5 Pages  1 2 3 > » Bottom

TIME [OFFICIAL] TIME Fibre Broadband™ v3.o, 500 Mbps of rocket science

miyakochan89
post Mar 27 2017, 04:35 PM

Wut?
6,724 posts

yo guys, I am thinking to change to Time from Unifi, please gimme honest feedback cause I do play MMORPG so a stable connectivity with constant speed is important for me! Thanks.

I live in BU area btw, Bandar Utama, Petaling Jaya.

This post has been edited by miyakochan89: Mar 27 2017, 04:36 PM
miyakochan89
post Mar 27 2017, 05:13 PM

Wut?
6,724 posts

Does my existing phone number need to change if I subscribe to the Voice?
miyakochan89
post Mar 27 2017, 06:01 PM

Wut?
6,724 posts

QUOTE(FusionXY @ Mar 27 2017, 05:27 PM)
You don't need to change.

As TIME will provide a new number for you.
Voice Call is bundled with the service.
You can apply Easy Switch Rebate switching from Unifi to TIME.

Eh I thought need to add RM10 for the service? For the unlimited 2,000mins call right?

miyakochan89
post Apr 11 2017, 09:08 PM

Wut?
6,724 posts

Wanna check if the voice call RM10 per month, 2000 mins per month?
miyakochan89
post Apr 11 2017, 09:21 PM

Wut?
6,724 posts

QUOTE(FusionXY @ Apr 11 2017, 09:18 PM)
Oh, you're using the old ONU and router.

The new one is in white in color, you may call hotline say that yr ONU is faulty

ONU has a lifetime warranty for all users
Yes 2000mins is per month.
Since it charge for RM 10 per month so is every month will renew.
Upon full utilisation of 2,000 minutes: 9 sen per minute for all domestic calls (fixed and mobile) and 8 sen per minute for IDD calls to 60 countries.
Nice. I wanna switch to Time Broadband, are there any rebates?
miyakochan89
post Apr 19 2017, 10:39 AM

Wut?
6,724 posts

Time Broadband coming for installation this week. Thanks for yeapch01 quick efficiency!
Hopefully everything goes smoothly. My only concern is that my family would stop the installation cause they dont like seeing cables everywhere. shakehead.gif

Btw, does the default router has powerful signal? Previously the unifi router couldn't reach the whole unit, we changed the router even to Asus and couldn't even reach. Apparently some of the walls are blocking and we had to do extra network cabling with the house.
miyakochan89
post Apr 19 2017, 11:11 AM

Wut?
6,724 posts

QUOTE(yeapch01 @ Apr 19 2017, 10:56 AM)
Dear sister ,

Thanks for your compliments on our services , basically the stock router given by Time D-Link DIR 850L have very basic on the coverage in the surrounding area.

Anyway since you are already have Asus router , maybe you can consider to utilize the Asus router you have to become wifi extender or repeater.

We can help you on the above.

Yes I am planning to, will have to wait after installation and see how to setup on this.
Even then I think might need extender as well. hmm.gif Cause even Asus (actually i don't remember it's asus or TP Link but it's a huge black one with three antennas) couldn't send the signal across the wall.

QUOTE(jjj2 @ Apr 19 2017, 11:00 AM)

Under normal circumstances..The Dlink DIR850L router generally able to cover approx.800--1000sq ft .
Whereas the Linksys EA6350 (come with 500Mbps package) will be able to cover approx 1000--1300 sq ft.
You may send me the unit layout diagram so that we can propose the position of the router, or alternative solution.

About the cabling... will need to go onsite so that can advise you better.

Looks like I might need an extender in the middle room. Is the TP Link (this one) good enough? Or should I consider something more? hmm.gif

The technicians for installation are experienced enough to deal with this right?
I won't be around for the installation, so they will have to deal with my father. lol.

**Corection: I am actually changing two units.

One unit is able to cover the whole house even with the default unifi router, and depending on the situation i might or might not need an extender with the Time Broadband.

2nd Unit is the problematic one due to the structure or home layout probably, previously even with a router with three antennas couldnt cover the house, had to do network cabling and ended up all the rooms have their own network cables.

This post has been edited by miyakochan89: Apr 19 2017, 11:12 AM
miyakochan89
post Apr 19 2017, 11:52 AM

Wut?
6,724 posts

QUOTE(jjj2 @ Apr 19 2017, 11:36 AM)

Not recommended for this Tplink extender you mentioned...intermittent disconnection cases have been reported...

Not so worry about the Installer.. they should be able to do their work.

My advise is you give us the sketch of the unit so that we could propose a better solution.

Here's the layout [Layout]
My family doesn't want to see cabling around so the only place (if the installation goes on), it would be near the entrance (bottom left corner based on the image).

