Credit Cards Maybank 2 Cards Premier V2, Fastest Air Miles Conversion

zstan
post Sep 5 2023, 10:12 PM

15,856 posts

or you can cancel your M2P before the 1 year is up and then reapply again in 6 months.

which is what i am trying to do as i dont think i can hit the spending requirements.
zstan
post Oct 8 2023, 02:00 PM

15,856 posts

QUOTE(fruitie @ Oct 5 2023, 10:57 PM)
For overseas, both give same 5x TP.

For local, only AmEx Reserve gives 5x TP. MUVI (change VI to MUVI) gives 2x locally and 5x for groceries.
*exception applies, e.g. no TP for e-wallets etc.
some places in overseas apply more surcharge for AMEX so best to use Visa
zstan
post Nov 7 2023, 04:58 PM

15,856 posts

QUOTE(msa9696 @ Nov 7 2023, 12:26 AM)
I'm going to China soon, I read about the AliPay and have also linked my CC, but I read that is it they got to scan you, we will not be able to scan them to pay?
Can share your experience, is it close to 100% able to pay with AliPay successfully? I also don't want to bring cash if possible, maybe just minimal for emergency
use TouchNGo e wallet safest
zstan
post Nov 8 2023, 08:54 AM

15,856 posts

QUOTE(msa9696 @ Nov 7 2023, 11:02 PM)
Ya in my list too, but again I'm also unsure the acceptance/ success rate.
Friend just came back from China last week no issues with tng e wallet.
zstan
post Nov 9 2023, 09:27 AM

15,856 posts

QUOTE(Krv23490 @ Nov 9 2023, 09:23 AM)
WTFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFF. definitely time to cancel before annual fee kicks in. time to jump to CIMB?
zstan
post Nov 9 2023, 11:04 AM

15,856 posts

QUOTE(rooneybeckham @ Nov 9 2023, 10:30 AM)
So M2P Amex is better than AMEX Reserve now?

RM2800 = 1000 airmiles
Lmao yes. Now need spend RM 3500 with M2P for 1000 miles. Guess I just go back to M2C
zstan
post Nov 9 2023, 02:17 PM

15,856 posts

QUOTE(knwong @ Nov 9 2023, 01:16 PM)
Gotta change the air miles earning strategy for 2024 liao...for local spending. Still going to use for oversea spending
isn't CIMB TWE better for overseas spending? 8x points.
zstan
post Nov 10 2023, 02:18 PM

15,856 posts

QUOTE(limeuu @ Nov 9 2023, 07:27 PM)
Oh, sorry, missed the KF part. Was thinking of the degraded Amex reserve.

So yes, that's still an option, until they degrade too. Unfortunately, I just cancelled, as cannot waive AF,
why dont want cancel in december? unless you AF due this month

QUOTE(HaN18 @ Nov 10 2023, 12:47 PM)
is there anyway to check how much did i spend since jan 2023 until now?
want to make sure i already hit the RM80k lol
call CS

QUOTE(Kaijuen @ Nov 10 2023, 02:10 PM)
DAYUM.. Whats happening to our malaysian credit card points. getting from bad to worse.

Sad to see that SG credit cards offer nothing less than 1MPD. and here we are struggling to find anything at 1 to 1 while currency is also like sheet. Lol
low interest rates kot. Or airlines increasing their points value. adding on to weakening ringgit.
zstan
post Nov 14 2023, 02:09 PM

15,856 posts

QUOTE(yimingwuzere @ Nov 13 2023, 01:28 PM)
With the new AMEX changes, is there any transaction where it's worthwhile to use it instead of keeping it in a drawer and just use the Visa?
None.

