Monthly Installment Payment for iMAC

TSmacball
post Dec 29 2006, 03:32 PM, updated 19y ago

259 posts

Do anyone knows that which shop or where I can purchased an iMAC 17" by monthly installment . A payment scheme like DELL COMPUTER.

Would love to own a mac with this kind of payment scheme. Can't fork out that much cash at a time.

Thanx.
goldfries
post Dec 29 2006, 03:39 PM

40K Club
Forum Admin
44,415 posts

what credit card are you using?

for cards like Citibank, you can pay first then call them up to tell them that you wish to settle that by installment.

of course, call them up to confirm that it can be done before doing so. smile.gif

EDITED : yes, i confirm it can be done. just that i don't know what card you're using and whether you meet their conditions to allow installment payment. so better you check it out for your case. smile.gif

This post has been edited by goldfries: Dec 29 2006, 03:40 PM
TSmacball
post Dec 29 2006, 03:43 PM

259 posts

QUOTE(goldfries @ Dec 29 2006, 03:39 PM)
what credit card are you using?

for cards like Citibank, you can pay first then call them up to tell them that you wish to settle that by installment.

of course, call them up to confirm that it can be done before doing so. smile.gif

EDITED : yes, i confirm it can be done. just that i don't know what card you're using and whether you meet their conditions to allow installment payment. so better you check it out for your case. smile.gif
Yes, I am using Citibank. And call them at the spot of buying, before purchasing or after purchasing ? Plz gimme some guides. Thanx.

And will it be 0% , 12 month installment plan?
tinkerbel
post Dec 29 2006, 03:50 PM

Fanaddict!
13,495 posts

macball,
Y don't U call Citibank and check with them? It's probably different for every customer based on individual credit ratings and records with them. Enjoy your new Mac smile.gif
TSmacball
post Dec 29 2006, 03:55 PM

259 posts

QUOTE(tinkerbel @ Dec 29 2006, 03:50 PM)
macball,
Y don't U call Citibank and check with them?  It's probably different for every customer based on individual credit ratings and records with them.  Enjoy your new Mac  smile.gif
all right, hope i will be celebrating my new year 2007 with a new mac.

I have been a Gates' Typist for like since 286 model. Would be glad to own one of it.

After I call my Citibank guys, I will update it here.

Cheers ~ Happy Mac 2007...
goldfries
post Dec 29 2006, 03:57 PM

40K Club
Forum Admin
44,415 posts

QUOTE(macball @ Dec 29 2006, 03:43 PM)
Yes, I am using Citibank. And call them at the spot of buying, before purchasing or after purchasing ? Plz gimme some guides. Thanx.

And will it be 0% , 12 month installment plan?
erm. do it this way
1. find out price of the item
2. call Citibank and ask them whether it is possible for Citibank to arrange that the payment for this item be done via installment
3. once they say ok, you go buy the goods.
4. after that, call them again and tell them about this purchase that you would like to enable installment. smile.gif

doesn't make sense to call them just before purchase, you'll waste time if you can't get installment. doesn't make sense to call them after purchase either, if cannot installment then gone are your plans and $$$.

so yeah, do like what i say. check out whether the option is there for you first, that's most important.

as for the interest rates on installment plans, you have to check with them.
tinkerbel
post Dec 29 2006, 04:01 PM

Fanaddict!
13,495 posts

goldfries,
Will you consider loaning this 'stranger' some $ for my MBP? PleaaSssee please pleeaaassssseeee..... biggrin.gif
TSmacball
post Dec 29 2006, 04:09 PM

259 posts

QUOTE(tinkerbel @ Dec 29 2006, 04:01 PM)
goldfries,
Will you consider loaning this 'stranger' some $ for my MBP? PleaaSssee please pleeaaassssseeee.....  biggrin.gif
Yes Loan me, and I shall put up ur advertisement for free..........in where???HAHHAHA

another macbook pro craze AD machines??

Good idea.

So I will start begging now. Pleaseeeeeeeee donate me a MAC....

way to start the year 2007...~~~
tinkerbel
post Dec 29 2006, 04:20 PM

Fanaddict!
13,495 posts

macball,
Have U called Citibank oredi or not?! I wanna know what their policies are. Then again, I don't think I even have sufficient credit limit to get the MBP rclxub.gif

Nah, I'm not a CRAZY MBP fan - I was in the market scouting around for a new notebook and just like the majority, am a Windows user. Haven't exactly bought the new notebook yet but should've done so earlier so I could've used this week to reconfigure everything. It's gonna be a bz week next week... but ah well, it's too late now isn't it? sad.gif

Plus, goldfries hasn't released my loan rolleyes.gif
azxel
post Dec 29 2006, 04:24 PM

moological mooster
3,421 posts

QUOTE(macball @ Dec 29 2006, 03:32 PM)
Do anyone knows that which shop or where I can purchased an iMAC 17" by monthly installment . A payment scheme like DELL COMPUTER.

Would love to own a mac with this kind of payment scheme. Can't fork out that much cash at a time.

Thanx.
MacAsia... Standard Chartered, Maybank & AmBank.
tinkerbel
post Dec 29 2006, 04:26 PM

Fanaddict!
13,495 posts

macball,
If you don't have any credit cards with any of those 3 banks mentioned, may I suggest you just apply for one just for this purchase. It's not that difficult to get a credit card approved these days, right?! *shrugs*
azxel
post Dec 29 2006, 04:34 PM

moological mooster
3,421 posts

How Citibanks works, if I'm not mistaken is that you buy the item and then give a call to Citibank informing them that you want that particular item to be process and converted into 0% installment. Well, that's how they explain on TV a couple of years back. If they haven't changed it then that's how it's done. It shouldn't be difficult to find out if you're a Citibank Credit Card member...
tinkerbel
post Dec 29 2006, 04:38 PM

Fanaddict!
13,495 posts

azxel,
That's why we told macball to give Citibank a call. From my monthly bills, I understand there's a separate credit limit under the 'Installment Plans' so I suppose they just look at that and go through a couple more of their credit risk checks before they give final approval.

However, if MacAsia's oredi got schemes with the banks you mentioned, won't it be easier to just use that Credit Card? unsure.gif
goldfries
post Dec 29 2006, 04:52 PM

40K Club
Forum Admin
44,415 posts

QUOTE(tinkerbel @ Dec 29 2006, 04:01 PM)
goldfries,
Will you consider loaning this 'stranger' some $ for my MBP? PleaaSssee please pleeaaassssseeee.....  biggrin.gif
why meeee? smile.gif i got the funds but it's allocated for more important things already la.
azxel
post Dec 29 2006, 05:12 PM

moological mooster
3,421 posts

QUOTE(tinkerbel @ Dec 29 2006, 04:38 PM)
azxel,
That's why we told macball to give Citibank a call.  From my monthly bills, I understand there's a separate credit limit under the 'Installment Plans' so I suppose they just look at that and go through a couple more of their credit risk checks before they give final approval.

However, if MacAsia's oredi got schemes with the banks you mentioned, won't it be easier to just use that Credit Card?  unsure.gif
I don't know much about Citibank... they've never approved any of my credit card application... even up till today. laugh.gif Can't be bothered with Citibank anymore anyway... my HLB and Standard Chartered is enough... enough debt to keep me paying for a couple of years. laugh.gif

QUOTE(goldfries @ Dec 29 2006, 04:52 PM)
why meeee? smile.gif i got the funds but it's allocated for more important things already la.
Cilake.. surrender one of your PCs to me now for (high end) gaming purposes!!! mad.gif vmad.gif
goldfries
post Dec 29 2006, 05:27 PM

40K Club
Forum Admin
44,415 posts

i have a lot of other things in my "purchase line-up".

now that i've settled the Mac part. there's 101 other stuff to go for.........
TSmacball
post Dec 29 2006, 05:27 PM

259 posts

Sorry, havent called them yet. Abit busy. Will call tonight,and is the bank working 24 hours a day?

MacAsia, they offer 0% monthly installment scheme? Sigh, I dun they have the card mentioned. If I were to apply it, there will be months to come be4 I can get a iMAC.

I have become so frustrated with the windows based PC, that I tried to switch to MAC in this new year. Having use ur time to repair computer than using it, is really frustrating!

I have got Credit Card by Citibank ; and Public bank Onli!

tinkerbel
post Dec 29 2006, 05:40 PM

Fanaddict!
13,495 posts

macball,
Yes Citiphone Banking is available 24/7 so you can call them anytime that's convenient to you. Yes, I think the scheme offered by MacAsia is 0% monthly instalment but I've no idea for how long.

goldfries,
Wanna share what else is in the queue?! rolleyes.gif Oklah, I'll just continue standing at the ATM machines hoping people drop their $ when they withdraw them at the machine tongue.gif

azxel,
Ask nicely lah... whistling.gif

This post has been edited by tinkerbel: Dec 29 2006, 05:41 PM
TSmacball
post Dec 29 2006, 05:45 PM

259 posts

QUOTE(tinkerbel @ Dec 29 2006, 05:40 PM)
macball,
Yes Citiphone Banking is available 24/7 so you can call them anytime that's convenient to you.  Yes, I think the scheme offered by MacAsia is 0% monthly instalment but I've no idea for how long.

goldfries,
Wanna share what else is in the queue?!  rolleyes.gif  Oklah, I'll just continue standing at the ATM machines hoping people drop their $ when they withdraw them at the machine  tongue.gif

azxel,
Ask nicely lah...  whistling.gif
thanx. Will call them tonite, then upload some infos here.
U mean MacAsia 0% installment plan only for a limited time period only ??
babyk
post Dec 29 2006, 06:08 PM

BANNED 101/100(tm) : Your avatar too sexy
10,052 posts

CG Computers 6 months and 12 months installation program available for HSBC and Maybank Credit Card users
neekun
post Dec 29 2006, 06:11 PM

I'm a Mac
2,573 posts

Be sure to ask any bank offering 0% installment plan on hidden charges such as processing fees (usually 3 to 4 percent of total price).

