TIME [OFFICIAL] TIME Fibre Broadband™ v3.o, 500 Mbps of rocket science
ChristWolves
Apr 19 2016, 08:30 PM

What is the maximum transfer speed for the free D-Link DIR-850L? If i subscribe to 300Mbps, can the WiFi in the wireless router achieve that speed? I have the itchiness to order a Netgear R7000 Nighthawk wireless router from overseas, will it be able to work with TIME Broadband in Malaysia? As long as it is PPPoE then it should be fine I guess? The function of wireless router is just to route traffic coming from the ONU, so it will work regardless of what telco you use, as long as you have a working modem connecting to the Internet - Corrrect me if I'm wrong.
ChristWolves
Apr 19 2016, 09:07 PM

QUOTE(yeapch01 @ Apr 19 2016, 08:38 PM) Dear bro Totally agree your statement above. Have you seen anyone getting router from other country and use it here with TIME BB? Just the warranty problem though and cheaper outside. Any setting for the PPPoE network connection? QUOTE(soonwai @ Apr 19 2016, 08:55 PM) Netgear R7000 will work with TIME. And UniFi, Maxis & others too. You using The Netgear Nighthawk too? Mind to share TIME settings, if any?  I know Unifi you need to set VLAN to 500 and priority to 0. Time BB any?
ChristWolves
Apr 19 2016, 10:00 PM

QUOTE(infin @ Apr 19 2016, 09:40 PM) Is it? US Netflix is working fine via VPN, just saying. In HD too. All you need is a PPPOE dialer. I can't comment on Astro IPTV+Time but Time broadband on its own does not require any VLAN configuration. Even Windows can connect to Time and act as a router. Ah, alright. Thanks for your information..
ChristWolves
Apr 19 2016, 11:08 PM

QUOTE(jjj2 @ Apr 19 2016, 11:05 PM) Yes Bro, it will work, we have tested this unit as well. The same AC1900 range unit that on par or outperforms Asus RT-AC68U. Yes, read a lot about the reviews. But need relatively new phones and laptops to support AC though.. Future proofing would be useful. But buying from overseas means warranty kong. Taking the risk or not... Asus wireless routers having 3 years warranty.
ChristWolves
Apr 20 2016, 09:18 AM

QUOTE(jjj2 @ Apr 20 2016, 12:02 AM) It depends...mostly all my high end routers I bought from overseas... Usually if you stabilize the voltage, those branded routers will perform quite a long time... One thing to take note is to avoid power adapter with 'weird' voltage ...I always get a few of these for spare. Overseas will be much cheaper right.. Like having discount or sth hah.. Watcha mean by power adapter with 'weird' voltage uh..? Normally we are in 220-240v 50hz right? I plan to get mine from UK so should be alright, unless you get it from China or US then you might need to consider the power difference in these continents...
ChristWolves
Apr 20 2016, 04:41 PM

QUOTE(yeapch01 @ Apr 20 2016, 03:32 PM) Dear All We have direct contact with Netgear distributor in Singapore. Let me know if u want me to help. Also can help to claim warranty . How much they selling for R7k?
ChristWolves
Apr 21 2016, 11:20 PM

TIME will allow you to upgrade/downgrade your package during the 24-month period for FREE? If they allow, how many times will be free then chargeable thereafter?
ChristWolves
Apr 22 2016, 09:53 AM

QUOTE(Braxton @ Apr 22 2016, 07:24 AM) For existing 10,20,30,50,100Mb user got 1 time free upgrade or downgrade. new user with 100,300,500 can get free upgrade and one month penalty for downgrade (both contract will be renew) Ah, alright. So better start low first then hah! If tak cukup then upgrade. Thank you.
ChristWolves
Apr 24 2016, 11:10 PM

QUOTE(TXSim @ Apr 24 2016, 10:37 PM) http://www.time.com.myPackage list - 100Mbps --> RM 149 300Mbps ---> RM 189 500Mbps ----> RM 299 100Mbps and 300Mbps will entitled you with Free Wi-Fi Router (D-link 850L), Free dect phone (Motorola C601) 500Mbps Free Wi-Fi Router (Linksys EA6350), Free Dect Phone (Motorola C601). Kindly PM me yr building name to check coverage of your apartment/condominium. This is TIME official thread not Maxis thread. What are the choices of router upgrades and how much does every model cost? DECT phone comes regardless of you subscribe to the RM10 call credit thingy?
ChristWolves
Apr 25 2016, 12:26 AM

