20 Pages « < 17 18 19 20 >Bottom

Working in Japan, Malaysian working in Japan.

daudKilat
post Jun 18 2019, 03:54 PM

103 posts

QUOTE(moon004 @ May 19 2019, 05:08 PM)
Hi @orangegurl, i think it is hard if you dont have skills that are outstanding, like maybe software engineering, and etc, it's easier if u have degree, about speaking japanese, i think it depends on company, and honestly, i just started worked here for almost 1 week already, and i found out that every fcking thing is in Japanese, but of course there r sometimes got abit of english like the kiosk and etc, everything related to government stuff is all in Japanese (service, fill up document, etc). I got a degree in Electrical engineering, but i taught myself software engineering stuff, now i work as Software Engineer here in Sapporo. You can ask me anything related to work and etc on my email: herodotus94@gmail.com
Software Enginee? Kind of interested. Got any lubang? biggrin.gif
TSFlanegan
post Jun 23 2019, 10:40 PM

146 posts

Life in Japan : Nushima Island.

SUSTheRant
post Jul 3 2019, 10:29 PM

688 posts

Hi. Just curious.if say I am earning around 18k, how much should I expect in Japan
sacwoc
post Jul 5 2019, 01:29 PM

306 posts

QUOTE(TheRant @ Jul 3 2019, 10:29 PM)
Hi. Just curious.if say I am earning around 18k, how much should I expect in Japan
Question is too generic. Dont even know which field you are in. The skills you have might be niche in Malaysia but not in Japan or vice versa. Just google and look for salary guide.
Dinz96
post Jul 8 2019, 07:01 PM

Need advise. Just graduated from business school. I'm looking for a career that can make me work in Japan as Gaijin. Right now I'm stuck with a well-known company which offer good salary but the it is not what I wish for.

This post has been edited by Dinz96: Jul 8 2019, 11:42 PM
TSFlanegan
post Jul 17 2019, 12:04 AM

146 posts

QUOTE(Dinz96 @ Jul 8 2019, 10:01 PM)
Need advise. Just graduated from business school. I'm looking for a career that can make me work in Japan as Gaijin. Right now I'm stuck with a well-known company which offer good salary but the it is not what I wish for.
Lots of start-up company in Tokyo.
Try to contact them via LinkedIn. The new generation is very different compared to the old Japanese way.

Lots of my friend, non-Japanese regularly create content what they are passionate at on Linkedin, sharing their opinion in a very professional manner.
Some got hired by Japan Hyatt, some got hired by Zozo and also Rakuten.

So far, they are happy with their job and life/work balance.
You cannot have the Gaijin card most of the time when you work under a big company.

Best of luck!
SkyHermit
post Jul 19 2019, 01:47 PM

1,799 posts

Does anyone know that with Malaysian driving license, can we just swap to Japanese Driving license by paying some top up fee?

Or do we need to take the driving license test from zero and pay 300,000 yen for it?

*I am currently working in Japan full time.

This post has been edited by SkyHermit: Jul 19 2019, 01:51 PM
moon004
post Jul 19 2019, 02:06 PM

QUOTE(babyCincau @ Jun 12 2019, 08:47 PM)
Hi your post caught my eye, I'm just wondering what are my chances to work in Japan if currently I have 1.7 years of experience? I'm working as front-end dev, focusing on React.
I'm not sure about front-end engineer demand here in Japan, but u will have higher chance if u are a full-stack engineer, but i believe u will have a good chance here in Japan if u give it a try. Ganbatte Kudasai~ But of course it is waaayy better if u can speak japanese, because it shows that you are interested in Japanese culture and etc. They really like those people who loves japanese culture.

And By the way guys, my journey as a self-taught developer story is ready! You can read it on HERE on Medium.
Dinz96
post Jul 20 2019, 10:44 AM

QUOTE(Flanegan @ Jul 17 2019, 12:04 AM)
Lots of start-up company in Tokyo.
Try to contact them via LinkedIn. The new generation is very different compared to the old Japanese way.

Lots of my friend, non-Japanese regularly create content what they are passionate at on Linkedin, sharing their opinion in a very professional manner.
Some got hired by Japan Hyatt, some got hired by Zozo and also Rakuten.

So far, they are happy with their job and life/work balance.
You cannot have the Gaijin card most of the time when you work under a big company.

Best of luck!
Hi there thanks for this. I think I'll take the first step to learn their language first and possibly take JLPT to test it out. This is gonna take lot of money and time. I'll do my best to achieve this.

This post has been edited by Dinz96: Jul 20 2019, 10:47 AM
Dinz96
post Jul 21 2019, 10:08 AM

Went to Japan previously. Fell in love with them. I've been to a lot of countries before but Japan still get me going. Gotta admit, my interest in Anime also started from there. Knowing Japan has long working hours still doesn't stop me wanting to live/work there. Eventhough, I'm seeking a career that I wouldn't call it a job. I hope someday I can find such thing in life.

There is something in Japan that piqued my interests. I'll go there to find it out someday.
daudKilat
post Jul 23 2019, 01:16 PM

103 posts

QUOTE(moon004 @ Jul 19 2019, 02:06 PM)
I'm not sure about front-end engineer demand here in Japan, but u will have higher chance if u are a full-stack engineer, but i believe u will have a good chance here in Japan if u give it a try. Ganbatte Kudasai~ But of course it is waaayy better if u can speak japanese, because it shows that you are interested in Japanese culture and etc. They really like those people who loves japanese culture.