Check for any possible penalties if in the future you want to settle the payment in advance :-)

BTW, you can purchase first by charging to the card and then call the bank to ask them convert to monthly installment.

Enjoy your iMac :-)
TSmacball
post Dec 29 2006, 07:21 PM

259 posts

QUOTE(babyk @ Dec 29 2006, 06:08 PM)
CG Computers 6 months and 12 months installation program available for HSBC and Maybank Credit Card users
Are they 0% interest ?

Anyway, I do not own neither HSBC nor Maybank Credit Card.

Any mac center offering 0% installment for Public Bank?
TSmacball
post Dec 30 2006, 12:39 PM

259 posts

Just called Citibank Bank Card Center. Damn! really spoilt my Christmas and New Year Mood.

They said you can't have this flexi payment plan. If u want to make it like monthly installment. The % interest is 9.88%, which sucks!

Damn, now I have to check with Macasia about any other plan...

So I can't use my citibank card for Apple...what is next?
tinkerbel
post Dec 31 2006, 06:56 PM

Fanaddict!
13,495 posts

macball,
Y don't you try applying for one of the banks' credit card? Processing of the card may not be *that* long if your credit records are good.

Other options I can think of would be:-
1) Check with Public Bank - no harm since you're an existing Credit Cardholder there.

2) I know Citibank's got this other scheme where they'll 'loan' you some cash - I believe there will be interest charged to it but i doubt it's anywhere near 9.88% p/month but please confirm details when you call them - i'd never used this facility before hence ain't able to provide you with more details. Btw, are you sure interest chargeable is 9.88% per month and not per annum?

3) What about 'lending' the $ from your parents/relatives? (just don't ask goldfries! innocent.gif )

4) Hold off your purchase until you've sufficient cash?
TSmacball
post Dec 31 2006, 08:17 PM

259 posts

QUOTE(tinkerbel @ Dec 31 2006, 06:56 PM)
macball,
Y don't you try applying for one of the banks' credit card?  Processing of the card may not be *that* long if your credit records are good.

Other options I can think of would be:-
1) Check with Public Bank - no harm since you're an existing Credit Cardholder there.

2) I know Citibank's got this other scheme where they'll 'loan' you some cash - I believe there will be interest charged to it but i doubt it's anywhere near 9.88% p/month but please confirm details when you call them - i'd never used this facility before hence ain't able to provide you with more details.  Btw, are you sure interest chargeable is 9.88% per month and not per annum?

3) What about 'lending' the $ from your parents/relatives? (just don't ask goldfries! innocent.gif )

4) Hold off your purchase until you've sufficient cash?
1) Ok I will check with public bank in the new year 2007. And happy new year 2007 everyone.

2) I think is 9.88% per year. or not really sure. How they calculate it. Cuz when I talk to this operator, she is so impatient, that i get pissed off.

3) Borrowing from my families is a "NO". they will say why do u need a MAC?

4)I might be holding my purchase for quite a while UNTIL i got ENUF cash............... sad.gif
azxel
post Jan 1 2007, 09:53 AM

moological mooster
3,421 posts

macball... if you have a Citibank credit card, it's very easy to apply for credit cards from other banks. Especially if you've used it for more than 1 year.

alternatively, you could swipe it with your Citibank, apply for a different bank's credit card, one that allows you to have fund transfer at lower interest rates installment... but it's still better apply for one that gives you 0% interest installment.

Also, there is always a charge or some fee for processing your 0% interest installment purchases.

This post has been edited by azxel: Jan 1 2007, 09:55 AM
tinkerbel
post Jan 1 2007, 10:58 AM

Fanaddict!
13,495 posts

macball,
azxel's advise's pretty solid. Tell you what - i promised sis and mom to take them shopping today. If any of the 3 banks are having roadshows to promote their Credit Cards at the mall, I'll check to see how long the application processing period takes k?

Also, since I'm gonna probably end up at Mid Valley, I'll go to machines and check if they've any installment plans.

Hope to give you good news in this great New Year biggrin.gif
supafreak
post Jan 1 2007, 01:21 PM

188 posts

macball... here's something frm a reliable source..

1. to avoid being charged interests on your installments, make sure the merchant (place whr u buy frm) is a merchant of the bank tat approved u ur credit card... most banks do allow installment pymts even if they r not their merchants BUT you'll be charged interest... how do u know if the place u r buyin for is a merchant? well, u can call them n ask... they'll know... otherwise, make the purchase, n then call ur bank to convert the purchase to installment...

but honestly, i think this installment thing only saves u on some chicken feed interest charges per mth... cause what will happen in the background is your credit limit, say it is 10k... you bought a mac thru Installment and tat mac cost u 8k@12mths... what this means is you will only be statemented RM667 per mth but u already know this rite?... wat u probably dont know is your 8k mac purhcase has already been earmarked into ur limit of 10k... which means,.. u only got 2k actual usage...

made sense?... happy nu yr dude..

TSmacball
post Jan 1 2007, 02:19 PM

259 posts

QUOTE(tinkerbel @ Jan 1 2007, 10:58 AM)
macball,
azxel's advise's pretty solid.  Tell you what - i promised sis and mom to take them shopping today.  If any of the 3 banks are having roadshows to promote their Credit Cards at the mall, I'll check to see how long the application processing period takes k?

Also, since I'm gonna probably end up at Mid Valley, I'll go to machines and check if they've any installment plans.

Hope to give you good news in this great New Year  biggrin.gif
Thanx for the "shopping" help.

Poor geek like me ought to get kicked like a Ball.... rclxub.gif
TSmacball
post Jan 1 2007, 02:45 PM

259 posts

Any one of you has friends of friends working in Standard Charatered Bank, as I would like to apply for a Standard Chartered Bank Credit Card. smile.gif

Plz drop me a message if you have friends. Thanx.

Help me to get a new iMAC icon_question.gif for 2007 ~~~

Jaffar
post Jan 1 2007, 06:15 PM

307 posts

QUOTE(babyk @ Dec 29 2006, 06:08 PM)
They charges 4.5% and 5.5% for 6 months and 12 months installment plan.
tinkerbel
post Jan 1 2007, 06:22 PM

Fanaddict!
13,495 posts

macball,
I don't think you need a referral for a Stan Chart credit card. Just give them a call and tell them you'll like to apply and they ought to be able to help you. Or maybe they allow online application. Can possibly check their website out.

2) Didn't come across any Credit Card roadshows whilst I was out - sorry *gulps* blush.gif

3) Machines @ Mid Valley also has instalment schemes. They're affiliated to Maybank, CIMB Bank (formerly known as Southern Bank) & HSBC - none of which would be of any benefits to you at this point doh.gif I was also informed there's an additional 4% surcharge for those who purchase under this scheme (hence, in reality, eventhough the bank's offering 0% interest for 12 months, if you include the 4% surcharge, you're actually paying a 4% interest over the 12 months - you get where I'm coming from?)

4) Machine's also currently having a promotion on the 20" & 24" iMac where they're giving a RM250 rebate/discount. It is apparently valid till 14 Jan 2007.

5) Anyhow, if you want more info, you can call them up at 03.2282.3996. Their sales enquiry email is sales@machines.com.my

I hope you manage to find funding for your iMac soon enough - btw, if you're already working and if you've sufficient $ in your EPF, I think you can take some $ out from it to purchase a new computer [i'm not too sure about the details but you can check around] sweat.gif
TSmacball
post Jan 1 2007, 06:58 PM

259 posts

QUOTE(tinkerbel @ Jan 1 2007, 06:22 PM)
macball,
I don't think you need a referral for a Stan Chart credit card.  Just give them a call and tell them you'll like to apply and they ought to be able to help you.  Or maybe they allow online application.  Can possibly check their website out.

2) Didn't come across any Credit Card roadshows whilst I was out - sorry *gulps*  blush.gif

3) Machines @ Mid Valley also has instalment schemes.  They're affiliated to Maybank, CIMB Bank (formerly known as Southern Bank) & HSBC - none of which would be of any benefits to you at this point  doh.gif  I was also informed there's an additional 4% surcharge for those who purchase under this scheme (hence, in reality, eventhough the bank's offering 0% interest for 12 months, if you include the 4% surcharge, you're actually paying a 4% interest over the 12 months - you get where I'm coming from?)

4) Machine's also currently having a promotion on the 20" & 24" iMac where they're giving a RM250 rebate/discount.  It is apparently valid till 14 Jan 2007.

5) Anyhow, if you want more info, you can call them up at 03.2282.3996.  Their sales enquiry email is sales@machines.com.my

I hope you manage to find funding for your iMac soon enough - btw, if you're already working and if you've sufficient $ in your EPF, I think you can take some $ out from it to purchase a new computer [i'm not too sure about the details but you can check around]  sweat.gif
Thanx for the effort smile.gif

I cant take it out from EPF, cuz i just work for 2 years. And I do not want to fork out such an amount of cash at one time.

I just make an online application for Standard Chartered CC. Actually I am somehow self-employed as I work for my father's company. And the pay slip will be abit of problem. Sigh...

That is why I am opting for an agent, to simplify the process ( this is what my past experience for both Citibank and Public Bank ).

Charging 4% transaction fee for using credit card. Hmm.. Ya I get u, Tinker.

