Maxis data roaming issue, charge even though data is switch off

TSxSean
post Mar 21 2016, 06:02 PM, updated 10y ago

2,769 posts

I went to sg early this month, just received my bill and their charge me 650kb of data roaming usage but i confirmed that i did not switch on data but switch on the phone to receive call and sms.

after i made the complain, they called me back that they will waived it for me because some issue on smartphone with lte trigger the network. She said the network will auto trigger the phone even though u switch off the data and she also said, switch off the phone also kena.

adiwarna
post Mar 21 2016, 06:06 PM

2,669 posts

lucky can waive

thats why onexox not allowed data roaming and no ppu
DonMe
post Mar 21 2016, 06:17 PM

143 posts

That why I kena on celcom. Malaysia should enforce tighter
nexona88
post Mar 21 2016, 06:42 PM

The Royal Club Member
48,543 posts

most "major" telco like that one.

tactic to get extra income.

lucky u were alert on the bills & ask them. So they waived it.

others who juz ignore how? sweat.gif
grazy
post Mar 21 2016, 09:56 PM

457 posts

QUOTE(xSean @ Mar 21 2016, 06:02 PM)
I went to sg early this month, just received my bill and their charge me 650kb of data roaming usage but i confirmed that i did not switch on data but switch on the phone to receive call and sms.

after i made the complain, they called me back that they will waived it for me because some issue on smartphone with lte trigger the network. She said the network will auto trigger the phone even though u switch off the data and she also said, switch off the phone also kena.
Just remember to switch our phone to 3G mode whenever roaming. Only if roaming data plan baru on LTE. The LTE is the culprit triggering the data, sometimes telcos will adjust our balance but sometimes they missed also.
JayChouYEE
post Mar 22 2016, 12:07 AM

737 posts

what phone u use?
kit2
post Mar 22 2016, 11:53 AM

2,292 posts

many smartphones, when registering to a network, will exchange some sort of packets even though data is turned off on the phones.

this is why malaysian telcos, one by one, are forcing auto data roaming upon us, without any option to turn it off on the operator side.

i now put my malaysian sim into a nokia 2G phone whenever i travel so that i do not inadvertently incur data roaming charges.
TSxSean
post Mar 23 2016, 12:40 PM

2,769 posts

QUOTE(JayChouYEE @ Mar 22 2016, 12:07 AM)
what phone u use?
Galaxy note 5
nexona88
post Mar 23 2016, 01:02 PM

The Royal Club Member
48,543 posts

QUOTE(kit2 @ Mar 22 2016, 11:53 AM)
many smartphones, when registering to a network, will exchange some sort of packets even though data is turned off on the phones.

this is why malaysian telcos, one by one, are forcing auto data roaming upon us, without any option to turn it off on the operator side.

i now put my malaysian sim into a nokia 2G phone whenever i travel so that i do not inadvertently incur data roaming charges.
good idea rclxm9.gif

now gonna buy some cheapo 2G phone for the purpose innocent.gif
chichibaibai
post Mar 23 2016, 01:13 PM

198 posts

lucky can waive la!!
TSxSean
post Mar 23 2016, 06:24 PM

2,769 posts

QUOTE(chichibaibai @ Mar 23 2016, 01:13 PM)
lucky can waive la!!
Sure can waive, is their problem.

I don't mind to pay if i got used data roaming but this like cheating if i don't call and ask. The problem is they know got this kind of issue and they still charge to the bill, are they cheating us as customers?
cucubud
post Mar 24 2016, 03:34 PM

Super Moderator
3,076 posts

How much did Maxis charged you for that 650kb?
TSxSean
post Mar 24 2016, 03:49 PM

2,769 posts

QUOTE(cucubud @ Mar 24 2016, 03:34 PM)
How much did Maxis charged you for that 650kb?
Rm24
adiwarna
post Mar 24 2016, 07:48 PM

2,669 posts

dunno whether can waive or not

spreeeee
post Apr 6 2016, 02:54 PM

♠ . ♥ . ♣ . ♦
3,812 posts

so can conclude it is due to turning on 4g/lte?
kruzer88
post Apr 7 2016, 11:16 AM

Lucky can waive. Celcom complain until throat also dry, still say cannot waive, not their problem.
So, dunno who is the bigger cheat
kit2
post Apr 7 2016, 11:31 AM

2,292 posts

QUOTE(kruzer88 @ Apr 7 2016, 11:16 AM)
Lucky can waive. Celcom complain until throat also dry, still say cannot waive, not their problem.
So, dunno who is the bigger cheat
have to complain every time you return from abroad...tiring right?

they should allow us to turn off auto data roaming at the operator end.

