 2016, 04:43 PM)
Shock circuit kot
Like router n modem cannot use with got line signal
errr.. .can you explain more?
Mr.7
post May 3 2016, 04:50 PM

1,242 posts

Try to install cal-lab lightning isolator if its caused by lightning
ar188
post May 3 2016, 04:51 PM

9,206 posts

QUOTE(imin @ May 3 2016, 04:39 PM)
Hi

My house has 8 cctv, all connected to one decoder. The problem is, the wiring for these cctv keep on going kaput (not sure the power supply or the video wire), one after another. From the original 8 cctv, now only 4 cctv is working (the other 4 has 'video loss' displayed). I can confirm that the cctv still works, because if I detach the cctv and put it on another place, it's working fine.

Not sure what's the problem though. The wiring is only about a year old. All cctv are located outside my house. I remember that the 3 cctv gone 'offline' few days ago (when it was heavy rain & thunderstorm). Btw I checked the wiring at the cctv end, nothing seems wrong. Even the cctv is still ok... so if somehow the petir renders the wiring kaput, how can I check it?
your cable use original materials or not?
li_hat

213 posts

try swapping the working cctv port (behind/at the decoder) with the faulty one see whether working or not.

sometime the cctv port can become kaput also
Learjet35

500hp
1,931 posts

Try to check for rats..it happened to my house cctv.
Hensem
post May 3 2016, 04:54 PM

22 posts

8 cctv?

Where do you live?

How much money do you have?

What time no one is at home?

Please be specific. PM, thx.
firestonez
post May 3 2016, 04:56 PM

545 posts

usually power adapter kaput..
idoblu
post May 3 2016, 05:31 PM

stars for sale
11,308 posts

Cable tikus gigit already or poor quality cables.

joe_mamak
post May 3 2016, 05:33 PM

363 posts

Maybe cable not meant for ourdoor use.
Bkboy
post May 3 2016, 05:44 PM

80 posts

-

This post has been edited by Bkboy: May 3 2016, 09:49 PM
ectt
post May 3 2016, 05:45 PM

1,049 posts

Hi

our friend trickly left a short-circuit wiring on the surface to let people whose hands are itch to touch it/intentionally to spoil it. one theft or staff touched it with ladder and fell down with the shock.

thumbup.gif
GonnersKL
post May 3 2016, 05:47 PM

114 posts

Hi

actually this is how all CCTV company earn your money

install it is very cheap, RM2k-3k can install

but maintenance is crazy, everytime the vendor come check, they charged RM250 excluding replacement part

last time office, every 3 months sure got some problem one

cabling if remember correctly, RM80 per metre
drowning
post May 3 2016, 05:48 PM

86 posts

Hi

Make sure your installer use cable meant for outdoor use. And shield the cable from sun, heat, water, etc.
TSimin
post May 3 2016, 06:13 PM

818 posts

QUOTE(drowning @ May 3 2016, 05:48 PM)
Make sure your installer use cable meant for outdoor use. And shield the cable from sun, heat, water, etc.
How to check if the cable is meant for outdoor use or not? Tq
TSimin
post May 3 2016, 06:14 PM

818 posts

QUOTE(ar188 @ May 3 2016, 04:51 PM)
your cable use original materials or not?
how to know if original cable or not? the cabling is quite long.

QUOTE(joe_mamak @ May 3 2016, 05:33 PM)
Maybe cable not meant for ourdoor use.
how to check whether it's for outdoor or indoor?

thanks!

joe_mamak
post May 3 2016, 06:30 PM

363 posts

QUOTE(imin @ May 3 2016, 06:14 PM)
how to check whether it's for outdoor or indoor?

thanks!
The cable should have markings. With the markings, you can look up the manufacturer's specifications.

Outdoor cables have better insulation or jacket. To keep out moisture, more durable in hot and cold weather, etc.

See - https://sewelldirect.com/learning-center/rg59-or-rg6

If you are using analog cameras (probably you are using RG59 cables). Analog cables usually have a BNC connector or RCA connector.

You have a multimeter? I would disconnect the camera and test if there is a short somewhere in the cable.

If no short, can join the two wires (short the middle pin on the RCA with the outer part of the connector), to see if there is an break in the cable.

This post has been edited by joe_mamak: May 3 2016, 06:32 PM

3 Pages  1 2 3 >

0.0146sec    0.92    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 17th December 2025 - 03:18 PM