Still we pay extra for the MAChines.

tinkerbel
post Jan 2 2007, 12:21 AM

Fanaddict!
13,495 posts

macball,
I'm sure you are still paid a fixed monthly salary despite working for your dad hence the pay slips shouldn't be a problem. Alternatively, if the bank know you're involved in the family business, they may query the genuine-nity if your pay slip and request for some other documentations to proof (a good documentation to provide can be your EPF slip the department sends to you) - that way, they know you haven't put in a 'fake' salary figure in your credit card application.

I'm unsure if there's any processing fees or surcharge for the instalment schemes offered by MacAsia but if i do go over or speak to them soon enough, I'll check and let you know.

Maybe you can also try applying for a Maybank credit card since both MacAsia and Machines accept that under their installment scheme. You can cancel the card when it's approve, and just use whichever that's approved earlier - maybe request with the bank to expedite the processing of your Credit Card. Just convince them you need the Credit Card urgently, etc etc etc....

Maybe you can check out the other Apple Centres around - MacStudio at Ikano. There's also an Apple shop at Plaza Damas (opposite Sony Centre, next to Ogawa) which you can try contacting.

Hope you get your iMac soon smile.gif
TSmacball
post Jan 2 2007, 02:31 PM

259 posts

QUOTE(tinkerbel @ Jan 2 2007, 12:21 AM)
macball,
I'm sure you are still paid a fixed monthly salary despite working for your dad hence the pay slips shouldn't be a problem.  Alternatively, if the bank know you're involved in the family business, they may query the genuine-nity if your pay slip and request for some other documentations to proof (a good documentation to provide can be your EPF slip the department sends to you) - that way, they know you haven't put in a 'fake' salary figure in your credit card application.

I'm unsure if there's any processing fees or surcharge for the instalment schemes offered by MacAsia but if i do go over or speak to them soon enough, I'll check and let you know.

Maybe you can also try applying for a Maybank credit card since both MacAsia and Machines accept that under their installment scheme.  You can cancel the card when it's approve, and just use whichever that's approved earlier - maybe request with the bank to expedite the processing of your Credit Card.  Just convince them you need the Credit Card urgently, etc etc etc....

Maybe you can check out the other Apple Centres around - MacStudio at Ikano.  There's also an Apple shop at Plaza Damas (opposite Sony Centre, next to Ogawa) which you can try contacting.

Hope you get your iMac soon  smile.gif
Can I request an EPF statement from the EPF Goverment Agency?

Maybank not my prefered bank at all. They totall had the worst reputation among all the banks in Malaysia, yet they are called MAYbank. Looking into HSBC and Southern Bank.

Thanx for the works and tips, everyone. I would almost love to have an iMAC to browse and post some topics for the FORUM here. blink.gif Hopefully...
TSmacball
post Jan 2 2007, 03:43 PM

259 posts

Now I am comparing this both models, as for me I have a CITIBANK CC. I can purchase a SONY VAIO using monthly installment scheme.

But I can't do it with APPLE computers. So here we are, comparing VAIO and MACBOOK. Both 13.3 inches.

Price : 4399 APPLE ; 4488 SONY VAIO.

Processor : 1.83GHz Intel Core 2 Duo ; Intel(R) Core(tm)2 Duo Processor T5500 (1.66GHz)

Memory : 512MB (2x256MB) of 667MHz DDR2 SDRAM (PC2-5300) ; 512MB DDR2 SDRAM

Hardisk : 60GB Serial ATA/100; 5400-rpm ; 80GB (HDD Recovery Storage:7GB*5, C:40GB, D:Remainder) Serial ATA, 5400rpm

Graphics : Intel GMA 950 graphics processor with 64MB of DDR2 SDRAM shared with main memory ; Intel(R) Graphics Media Accelerator 950

I am like betraying my ownself. Half converting to iMAC, yet still wanted to use windows.

Sigh...I need to use computer.

This post has been edited by macball: Jan 2 2007, 03:44 PM
babyk
post Jan 2 2007, 04:15 PM

10,052 posts

you are already using a computer

first of all...let's makes things simple.

Why do you need a new computer? for gaming? for business purposes? or just for show off?
TSmacball
post Jan 2 2007, 04:50 PM

259 posts

QUOTE(babyk @ Jan 2 2007, 04:15 PM)
you are already using a computer

first of all...let's makes things simple.

Why do you need a new computer? for gaming? for business purposes? or just for show off?
I am already using an OFFICE computer. ohmy.gif I need this computer for my home use. I dun think buying an apple can make you a celebrity> showing off ur apple is not the right or smartest way for the showing off altitude. hmm.gif
babyk
post Jan 2 2007, 04:55 PM

10,052 posts

Next
Home Use

Please define your home use. Gaming? surf net? Do spreadsheets? Chatting?

with RM4000+ you can get alot of good custom PCs
goldfries
post Jan 2 2007, 06:44 PM

40K Club
Forum Admin
44,415 posts

QUOTE(macball @ Jan 2 2007, 03:43 PM)
I am like betraying my ownself. Half converting to iMAC, yet still wanted to use windows.

aiyoh - man, how come people always have the mentality that once they go MAC they're betraying / switching camp.

it's a joke man.......

look macball, going to Mac doesn't mean you betray or switch camp or anything. (i used Windows, Linux, Mac OS X - i'm in all camps. biggrin.gif)

IMO home user, a macbook would be nice. but then again you could have a desktop PC with overall more powerful capability at that price. (or better specs at even half the cost).
tinkerbel
post Jan 2 2007, 07:12 PM

Fanaddict!
13,495 posts

macball,
As you probably can tell, I'm unable to provide much opinion/thoughts when it comes to use of software/easy-bility/gaming for Apple systems (As of this moment, I'm still on a PC system) doh.gif

Now, using price as a factor in comparing the 2 models you mentioned, I *think* the MacBook's probably cheaper. Main diff is in the additional 20GB HDD space on the Vaio. I think the Vaio's graphic card and the MB's one is probably ~about~ the same but I'm no biggie when it comes to graphic cards as I'm not a heavy graphics user hence i'm pretty ok with the bare basics tongue.gif

For me, I'm more concerned when it comes to RAM hence my min requirement would be 1GB RAM, etc. If you're using the notebook mainly for emails, surfing, chatting, and the likes of Microsoft Office (mainly Words & Excel), be assured there are other compatible programs on a Mac platform icon_rolleyes.gif

I know how you must be feeling at the moment, I was once in your shoes rolleyes.gif . Check out "Windows to MAC - Should I?" thread and you'll know where I'm coming from smile.gif

TSmacball
post Jan 2 2007, 07:49 PM

259 posts

QUOTE(goldfries @ Jan 2 2007, 06:44 PM)
aiyoh - man, how come people always have the mentality that once they go MAC they're betraying / switching camp.

it's a joke man.......

look macball, going to Mac doesn't mean you betray or switch camp or anything. (i used Windows, Linux, Mac OS X - i'm in all camps. biggrin.gif)

IMO home user, a macbook would be nice. but then again you could have a desktop PC with overall more powerful capability at that price. (or better specs at even half the cost).
Actually my point is to get something nice, something cool, with monthly installment. I want to own ferrari yet i am poor..... rclxub.gif

And I got what u mean. But I am determine to get a MAC, no matter wat. Just at the moment I need to work on my computer. By means of working at home, I use it to write blogs, surf the net, play some games, and do some work brought back from office. And also make sure that I learn CSS...and wordpress. shocking.gif
tinkerbel
post Jan 2 2007, 08:42 PM

Fanaddict!
13,495 posts

macball,
R u saying you've decided on a Mac except now price is the main issue? If so, why then did you shortlist it with the Vaio which is also as pricey? doh.gif

Ah, I get it now. It's the 'GAYA-ness' that you want! blink.gif
prasys
post Jan 2 2007, 09:58 PM

Heros Never Die
12,925 posts

a mac is a mac , you can always ditch osx and install windows. and you can run both systems side by side. Thats the beauty of it. Trust me , OSX is pretty good for folks like you. You may find it hard at first , but then you will get the hang of it. Tell you what , for that kind of things a mac would do

I would suggest getting an iMac with Radeon x1600 . Just incase if you wish to do some gaming. have you tried OSX before

I suggest you to grab OSX 10.4 with PearPC to give it a try. It might be slow , but its just a nice way to explore OSX.
goldfries
post Jan 3 2007, 12:08 AM

40K Club
Forum Admin
44,415 posts

QUOTE(macball @ Jan 2 2007, 07:49 PM)
But I am determine to get a MAC, no matter wat.
so........... why bring VAIO into comparison? and what's holding you back? smile.gif

but seriously, if your work is standard documents then i think OpenOffice shouldn't have problem with it.

you can download OpenOffice for Windows and see if it runs your usually opened documents.

seriously, my macbook does everything my dell inspiron 1300 can and MORE..... hey at least i get GIMP there tongue.gif i don't know what else to use on Windows to edit layered images tongue.gif

what i like about my mac is that it came with so many things already, even the remote control, DVD player, iPhoto blablablabl........... and adding other stuff was way easy, like MAMP and other apps.
tinkerbel
post Jan 3 2007, 12:23 AM

Fanaddict!
13,495 posts

goldfries,
I jeawous cry.gif
goldfries
post Jan 3 2007, 02:03 AM

40K Club
Forum Admin
44,415 posts

QUOTE(tinkerbel @ Jan 3 2007, 12:23 AM)
goldfries,
I jeawous  cry.gif
and i effectively reduce my $$$$ by a few k. biggrin.gif although it does help me greatly in my business. so in the long run, still covers the cost. hehe.
TSmacball
post Jan 3 2007, 08:32 AM

259 posts

QUOTE(goldfries @ Jan 3 2007, 12:08 AM)
so........... why bring VAIO into comparison? and what's holding you back? smile.gif

but seriously, if your work is standard documents then i think OpenOffice shouldn't have problem with it.