This post has been edited by kit2: Apr 7 2016, 11:32 AM
TSxSean
post Apr 9 2016, 03:03 PM

2,769 posts

not sure wanna port to celcom since it happened to celcom...charge to bill for data roaming even data is off...

I googled, many complain to celcom about this but still no waive...

aspartame
post Apr 10 2016, 01:34 AM

3,165 posts

Can someone confirm that if we choose to 3G before we off both mobile data and data roaming before boarding plane that we will not get bill shock?
kit2
post Apr 10 2016, 06:32 AM

2,292 posts

QUOTE(aspartame @ Apr 10 2016, 01:34 AM)
Can someone confirm that if we choose to 3G before we off both mobile data and data roaming before boarding plane that we will not get bill shock?
we all had both mobile data and data roaming turned off, and still got charged. perhaps you could try with a phone that does not have 4g and let us know.
JoeBoer
post Oct 28 2016, 12:05 PM

I was in China, and suddenly got an SMS from Maxis saying my 500MB data roaming has been activated eventhough my Mobidata was off. True enough, i was charged RM38 in my latest bill.
I decided to do research on this Maxis roaming plan, and diacovered how easily you can be cheated. Apparently if you roam on certain networks overseas, and you activate your Mobidata, the plan will be automatically activated.
Imagine, you forget to off your mobidata before boarding the plane, and when you arrive and on your phone and so happen roam on these particular networks, you will automatically be charged! You will not even be asked if you agree, the plan will just be activated.
Then you have to go through all the trouble of getting a refund when you come back home
kroul2
post Oct 28 2016, 03:56 PM

«DᴀyDRᴇᴀᴍ»
1,257 posts

QUOTE(JoeBoer @ Oct 28 2016, 12:05 PM)
I was in China, and suddenly got an SMS from Maxis saying my 500MB data roaming has been activated eventhough my Mobidata was off. True enough, i was charged RM38 in my latest bill.
I decided to do research on this Maxis roaming plan, and diacovered how easily you can be cheated. Apparently if you roam on certain networks overseas, and you activate your Mobidata, the plan will be automatically activated.
Imagine, you forget to off your mobidata before boarding the plane, and when you arrive and on your phone and so happen roam on these particular networks, you will automatically be charged! You will not even be asked if you agree, the plan will just be activated.
Then you have to go through all the trouble of getting a refund when you come back home
Not only Maxis, but all telco. Please, it is logical to turn off the Maxis completely, not just the mobile data.
kroul2
post Oct 28 2016, 03:58 PM

«DᴀyDRᴇᴀᴍ»
1,257 posts

QUOTE(grazy @ Mar 21 2016, 09:56 PM)
Just remember to switch our phone to 3G mode whenever roaming. Only if roaming data plan baru on LTE. The LTE is the culprit triggering the data, sometimes telcos will adjust our balance but sometimes they missed also.
Many major telcos doesn't have LTE roaming agreement. Just turn off your sim card from setting completely.
Fazab
post Dec 13 2016, 07:25 PM

519 posts

Is there a way to stop these charges? Celcom just whacked me >RM50 on data while I was in Korea.

I am 100% sure my Data was switch to OFF, and almost all the charges happen at nite while sleeping and not using phone.

Strange thing is non of my travelling mates has this problem. Only prepaid get this problem I suppose.

Does anyone know a good way to stop these charges, besides uninstalling all apps?

kroul2
post Dec 13 2016, 07:47 PM

«DᴀyDRᴇᴀᴍ»
1,257 posts

QUOTE(Fazab @ Dec 13 2016, 07:25 PM)
Is there a way to stop these charges? Celcom just whacked me >RM50 on data while I was in Korea.

I am 100% sure my Data was switch to OFF, and almost all the charges happen at nite while sleeping and not using phone.

Strange thing is non of my travelling mates has this problem. Only prepaid get this problem I suppose.

Does anyone know a good way to stop these charges, besides uninstalling all apps?
Turn on airplane mode instead.
Btw, ask CS to waive the charge
Fazab
post Dec 13 2016, 10:21 PM

519 posts

Need hotel Wifi. Most of the charges happen at nite, when sleeping and not using phone.

Already logged two complains. Going to escalate to Consumer Forum of MCMC next.

We are customers who pay these Telcos, we shouldn't have to burden with all these nonsense. Switch off this and that, cannot use 4g or what. They should sort out their system to protect us, not to feed off us.

Ok. That is idealistic. But if thru these postings I can convince just one person not to subscribe to Celcom, game even already. Revenge.

0.0241sec    1.09    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 16th December 2025 - 07:05 PM