So if it's stuck there, practically all the other places will have very weak signals. So a repeater would be needed in the middle?

miyakochan89
post Apr 19 2017, 01:59 PM

Wut?
6,724 posts

QUOTE(yeapch01 @ Apr 19 2017, 01:22 PM)
Dear Sister

i will propose a wifi extender in the middle of your house for better wifi coverage in this senario
Any recommended brands or particular models?
miyakochan89
post Apr 19 2017, 02:18 PM

Wut?
6,724 posts

QUOTE(jjj2 @ Apr 19 2017, 02:16 PM)

If you place the the router near the entrance, signal confirmed wont be good.
Have you seen the cable?

I see you have an utility room, can you check whether your unit have network cables linked back to this room?

No, dont have. In fact I never see any cables lying anywhere.
There no cables anywhere, everything is hidden inside the wall, so can't be sure.
miyakochan89
post Apr 20 2017, 09:31 AM

Wut?
6,724 posts

QUOTE(jjj2 @ Apr 20 2017, 01:42 AM)

Try to place the router at the position indicated, I can only advise you the cabling if I can see the actual pic of your unit.

If budget is a constraint, you may also consider Tplink Extender such as RE210 / RE450.

Looks good, yeah I am thinking to get a repeater in Bedroom 3 most likely.
The default TIME setup will emit two frequencies right?

I just checked my laptop, it's 802.11ac, should be able to detect 5ghz i hope. icon_idea.gif
miyakochan89
post Apr 20 2017, 09:57 AM

Wut?
6,724 posts

QUOTE(jjj2 @ Apr 20 2017, 09:53 AM)
Yes emitting both 2.4GHz & 5GHz frequencies.

Should not be a problem detecting 5GHz signal.

Woah the Asus router you recommended cost almost RM800.

Are the two tp links that you recommended good enough? 2.4ghz and 5ghz too right?
Any other models that you could possibly think of?
miyakochan89
post Apr 20 2017, 10:27 AM

Wut?
6,724 posts

QUOTE(jjj2 @ Apr 20 2017, 10:16 AM)

Yes those 2 extenders are dual band...

Alternatively, you may get the followings :

1) Tplink Archer C7 (budget around rm400)
2) Tplink Archer C9 (budget around rm600)

Thank you, most likely will get this one. Tp Link RE450. rclxms.gif
The default unifi router could cover my whole house at that position that you placed. So hopefully I would be able to enjoy similar coverage and at a decent speed. Master bedroom will definitely have a problem but I guess for my parents as long it's usable and able to stream some videos, it's good for them.
miyakochan89
post Apr 20 2017, 11:10 AM

Wut?
6,724 posts

Does this work? Though it didn't write.

TP Link AC900
miyakochan89
post Apr 20 2017, 03:43 PM

Wut?
6,724 posts

QUOTE(djhenry91 @ Apr 20 2017, 02:44 PM)
the link tht u share...it show Time supported..even logo written there
Yay, i noticed it after that. haha. The installation just done. I am still at work so I am not sure but my family told me that repeater is not needed. rclxm9.gif They received full speed (using S7 Edge to test, as far as I know Samsung phones is compatible to receive 5ghz) all the way to the other side. Then again, my family is using smartphone to test the speed, will have to go back and check later. rclxms.gif
miyakochan89
post Apr 20 2017, 09:39 PM

Wut?
6,724 posts

Tested Time Broadband, very good speed. Did a few internet speed test and seems to be able to get full speed all the time. Browsing has no issues, very speedy and am very satisfied with it. But downloading seems a little slow, only 10mbps? Is this an issue or just a norm? What is disappointing is my MMORPG, the ping is even worse now than before when I thought Time Broadband has better routing to EU servers than Unifi, or have I done something wrong? Sifus please advise if can! confused.gif

*Am using Google DNS

This post has been edited by miyakochan89: Apr 20 2017, 09:40 PM
miyakochan89
post Apr 20 2017, 10:14 PM

Wut?
6,724 posts

QUOTE(djhenry91 @ Apr 20 2017, 09:52 PM)
torrent download??
Yes, and playing Guild Wars 2
miyakochan89
post Apr 21 2017, 08:03 AM

Wut?
6,724 posts

QUOTE(djhenry91 @ Apr 21 2017, 07:15 AM)
Torrent depend seeder..

I only download torrent if seeder alot
Yes I know about seeders. The one that I'm downloading from has 2k seeders.
miyakochan89
post Apr 21 2017, 08:37 AM

Wut?
6,724 posts

Anybody has problem with torrent speed? Can teach on how to optimize the setting or etc to reach the best speed? As well as the ping issues? My friend told me he is able to reach 30mbps at least from downloading and I'm only at 10mbps using the same torrent.

Any advise? Thanks.

This post has been edited by miyakochan89: Apr 21 2017, 08:37 AM
miyakochan89
post Apr 21 2017, 10:12 AM

Wut?
6,724 posts

QUOTE(topeng perak @ Apr 21 2017, 09:57 AM)
What package u subscribe? 300Mbps?
Good morning, i am using 100mbps. My friend's one as well. We are both connected to 5Ghz.

5 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.3024sec    0.87    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 10th December 2025 - 10:27 PM