you can download OpenOffice for Windows and see if it runs your usually opened documents.

seriously, my macbook does everything my dell inspiron 1300 can and MORE..... hey at least i get GIMP there tongue.gif i don't know what else to use on Windows to edit layered images tongue.gif

what i like about my mac is that it came with so many things already, even the remote control, DVD player, iPhoto blablablabl........... and adding other stuff was way easy, like MAMP and other apps.
Yes, money issue is holding me back. That is all. blush.gif
tinkerbel
post Jan 3 2007, 11:56 AM

Fanaddict!
13,495 posts

goldfries,
If it's helped you generate more business, then it's become an asset more than a liability. Plus, I'm sure you've oredi made the additional $$$k's back from the new business it's generated.

macball,
Wait a minute - are you looking at a MacBook or an iMac now? Or, any Mac for that matter? *confused* rclxub.gif Ah well, think hard about it and who knows? You may just win yourself a lottery biggrin.gif
goldfries
post Jan 3 2007, 12:01 PM

40K Club
Forum Admin
44,415 posts

QUOTE(tinkerbel @ Jan 3 2007, 11:56 AM)
goldfries,
If it's helped you generate more business, then it's become an asset more than a liability.  Plus, I'm sure you've oredi made the additional $$$k's back from the new business it's generated.
in progress. tongue.gif i do designs, my fiancee uses the macbook to do presentation to clients. biggrin.gif it surely is better than using a low-end Dell.
babyk
post Jan 3 2007, 12:11 PM

10,052 posts

goldfries,
If it's helped you generate more business, then it's become an asset more than a liability.  Plus, I'm sure you've oredi made the additional $$$k's back from the new business it's generated.

macball,
Wait a minute - are you looking at a MacBook or an iMac now?  Or, any Mac for that matter? *confused*  rclxub.gif  Ah well, think hard about it and who knows?  You may just win yourself a lottery  biggrin.gif
ya..i'm kinda confused too~
first...he said iMac,then MacBook then VAIO rclxub.gif rclxub.gif rclxub.gif

that is why i asked him,he wants a mac for show off or buying it for work purpose in other thread
butterflydarling
post Jan 3 2007, 12:16 PM

544 posts

how much does an iMac cost these days?
azxel
post Jan 3 2007, 12:32 PM

moological mooster
3,421 posts

QUOTE(macball @ Jan 1 2007, 02:45 PM)
Any one of you has friends of friends working in Standard Charatered Bank, as I would like to apply for a Standard Chartered Bank Credit Card.  smile.gif

Plz drop me a message if you have friends. Thanx.

Help me to get a new iMAC  icon_question.gif for 2007 ~~~
go to MidValley or One Utama, there are tonnes of credit car sales folks around. laugh.gif

QUOTE(macball @ Jan 3 2007, 08:32 AM)
Yes, money issue is holding me back. That is all. blush.gif
if money is an issue, then wait a bit... you don't really NEED one now and I bet that waiting won't really kill you. smile.gif

QUOTE(butterflydarling @ Jan 3 2007, 12:16 PM)
how much does an iMac cost these days?
http://www.macasia.com.my/
wei
post Jan 3 2007, 12:41 PM

Get your Macs done right!
6,496 posts

I've waited for years for what I have now...
no harm on using a used mac if you're on tight budget.
tinkerbel
post Jan 3 2007, 01:44 PM

Fanaddict!
13,495 posts

goldfries,
How I wish my clients make their decision based on the kinda notebook I carry for presentation purposes blink.gif - i wouldn't need to go on standing at the ATM machines waiting and hoping for people to drop their cash *grins* blink.gif But I'm pretty much sure, as a designer the Mac's serving you well biggrin.gif

wei,
You've a very valid point - just dat most people are impatient these days and with easy accessibility to credit facilities and instalment plans, many spend their future $ today, and end up with loadsa debts sweat.gif

macball,
Another suggestion is ask ur folks for a subsidy for your new pc. You just top up the difference. And if so, ask them for RM5k - that should be more than sufficient to get u an iMac or the MacBook, even the Vaio blush.gif
goldfries
post Jan 3 2007, 03:17 PM

40K Club
Forum Admin
44,415 posts

QUOTE(tinkerbel @ Jan 3 2007, 01:44 PM)
goldfries,
How I wish my clients make their decision based on the kinda notebook I carry for presentation purposes  blink.gif  - i wouldn't need to go on standing at the ATM machines waiting and hoping for people to drop their cash *grins*  blink.gif  But I'm pretty much sure, as a designer the Mac's serving you well  biggrin.gif
no la they don't make decision based on notebook.

it's just that having a Macbook some how does give a more impressive feel.

heck even normal sites look nicer. pictures look nicer.
cywings
post Jan 3 2007, 04:29 PM

415 posts

QUOTE(goldfries @ Jan 3 2007, 03:17 PM)
no la they don't make decision based on notebook.

it's just that having a Macbook some how does give a more impressive feel.

heck even normal sites look nicer. pictures look nicer.
is it really sites n pictures looked nicer??

i've been longing for a macbook as well...tight budget that's the problem.. cry.gif
goldfries
post Jan 3 2007, 04:32 PM

40K Club
Forum Admin
44,415 posts

maybe i should do a side-by-side comparison
my old acer vs my inspiron 1300 vs my macbook vs my 2007WFP monitor. biggrin.gif
TSmacball
post Jan 3 2007, 04:52 PM

259 posts

Guys and girls, because I used to have a computer a desktop and recently it broke down. I switched to my brother's macbook, and got hook to it. Impressive machine.

And I have spent lots of time repairing my PENTIUM 4 computer than using it, so I am really pissed off with what the desktop had cost my time.

So by having a better machine, I can spend more time doing what I want with it.

And recently, my bank account has not gotten fatter and I in need of a computer. That is why I am opting for monthly installment plan to purchase a computer. I am not showing off what I can afford. I am just as humble as a DELL computer ....hehehe... but the determination to own an APPLE is as hard as a rock ( just dun blast it with a bomb tongue.gif ).

So my plan is to save for the APPLE , and get a really cheap notebook to work on. iMAC 17" I am getting u soon....

macball,
Wait a minute - are you looking at a MacBook or an iMac now?  Or, any Mac for that matter? *confused*  rclxub.gif  Ah well, think hard about it and who knows?  You may just win yourself a lottery  biggrin.gif
I am looking for a notebook now for the latest plan. Then I will save the money to purchase an iMAC. smile.gif Cheers... thumbup.gif
goldfries
post Jan 3 2007, 05:17 PM

40K Club
Forum Admin
44,415 posts

seriously, i don't see a purpose for buying a notebook now and then buy an iMac later.

if you buy an iMac later, what do you plan to do with the notebook?

if you like Mac and portability, you can consider the Macbooks too.

EDITED : say, how about a Mac Mini? smile.gif i like Mac Mini.

This post has been edited by goldfries: Jan 3 2007, 05:17 PM
tinkerbel
post Jan 3 2007, 05:37 PM

Fanaddict!
13,495 posts

goldfries,

Not fair to do a comparison with an ancient old pc with your spanking new MacBook - the technology of the screens have also changed - so obviously the newer or the later the product, the better quality it should be tongue.gif

macball,
Ask your bro to loan you his MacBook until you've sufficient savings for the iMac? Sounds like a good plan to me ! biggrin.gif And I seriously think you should consider what goldfries said - it's true - there's no point in getting a 'cheap' desktop now when u've intentions of getting an iMac - u'll be spending the additional $ for no reason
goldfries
post Jan 3 2007, 05:48 PM

40K Club
Forum Admin
44,415 posts

QUOTE(tinkerbel @ Jan 3 2007, 05:37 PM)
goldfries,

Not fair to do a comparison with an ancient old pc with your spanking new MacBook - the technology of the screens have also changed - so obviously the newer or the later the product, the better quality it should be tongue.gif
erm. they're not old.

i'm comparing it to my Dell Inspiron 1300 which i bought last year. smile.gif it's around 2/3 the cost of the Macbook but much less appealing.

but seriously, even if an older notebook was compared to say an iBook, there's still something about the iBook that makes display nicer.
tinkerbel
post Jan 3 2007, 06:11 PM

Fanaddict!
13,495 posts

goldfries,
Ok Ok. Your old notebook isn't as OLD as mine. Ah and since i'm on this good 'ol dinosaur of mine I can check the specs... sweat.gif

I'm on a Pentium M Processor 1400 MHz with 512MB RAM (8 MB shared graphics I think) since it says here I've 504MB RAM. Dang, I thought I'd upgraded to 1GB RAM - must have muAhahahh just upgraded it from 256MB to 512MB.....

As to screen... well, all other screen beats this dino screen of mine so I'll hafta shaddup there!! hEHehehehe........ And btw, if you're using a MacMini and plug it onto some other screen, am sure the effect is lost too? *shrugs* rclxub.gif
goldfries
post Jan 3 2007, 06:17 PM

40K Club
Forum Admin
44,415 posts

QUOTE(tinkerbel @ Jan 3 2007, 06:11 PM)
And btw, if you're using a MacMini and plug it onto some other screen, am sure the effect is lost too? *shrugs*  rclxub.gif
i believe it's all up to the screen itself.

my 2007WFP is using S-IPS LCD biggrin.gif i bought the Mini-DVI to DVI converter from Wei the other day. was great that i can connect my Macbook to my 20" LCD.

however the native res for the LCD is 1680x1050 while the Macbook is 1280 by 800.

so yeah, as you know it will NEVER run higher than what's already on screen. so what i did was disabling the MIRROR. so this means the screen actually split. biggrin.gif

so it's like i could browse on the Macbook screen and let iPhoto play on the 20" screen - and yeah, the color still looks great.

didn't get to try on my 15" LCD cos i don't have Mini-DVI to VGA converter.

