shockk
post Apr 26 2007, 02:24 PM

[ T A R G E T - L 0 C K E D ]
11,882 posts

I think it is all because of demand. biggrin.gif
Just not many people want to buy a M600i 'maybe'.
shockk
post May 8 2007, 07:13 PM

11,882 posts

QUOTE(sonyclie77 @ May 8 2007, 06:54 PM)
Well, after years of using SE, I'm turning back to Nokia. tongue.gif

I once had the same thinking as you. tongue.gif
Any reason why you chose Nokia now? biggrin.gif

I think Sony's software is much more pleasing on the eyes and more functional. But in terms of stability, i definitely think Nokia's software is much more refined.
shockk
post Jun 8 2007, 12:03 AM

11,882 posts

QUOTE(DevilMan @ Jun 7 2007, 08:44 PM)
Guys, help. Tried to connect to my house using wpa=wpa2 psk but failde. i tried creating new account but failed. help me please.
From what I have experienced with the P990i, it only supports WEP security protocol and not WPA.
shockk
post Jun 8 2007, 02:54 PM

11,882 posts

Oh yeah. Please add me to the P990i list too. New user here. biggrin.gif
shockk
post Jun 9 2007, 10:08 AM

11,882 posts

QUOTE(unknowndevices @ Jun 8 2007, 05:39 PM)
wah!...we got a LYN staff as a member here(last time got sonyclie sweat.gif )..congrats...congrats... rclxms.gif
welcome to the club...another proud owner of p990i... thumbup.gif
mind to share how much you bought and where... icon_rolleyes.gif
Bought from Renee in the forums here. I bought a Telstra AP set. biggrin.gif

QUOTE(TOMEI-R @ Jun 8 2007, 11:50 PM)
Guys,
One more thing.....I dont know if you guys noticed or not? But the Network reception of the P990 seems weaker if you compare with other phones. This is especially if you are Using 3G NETWORKS.
I noticed when I compare with my dad's Nokia N73, N73 registers 5/6 or 6/6 bars while my P990i only registers 3/5 Bars. Both are using Celcom 3G.
This has been happening since day 1 I got the phone. When I ask the guy from the shop, he told me that this is normal for all P990i users. Wanna know if you guys notice this ?
Is the reception poorer or is it more accurate compared to other phones or is it like this in order to increase battery life?
Anybody or sifus can clarify this?
Do you experience battery life shortage with 3G on? It seems 3G drains the P990i's battery very fast.

QUOTE(nkkhong84 @ Jun 9 2007, 01:05 AM)
till now i stil cant find out the AP price for m600i and w950i
i keep searching in lyn but knot la = =...all ori price de
No demand perhaps? The P990i units overseas have dropped a lot in pricing (like 300+ USD), the reason why AP sets in Malaysia are priced similar to that as well.

QUOTE(jceh83 @ Jun 9 2007, 03:38 AM)
its more accurate..
hey neoardi..is this the same pouch??
For pouches, you guys can use the P900 pouch.
Fits nicely on my P990i (w/ keypad attached). If you are using w/o keypad, it fits even better. Just becareful to place the front part of the phone away from the pouch's magnet as it will affect it somewhat (not sure affecting the LCD or what, as the backlight on my P990i turns on automatically if I put the front part near the magnet).

QUOTE(name @ Jun 9 2007, 06:22 AM)
eh..i just found on Mobile-Review reviewthey used BST-34 battery
and it is 1120mAh..mine now is BST-33 ..should i change?
http://www.mobile-review.com/review/sonyer...n-p990-en.shtml
If you can get the BST-34 battery, please let us know here how much you bought it and where you bought it from. I'm interested to buy it too. Thanks. biggrin.gif
shockk
post Jun 10 2007, 10:42 AM

11,882 posts

QUOTE(sumtuckieeeee @ Jun 9 2007, 04:19 PM)
erm..planning to get p990i..can anyone tell me the cons of this phone?
Having been in your situation before, I can tell you just one thing. The only way to actually know the cons and whether it is ok for you is for you to get one and use for a few days.
You won't be able to see how the P990i actually works by using it for just a few minutes or by reading reviews from users.
Reason is because the P990i is not just any normal phone.
QUOTE(kwws @ Jun 9 2007, 04:21 PM)
i have been thinking...the 4 shortcut icons in the flip open idle screen can it be changed? i couldnt seem to find any options for it
I don't think you can. The P990i leaves extremely little room for customizing icons, buttons etc. Even most SE phones too. Nokia is better in this respect.
QUOTE(yarusaru @ Jun 9 2007, 04:28 PM)
another one,can the screen be changed to m600 like,that hav today notes,appoinmnt,etc???
There is a today screen. But it is not as good as the m600's one as you need to press on the tabs to access the data. Hopefully, the new upcoming firmware will have the today feature present in the m600 that shows everything at a glance.
QUOTE(kwws @ Jun 9 2007, 04:29 PM)
camera's auto-focus doesnt perform as good as K750i's...u need to focus properly instead of simply pressing it...
It is okay for me. The K750i also has AF problems, but the same goes for many digicams too. So I'm not complaining.
One thing I have to note, the AF on the P990i is much BETTER and FASTER than the AF on the K800i, where the focus is off a lot of times.
QUOTE(kwws @ Jun 9 2007, 04:29 PM)
still, PPC is lots stronger than P990i though...i would recommend you to go for tat if u had the budget...
Yup. If you want stability and 3rd part s/w support, better get a WM phone. The PDA functions of a WM phone is also much more refined.
However, the reason why I chose to dump my WM phone and actually prefer the P990i is because the P990i has an EXCELLENT phone interface, where WM phones have shitty phone functions compared.
If you want a GOOD Phone with decent PDA functions, get the P990i. If you want a GOOD PDA with decent phone functions, get a WM device.
Also, I really like the beautiful Graphical User Interface (GUI) on the P990i. The GUI on WM devices are very boring to look at.

