8 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > » Bottom

Photography Canon EOS Family, One Big EOS Family - V59, The White Paladins' Territory!

LegendLee
post Feb 21 2017, 03:52 PM

><3LG3|\|D
2,725 posts

QUOTE(Nitrous @ Feb 21 2017, 01:14 PM)
Hi folks
Would like to seek some feedback, I have a Canon 40D which is encountering Error 99, which Canon Service Center says it is due to shutter mechanism. However, they are not able to repair it, as there are no longer spare parts to replace it, and ask me to scrap the camera.
Can I know if there are independent repairmen outside of Canon which can help in this matter? Thanks a lot
Did you send the parts into canon ?
Error99 is a general code. It could mean different kinds of error.

It happened to me once when one of my lens is faulty.

On another note, would it be better to just purchase a new camera ? I believe the repair cost wouldn't be cheap as welll if it's a shutter replacement.

LegendLee
post Feb 21 2017, 03:54 PM

><3LG3|\|D
2,725 posts

QUOTE(swn525 @ Feb 20 2017, 10:10 AM)
how i know my current canon DSLR is import or canon malaysia?
Easiest way is to try to register for warranty.
If that fails, just drop them an email ?
LegendLee
post Feb 22 2017, 01:47 AM

><3LG3|\|D
2,725 posts

QUOTE(Nitrous @ Feb 21 2017, 09:30 PM)
Hi, thanks for the reply.
I sent it to Canon Service Center at Glenmarie this morning, and was immediately told that the camera cannot be serviced or repaired, as parts are no longer available (no longer manufactured by Canon). The lady behind the counter thinks its the shutter that is causing the issue (it lasted abt 10 shots before Error 99 happens, and error resets itself after a shutdown).
I am not sure how much it cost to replace the shutter mechanism, but it may still be cheaper than investing in a xxD body, wouldn't it be? I am just an occasional photog, not a serious one. Any ideas if there's a reasonably priced xxD body around?
Try taking a few pictures without any lens attached and see if the error occur again.

You don't have to limit yourself to xxd bodies.
A recent rebel or xxxd body is way better than a 40D.
The latest one is even better than the original 7D in some regards.
LegendLee
post Mar 2 2017, 02:36 PM

><3LG3|\|D
2,725 posts

QUOTE(teikboon @ Mar 1 2017, 12:53 AM)
Surveyed and considering 24 stm but the price now 600 plus?!!! When it was out, it is around rm500 or lesser only
Seems like currency is weakening.

By the way guys, has anyone here tried connected your camera to your PC in order to use it like a webcam/livestream ?

Thanks !
LegendLee
post Mar 2 2017, 11:34 PM

><3LG3|\|D
2,725 posts

^
So did they use a capture card (HDMI) or USB ?

I wonder what are the softwares required for this.
I've purchased a Blackmagic Design Ultra Studio Mini Recorder that acts as a small external HDMI capture card.... and it's arriving in a few days time.
But I'm still wondering what are the softwares required.

I know Goldfries does facebook live videos sometimes, I wonder what he use...

LegendLee
post Mar 4 2017, 11:23 PM

><3LG3|\|D
2,725 posts

QUOTE(cassplayer @ Mar 4 2017, 11:38 AM)
Hi all sifu,

I was shooting in a club yesterday and the high intensity lasers shot into my camera and burned my sensor.

As of now there are 3 fine dead pixel lines across all my photos, does anyone have any idea on how to fix this? Replacing sensor?

I'm using a 5D3 btw. How much will it cost me? sad.gif
Pretty sure it'll cost a lot.
No way to fix this damage.
You will have to replace it at canon service centre.
I'm estimating at least half the price of the 5D3.

Time to consider an upgrade

There are plenty of laser destroying sensor videos you can find on youtube.
Lasers can easily damage the sensor of a camera.

This post has been edited by LegendLee: Mar 4 2017, 11:24 PM
LegendLee
post Mar 5 2017, 02:45 AM

><3LG3|\|D
2,725 posts

QUOTE(MooTikPin @ Mar 5 2017, 02:13 AM)
If the sensor so powerful can burn the sensor what will happen to our eyes??? 😱
In some cases, it would be easier to damage a camera sensor than our eyes.
Especially when a very wide aperture lens is used.
LegendLee
post Mar 5 2017, 02:50 AM

><3LG3|\|D
2,725 posts

QUOTE(goldfries @ Mar 5 2017, 02:14 AM)
Initially was iPod Touch but FB somehow disabled landscape orientation and this sucks big time because my tripod and other stuff hold the device in landscape orientation.

