Just got my camera second hand (6d) and lens used was 50mm f1.8 stm. I dont know are these images if they are sharp. thanks. hope can get some advice.
Photos are not edited not cropped.
Need Advice, Are these images considered sharp?
Apr 5 2016, 08:54 PM, updated 10y ago
Show posts by this member only | Post
576 posts Joined: Apr 2015 |
Apr 6 2016, 09:31 AM
4,495 posts Joined: Mar 2005 From: Kemuning, Kay Ell, Pea Jay, Ara Damansara, Malacca |
no flash in dim situation? i would say normal
Apr 7 2016, 10:08 PM
536 posts Joined: Oct 2010 From: 4:44 am |
The picture with three person, the red tudung lady seems slightly off focus for me.
It up to your preference on the sharpness, either bump up in the camera setting or post process sharpen it. |
Apr 8 2016, 02:48 AM
Forum Admin
44,415 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
Sharp enough for me.
When you pixel peep at 100% it's often you may think images aren't sharp when they are what they are. The red tudung lady could be off due to lens quality towards the edge. What aperture were you shooting at? |
Apr 8 2016, 08:47 PM
Apr 8 2016, 08:49 PM
QUOTE(xCM @ Apr 7 2016, 10:08 PM) The picture with three person, the red tudung lady seems slightly off focus for me. Thank you for the feedback It up to your preference on the sharpness, either bump up in the camera setting or post process sharpen it. because just got second hand camera, thats why ask. thanks |
Apr 8 2016, 08:50 PM
QUOTE(goldfries @ Apr 8 2016, 02:48 AM) Sharp enough for me. The lens is f1.8, was shooting at f2.8When you pixel peep at 100% it's often you may think images aren't sharp when they are what they are. The red tudung lady could be off due to lens quality towards the edge. What aperture were you shooting at? yeah lorh, i not sure which is sharp and which is not. thanks for the feedback yea |
Apr 8 2016, 09:54 PM
146 posts Joined: Mar 2009 From: Borneo / Kanto |
As long as see-able. It's all right.
Apr 8 2016, 10:32 PM
1,255 posts Joined: Aug 2011 |
I'm going to take a guess here. Did you put a filter on the lens?
Apr 8 2016, 10:39 PM
Apr 8 2016, 10:41 PM
Apr 8 2016, 10:42 PM
Forum Admin
Awesome guess from DaddyO.
That dealer no knowledge. Depending on lens type, some filters do nothing to keep dust out of the lens. It just keeps dust from reaching the front element. If the filter is of low-grade it can affect your image. |
Apr 8 2016, 10:45 PM
QUOTE(goldfries @ Apr 8 2016, 10:42 PM) Awesome guess from DaddyO. True. Because when I use it with 24 105L, Internet people always say not sharp, but images out of it is sharp thoThat dealer no knowledge. Depending on lens type, some filters do nothing to keep dust out of the lens. It just keeps dust from reaching the front element. If the filter is of low-grade it can affect your image. Just this 50mm 1.8 is like that, I tot maybe because as many people say prime not sharp at lower f stop. Now I know Liao, maybe because of the filter coz last time oso he give me free one, memNg cheap one. The 24 105 use Hoya pro uv filter costed me rm200 leh, maybe kena tipu also la This post has been edited by MooTikPin: Apr 8 2016, 10:49 PM |
Apr 8 2016, 10:50 PM
QUOTE(MooTikPin @ Apr 8 2016, 10:39 PM) Why you so geng one? Yes wor Every dealer tells that lah. Cheap filter degrades sharpness. Actual good clear ones actually cost quite a bit though very subjective so don't go buy any expensive filters just cause you're rich.Because my dealer say that cheap I lens I using easy dust go in, so ask me out uv filter all the time Besides, dust doesn't get in through the front lens lah where the filter attach. It gets through the holes on the lens body which you cannot avoid so don't bother. You WILL see dust after some use but it won't degrade image quality. Take off the filter and shoot again and see if any difference. This post has been edited by DaddyO: Apr 8 2016, 10:51 PM |
Apr 8 2016, 10:52 PM