QUOTE(TXSim @ Apr 24 2016, 11:35 PM) For upgrading new Wi-Fi router from existing Wi-Fi Router (ZTE or Linksys). ---> D-link 850L ( RM 270 ) or ---> Linksys EA6350 ( RM 500 ). Dect phone comes with as pay per use and RM 10 per month. For Wi-Fi router recommendations, please see yeapch01 or jjj2 for help. Thanks. Have a nice day. Alright, thank you very much. For new signups would be D-Link 850L (Free) --> Linksys EA6350 (RM270) ?
ChristWolves
Apr 25 2016, 08:51 AM

QUOTE(game333 @ Apr 25 2016, 03:34 AM) Walao, $50 for 100 Mbps not bad leh. But too bad Cheras not covered lor, and then I just signed contract with TM.net Crying out loud for jesus! Sorry, Jesus can't help.. Need to cry out loud for TIME!
ChristWolves
Apr 27 2016, 08:58 AM

QUOTE(mystic_mac @ Apr 27 2016, 08:01 AM) I would like to ask if its safe to download everything without a VPN ? Since we have faster speed now, do you think its safe to go on a ' wild' download spree? or do you guys think covering our asses with VPN is a must ? Because i remember reading back in 2013 that Singapore's broadband companies had to issue warnings and release info of their clients who downloaded those oscar winning movies after they claim copyright damages ( if im not mistaken, one of the movie was Dallas Buyers Club). Because trust me , once u guys get at least 100mbps or 300mbs, your fingers will become very itchy one and start downloading like MAD! If yes, which VPN do you guys recommend ? Isn't that the main purpose of subscribing to 100-500 Mbps broadband? This post has been edited by ChristWolves: Apr 27 2016, 08:59 AM
ChristWolves
Apr 29 2016, 04:04 PM

QUOTE(Ricky300 @ Apr 29 2016, 02:59 PM) The reason being? Must have a good reason right.. T&C applies for this kinda cases.
ChristWolves
Apr 29 2016, 04:34 PM

QUOTE(Ricky300 @ Apr 29 2016, 04:17 PM) Long story....TM does allow for temporary suspension....just that different branches tells u diff stories. You have to go thru the hassle! So how many branches did you go through before you smell success?
ChristWolves
May 5 2016, 12:56 AM

Isn't that overkill for an apartment? Your coverage is to how many sq ft? The free router could not make it to cover whole area?
ChristWolves
May 5 2016, 10:04 AM

QUOTE(Calvin871989 @ May 5 2016, 12:40 AM) Time did provided me with the Dlink Dir-850L router but I personally went and spent RM1000 on a new Dlink Dir-890L router. Hehe QUOTE(Calvin871989 @ May 5 2016, 01:31 AM) My condo unit size is about 3500 sq ft I feel the router time provided me cant cover the entire unit thus reducing the WiFi signal strength. Anyway I'm very happy with my router and hope it wont give me any problems in the future.  Then this makes sense.. ahha! Huge condo eh.. You will need this ultimate wifi router
ChristWolves
May 10 2016, 11:55 PM

QUOTE(PoPoBear @ May 10 2016, 11:30 PM) Joining TIME family soon under 300mbps subscription. any suggestions for the router that provides large coverage of the wifi and stable speed ? my current unifi router, sampai bilik ke-4 dah tak detect  even the antenna so big. lol It depends on what is your budget, which WiFi standard (Up to 802.11N or 802.11AC) and how much coverage your need for your area i.e. how many square feet you want to cover. WiFi AC Router can range from the cheaper TP-Link Archer C7 (~RM500) to Netgear R7000/R8000 or Asus RT-AC68U (RM1k)/RT-AC88U(RM1k+) - A few I can think of on top of my head. WiFi N routers will be relatively cheaper than AC routers. And lastly 2.4GHz band will have wider coverage than 5GHz. PS: Why don't you try to use the free D-Link DIR850L first? My 0.02.
ChristWolves
May 11 2016, 11:33 AM

QUOTE(idoblu @ May 11 2016, 06:02 AM) Is netgear nighthawk a suitable wifi router for TIME? Very suitable.
ChristWolves
May 11 2016, 07:05 PM

QUOTE(mystic_mac @ May 11 2016, 05:47 PM) just wanted to share with you guys. Im happy with my TIME-300 plan. As u can see in the picture below, by right, my download speed should be capped at 30MBps (300Mbps) but somehow TIME allows the flexibility to reach 35MBps (350Mbps) unlike TM whereby u will never even reach the plan you subscribed to , i.e 10Mbps plan , but only reach 5 or 6 Mbps. Attached below is my STEAM pre-loading the up and coming game DOOM. Actually 300Mbps (Mega Bit/s) = 37.5 MBps (Mega Byte/s) as 1 byte = 8 bits. Nevertheless, good sharing.
ChristWolves
May 18 2016, 11:06 PM

QUOTE(mztang52 @ May 18 2016, 10:58 PM) What if I say I submit the request every day? Chill bro