QUOTE(mountguy @ Jul 11 2007, 04:41 PM)
maybe you can try to reflash your firmware or change your firmware's CDA? but that is quite risky and might brick your phone. Sony-Ericsson :: Sony Ericsson M600/P990/W950 ::, [ UIQ 3 ] For Life
Sony-Ericsson :: Sony Ericsson M600/P990/W950 ::, [ UIQ 3 ] For Life
Jul 11 2007, 07:29 PM
11,882 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
Jul 12 2007, 02:30 PM
Jul 12 2007, 06:09 PM
QUOTE(kysham @ Jul 12 2007, 05:43 PM) Hi all, Yours is the second latest firmware. I'm using the latest firmware now and it is worse than the older firmware.New P990i user. Phone: CXC162037 R9F011 Bluetooth: CXC162058 R5A01 Organizer: CXC162092 R5A17 CDA: CDA162007/8 R5A16 Dunno, if this is supposed to be the latest firmware or not. Haven't checked yet. Use first lah... as long as it had not died on me yet, I am happy with it. Sham. If i were you, i wouldn't upgrade. |
Jul 13 2007, 12:37 AM
QUOTE(kysham @ Jul 13 2007, 12:32 AM) Hahaha.... thanks for the advice shockk. guess i will keep this version of the firmware for now then. haven't had the phone hanged up on me... yet. If I do a hard reset, the firmware should still be the same right? You have to excuse me because I am still reading at page 35 of this thread..... yup. your firmware will still be the same as the firmware rom is still untouched in a master reset. but make sure to backup all your data especially phone book, calendar, etc as the master reset will clear it all.Sham. |
Jul 13 2007, 03:19 PM
The P990i was a disaster from the start.
No amount of firmware upgrades can save it. |
Jul 13 2007, 04:42 PM
QUOTE(kysham @ Jul 13 2007, 04:37 PM) Well, put it this way, at the current AP prices, the amount of functionality this "disaster phone" can offer is truly amazing. Sure the frustrated early adopters will be fuming at the price they paid for it when it was launched, but cannot deny that at a little below RM1.2k (AP price), there is nothing within range that can beat this phone for functionality (well, not in my view anyway Yeap. The phone's features and functionalities are the best you can find for around the price.Meanwhile, I am going to try and enjoy using this phone. Peace brothers, I hope to learn more from you guys. Sham. But sadly, the damned bugs and flawed hardware overshadow whatever features or price the phone has going for it, especially Mountguy's constant phone-freeze problem. |
Jul 13 2007, 05:36 PM
Jul 13 2007, 05:49 PM
Jul 16 2007, 09:00 PM
QUOTE(wkyoong @ Jul 16 2007, 08:53 PM) P990i the best?? Dun really agree with that after using mine for bout a month. Yea its packed with features and wifi is really a great thing to have but the fact that apps dont close unless it is shut down in the task manager is a real let down. Swiss manager does rectify this but it doesnt when apps are open in flip closed mode, though the "clean up when idle" feature does get the job done but it also closes apps like the music player after a few minutes when no button is pressed Yeah. Especially so when the P990i has extremely low free memory to run programs. And worst part is, the memory management is so inefficient and ends up restarting the phone and crashing it.But with the current AP prices...... gogogogo Or better wait for the P1 if UIQ is still ur thing Windows Mobile PDA phones, on the other hand, have a proper memory management system. Even though most of the RAM in WM PDAs is not a lot, you almost always never will have to experience auto-restart or random crashes due to the powerful Windows Mobile OS as compared to the lame UIQ software. |
Jul 16 2007, 09:12 PM
QUOTE(jceh83 @ Jul 16 2007, 09:05 PM) lol. reason why i'm still keeping my P990i now is because the UI still looks pretty nice compared to Windows Mobile. and the little things in life that make things easier with the P990i such as the flip keypad, like having a PDA + Proper Phone in just one device. |
Jul 16 2007, 09:15 PM
QUOTE(Addonics @ Jul 16 2007, 09:01 PM) actually i prefer this phone b'coz of its design....really great among SE phone...somemore it got many application that suit to me... I agree with you about the P1i.hmm....about P1 i don like its design also although it come with many application but i still prefer my P990i hehhee The lack of the flip keypad is a real letdown, although the QWERTY keyboard is much better than P990i's QWERTY. SE should at least make a P990i-variant of the P1i. Means a P1i with flip keypad. |
Jul 16 2007, 09:51 PM
QUOTE(kwws @ Jul 16 2007, 09:48 PM) have u guys noticed the dopod fair? omg...i think im gonna get myself a dopod soon...haha...im starting to get bored on UIQ....no more apps to play with!!! urgh! don't! don't be poisoned by the dark side. but firstly, do you use your p990i for organizing? like calendar, notes, to-do list, etc? |
Jul 17 2007, 02:37 AM
