Gigabyte GA-M55SLI-S4 discussion, Flash your bios to the latest F10
-pWs-
Jun 2 2007, 04:02 AM
QUOTE(serez @ Jun 2 2007, 02:38 AM) owh.. like that.. i`m oso using 533 divider. but when the htt becomes high, the ram oso increase. and it will cause system not stable due to ram o/c. hmm is this because of my ram? do i need to get another ram? in my mind crucial ballistix will do  Bro, i dun think is ur ram problem. IMO, jz fix ur ram position will do the job -pWs-
-pWs-
Jun 3 2007, 11:43 AM
QUOTE(serez @ Jun 3 2007, 11:42 AM) ish2... r u sure that will do? i mean how does the first slot could relate with ram o/c performance? btw still waiting for my thermalright. i can`t use it as i dont have am2 bolt thru kit  Yea...hav a try 1st before getting those high end ram. I pretty sure that the ram slot position does affect oc. -pWs-
-pWs-
Jun 5 2007, 03:50 PM
I think ur current setting is not so stable, since ur data are messed up Downclock a bit and try -pWs-
-pWs-
Jun 6 2007, 01:18 AM
QUOTE(serez @ Jun 5 2007, 08:26 PM) yeap oredi downclock it. stable at 2540MHz. hmm how`s your dfi? still running 3100? em wanna look how far this proc can go then oni thinking to grab brisbane. follow your leader  Haha...me too downclock already. My rig seem like got problem. Let it for few days and test for stability. Dunno why weird sound coming out. -pWs-
-pWs-
Jun 8 2007, 01:44 AM
QUOTE(serez @ Jun 8 2007, 12:00 AM) one more q here. what kind of software use to adjust ram timings? a64 tweaker seems not functioning with this mobo...  You can try MemSet -pWs-
-pWs-
Jun 12 2007, 01:15 PM
QUOTE(serez @ Jun 10 2007, 12:21 PM) thanks bro. memset is functioning but this mobo still limited, bottleneck cl timings cannot adjust ler, just set to default cl5. means loose timing, loose bandwidth  Added on June 11, 2007, 10:57 pmbros i think this mobo have one more bug. i can`t even set 3t cas latency in bios setting. it seems that it wont enter windows bcoz default cl timing is 5, then i tried to change to 4, it won`t boot..  Yea...of coz it wont boot, it needs extra vdimm to make it stable. Try to increase vdimm -pWs-
-pWs-
Jul 16 2007, 12:14 PM
QUOTE(serez @ Jul 16 2007, 09:40 AM) yup.. that`s right.. wow its been a month i dont` online.. hmm any news from gilabyte? hope they update their bios again.. still can`t change ram timings on my crucial rams..  I think they would not update any bios unless there is a buggy bios. This is what i think -pWs-
-pWs-
Aug 9 2007, 02:16 PM
What board u r using? If u really want to overclock, please be sure that the pci frequency is 33MHz.
-pWs-
-pWs-
Aug 9 2007, 03:33 PM
QUOTE(StOrmCatz @ Aug 9 2007, 03:12 PM) I'm also using the GA-M55SLI-S4. Based on that response, I can probably already assume that having a PCI freq out of spec is bad period. I really didn't think going from an NF7-S (nforce 2) would be like a downgrade in terms of overclocking abilities. I would say that GA-M55SLI-S4 is not a good mobo for overclocking purpose. Mild oc should not be a problem. You have to flash to latest bios in order for u to adjust the HTLink multiplier. Press Ctrl + F1 to unhide all the hidden setting. For ram timing, you only can set CAS latency if not mistaken. -pWs-
-pWs-
Aug 10 2007, 04:55 PM
QUOTE(serez @ Aug 10 2007, 03:54 PM) yeah u r right... limited ram settings.. what i hate the most is.. whenever i change cas latency oso it didn`t works! still have to rely on memset to set the timings. so far i don`t know about this.. try to check with pws. he`s a master  Waaa. I am not master  Learning also one @StOrmCatz Better ensure the PCI (33MHz) and PCI-E (100MHz) frequency is default. Do not mess with it if you scare your hdd spoil. If I do not remember wrongly, PCI mostly affect ATA HDD and PCI-E affects SATA HDD. -pWs-