This post has been edited by goldfries: Jan 3 2007, 06:53 PM
tinkerbel
post Jan 3 2007, 06:22 PM

Fanaddict!
13,495 posts

goldfries,
Ok Ok. You've lost me somewhere along the lines. I know whatever you said can be done but I haven't done it before - as u probably can tell I'm not too much of a 'techie' tongue.gif

And uh, I think we've really gone off topic on this thread. As moderator, shouldn't U be uhm, showing good example?! kEKekkekekeke shocking.gif
goldfries
post Jan 3 2007, 06:35 PM

40K Club
Forum Admin
44,415 posts

yeah we're off - but i believe the direction can give TS more information as well. biggrin.gif

ok ok we better stop huh.
tinkerbel
post Jan 3 2007, 07:26 PM

Fanaddict!
13,495 posts

macball,
I sure hope u aren't irritated by us YET *grins* If so, blame it on goldfries cool2.gif *grins* Also, we hope we've given you sufficient guide in helping you make your decision [then again, if it's based merely on $, i doubt we helped in many ways].... SorrEeee........

My advise to you is still to go ahead with the Credit Card application and once approve, use it to purchase the MacBook/iMac you'd been dreaming about rclxms.gif

Oh, I forgot to check if there's any service fee if you use MacAsia's instalment scheme. Er, u go check urself lah `k? tongue.gif

goldfries,
At the very least I swung back to original topic! Dang, I sure am beginning to love the Mac community - so ever fwenly... hands.gif

This post has been edited by tinkerbel: Jan 3 2007, 07:27 PM
TSmacball
post Jan 3 2007, 09:32 PM

259 posts

QUOTE(goldfries @ Jan 3 2007, 05:17 PM)
seriously, i don't see a purpose for buying a notebook now and then buy an iMac later.

if you buy an iMac later, what do you plan to do with the notebook?

if you like Mac and portability, you can consider the Macbooks too.

EDITED : say, how about a Mac Mini? smile.gif i like Mac Mini.
MAC mini is not worth the money with the spec it is given. unsure.gif

cywings
post Jan 3 2007, 10:17 PM

415 posts

if macball were to get a macbook...should he wait for leopard to release??
or buy now...wait till leopard released then only upgrade??
tinkerbel
post Jan 3 2007, 10:31 PM

Fanaddict!
13,495 posts

cywings,
macball wants the MacBook as soon as possible. Up to now, we have no idea when Leopard's gonna be released. Let's hope there'll be some sort of news/announcement at next week's uhm, MacWorld... *grins* rclxms.gif
goldfries
post Jan 3 2007, 11:38 PM

40K Club
Forum Admin
44,415 posts

QUOTE(macball @ Jan 3 2007, 09:32 PM)
MAC mini is not worth the money with the spec it is given. unsure.gif
that's because you're looking at the specs alone.

true, if you talking about RM 2,399 then i can setup a gaming rig that beats the crap out of that Mac Mini - but then there are many things that cone in the Mac Mini and they're nice.

how about the fact that it's small? and comes with a very nice OS, remote control, WiFi blablabla everything and it works just right out of the box.
tinkerbel
post Jan 3 2007, 11:46 PM

Fanaddict!
13,495 posts

And not to mention, it meets your requirement of it being a Mac ! rclxms.gif
TSmacball
post Jan 4 2007, 09:01 AM

259 posts

Bow to the mini.....hahaha

Actually i mean comparing the MINI with the iMAC. Initially I am intending to purchase the Mini, but then when I get the brochure and compare abit. It seems like iMAC is worth more for the money u pay ...Sorry )( this is my point of view ...~
azxel
post Jan 4 2007, 11:30 AM

moological mooster
3,421 posts

Plus the Mac Mini makes a good 'mediaplayer' that sits very nicely in your living room... and also makes a good door stopper. laugh.gif
carpathia
post Jan 4 2007, 12:28 PM

2,619 posts

Have you tried buying from CG computers? they have 12months % free with maybank & hsbc.

http://www.cgcomputers.com/apple_iMac.htm

xaw5126
post Jan 4 2007, 12:50 PM

3,488 posts

sorry, I can't put the easy payment details here. There are service charges for Standard Chartered, and some <5% charges if you use AmBank or Maybank

Above info applies to MacAsia only, all 3 locations.
tinkerbel
post Jan 4 2007, 06:27 PM

Fanaddict!
13,495 posts

macball,
We always want 'da best' don't we? hmm.gif Ah well, will just need to make your decision based on affordability then.

Go for the iMAC if you can afford it - it's definitely a better buy than the Mac Mini *i think* though you're not gonna be able to use the iMAC as your door stopper or as paper weight whistling.gif
goldfries
post Jan 4 2007, 10:37 PM

40K Club
Forum Admin
44,415 posts

QUOTE(azxel @ Jan 4 2007, 11:30 AM)
Plus the Mac Mini makes a good 'mediaplayer' that sits very nicely in your living room... and also makes a good door stopper. laugh.gif
i doubt you'll do that. biggrin.gif but it's a really nice unit for watching shows and stuff.
TSmacball
post Jan 4 2007, 10:40 PM

259 posts

Ya, what ever the MAC is, it is good for us ..!!! For sure.

Standard Chartered Bank still havent called me regarding the CC application...sigh...
tinkerbel
post Jan 5 2007, 12:02 AM

Fanaddict!
13,495 posts

macball,
Patient patient whistling.gif . It takes awhile to process the applications. Plus, it was a looOoong weekend. Give them up till next week but maybe you can give them a call to check on your application status? rolleyes.gif
TSmacball
post Jan 5 2007, 10:53 AM

259 posts

QUOTE(tinkerbel @ Jan 5 2007, 12:02 AM)
macball,
Patient patient  whistling.gif .  It takes awhile to process the applications.  Plus, it was a looOoong weekend.  Give them up till next week but maybe you can give them a call to check on your application status?  rolleyes.gif
Will call them again then try other bank for other CC application. blush.gif

carpathia
post Jan 5 2007, 11:09 AM

2,619 posts

er...so what machine is macball getting? macbook? mac mini?
linkinfive
post Jan 5 2007, 11:24 AM

207 posts

alright. i just bought the macbook pro core 2 duo 2.16 spec. i did it under 12 months installments from maybank card. yeah the 4% interest surcharge is a pain in the ass and it amounts to 8110 from 7788. thats extra 322 bucks. but if you divide it into 12 months every month is like paying 676.

BUT im happy with it! its just different. and my main idea of getting the mbp is to do music so RAM is most important to me. making music with mbp is so convenient and i have no problem using windows with it too.. so its like theres no regret getting a macbook for that extra 4%

try going macstudio in lowyat. they have 0% surcharge for standard chartered and 3% on citibank. the rest are 4%. but they'll give you free stuffs. look for bryan smile.gif i got mine there.. both mbp and macbook icon_rolleyes.gif
carpathia
post Jan 5 2007, 12:47 PM

2,619 posts

Congrats man. im so jealous!
the 4% is really a big pain in the a**. why didnt you apply stan chart ccard and use the 0% instead?

i assume the machine came with 1gb - you gonna max it to how many gb?

linkinfive
post Jan 5 2007, 01:16 PM

207 posts

nah.. couldnt wait anymore.. need to start working using mac already.. so think to the bright side to reduce the pain in the ass.. hehe

yeaps it came with 1gb.. so far so good.. most i think if i were to upgrade it i'd go for another 1gb for the other slot. but wont be so soon la.. maybe after one year haha! its like paying installments for a car man :S

but also a good investment la!
TSmacball
post Jan 5 2007, 05:00 PM

259 posts

Standard Chartered Bank just called me regarding the CC. Hope I can successfully apply for the card and get my iMAC.

I am getting an iMAC 17" as a starter.!

Will go to Low Yat Mac Studio for the 0% interest for the Standard Chartered Bank. really pain in the A@@ if it is 4%!

Would like to avoid all that extra money, and walk away a happy MACBALL~!
TSmacball
post Jan 5 2007, 05:00 PM

259 posts

QUOTE(linkinfive @ Jan 5 2007, 11:24 AM)
alright. i just bought the macbook pro core 2 duo 2.16 spec. i did it under 12 months installments from maybank card. yeah the 4% interest surcharge is a pain in the ass and it amounts to 8110 from 7788. thats extra 322 bucks. but if you divide it into 12 months every month is like paying 676.

BUT im happy with it! its just different. and my main idea of getting the mbp is to do music so RAM is most important to me. making music with mbp is so convenient and i have no problem using windows with it too.. so its like theres no regret getting a macbook for that extra 4%

try going macstudio in lowyat. they have 0% surcharge for standard chartered and 3% on citibank. the rest are 4%. but they'll give you free stuffs. look for bryan smile.gif i got mine there.. both mbp and macbook  icon_rolleyes.gif
They have monthly installment plan for CITIBANK??????? rclxm9.gif

wat is their contact number?let me call them to verify... hmm.gif

This post has been edited by macball: Jan 5 2007, 05:02 PM
tinkerbel
post Jan 5 2007, 05:48 PM

Fanaddict!
13,495 posts

macball,
If you can wait for the Standard Chartered credit card, I suggest you wait even if MacStudio's got Citibank instalment plan. The 3% surcharge may not be a lot but hey, if you wanna upgrade RAM or something like dat, the 3% may help quite a bit biggrin.gif

You have afterall waited this long for the iMac, might as well wait a lil while more, right? wink.gif
azxel
post Jan 6 2007, 12:47 PM

moological mooster
3,421 posts

QUOTE(macball @ Jan 5 2007, 05:00 PM)
Standard Chartered Bank just called me regarding the CC. Hope I can successfully apply for the card and get my iMAC.

