hp-compaq Presario V3000 series AMD & intel V2, Owners, Comments, Drivers, Support n Etc

mindkiller6610
post Feb 7 2007, 01:32 AM

IT-Motion : Your Digital Solutions
2,477 posts

Hi all..i m new here..

wanted to get a laptop soon..

have few questions in mind...

is the Hp-compaq Presario V3218 using the Centrino Duo Technology ?
becoz some brochures say Centrino Duo, some just stated Intel Pentium Duo Core..what processor this model uses?

and if compared to the AMD model (V3222), which one is a better deal?

how are their battery lifes generally? planned for normal usage..smile.gif

Thanks in advance notworthy.gif

This post has been edited by mindkiller6610: Feb 7 2007, 01:33 AM
mindkiller6610
post Feb 14 2007, 09:02 PM

2,477 posts

hi all.. notworthy.gif

new user here..

Compaq Preasario V3218TU smile.gif

how to take out the Express Card slot dummy card ? i cant take it out..

This post has been edited by mindkiller6610: Feb 14 2007, 09:03 PM
mindkiller6610
post Feb 15 2007, 04:38 AM

2,477 posts

NEED HELP HERE ~~!!
cry.gif cry.gif

I cant install my WinXP on my V3218TU, it says "Setup cannot find any hard-drive"

but i was able to boot the FreeDos. However, it says only 5.0GB free space left.

it sounds like the hard-disk is not yet formatted by the manufacturer.

Any ideas ??

Added on February 15, 2007, 5:38 amafter some tweaking, problem seems solved..

will try install WinXP tomorrow..now still running win98.

Added on February 15, 2007, 7:15 amstill no luck cry.gif cry.gif

it keeps saying "windows cannot detect ur hard disk"

HELP ~!!!

This post has been edited by mindkiller6610: Feb 15 2007, 07:15 AM
mindkiller6610
post Feb 15 2007, 04:01 PM

2,477 posts

QUOTE(justabigguy @ Feb 15 2007, 07:54 AM)
!!!correstion!!!!
I also have the same problem I bought a presario V3128TU with freedos but when tried to install Xp, Xp could not detect my hardisk eventhough the sistem does. Then i boot with Win98 installation cd and manage to format the hardisk and manage to get 80 gig but when i tried again to install xp the installtion could not detect my hardisk again. I called the hp customer care centre and they said to disble to native sata support on the bios. I did and it manage to procedd but when it reboot the xp installation displayed a fatal error saying it cannot copied file to the hardisk.
Then i jump to the internet and seaching for an answer. It happened that XP is having problem is u install it on a sata drive. Have to F6 and load the sata driver manual via a floppy disk...haha..now come the biggest trick..this notebook does not come with a floppy disk..and how the hell im going to install the sata driver..and xp installation only recognize floppy as a medium to load the driver..
i hope this will shed some light and im still trying to find a solution to this.

Added on February 15, 2007, 8:07 amfound something in the net...this maybe will help involve usb external floppy and some slipstream stuff look complicated..
http://www.neowin.net/forum/index.php?showtopic=532561&st=0
Thanks alot bro..

I disable the Native Sata Support and it works...Installing WinXP SP2.

but now I have problem installing the sound driver. sad.gif sad.gif

QUOTE(bose00 @ Feb 15 2007, 12:47 PM)
hi, i am using V3203TU.

Currently, using Windows XP PRO.

Have done all the updates inclusive sp2 n etc.

Installed UAA , mine is using Intel Core 2 Processor but the Coxenant for Intel cannot work so i installed the Coxenant for AMD . It works for the SOUND.

but lastly, i still not able to get the MODEM to function. i check the control panel -> hardware-> there a sign "Modem Device on High Definition Audio Bus" driver still not installed and i d/l the driver from hp site but it still did not work out for me.