QUOTE(DaddyO @ Apr 8 2016, 10:50 PM) Every dealer tells that lah. Cheap filter degrades sharpness. Actual good clear ones actually cost quite a bit though very subjective so don't go buy any expensive filters just cause you're rich. Thank you bro ππππBesides, dust doesn't get in through the front lens lah where the filter attach. It gets through the holes on the lens body which you cannot avoid so don't bother. You WILL see dust after some use but it won't degrade image quality. Take off the filter and shoot again and see if any difference. Will do, appreciate your advise βΊοΈ |
Apr 8 2016, 10:54 PM
Forum Admin
QUOTE(DaddyO @ Apr 8 2016, 10:50 PM) Besides, dust doesn't get in through the front lens lah where the filter attach. It gets through the holes on the lens body which you cannot avoid so don't bother. You WILL see dust after some use but it won't degrade image quality. eh some models do, like Canon 10-22 and 17-40.Canon 17-40L for example, you have to install a filter in order to make it completely weather seal, Canon 16-35 requires it too. |
Apr 8 2016, 10:55 PM
QUOTE(goldfries @ Apr 8 2016, 10:54 PM) eh some models do, like Canon 10-22 and 17-40. So fragile one ah? I know ultra wide angle always have this issue lah, but dust go into the inside element wor, will happen?Canon 17-40L for example, you have to install a filter in order to make it completely weather seal, Canon 16-35 requires it too. |
Apr 8 2016, 11:02 PM
QUOTE(goldfries @ Apr 8 2016, 10:54 PM) eh some models do, like Canon 10-22 and 17-40. "Weather proof" not "dust proof". Dust mostly get into the lens due to the vacuum in the lens when you zoom in or out. Primes too cause they still need to move the lens for focusing but less prone.Canon 17-40L for example, you have to install a filter in order to make it completely weather seal, Canon 16-35 requires it too. This post has been edited by DaddyO: Apr 8 2016, 11:07 PM |
Apr 8 2016, 11:06 PM
QUOTE(MooTikPin @ Apr 8 2016, 10:55 PM) So fragile one ah? I know ultra wide angle always have this issue lah, but dust go into the inside element wor, will happen? There are bunch of internet articles on that already with test and everything. If you want to find out, you can introduce some particles like a strand of hair on your filter and take a shot at wide aperture. Then slowly narrow down the aperture and re-shoot. |
Apr 8 2016, 11:08 PM
QUOTE(DaddyO @ Apr 8 2016, 11:06 PM) There are bunch of internet articles on that already with test and everything. If you want to find out, you can introduce some particles like a strand of hair on your filter and take a shot at wide aperture. Then slowly narrow down the aperture and re-shoot. Ahh. alright. thank you |
Apr 8 2016, 11:09 PM
Forum Admin
QUOTE(DaddyO @ Apr 8 2016, 11:02 PM) "Weather proof" not "dust proof". Dust mostly get into the lens due to the vacuum in the lens when you zoom in and out. Primes too cause they still need to move the lens for focusing but less prone. Weather seal la, means keeping elements, including dust out of the lens as best as they can.That's just info for your consumption. Go "filter-less" on those lens la, gonna have problem. It is as what you said - "dust mostly get into the lens due to the vacuum in the lens when you zoom in and out". Those models, the front element moves as you zoom in and out so in order to keep dust out people install filter on it. |
Apr 8 2016, 11:25 PM
QUOTE(goldfries @ Apr 8 2016, 11:09 PM) Weather seal la, means keeping elements, including dust out of the lens as best as they can. After some reading, you are right. It's a rather odd definition considering I still see people having all sorts of foreign stuff inside their lens despite "weather seal". Well, I'm not familiar with construction of weather sealed lens anyway.That's just info for your consumption. Go "filter-less" on those lens la, gonna have problem. It is as what you said - "dust mostly get into the lens due to the vacuum in the lens when you zoom in and out". Those models, the front element moves as you zoom in and out so in order to keep dust out people install filter on it. |
| Change to: | 0.0193sec
Time is now: 19th December 2025 - 05:37 PM |