CD/DVD Burning Trouble Burning DVD, 1st time burning, need help
TSruey_yih
Jan 3 2007, 10:08 AM, updated 19y ago

Hi guys, i'm not sure if this is the right place to open this thread but just hope that every1 could help me out a little here. My problem: I got this stacks of DVD-RW from my uncle. So he wants me to help him put all into a few DVD-R for storage. The weird problem starts when i see the file as MPEG but when i want to burn it becomes a .VOB file. Next, because there are alot of disk so the name of the files are all identical to each other (he's using a DVD camcorder) . So NERO thinks that it's the same file and says the file is already there. So i tried renaming it, but to my dismay it still won't work. Guys, please lend me a little help here?? Hope that the way i related my problem is not too confusing. Thanks alot...
flysheep
Jan 3 2007, 05:06 PM

my usual practice is :
1. Copy all the files (the DVD-RW in ur case) to ur local harddrive. 2. Open Nero (for example) 3. New DVD data disc 4, Put all ur copied files into it 5. Burn
If u want ur files burned as they are without converted to something else. Just burn as DATA disc. Hope this help
flysheep
Jan 3 2007, 06:37 PM

QUOTE(ruey_yih @ Jan 3 2007, 06:26 PM) After burning into data format. Will it still be able to play in a DVD player??  you want ur video viewable in DVD player or pc? ur uncle video is viewable in DVD? what are the files format?
TSruey_yih
Jan 3 2007, 08:20 PM

QUOTE(flysheep @ Jan 3 2007, 06:37 PM) you want ur video viewable in DVD player or pc? ur uncle video is viewable in DVD? what are the files format? Yeah..he wants to view it on a DVD player cause his comp dun have dvd-rom. Yes it is viewable in DVD format in the comp. He has this double-sided disc and want me to burn it into a normal single sided DVD disc. I have a few file formats as the following: 1) .VOB 2) .IFO 3) .BUP The .VOB format only shows in Nero. As now, when i play it, i'll see in MPEG format.
flysheep
Jan 4 2007, 01:56 PM

Double-sided disc??? hmmm... things get complicated.
fyi, .VOB .IFO .BUP is DVD video format. and DVD video use mpeg2 encoding
u check the total file size for ur uncle DVD. if it is smaller than 4.3GB, u should be able to burn in single sided DVD. just do a "DVD copy"