I am getting an iMAC 17" as a starter.!

Will go to Low Yat Mac Studio for the 0% interest for the Standard Chartered Bank. really pain in the A@@ if it is 4%!

Would like to avoid all that extra money, and walk away a happy MACBALL~!
hey... sub a card to me lah... okie? sweat.gif
TSmacball
post Jan 6 2007, 04:06 PM

259 posts

I dun think MacStudio offers monthly installment plan for Citibank. Stop spreading the good news around tongue.gif
tinkerbel
post Jan 6 2007, 04:22 PM

Fanaddict!
13,495 posts

macball,
Don't be too disappointed. Just wait for news on your Stan Chart CC. Maybe might as well just apply for either AmBank or Maybank's CC too - just in case? cool2.gif
preducer
post Jan 6 2007, 07:49 PM

2,839 posts

QUOTE(macball @ Jan 6 2007, 04:06 PM)
I dun think MacStudio offers monthly installment plan for Citibank. Stop spreading the good news around tongue.gif
can someone confirm this ?
TSmacball
post Jan 7 2007, 11:17 AM

259 posts

QUOTE(preducer @ Jan 6 2007, 07:49 PM)
can someone confirm this ?
I will call later, but I have called Citibank about it, cuz Citibank told me they do not engage with any other apple reseller regarding the montly installment plan, except DELL ( + other windows based PC ).

zigzagger
post Jan 7 2007, 11:50 AM

I believe direct access (under cimb bank) mastercard allows you to purchase anything >rm1000 from anywhere and later convert it to 12, 24 or 36 months installment plan. The one time processing fee should be around 3,4 and 6 percent.
tinkerbel
post Jan 7 2007, 01:14 PM

Fanaddict!
13,495 posts

zigzagger,
CIMB Bank CC instalment plan's available at Machines - hence no need to ma-fan ma-fan convert. Processing fee is 4% though, and it's for 12 months instalment I believe.
zigzagger
post Jan 7 2007, 01:57 PM

I see.
anyway, for those who plan to get it from other shop then the direct access card might come in handy smile.gif
btw, the installment here means it's 0% interest smile.gif
TSmacball
post Jan 7 2007, 05:43 PM

259 posts

QUOTE(tinkerbel @ Jan 7 2007, 01:14 PM)
zigzagger,
CIMB Bank CC instalment plan's available at Machines - hence no need to ma-fan ma-fan convert.  Processing fee is 4% though, and it's for 12 months instalment I believe.
CIMB credit card , I will be applying next. drool.gif

In the end of the day, my wallet will be stuffed with all kinds of card !! hahaha notworthy.gif

preducer
post Jan 7 2007, 07:25 PM

2,839 posts

just got back frm macStudio lowyat and they said installment is available but there is a 4% processing fee for all creditcards except standard chartered is 2%.
TSmacball
post Jan 7 2007, 09:21 PM

259 posts

QUOTE(preducer @ Jan 7 2007, 07:25 PM)
just got back frm macStudio lowyat and they said installment is available but there is a 4% processing fee for all creditcards except standard chartered is 2%.
shakehead.gif Standard Chartered also 2%?? We are charged 79.98 for the iMAC ( RM3999 ). Meaning each month we pay extra 6.665 for the iMAC.

What u guys think?

So overall, there aren't any 0% ; no hidden-charges kind of monthly payment thus far, unless u pay by cash! ohmy.gif

This post has been edited by macball: Jan 7 2007, 09:23 PM
tinkerbel
post Jan 8 2007, 12:39 AM

Fanaddict!
13,495 posts

macball,
If you don't have the $ to pay upfront cash, then i think to pay the additional RM6.66667 p/month is oklah - just go out less or watch 1 movie less or something like dat - otherwise, to save the $ then go ahead and pay cash *grins*

So, have u oredi bought your iMAC?! laugh.gif
neekun
post Jan 8 2007, 07:37 AM

I'm a Mac
2,573 posts

QUOTE(macball @ Jan 7 2007, 09:21 PM)
shakehead.gif Standard Chartered also 2%?? We are charged 79.98 for the iMAC ( RM3999 ). Meaning each month we pay extra 6.665 for the iMAC.

What u guys think?

So overall, there aren't any 0% ; no hidden-charges kind of monthly payment thus far, unless u pay by cash! ohmy.gif
Macball,

U r right. It's jz a matter of which bank has the lowest processing fees = interest :-)

So you bought the mac already?

TSmacball
post Jan 8 2007, 09:05 AM

259 posts

When I finally bought my iMAC, i will show off it here ; the picture will be for you guys to enjoy...hahaha....

madstone
post Jan 8 2007, 09:12 AM

BUY 1st REGRET LATER
3,042 posts

QUOTE(azxel @ Dec 29 2006, 04:34 PM)
How Citibanks works, if I'm not mistaken is that you buy the item and then give a call to Citibank informing them that you want that particular item to be process and converted into 0% installment. Well, that's how they explain on TV a couple of years back. If they haven't changed it then that's how it's done. It shouldn't be difficult to find out if you're a Citibank Credit Card member...
It's work like this
If your CC balance got the balance more than the amount u want to purchase
then the bank will allow you to do so
let say, the iMac cost your around RM5K
make sure you have the balance in your Credit Card of RM5K

TSmacball
post Jan 8 2007, 10:25 AM

259 posts

QUOTE(madstone @ Jan 8 2007, 09:12 AM)
It's work like this
If your CC balance got the balance more than the amount u want to purchase
then the bank will allow you to do so
let say, the iMac cost your around RM5K
make sure you have the balance in your Credit Card of RM5K
Dun think so , MAD. sweat.gif Cuz I have called the Citibank officer, and they repeatedly telling me that they offered any monthly payment scheme from any APPLE store reseller. however it is like u purchased any item using Credit card, and pay them back as of monthly by the interest of 9.88%. sad.gif
carpathia
post Jan 8 2007, 10:45 AM

2,619 posts

Macball, im shocked to hear about stan chart processing fee. however, the charge is considered low and acceptable! RM7 a month for interest? its like one movie ticket...pretty good deal.
im thinking of getting the stan chart card now......
tinkerbel
post Jan 8 2007, 11:38 AM

Fanaddict!
13,495 posts

macball,
It's a matter of time before u get the iMAC - we're all waiting for the pictures *grins* rclxms.gif

carpathia,
M sure the processing fees are different depending on banks and merchants. But if you're planning to get an Apple, then yups, I do agree that Stan Chart offers pretty good 'rates'. Plus i don't think it's too difficult to get a CC from the banks so as long as one's working oredi laugh.gif
madstone
post Jan 8 2007, 01:02 PM

BUY 1st REGRET LATER
3,042 posts

QUOTE(macball @ Jan 8 2007, 10:25 AM)
Dun think so , MAD.  sweat.gif  Cuz I have called the Citibank officer, and they repeatedly telling me that they offered any monthly payment scheme from any APPLE store reseller. however it is like u purchased any item using Credit card, and pay them back as of monthly by the interest of 9.88%. sad.gif
Are you 110% sure about this??
coz so far as i know and in my 2 experience before using 0% interest, they have some rules in it
the thing is, our amount must be extra than the amount we want to use for 0% interest
how come they easily give u amount that your CC has already reach it
my 2nd experience is, my officemate bought Canon DSLR using Direct Access Credit Card
Direct Access gave him RM8K credit limit
so, of course, he can use it to buy the camera using 0% interest installment

for example, your credit limit is RM3K, how come they can give you RM5K amount of an item for 0% interest?
it beyond your credt card limit isn't it?

IF that so, me also want to apply for that CC rolleyes.gif rolleyes.gif rolleyes.gif

This post has been edited by madstone: Jan 8 2007, 01:03 PM
tinkerbel
post Jan 8 2007, 01:12 PM

Fanaddict!
13,495 posts

madstone,
Yes, u are right. There are T&Cs attached to the instalment plans. For Citibank, there's a separate credit limit for purchases made under 'instalment' plan. Say for example, current credit limit entitled on the card is:-

Credit Limit (Cash) = RM5000 (X)
Max Limit (Instalment Plan) = RM5000 (Y)
Total Credit Limit = RM10000 (X+Y)

You can use up to a maximum of RM5k to buy Item X under the instalment plan. It shouldn't affect the Cash Credit Limit you're entitled to. Any value above RM5k will not be allowable, since limit's set at RM5000.

Please also note that for Citibank CC holders, there's also a fee imposed should you decide to pay up your instalment plan ahead of time (i've no idea how much is chargeable so pls check with the bank).

I hope all is clear on this. If not, best is to contact the bank and get information - different account holders have different limits and credit standing.
TSmacball
post Jan 8 2007, 02:14 PM

259 posts

After I successfully get a Standard Chartered CC, I will share the agent's phone number with u GUYS and GIRLS...

They just call me , telling me that I have to wait for 2 weeks for the result to come out. So, waiting time again....hopefully before CNY ??? I have a new mac at home?? Actually, now everything depends on this application.