QUOTE(kwws @ Jun 9 2007, 08:25 PM)
wanna ask something guys, currently my P990i RAM capacity upon reboot is only 12.5-12.8mb+-...wad bout those with latest firmware?
Should be normal roughly. My latest firmware also shows around that much free memory. As long as your firmware is about 1-2 revisions back, should be okay unlike those earlier firmware which is extremely lousy.

QUOTE(na.tech @ Jun 10 2007, 10:10 AM)
new P990i user checkin-In  rclxm9.gif
finally got one aleady with package below :-

Sony Ericsson P990i
Battery
Charger
64MB Memory Card
Stereo Headset (HPM-60)
Data Cable
Software CD
2 Units Stylus
Strap
Extra Flip and utility pack
Sync Cradle with USB Adaptor
User Manual
Box
Warranty Card
Official Receipt

firmware :

* Phone: CXC162037 R9F011
* Bluetooth: CXC162058 R5A01
* Organizer: CXC162036 R5A17
* CDA: CDA162007/1 R5A13

plus :
desktop charger (the one that hav stand with green colour light) biggrin.gif
screen protector  biggrin.gif
crystal casing  biggrin.gif
leather pouch  biggrin.gif

nett price : RM1160.00  thumbup.gif
AP SET !  icon_rolleyes.gif

note : cool phone to use n hold !
Dude. The desktop charger and sync cradle are the same, right? biggrin.gif

Btw, is the crystal casing on your phone good?
Can it fit perfectly?
And can fit your P990i w/ crystal case into your leather pouch nicely?
shockk
post Jun 10 2007, 10:53 AM

11,882 posts

QUOTE(na.tech @ Jun 10 2007, 10:52 AM)
**The desktop charger and sync cradle are the same**
mayb woh ..... i duno mayb other users can comment ! sory  sweat.gif
crystal casing is good and i taken out the keypad aleady so lookk okey !
leather pouch fits well with the crystal case !  thumbup.gif
Wow. That's great. Although I like the keypad attached. XD

Mind telling where you got your crystal case and leather pouch from? I'm interested to get it too. Thanks. biggrin.gif
shockk
post Jun 10 2007, 11:03 AM

11,882 posts

QUOTE(na.tech @ Jun 10 2007, 10:56 AM)
i aksed my fren having a phone to purchase for me from kl so i ask him wer n revert back to you , surely !  icon_rolleyes.gif
but i think u cant use crystal case n keypad together wen u wana use pouch !
mayb the pda type that sold @ebay might be okey  thumbup.gif
Thanks, please do let me know when your friend has gotten back to you. biggrin.gif

About the keypad, I think I can remove it too. Should be okay.

Is your leather pouch using magnets? If yes, please check and see if the magnets drain your battery life somewhat. sweat.gif

Here is one user who has experienced battery life drain on P990i (but other phones are definitely affected too I guess) with using leather pouch with magnets: http://forum.mypdacafe.com/viewtopic.php?p...de16ff9e9b4ee3f
shockk
post Jun 11 2007, 03:27 PM

11,882 posts

QUOTE(sniperwolf @ Jun 11 2007, 02:52 PM)
PS: I notice the screen of p990 dont have the auto focus frame like my n95 when accessing the camera. Is that normal?
It doesn't have the frame on mine too. However, on feature phones like K750i and K800i, there is an AF frame.
shockk
post Jun 11 2007, 04:15 PM

11,882 posts

QUOTE(na.tech @ Jun 11 2007, 04:12 PM)
im wifi- ing with my cool p990i here ! awsome phone to have !
lol. thumbup.gif thumbup.gif

if you goin wifi at places like starbucks which have power sockets, just bring along your charger (if it is not too inconvenient tongue.gif) for super surfing time. XD
shockk
post Jun 11 2007, 05:43 PM

11,882 posts

QUOTE(iRonTech @ Jun 11 2007, 04:17 PM)
or bring the USB cable (make sure its extended) plug to pretty gal's laptop?  tongue.gif
hahaha. nice one. biggrin.gif

BTW, have any of you tried Float Mobile Agent for symbian UIQ 3? If yes, please share.
shockk
post Jun 11 2007, 06:45 PM

11,882 posts

QUOTE(lokgotz @ Jun 11 2007, 05:56 PM)
there is a small/tiny/miniture depends on what u wanna call it, indicator on the bottom left....where the camera logo is....

it'll turn green when AF is activated.....
Yeah. But there should be a frame in the middle for reference during focusing.