QUOTE(davidliew21 @ Jul 17 2007, 01:49 AM) hi all senior here, i am new.senior jceh 83 introduce me this thread.after taking a look inside.the information really helps me.but now i am facing a problem with the language.my version is R9F011 i wish to get the chinese software.any senior know about it???ops....forget to tell, i am using P990i try searching this thread by keying in the words 'cda' into the search box. look at how the some people have done it and the steps taken to do it. if you are looking for chinese s/w, look for the Singapore CDA version.QUOTE(jceh83 @ Jul 17 2007, 02:19 AM) i used notes quite often..and mswords to for my emcee-ing and event jobs... if only those are your uses, then the P990i should be enough. i find only the calendar function on WM to be superior to all phone/PDA calendars out there. other than that, other organizer functions on the P990i seem ok to me. sigh...what shud i use?? am thinking of downgrading to k810 or n73 or upgrade to 818pro or Atom Exec btw, i think it is a really bad idea for anyone who uses a PDA phone to downgrade to a non-PDA phone. xD |
Jul 21 2007, 12:18 PM
QUOTE(kysham @ Jul 20 2007, 05:43 PM) Hahaha... don't know about you guys, but I always get the phobia that there will be a power outage or something screw'd up with the internet connection during updating and it is going to brick my phone. So I never have the courage to update my phone's firmware online. i think the worst case also, the problem can be rectified.haven't really seen anyone that 100% brick their phone. even if got problem, somehow the phone can be fixed with a reflash. |
Jul 26 2007, 01:34 AM
QUOTE(lokgotz @ Jul 25 2007, 01:12 PM) yeah....i am planning to sell off my M600i to get a N80i.....I miss my wifi on my P990i(sold)...but i like my M600i's keyboard..hehe Wifi on non-touchscreen phones are completely useless, imho. If you want decent web-browsing experience, you will need a touchscreen. QUOTE(areankim @ Jul 26 2007, 12:31 AM) can anyone tell me where to get p990 silicon case? cant find it here and lelong.com RM35 at Novacell? That's their normal price which is overpriced. At least their crystal cases are RM10.saw it in one utama selling for rm35 Try looking around phone shops for the silicon case. Or buy from Garage Sales here. |
Jul 30 2007, 12:05 PM
Anyone know where to get replacement stylus for cheap for P990i?
Jul 30 2007, 02:21 PM
QUOTE(Addonics @ Jul 30 2007, 01:27 PM) yeah both also lost. if cannot buy replacement stylus, maybe have to buy those pen stylus. |
Jul 30 2007, 09:22 PM
QUOTE(Addonics @ Jul 30 2007, 05:12 PM) hey bro...i saw someone selling the stylus in garage sales..rm30 only mayb u can buy from him...wait i try to find the thread for you found it bro...at here QUOTE(areankim @ Jul 30 2007, 06:40 PM) Thanks guys. I'll check those out. Also seriously considering those PDA pen/stylus combo such as the Capdase ones. Since they are big, should be harder to lose or misplace than the P990i's one. |
Jul 31 2007, 08:22 AM
QUOTE(Addonics @ Jul 30 2007, 11:20 PM) cannot wei. the stylus itself doesn't look to stylish to put around the neck. QUOTE(sonyclie77 @ Jul 30 2007, 11:30 PM) wah. not bad the price. thanks for informing. QUOTE(davidliew21 @ Jul 31 2007, 02:07 AM) to all seniors here,i need a help urgent. I was in your shoes before. Had some packet-loss in my DSL line, then the update went idle. yesterday 1 of the senior teached the way to change the CDA so that i can read and write for my P990i. but until now is over 24hours already the updating software still show 98%.i dun dare to turn off the pc coz i scare will brick the phone is there any way to save my phone???help!!!! I think you have no choice but to restart the flash. It should not brick your phone la. I've never actually hear anyone bricked their phone that way. Worse come to worst, it will just take a reflash to solve the problem if the phone seems bricked. |
Jul 31 2007, 06:48 PM
QUOTE(Addonics @ Jul 31 2007, 11:38 AM) hey bro shockk... erm.... i thought of that, but crazy la. wanna buy 5 is already like RM125. mayb you should buy half dozen of the stylus as your spare.... ahhhaa...so you got 6 times to replace it if you DO lost for 6 times....hehe so i'm probably getting the PDA pen by capdase or faber-castell. at least, if i use those as a ink-pen, should be less chance to lose them. QUOTE(kysham @ Jul 31 2007, 06:30 PM) The only way I can think of someone losing ALL 6 stylus is if they buy 6 units, use one of them and store the other 5 units. Then when that 1 unit was lost, they go and look for the other 5 units. But the problem is, they forgot where they put the other 5 units oredi so in the end lost all 6 units! lol. you are so right. Hahaha...... that's a scenario that i've encountered numerous times for other stuff. |
| Change to: | 0.0458sec
Time is now: 29th November 2025 - 05:17 AM |