I'm going to take a guess here. Did you put a filter on the lens?
Need Advice, Are these images considered sharp?
Apr 8 2016, 10:32 PM
1,255 posts Joined: Aug 2011 |
I'm going to take a guess here. Did you put a filter on the lens?
Apr 8 2016, 10:50 PM
QUOTE(MooTikPin @ Apr 8 2016, 10:39 PM) Why you so geng one? Yes wor Every dealer tells that lah. Cheap filter degrades sharpness. Actual good clear ones actually cost quite a bit though very subjective so don't go buy any expensive filters just cause you're rich.Because my dealer say that cheap I lens I using easy dust go in, so ask me out uv filter all the time Besides, dust doesn't get in through the front lens lah where the filter attach. It gets through the holes on the lens body which you cannot avoid so don't bother. You WILL see dust after some use but it won't degrade image quality. Take off the filter and shoot again and see if any difference. This post has been edited by DaddyO: Apr 8 2016, 10:51 PM |
Apr 8 2016, 11:02 PM
QUOTE(goldfries @ Apr 8 2016, 10:54 PM) eh some models do, like Canon 10-22 and 17-40. "Weather proof" not "dust proof". Dust mostly get into the lens due to the vacuum in the lens when you zoom in or out. Primes too cause they still need to move the lens for focusing but less prone.Canon 17-40L for example, you have to install a filter in order to make it completely weather seal, Canon 16-35 requires it too. This post has been edited by DaddyO: Apr 8 2016, 11:07 PM |
Apr 8 2016, 11:06 PM
QUOTE(MooTikPin @ Apr 8 2016, 10:55 PM) So fragile one ah? I know ultra wide angle always have this issue lah, but dust go into the inside element wor, will happen? There are bunch of internet articles on that already with test and everything. If you want to find out, you can introduce some particles like a strand of hair on your filter and take a shot at wide aperture. Then slowly narrow down the aperture and re-shoot. |
Apr 8 2016, 11:25 PM
QUOTE(goldfries @ Apr 8 2016, 11:09 PM) Weather seal la, means keeping elements, including dust out of the lens as best as they can. After some reading, you are right. It's a rather odd definition considering I still see people having all sorts of foreign stuff inside their lens despite "weather seal". Well, I'm not familiar with construction of weather sealed lens anyway.That's just info for your consumption. Go "filter-less" on those lens la, gonna have problem. It is as what you said - "dust mostly get into the lens due to the vacuum in the lens when you zoom in and out". Those models, the front element moves as you zoom in and out so in order to keep dust out people install filter on it. |
| Change to: | 0.0167sec
Time is now: 23rd December 2025 - 03:16 AM |