Now using Logitech camera, cheap cheap RM 200 or something type. Not satisfying.

Exploring using DSLR next.
I'm trying out the ultrastudio mini recorder from black magic (currently still short of a thunderbolt cable to test it)
It's an inexpensive solution capable of 1080P at 60FPS, however I'll need to have a laptop/mac next to it...
LegendLee
post Mar 9 2017, 12:07 AM

><3LG3|\|D
2,725 posts

QUOTE(goldfries @ Mar 5 2017, 05:43 PM)
That's how I do my Live session.

Notebook nearby running OBS.
Ok, I've managed to set up a livestream using a DSLR.
But it's quite difficult and very demanding on my laptop.

My setup is
A D600 > Blackmagic design ultrastudio mini > Thunderbolt 2 > Macbook Air 2015

The macbook air is quite underpowered with CPU running at 60%
No dropped frames though

Issues I ran into
1. Need to select the exact format on OBS. Which is 1080p 29.97 fps

2. D600 must be in liveview mode. D600 and I believe your D750 is capable of outputting clean HDMI out. Can also set liveview to never sleep.
However when I start recording, this is no longer possible as the output is some format which I'm not too sure.

3. This sucks a lot of battery. Both from my laptop and the D600.

4. I cannot use my canon DSLR. (5D2, 6D and 5D4) as unlike Nikon... liveview mode will shutdown after a while. Unless of course it's recording... but when it's recording the output will be some funny format I'm not too sure to input into OBS.

Things to do
- Try a longer trial run
- get an adapter for the nikon so it doesn't need to run on battery
LegendLee
post Mar 18 2017, 09:02 PM

><3LG3|\|D
2,725 posts

QUOTE(Ulysses @ Mar 18 2017, 04:21 PM)
u guys here mostly buy standalone or sub monthly?
which one is good aa?
asking majority..    sweat.gif
Standalone.
I was thinking to go monthly as well, but standalone is cheaper.
If I go monthly, it'll be with an education discount.

My alma matter was kind enough to provide me with a .edu address which will never expire haha.
LegendLee
post Mar 24 2017, 08:25 PM

><3LG3|\|D
2,725 posts

QUOTE(teikboon @ Mar 24 2017, 11:53 AM)
mirrorless like eos m3 have 49 AF points while dslr like 750d got only 19 AF points which are known all cross-type.

Does this mean m3 focusing is better in term of coverage? How about speed wise, I heard canon mirrorless one not good enough yet as their dslr counterparts.
I think 19AF cross type is pretty good and more than sufficient.
I used to make do with just 1 cross type AF with the 5d2 and 6d
LegendLee
post Mar 29 2017, 01:21 AM

><3LG3|\|D
2,725 posts

QUOTE(kasey1314 @ Mar 25 2017, 02:14 PM)
thanks for input

1)Noted

2)ok, the fungus like those green or black fungus right ?

3)will try to do it.

4)ok

5)Im not much friends who know about this . that why keep asking in forum.

6) i plan to do video shooting for promotional video and promo video . Cause when i use iphone do recording and yi 4k last time. i felt require to rise high voice , so that i plan to go into dslr and future upgrade for microphone..

really appreciate for your input
To answer your question 2 and 6

Fungus will look like spider webs.
They're white in colour.

As for audio for video. Default audio from the DSLR sucks. Probably the same quality as an iphone.
Easiest is to get a rode videomic. Cheap and pretty alright for a shotgun mic that price.
Then you might want to get a lavalier. Either a wireless one or one which is recorded into a small recording device like the Zoom H1.