And By the way guys, my journey as a self-taught developer story is ready! You can read it on HERE on Medium.
Hi org kampung. Just read your writing there and I could say it is very inspiring. Wish I have the courage and talent like you. But who knows I might get the chance to work abroad too in the future. biggrin.gif
moon004
post Jul 24 2019, 09:00 AM

QUOTE(daudKilat @ Jul 23 2019, 01:16 PM)
Hi org kampung. Just read your writing there and I could say it is very inspiring. Wish I have the courage and talent like you. But who knows I might get the chance to work abroad too in the future.  biggrin.gif
You know, i don't think i have talent in the first place, if you live together with me, u'll find out i'm actually quite dumb, i mean, i have been thru many hardships, i always make mistakes and feel so dumb every time making it, and sometimes i repeat the same mistakes, it feels like i am not born for doing anything awesome (i mean awesome is subjective), plus i always wish i was born in First world country so that i can have better life (yeah in the past i always thought life is great overseas), but little did i know being born in this family and being born in Malaysia is one of the best lottery that i have won. I think the most important 'talent' everyone should have is DONT BE LAZY, if you are born without any serious handicap, i think you can achieve your dreams if u work hard enough.

The reason why i kept going is because i feel like i have a purpose in life. So i hope u could find one (it doesnt have to be super awesome), and life would be adventurous, fun and meaningful ahead.

There is this short paragraph i found on Youtube comment for this song called I Still Haven't Found What I'm Looking For by U2. And i want to share it.

People spend their lives trying to look for happiness with no success and it is most likely this will happen to you if you try to look for happiness. You will spend a miserable journey trying to look for something that is not there. Happiness is not something that you look for because happiness comes from within. Happiness is you. stop looking and live in the now. Experience the moment. get away from your computer, stop comparing yourself to others, be happy. happiness is living confronting things with fear but with the courage to face them, to do things that you have never done before. fail, get back up again, live with uncertainty, live unpredictably, don't comfort yourself with living comfortably. Happiness is for the ones who live in the struggle, happiness is not something you can achieve. Happiness is something you live.

This post has been edited by moon004: Jul 24 2019, 09:03 AM
benny838
post Aug 13 2019, 08:05 PM

128 posts

Is there any Malaysian community in Tokyo?
sacwoc
post Aug 27 2019, 10:27 AM

306 posts

QUOTE(SkyHermit @ Jul 19 2019, 01:47 PM)
Does anyone know that with Malaysian driving license, can we just swap to Japanese Driving license by paying some top up fee?

Or do we need to take the driving license test from zero and pay 300,000 yen for it?

You cannot just convert like what I did in HK. You would need to take the exams again. As far as I know, the 300,000yen is the full course that you pay for the driving school. I think you can do it yourself which will be a more time consuming. Thats why I gave up getting a driving license.
Read here for more info
https://www.realestate-tokyo.com/living-in-...rivers-license/

QUOTE(benny838 @ Aug 13 2019, 08:05 PM)
Is there any Malaysian community in Tokyo?
Yes there is a big community in Tokyo and they do meet up once a while and they communicate via a close FB group. Sometimes they organized some gathering in the Malaysian restaurant in Shibuya.

benny838
post Sep 1 2019, 10:53 AM

128 posts

QUOTE(sacwoc @ Aug 27 2019, 11:27 AM)
Yes there is a big community in Tokyo and they do meet up once a while and they communicate via a close FB group. Sometimes they organized some gathering in the Malaysian restaurant in Shibuya.
Any link that I can refer or join?
sacwoc
post Sep 3 2019, 09:45 AM

306 posts

QUOTE(benny838 @ Sep 1 2019, 10:53 AM)
Any link that I can refer or join?
Search for JAGONG Malaysia in FB. Its a close group and just request to join.
benny838
post Sep 3 2019, 07:33 PM

128 posts

QUOTE(sacwoc @ Sep 3 2019, 10:45 AM)
Search for JAGONG Malaysia in FB. Its a close group and just request to join.
Thanks ya.
TSFlanegan
post Sep 7 2019, 12:19 AM

146 posts

QUOTE(SkyHermit @ Jul 19 2019, 04:47 PM)

If you already have license in Malaysia. You don't need to pay 300k yen.

Just take the 10 question test and driving test.

Convert your license and official paper from JAF - 700yen
Exam around 5000yen
driving test around 2500yen once.
TSFlanegan
post Sep 7 2019, 12:52 AM

146 posts

Some Drone Compilation of Awaji Island.

SkyHermit
post Sep 11 2019, 07:00 PM

1,799 posts

QUOTE(Flanegan @ Sep 7 2019, 12:19 AM)
If you already have license in Malaysia. You don't need to pay 300k yen.

Just take the 10 question test and driving test.

Convert your license and official paper from JAF - 700yen
Exam around 5000yen
driving test around 2500yen once.
Have you done it this way?

I remember I saw a list of countries that collaborate with Japan and there are like 20+ countries which are mostly in Europe and these countries do not have to pay the 300k yen to convert, and Malaysia is not one of it.

Edited :
https://www.japanistry.com/converting-a-for...rivers-license/

Australia, Austria, Belgium, Canada, Czech Republic, Denmark, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Iceland, Ireland, Italy, Korea, Luxembourg, Monaco, New Zealand, Norway, Portugal, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, Taiwan, The Netherlands, U.K.

This post has been edited by SkyHermit: Sep 11 2019, 07:03 PM

20 Pages « < 17 18 19 20 >Top

0.1630sec    0.73    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 25th November 2025 - 02:00 AM