Air-con caught fire

TSklow
post Apr 14 2016, 02:07 PM, updated 10y ago

Does anyone have encountered this?

My air-con caught fire in the earlier morning of Sunday, luckily no life or large damage. On Monday I contacted Panasonic because this was the second air-con that caught fire in 3 years plus time. I want to know it was device or installation problem.

Beware of this during installation

This post has been edited by klow: Apr 14 2016, 02:08 PM
TSklow
post Apr 14 2016, 03:34 PM

It is 2.5hp. My installer used the bi-connector, one is bigger one and the burned one is smaller. Panasonic technicians came to check and said it was the wrong installing method. The wire are ok but not the connector. They will make report to the office about that shop.

long story

Update
14/04 4pm+ The shop owner's son called and said will send back the fixed indoor unit but is not going to install it for me. This is because I have complaint to Panasonic and Panasonic had called to scold them.

Evening time, the shop owner's son called and said tomorrow morning will install for me.

15/04 At this moment, I also don't know how many time he needs to turn and turn. If he comes to install, I think I better have some device to record on what he says.

Changed to come over at noon, but whole day no showed. Called but not picked up.

16/05 The shop sent the workers around 7pm, brought a letter for us to sign. the letter indicated they will not responsible to anything happened to the installed air-con since we don't want to hack the wall. (This is what I don't want because if hack the wall and redo all the wiring work, it will need to take down the whole plaster ceiling. Got baby in house, it is not suitable to do renovation. Further more, as Panasonic technicians said, just put socket before the air-con will solve the problem.) I said I can sign the letter, but they also need to sign a letter for me. A letter that I have prepared in advance. In the letter, it was written that they will not have any responsibility to this air-con since I don't want to hack the wall but they will have responsibility to other air-con which were installed by them. As I think this is fair and just solve the problem. The worker "stone" awhile and said will tell the boss and will let us know on Monday. The indoor unit is still with them.

Today is Tuesday. . . . . . Really fed up already, I will arrange to get a new air con this afternoon. Thanks Hup Fatt Hing, Damansara Jaya for this kind services.

This post has been edited by klow: Apr 19 2016, 11:29 AM
TSklow
post Apr 15 2016, 09:35 AM

QUOTE(chickenessence @ Apr 14 2016, 11:33 PM)
Since u all mentioned it could be the wire, so is it confirmed that it is the wire that burnt? And for 3 years time it didnt burn but until today?

From the picture it seem like the aircon itself is burning.. I think can throw this problem to the Panasonic supplier as they might want to clear their good name.
This was the second time in 3 years time, so total two air conditioners. Not Panasonic problem, just the installer.
The Panasonic technician said the connectors that the installer used cause short circuit and melt, eventually will burn the unit. The connectors and wire were hidden behind the indoor unit, it burned the back cover of the indoor unit when the wire short circuit.

This post has been edited by klow: Apr 15 2016, 09:37 AM
TSklow
post Apr 15 2016, 12:45 PM

QUOTE(ah_suknat @ Apr 15 2016, 12:03 PM)
what?

They refuse to install becuz kena marah?
Yesterday evening he changed his mind and said will come over to install it in the morning but now already noon.
TSklow
post Apr 15 2016, 02:42 PM

QUOTE(otua @ Apr 15 2016, 12:53 PM)
record all conversations, time and person you spoke to, submit to panasonic after everything done. if not just give panasonic a call and request a change of technician
Panasonic technicians already checked with the air-con. They asked the dealer to fix the back cover since it was the dealer installation problem. At the moment it was burned luckily we were there, quickly turned off everything and put out the fire. So only the back cover was burned, electronic parts were checked by panasonic and all still ok. The dealer already taken the indoor unit, just don't know when will it be installed. Anyway, Panasonic already knew this.

0.0222sec    0.56    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 6th December 2025 - 11:15 AM