It prompted "cannot locate media device"

Anyone know how to resolve this problem ?? thanks i 'd really appreciate it.
Same here...anyone can help ?

sad.gif sad.gif

mindkiller6610
post Feb 16 2007, 03:07 PM

2,477 posts

QUOTE(emofags @ Feb 15 2007, 10:57 PM)
try to use the vista driver. it works for me (the audio and modem), although i don't understand why.. (and maybe risky)
is it ? later i try vista driver..

for now i have manually installed the XP driver ..it works..but it is hassle to install.. sweat.gif

QUOTE(LightEnchanter @ Feb 16 2007, 11:00 AM)
just need to disable the SATA in your bios , even u enabling it after u installed XP will caused bluescreen , so just make SATA disabled at the time , that's all
one more thing, for 3218 user , can your laptop go into STANDBY ??? Mine won't wake up , can anyone of you try on your lappy??? THANKS
ya..at first i dunno that..so i keep bumping on the wall..after that i disable it..I can install windows Xp, but must be windows Xp SP2..no SP or SP1 give me errors..

for the standby thing, my lappy works fine,

I press the "fn" then the "moon" key, after that it will standby, when it is standing by, the power button will keep blinking, then i just press any keys to wake it up..including the power key..

have u tried it without battery with power cable plugged in ?

QUOTE(tplcaik @ Feb 16 2007, 12:51 PM)
Try another win xp sp2 disc. My friend also having the same problem but it solved after buy another version of sp2. May be that version cant support or got error. U using xp sp1 or lower? Try to change other version than that n see could help or not.
ya..already tried Win XP SP2 from my brother..it works fine...smile.gif

Added on February 16, 2007, 3:08 pmoh ya guys..one more thing

when i check my lappy with CPU-Z, it shows my ram is PC5300 (333MHz)

i mean, since it is PC5300, shouldnt it be 666Mhz ??

or maybe it is dual core, so 333Mhz x 2 = 666Mhz ?

This post has been edited by mindkiller6610: Feb 16 2007, 03:40 PM
mindkiller6610
post Feb 19 2007, 01:11 AM

2,477 posts

3204AU is 3203AU + Windows Vista Home Basic (RM300)

other things are totally same..
mindkiller6610
post Feb 20 2007, 09:38 AM

2,477 posts

how u guys take out the Express Card Dummy card ??

I still cant figure how to take it out without the help of the toothpicks..

there were no button, no spring, nothing. Cant pull it out by bare hands.
mindkiller6610
post Feb 20 2007, 07:23 PM

2,477 posts

QUOTE(sokdotcom @ Feb 20 2007, 10:39 AM)
have you tried pressing it? press the whole card.
Opss..
ya..it works..after i press harder and harder... icon_rolleyes.gif

Thanks all notworthy.gif

oh ya..add me to the list at the first page smile.gif Intel user here.

QUOTE(nemesis86 @ Feb 20 2007, 01:17 PM)
im not familiar with express card, isit a pcmcia card???
isit possible to insert this card????

http://www.creative.com/products/product.a...0&product=10769
i think it is newer version of pcmcia card..

This post has been edited by mindkiller6610: Feb 20 2007, 07:32 PM
mindkiller6610
post Feb 27 2007, 10:17 AM

2,477 posts

same problem..cannot disable the sound from speaker and headphone no sound..

installed Conexant HD audio..doesnt have headphone volume control.
mindkiller6610
post Feb 27 2007, 04:43 PM

2,477 posts

QUOTE(mindkiller6610 @ Feb 27 2007, 10:17 AM)
same problem..cannot disable the sound from speaker and headphone no sound..

installed Conexant HD audio..doesnt have headphone volume control.
Problem solved. After installing the AMD driver..although mine is Intel.

ftp://ftp.hp.com/pub/softpaq/sp33001-33500/sp33470.exe
mindkiller6610
post Feb 27 2007, 06:39 PM

2,477 posts

QUOTE(l_berd @ Feb 27 2007, 06:17 PM)
i also wanna try see if it works o not.. btw, how u find this solution?
i read somewhere in this thread that someone had tried installed the sound driver to AMD on Intel machine and it works...so i give it a try..

i still dunno what's the difference between the intel and amd version, except the version no. , amd one is older...

This post has been edited by mindkiller6610: Feb 27 2007, 06:40 PM
mindkiller6610
post Feb 28 2007, 12:37 PM

2,477 posts

harddisk gives mea high pitch "giiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiii" sound when the laptop is on..even the harddisk is on idle..

the sound is not loud..but u can hear it when u put ur ears on the keyboard..

anyone the same ??