I think I will apply for HSBC CC. Now. :*
tinkerbel
post Jan 8 2007, 06:28 PM

Fanaddict!
13,495 posts

macball,
Another 2 weeks wait?! Er, well at least u know how long ur wait time is going to be. I don't ! vmad.gif

Maybe I should stay off AppleByte and come back only when I finally am a real Apple user rclxub.gif (quickly make call to mom asking her to buy apples from pasar malam!) doh.gif

This post has been edited by tinkerbel: Jan 8 2007, 06:29 PM
goldfries
post Jan 8 2007, 07:26 PM

40K Club
Forum Admin
44,415 posts

QUOTE(tinkerbel @ Jan 8 2007, 01:12 PM)
madstone,
Yes, u are right.  There are T&Cs attached to the instalment plans.  For Citibank, there's a separate credit limit for purchases made under 'instalment' plan.  Say for example, current credit limit entitled on the card is:-

Credit Limit (Cash) = RM5000 (X)
Max Limit (Instalment Plan) = RM5000 (Y)
Total Credit Limit = RM10000 (X+Y)

You can use up to a maximum of RM5k to buy Item X under the instalment plan.  It shouldn't affect the Cash Credit Limit you're entitled to.  Any value above RM5k will not be allowable, since limit's set at RM5000.
this might be different for other cards, not sure which card you refer to.

mine's a clear card.

so say if my credit limit was 5k and if i spend like RM 1.3k on a camera, that RM 1.3k is immediately blocked from my credit limit. so my credit limit is now effectly 3.7k only until the 1.3k is totally cleared.

i know about this because i bought a camera and a notebook (not a mac) and it blocked up quite a portion of my credit limit. biggrin.gif thus lead to a Q&A session with a citibank officer who explained the above to me.
tinkerbel
post Jan 8 2007, 07:34 PM

Fanaddict!
13,495 posts

goldfries,
I'm on the Clear Card too but I've got the X,Y,Z on my monthly bills. But I suppose those without the Y columns will basically use up the credit on their X column.

Guess I should be lucky I've got X+Y = Z on my Citibank Clear card huh? Then again, I'm probably much older than u so ....... tongue.gif

goldfries
post Jan 8 2007, 07:39 PM

40K Club
Forum Admin
44,415 posts

but anyway that was before the X + Y part was introduced. who cares, just make sure check everything with them Citis before using the CC.

i think they explained about the X + Y part (no, not chromosomes) but don't remember what is it.......... tongue.gif maybe later if my memory can dig back those stuff.

EDITED : you're not the only one that has the X + Y on the card.

This post has been edited by goldfries: Jan 8 2007, 07:55 PM
tinkerbel
post Jan 8 2007, 07:42 PM

Fanaddict!
13,495 posts

goldfries,
I just explained it in a summarised version above!!!! U want me to kill u or what?! I'm still at the office so I'm not too far from where u are tongue.gif

Yes, it's important to know what ur getting urself into. And, bear in mind there's also a charge if u wish to pay up your instalment earlier yah?
goldfries
post Jan 8 2007, 07:54 PM

40K Club
Forum Admin
44,415 posts

QUOTE(tinkerbel @ Jan 8 2007, 07:42 PM)
goldfries,
I just explained it in a summarised version above!!!! U want me to kill u or what?!  I'm still at the office so I'm not too far from where u are  tongue.gif
oh teh noes!!! please don't!!!

aiyah i'm not referring to what you explained la, i'm referring to what the Citi officer explained to me which doesn't sound like the one you explained.

ok, your murderous threads made me remember.

the Y part is some form of loan the can allow you to have to help clear your debt, but you have to pay them back in installments. smile.gif it's call CTB Loan On Phone.

yeah, i thought the X + Y was the way you explained too but it wasn't.

EDITED : so yeah, your limit is still X.

This post has been edited by goldfries: Jan 8 2007, 07:56 PM
tinkerbel
post Jan 8 2007, 08:07 PM

Fanaddict!
13,495 posts

goldfries,
*sigh* Make it simple for people lah - Y go complicate things?! I'd never used the (Y) before also can explain proper proper u pulak.. *sigh* [nothin to say oredi lah me] tongue.gif

macball,
I hope GOLDFRIES hadn't confused u. If he has, just knock him on his head, not mine biggrin.gif

rclxub.gif goldfries after confusing everyone else, plus himself rolleyes.gif

goldfries
post Jan 8 2007, 08:25 PM

40K Club
Forum Admin
44,415 posts

hehe. it's cos i have personal encounter with Y already that's why can explain. smile.gif

btw i'm not confused but i'll be glad to un-confuse you. biggrin.gif hehe nmind. easiest, just call up citibank and get them to explain to you the Y part and how it works.
tinkerbel
post Jan 8 2007, 08:58 PM

Fanaddict!
13,495 posts

goldfries,
I don't need to utilise the Y part yet so no need to call Citibank. I think macball's not gonna go with Citibank, and I wouldn't too, at 9.88% interest. It's craZzzY *emoticon of eye popping out*
TSmacball
post Jan 8 2007, 09:18 PM

259 posts

Of course, getting the 0% interest payment scheme. Aiks...dun argue, dun fight, in the end, I am the onli one getting the iMAC....hahaahahaha
tinkerbel
post Jan 8 2007, 11:01 PM

Fanaddict!
13,495 posts

macball,
So when u GETTING it lah?! Nolah, goldfries and I not fighting, we're just uhm, getting to know each other that's all biggrin.gif

And, in doing that he can buy me lunch one of these days, as long as it's not what I don't eat and he oredi knows what it is!! :pPpPp
madstone
post Jan 9 2007, 08:45 AM

BUY 1st REGRET LATER
3,042 posts

QUOTE(macball @ Jan 8 2007, 02:14 PM)
After I successfully get a Standard Chartered CC, I will share the agent's phone number with u GUYS and GIRLS...
They just call me , telling me that I have to wait for 2 weeks for the result to come out. So, waiting time again....hopefully before CNY ??? I have a new mac at home?? Actually, now everything depends on this application.
I think I will apply for HSBC CC. Now. :*
Why don't u try Direct Access too
i heard they can give lot of credit limit
RM8K credit limit is easy to get drool.gif drool.gif
QUOTE(goldfries @ Jan 8 2007, 07:26 PM)
this might be different for other cards, not sure which card you refer to.
mine's a clear card.
so say if my credit limit was 5k and if i spend like RM 1.3k on a camera, that RM 1.3k is immediately blocked from my credit limit. so my credit limit is now effectly 3.7k only until the 1.3k is totally cleared.
i know about this because i bought a camera and a notebook (not a mac) and it blocked up quite a portion of my credit limit. biggrin.gif thus lead to a Q&A session with a citibank officer who explained the above to me.
That's the way it work
i dunno now but the last time i tried to use it to buy a fridge at Carrefour using 0% installment
they said they have to call the bank 1st n ask the credit whether it's available or not
at the end, no, because the fridge itself cause me RM3K++ n i decided to cancel it
just ruining my credit limit only
QUOTE(tinkerbel @ Jan 8 2007, 07:34 PM)
goldfries,
I'm on the Clear Card too but I've got the X,Y,Z on my monthly bills.  But I suppose those without the Y columns will basically use up the credit on their X column.
Guess I should be lucky I've got X+Y = Z on my Citibank Clear card huh?  Then again, I'm probably much older than u so .......  tongue.gif
Relax relaxx
just wanna make it clear n clean
if the bank said so, just go on
but remember, Standard Chartered is quite strict with the credit limit not Direct Access
TSmacball
post Jan 9 2007, 09:58 AM

259 posts

Direct Access is Southern Bank rite?
tinkerbel
post Jan 9 2007, 10:02 AM

Fanaddict!
13,495 posts

macball,
Direct Access *is* from Southern Bank but Southern Bank's known as CIMB Bank today *smiles* tongue.gif

Too bad there's no such thing of transfer of CC otherwise I could transfer my Direct Access CC to you - I haven't used it at all and applied for it only cause it was FOC *grins* tongue.gif
TSmacball
post Jan 9 2007, 01:11 PM

259 posts

U have your direct access card? Then I think u should get 1 apple too urself.

How u get ur card free?U got agent?
tinkerbel
post Jan 9 2007, 02:07 PM

Fanaddict!
13,495 posts

macball,
Yes I've got a Direct Access CC. I applied for it when I came across the flyer/brochure many years ago.

I'm a bad customer - am surprised they haven't delisted me YET...!! HahAHAHhahaha Imagine, holding onto a CC for well, let's see [I don't even carry it with me!] blush.gif 5 years maybe?! And I still haven't even swiped it once!! mega_shok.gif

TSmacball
post Jan 9 2007, 04:06 PM

259 posts

QUOTE(tinkerbel @ Jan 9 2007, 02:07 PM)
macball,
Yes I've got a Direct Access CC.  I applied for it when I came across the flyer/brochure many years ago. 

I'm a bad customer - am surprised they haven't delisted me YET...!!  HahAHAHhahaha Imagine, holding onto a CC for well, let's see [I don't even carry it with me!]  blush.gif  5 years maybe?!  And I still haven't even swiped it once!!  mega_shok.gif
Then this time use it well on ur APPLE..buy 1 with it, and show them u can use it too with the CARD! icon_rolleyes.gif
tinkerbel
post Jan 9 2007, 04:23 PM

Fanaddict!
13,495 posts

macball,
My primary CC is Citibank. I'm still wondering Y I'm still using them when I'm not totally satisfied with them *sigh* blush.gif [Oklah, I admit it's probably cause of the points but it's not like I ever make use of them blink.gif ].