Anyway, the AF on the P990i seems very fast compared to K800i's AF. biggrin.gif

QUOTE(TOMEI-R @ Jun 11 2007, 06:02 PM)
QUOTE(TOMEI-R @ Jun 11 2007, 01:22 PM)
Guys,

I tried updating my phone through SEUS. I tried running the update service but I keep getting the message 'There was an error setting up a local database, please try to restart the application".
Did any of you guys experience this before? Is this a problem with my own pc or is it a problem with SEUS?
try to follow the instruction properly
u will not have any probs..
sure
No...u dont understand. When I first click the update service, it downloaded the new update to my pc. When it finished downloading then the message pop up and I have to close the whole program.....still cant rectify it yet. Keep getting the message "There was an error setting up a local database, please try to restart the application". This happens after the program shows "CHECKING FOR UPDATES" .Anybody can help out there?
Do this:
- Download the SEUS setup file again (delete your old one, could be corrupted)
- Uninstall SEUS
- Restart your PC
- Reinstall SEUS
- Run the update again
shockk
post Jun 11 2007, 09:46 PM

11,882 posts

QUOTE(Otoyama88 @ Jun 11 2007, 07:56 PM)
Hua.a..... Dear Expert owner of sony ericsson. laugh.gif ... What is the special ability of SE P990i can do other than SE M600i..  cry.gif  Cauz I aledy Hav My SE M600i(CAsino Royale Phone  rclxm9.gif  rclxms.gif ).....
Most importantly, for me, is that the P990i has the extra numeric keypad with dpad and command keys, which can make it just like your basic SE phone such as the K800i.

I tried removing the flip keypad from the P990i and the functionality and ease of use was much poorer.

Thus, for me, the P990i is just a perfect phone as it combines the two worlds of the flip keypad (for superior single-handed usage and super-fast SMS-typing via T9) and the PDA mode which does not need to be explained.

All in all, I would not even look at the P1i due to its lack of a flip keypad and it does not even have a dpad on its keyboard. All navigation is done by either touchscreen or jogdial only, which you definitely cannot do well single-handedly. smile.gif
shockk
post Jun 12 2007, 11:23 AM

11,882 posts

I'm looking for a crystal case for P990i that also includes a flip keypad crystal case part. If any of you can find, please let me know. biggrin.gif
shockk
post Jun 12 2007, 11:29 AM

11,882 posts

QUOTE(sharkie @ Jun 12 2007, 11:27 AM)
i oso baught 2 crystal case from kit kit... 1 dark color and 1 clear color... only rm3 each
but the problem is after u put on the crystal case... the phone wont fit the cradle anymore... and its very difficult to take the mspd out with the crystal case on
damn. never thought about that. thanks for informing. biggrin.gif

i guess i'll never use a crystal case on my p990i. the cradle is very important for me. smile.gif
shockk
post Jun 12 2007, 11:37 AM

11,882 posts

QUOTE(sharkie @ Jun 12 2007, 11:35 AM)
u r so lucky that i told u... i baught 2 crystal casing... now all throw aside liao... coz i need to use the cradle to show offffffffff. hehehe. and oso i take the mspd out a lot. who wants my used p990i crystal case? 1 for rm1.50.. take 2 at rm3.
i also think that using the cradle is better for the phone's port to last longer too.
every time i connect the cable direct to the phone, doesn't seem very secure to me.
shockk
post Jun 12 2007, 12:22 PM

11,882 posts

QUOTE(jjsia @ Jun 11 2007, 12:34 PM)
where can i get the pouch? interested. thx
i bought mine in Low Yat Plaza. one of those phone shops. i bought it about 1-2 years ago, though.

but the magnets are really too strong and can cause problems.

so i took those magnets out (then pasted back the torn out part with glue). as shown in the picture attached.

it is not your basic black colour fridge-type magnet, but those metallic ones which are stronger i think.

shockk
post Jun 12 2007, 02:08 PM

11,882 posts

QUOTE(kwws @ Jun 12 2007, 02:04 PM)
planning to get BST-34 spare battery...not sure whether it fits or not though..
should be able to fit according to mobile-review.com's review. biggrin.gif

you managed to find it? mind telling where and how much? thanks. notworthy.gif
shockk
post Jun 13 2007, 07:35 PM

11,882 posts

you guys don't use the default alarm in the phone? that seems really loud for me already.
shockk
post Jun 14 2007, 09:38 AM

11,882 posts

how long does it take for you all to charge a P990i?

the manual says 4 hours needed. but mine charges to full charge in much less time than 4 hours. sweat.gif

4 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.1121sec    0.35    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 28th November 2025 - 10:00 AM