This post has been edited by LegendLee: Mar 29 2017, 01:24 AM
LegendLee
post Mar 29 2017, 01:23 AM

><3LG3|\|D
2,725 posts

So there will be an update to the Canon 5Dmk4
But there might be a need for a new heat sink for the processor to keep up with the new upgrade...
Esp the 4K with a larger sensor size.
http://www.canonrumors.com/crop-factor-cha...ng-update-more/

I do hope I'm able to do this upgrade without spending much money.
LegendLee
post Mar 30 2017, 02:11 PM

><3LG3|\|D
2,725 posts

QUOTE(zeroendless @ Mar 30 2017, 11:02 AM)
*It's a RUMOR site .....and if so it's true that one has send it for hardware upgrade, Canon would have to pay for the expenses, with or without warranty, legally. That says, that would be a rare treat for a manufacturer to offer feature upgrades (not a defect) that involves a trip to factory. I am not skeptical about the video add-on but not certain about hardware upgrade tho.
It is a rumor site.
But canon rumors have articles with varying degree of certainty. That news article is nearly at the confirm stage.

Its a heat sink replacement. Well, we will see.

LegendLee
post Apr 14 2017, 10:20 AM

><3LG3|\|D
2,725 posts

QUOTE(zeroendless @ Apr 13 2017, 06:38 PM)
No, it's not. If you are looking for a fast wide angle for the purposes of milky way only. I don't think one can beat the value, IQ and sharpness of 14mm 2.8 Rokinon or Samyang. Either one would put a shame on Canon 14mm 2.8 L. By the way, the Canon prime is a terrible choice consider one can get from Sigma, Rokinon or Samyang.  If u are fine with manual focus lens, the Rokinon or Samyang is by far the best choice, bar none.

I once walked the street of Tokyo with Samyang 14mm F2.8, it was challenging but fun with manual lens. i can't imagine how hard can it be with milky way - just twist focus to Infinite and snap away.
I've the canon mount samyang 14mm T/3.1 lens.
It's ok. Not exactly super sharp but it's pretty damn good for its price. Not as sharp as the Nikon 14-24. But then again I've not tested the canon.
LegendLee
post Apr 14 2017, 03:48 PM

><3LG3|\|D
2,725 posts

QUOTE(kahtsin @ Apr 14 2017, 10:32 AM)
is XDO mark reliable in terms of sharpness? I always scout on that website then youtube then find people who have lens to test it out before purchasing
I think it's an alright estimation.
Although lens performance is more than just that.
Some lens might perform differently at different working distance. There is also performance at different aperture.

It shouldn't matter that much though unless it's really bad.
LegendLee
post Apr 20 2017, 09:15 PM

><3LG3|\|D
2,725 posts

http://www.canonrumors.com/canon-usa-annou...eos-5d-mark-iv/

And they're charging 99 bucks for that.
I think I'll just skip this upgrade.
Not going to pay for something that's supposed to be free.
LegendLee
post May 23 2017, 05:52 PM

><3LG3|\|D
2,725 posts

Recently my 50 1.2 lens was spoilt again.
This time, the top ring came loose.
It's where the filter thread and Red ring is.
As a result, the focus ring was shaky as well.

Apparently it's a common issue.

Lens work completely fine though.

Sent it to canon service center and they charged me just RM150 for the spare part with no service fee required. Turnover time just a few days.

Was expecting a lot higher. So kudos to canon for this.
LegendLee
post Jun 19 2017, 05:20 PM

><3LG3|\|D
2,725 posts

QUOTE(St. Teh @ Jun 19 2017, 03:04 PM)
Dear Sifus

I have been using 450D for the past 10 years & the recent 2 years been lazy to carry a heavy DSLR and opted for GoPro. Now I am thinking to come back to DSLR by looking at 5DM2 has dropped below RM3k. May I know is it still worth to get 5DM2 at this moment? I just enjoy taking scenic photo & not a professional photographer, thus I never consider sky high 5DM3 or 5DM4.

Thanks for your advice in advance
Hmm.
I would consider current generation of mirror less camera.
Either from Sony, Panasonic or Olympus.

Why?

Because the 5D2 is big.
Chances are you will feel lazy to bring it around as well.
Also, the technology on the 5D2 is dated. It will perform far better than the GoPro or 450D, but existing current mirrorless might be good enough for you.
LegendLee
post Jun 21 2017, 02:21 PM

><3LG3|\|D
2,725 posts

Bought a carbon fiber tripod of some facebook ad.
Made a big mistake there.
ycplaster.com
Cost about rm400.

Rather than a carbon fiber tripod, I got some cheapo rm200+ aluminum tripod.

A risk definitely not worth taking in the future.

8 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > » Top

0.1032sec    1.10    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 22nd December 2025 - 04:34 PM