This post has been edited by mindkiller6610: Feb 28 2007, 12:37 PM
mindkiller6610
post Feb 28 2007, 01:28 PM

2,477 posts

QUOTE(tplcaik @ Feb 28 2007, 01:12 PM)
U two using v32xx now? New laptop alr got problem liao ah? still considering to get it or not.Grr... scare will regret after buy it. Its look like v31xx model more stable than v32xx. sad.gif  Am i right?
ya..i m on v3218TU.

using win xp. beside install driver is a headache..the high pitch sound which i guess it is normal for laptop..

everything is fine..and I like the speakers.. rolleyes.gif

This post has been edited by mindkiller6610: Feb 28 2007, 01:28 PM
mindkiller6610
post Feb 28 2007, 07:17 PM

2,477 posts

QUOTE(driftmeister @ Feb 28 2007, 02:36 PM)
which hdd doesn't make noise ? i mean sound
the dead one.. whistling.gif whistling.gif
mindkiller6610
post Mar 2 2007, 12:50 AM

2,477 posts

QUOTE(@m4t @ Mar 2 2007, 12:12 AM)
hi..sorry guys..interrupting..

i'm compaq presario V3218 new user...

just one check with u guys..when i put in the headphone..the  notebook's speaker should mute rite..but it does differently with mine..

both headphone and speaker sounds at the same time..expert pls advise..thanks
QUOTE(destfull @ Mar 2 2007, 12:26 AM)
this is same to me.. for 1 month i've tried to googling but can't find the answer

Added on March 2, 2007, 12:32 am

ehe.. there's no v3100... (referring to your answer)
tml morning i will post up a tutorial with screenshot on how to install sound driver and make the headphone jack works..
mindkiller6610
post Mar 2 2007, 02:18 PM

2,477 posts

it is because of the harddisk (WD to be specify)
not because of the processor smile.gif
mindkiller6610
post Mar 2 2007, 07:25 PM

2,477 posts

V3218TU Audio drivers Tutorial (might be applicable on other models though)

Ok..here is the tutorial to install sound driver on V3218TU with headphone jack working and no speaker sound when using headphone.

NOTE : if u have previously installed a working sound driver but the speaker is not mute when u r using headphone,u need to uninstall the previous driver. On Device Manager choose Conexant High Definition Audio and click uninstall.

download this softpaq(driver files)

ftp://ftp.hp.com/pub/softpaq/sp33001-33500/sp33470.exe

double click the exe and let it extracts the files to

C:\swsetup\SP33470 (u can choose other path, but i will use the default path here).

after it extracts the files..it will try to detect the hardware or media and it will eventually gives u an error in detecting media or so..that is normal. Just click OK.

after that, go to Device Manager, highlight High Definition Audio Bus or sumthing like that, right click, choose install driver/update driver..

then follow as in the screenshots..

Click YES/OK when the windows message pop out, and let it install the driver.

Restart ur laptop and try out the speaker and headphone. It should work now.

Hope this helps and Good Luck smile.gif

This post has been edited by mindkiller6610: Mar 5 2007, 12:40 AM
mindkiller6610
post Mar 3 2007, 12:00 AM

2,477 posts

QUOTE(gethosted @ Mar 2 2007, 11:00 PM)
Dear COMPAQ PRESARIO V3222/V3223/V3218/V3219/V3203/V3204,

Can you show your Windows Experience Index (WEI)?

Please list the Compaq Presario Model V3xxx with the details.

Not many vista users here... wink.gif wink.gif
mindkiller6610
post Mar 3 2007, 12:31 AM

2,477 posts

QUOTE(avenloh @ Mar 3 2007, 12:22 AM)
MY V3218TU COME WITH T2250 1.73GZH PROCESSOR? BUT I SEARCH ON WEB AND EVEN THE BOX IS NOTE THAT SHOULD B T2050 0r T2060 1.6GZH PROCESSOR RIGHT?
same here..

the supervisor tell me that a batch of V3218TU is come with 1.73Ghz T2250.

u should feel glad rather than worry.
mindkiller6610
post Mar 3 2007, 12:42 AM

2,477 posts

QUOTE(avenloh @ Mar 3 2007, 12:36 AM)
i c...i tot im the only lucky guy drool.gif
so did i till the supervisor told me..

so how was ur 3218 doing? can get the sound to work ?? it gives me few nights of headaches b4 I figure out that..

Added on March 3, 2007, 12:45 am
QUOTE(rockdaman @ Mar 3 2007, 12:39 AM)
my laptop V3222 bottom left corner  is very hot too...any solution???
that is the harddisk area..

use a cooling pad, or stack up ur laptop to make a good air flow underneath ur laptop..
use a table fan if u have one and put it at the side of the laptop..

This post has been edited by mindkiller6610: Mar 3 2007, 12:45 AM

0.0237sec    1.20    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 17th December 2025 - 02:12 PM