Better to just use the M2Platinum.
zstan
post Nov 15 2023, 11:57 AM

15,856 posts

QUOTE(Icehart @ Nov 15 2023, 10:49 AM)
What is AR?
Amex Reserve
zstan
post Nov 16 2023, 10:43 AM

15,856 posts

QUOTE(francis226 @ Nov 15 2023, 04:57 PM)
Yes, I used to have Prestige, premiermiles & rewards card and mainly spend with Prestige. I cncelled prestige when uob charged af. then i just keep the other 2 cards in the drawer. Last Sept i called CS to waive AF and they just waived AF & SST. Now i use Prvi Miles Elite for oversea spending

I will choose AF waiver for Prvi Miles Elite. 60K UNIRM = 6667 miles. Pay rm600 to get 6667 miles, value per miles is RM0.09.
seems like a gamble with the AF.

if fail to get waiver then card really hurts.
zstan
post Nov 22 2023, 04:47 PM

15,856 posts

QUOTE(ssajnani @ Nov 22 2023, 04:16 PM)
Real bummer. I guess most of us are asking the same question. Which is the next best thing out there?
For the time being, I guess Singapore Airlines Krisflyer Amex is better right since its RM 2.5 for 1KF?
Also for overseas transaction, better to use Visa Infinate cos of the better rate and charges. I believe MBB charges 2.25% on Visa and 2.5% on Amex and both give 5x for overseas transactions.

Would this be right?

Also if you are into Enrich, then wont the Maybank Mastercard World be better for local spending? It works out to RM 3.2/Enrich instead of RM 3.5 for AR or VI.
not that high la.

i was in aussie last month and the exchange rate was 3.02 compared to the cash i changed at 3.01. but they do have extra cc surcharges of 1.5%
zstan
post Nov 23 2023, 09:38 AM

15,856 posts

QUOTE(fruitie @ Nov 22 2023, 06:39 PM)
I think KF AmEx will be next to be revised... That's my guess.
Same here... Sigh. Beloved CIMB TWE... Not sure what to do now.
downgrade back to Maybank Platinum AMEX laugh.gif laugh.gif

zstan
post Dec 1 2023, 12:05 AM

15,856 posts

RIP Amex Reserve. Just managed to qualify for it and the relationship didn't last long sad.gif
zstan
post Dec 31 2023, 05:47 PM

15,856 posts

QUOTE(limeuu @ Dec 31 2023, 05:39 PM)
Groceries always 5X. others 2X but if MU win, then 5X
the 5x is just for the day that MU win or the whole week?
zstan
post Feb 28 2024, 08:49 PM

15,856 posts

After cutting all the benefits Maybank posted a strong Q4 result and dividend payout ;')
zstan
post Apr 5 2024, 11:18 AM

15,856 posts

is it just me or Maybank has been sending newsletters on Singapore offers to my emails?
zstan
post May 3 2024, 11:20 AM

15,856 posts

Maybe can report Maybank to tribunal court as well?

i'm glad i converted all my TP during the Enrich 20% 2 months back. it's evident that Maybank doesnt care about the high spenders anymore as they bleed the bank more than giving them any extra profits laugh.gif
zstan
post May 14 2024, 10:45 AM

15,856 posts

QUOTE(Lego Warfare @ May 14 2024, 10:41 AM)
So what did everyone replace their M2P with for their daily usage?
I have UOB Prvi which is only relegated to oversea/foreign transactions, so I'm looking for a main local usage card.

At the moment Alliance VI looks like the next best option despite no longer having SIA option..
Alliance VI also just announced spending cap sad.gif
zstan
post May 14 2024, 11:59 AM

15,856 posts

QUOTE(limeuu @ May 14 2024, 11:49 AM)
Basically the airmiles game is dead in Malaysia.

Surprisingly it's still very much alive in other countries, including Singapore and Australia.

We wait for a revival.

So at the end of the day, despite the bad devaluation, m2premier and KF platinum remains the best play.
nope. m2 platinum AMEX is ironically much better for treat points on weekdays.

3 Pages < 1 2 3 >Top

0.2651sec    0.40    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 14th December 2025 - 11:18 PM