On the several ocassions where Citibank's failed me, I use the all-time reliable UOB *grins* rclxms.gif

Direct Access? Er....... Tak mau gunalah.... Like I said, don't even carry that CC out wif me !!! kEKekkekekekek rclxub.gif
madstone
post Jan 10 2007, 08:19 PM

BUY 1st REGRET LATER
3,042 posts

i'm using maybank Visa n Mastercard
now i got only 6,500 credit limit for 2 cards
i'm a bad customer i guess
tinkerbel
post Jan 11 2007, 03:03 AM

Fanaddict!
13,495 posts

madstone,
As your monthly income increases, the bank will revise your total credit limit, I'm sure. Up to now, I haven't been able to identify what the banks consider a good or a bad customer blink.gif If one paid his monthly bills on time and in full, is he considered a good customer? Or considered a bad customer since the bank wouldn't be able to earn additional interest from his late payments? rclxub.gif

macball,
I checked out instalment schemes available at MacAsia and it goes like this:-

1) Maybank - 6/12 months instalments, 2% processing fee
2) AmBank - 6/12 months instalments, 3% processing fee
3) OCBC Bank - 12 months instalments, 3% processing fee
4) Standard Chartered - 12 months instalments, RM30 processing fee [applicable for non-promo products only. If the product is under promo, a 2% processing fee is applicable]

From looks of it, the most 'cost effective' way is to get your iMAC using a Stan Chart CC from MacAsia. Also, please take note instalment schemes are only available for purchases above RM1k.
madstone
post Jan 11 2007, 08:41 AM

BUY 1st REGRET LATER
3,042 posts

I think the CL (credit limit) depends on your payment also
not just your income, but how much u pay every month
let say u use, RM200, but at the end of the month, u only pay minimum payment
for me, this is consider, bad customer
just add somemore to pay a bit extra from the minimum payment
let say u have to pay RM50 (minimum payment) from RM200 u use, pay like RM90 or RM100

AND it is advisable IF u have 2 cards (visa & master), JUST USE ONLY 1 CARD
If both card share same CL, then it's better to use 1 card ONLY
If u use 2 cards n pay minimum payment, u will waste your money paying interest for both card
tinkerbel
post Jan 11 2007, 01:34 PM

Fanaddict!
13,495 posts

madstone,

So if every month pay in full to bank punctually would make one a good or bad customer?
N0eL
post Jan 11 2007, 01:43 PM

1,479 posts

QUOTE(madstone @ Jan 11 2007, 08:41 AM)
I think the CL (credit limit) depends on your payment also
not just your income, but how much u pay every month
let say u use, RM200, but at the end of the month, u only pay minimum payment
for me, this is consider, bad customer
just add somemore to pay a bit extra from the minimum payment
let say u have to pay RM50 (minimum payment) from RM200 u use, pay like RM90 or RM100

AND it is advisable IF u have 2 cards (visa & master), JUST USE ONLY 1 CARD
If both card share same CL, then it's better to use 1 card ONLY
If u use 2 cards n pay minimum payment, u will waste your money paying interest for both card
To banks, u r a very good customer if u do so... Coz they can earn interest> if u pay everything right before the due date.. u aren't a good customer to them...

Thats how bank evaluate CC users~!
madstone
post Jan 11 2007, 02:48 PM

BUY 1st REGRET LATER
3,042 posts

QUOTE(tinkerbel @ Jan 11 2007, 01:34 PM)
madstone,
So if every month pay in full to bank punctually would make one a good or bad customer?
IF u pay full amount, the amount u owe will be less
the lesser u owe, more CL they will give u every year
i have 1 friend using maybank CC, he never quite use it and every year got raise of CL
now he has more than RM10K CL
QUOTE(N0eL @ Jan 11 2007, 01:43 PM)
To banks, u r a very good customer if u do so... Coz they can earn interest> if u pay everything right before the due date.. u aren't a good customer to them...
Thats how bank evaluate CC users~!
That's not how the bank rate u as a good customer
the less u r using, more CL u will have every year
i experienced that already, in 2005, i usually paid minimum payment n i only got raise RM1K more for my CL
last year, 2006, i pay extra instead of paying only minimum payment n i got RM1.5K more of CL

n it is better if u use your card a bit, not too much n easily can get CL raise every year
tinkerbel
post Jan 11 2007, 04:23 PM

Fanaddict!
13,495 posts

madstone,
There are other criterias the bank look at. Am sure they take into account our total debts and check with the Credit Rating Department (or whatever they may call it) before they decide on ur CL. Also, some banks are more generous with CLs, some aren't....

As far as I'm concerned, Citibank is damn kedekut with their CLs! I'd requested for an increase numerous times but it'd always been rejected and they never tell you the actual reason.
madstone
post Jan 11 2007, 09:22 PM

BUY 1st REGRET LATER
3,042 posts

that's the thing
same also with Maybank, depends how many left u owe them is the main criteria to give more CL
for example, if u still owe them RM4K out RM5K CL,
the chance to get more CL in next year is quite small, may be they just give u RM1K or nothing
the less u use your CC, the more chance to get extra CL in short period
TSmacball
post Jan 11 2007, 09:54 PM

259 posts

Save ur CL,and get ur Mac...........................................................guys...i am getting more and more impatient!
tinkerbel
post Jan 11 2007, 11:03 PM

Fanaddict!
13,495 posts

madstone,
It is up to the bank to offer you an increase in CL. Anyways, there are so many CCs out there these days. If each bank gives you RM3k CL, you only need a total of 5 CCs to get RM15k tongue.gif

I disagree with you that the bank's main criteria is based on current outstanding balance owing to them; the more you owe them, the lesser your chance of getting an increase in CL and vice versa. I say this only because throughout the years of me having a CC, my monthly payments are paid in full, and on time. And yet, when I requested for an increase in CL (I even went through the trouble of submitting the necessary documents!) Citibank rejected my request without stating a reason. But today, it really doesn't bother me anymore biggrin.gif

macball,
Sabar sabar... Have you heard from Stan Chart yet?! Maybe you wanna go to a Mac shop and place your order for your iMac first so when your CC finally comes you be able to get your iMac immediately - just in case tadak stock! *whoops*
madstone
post Jan 12 2007, 08:58 AM

BUY 1st REGRET LATER
3,042 posts

the thing is, u paid full payments
what i meant before is, don't just pay minimum neither full
when u make full payment, no interest charge from them n they can't make money from it
that's y when u asked for higher CL, they reluctant to give it 2 u
i think what NOel said make sense n quite believe it now
tinkerbel
post Jan 12 2007, 12:52 PM

Fanaddict!
13,495 posts

madstone,
nod.gif Not gonna start a debate as to how banks look into credit ratings of their customers. Besides, as much as I use these 'plastics', its only on the very few ocassions I totally max out my Credit Limit! *gulp*
TSmacball
post Jan 12 2007, 01:59 PM

259 posts

use well the CREDIT CARD....may the CARD be with u all time!
apisgogo
post Jan 12 2007, 02:06 PM

Audiofreakosauros 6.1
925 posts

i use cc only for my petrol. smile.gif
TSmacball
post Jan 12 2007, 02:07 PM

259 posts

QUOTE(apisgogo @ Jan 12 2007, 02:06 PM)
Totally wasted the CC. Use it on the FRUITS!!!! mega_shok.gif
madstone
post Jan 13 2007, 12:53 AM

BUY 1st REGRET LATER
3,042 posts

QUOTE(tinkerbel @ Jan 12 2007, 12:52 PM)
madstone,
nod.gif  Not gonna start a debate as to how banks look into credit ratings of their customers.  Besides, as much as I use these 'plastics', its only on the very few ocassions I totally max out my Credit Limit! *gulp*
NO need to debate tink smile.gif
it's actually depends on bank, different bank different terms n conditions
of course Citibank's different & Maybank's different smile.gif icon_rolleyes.gif

lee1966
post Jan 14 2007, 09:53 PM

21 posts

I use Maybank credit card
2 years back, I bought Ibook with added merchant charge, if not mistaken about 3% of the total purchase price.

Recently bought Core2Duo Imac 20", this time around without merchant charge.

Both purchase, I use 12 months pay installment.

tinkerbel
post Jan 14 2007, 10:07 PM

Fanaddict!
13,495 posts

lee1966,

MacAsia doesn't charge additional 'merchant charges' so it's basically the processing fees that needs to be paid for.
lee1966
post Jan 14 2007, 10:14 PM

21 posts

tinkerbel

Yes, that what I tried to refer to, "processing fee".

BTW, I bought both Ibook and Imac at CG in Penang and not at MacAsia.
l

azxel
post Jan 15 2007, 12:58 PM

moological mooster
3,421 posts

QUOTE(apisgogo @ Jan 12 2007, 02:06 PM)
I use my cc to get myself into a bid debt that will make my life miserable for at least 5 years! smile.gif
apisgogo
post Jan 15 2007, 01:54 PM

Audiofreakosauros 6.1
925 posts

QUOTE(azxel @ Jan 15 2007, 12:58 PM)
I use my cc to get myself into a bid debt that will make my life miserable for at least 5 years! smile.gif
i second that!
madstone
post Jan 29 2007, 11:25 PM

BUY 1st REGRET LATER
3,042 posts

So macball,
Did u get your CC yet OR not?
OR you already enjoyinh your new iMac 17"??
tinkerbel
post Jan 30 2007, 01:40 AM

Fanaddict!
13,495 posts

madstone,
Now that u mentioned, macball has been rather quiet of late..... smile.gif
TSmacball
post Jan 30 2007, 07:41 AM

259 posts

My CC got rejected.......aiks...
tinkerbel
post Jan 30 2007, 08:37 AM

Fanaddict!
13,495 posts

macball,
Your CC application got rejected? On what basis? Your credit out there with the rest of the other banks are oredi too high?

Anyhow, u still going ahead with ur iMac or what?
TSmacball
post Jan 30 2007, 09:34 AM

259 posts

I went to MACSTUDIO the other day, so they are saying to me, I can get my MACHINES for monthly installment bank by CITIBANK. I was delighted somehow. However, I still need to pay a processing fee of 3%.

But, the thing is they do not have ex stock. I even ask my supplier bout it. They say they are out of stock now. I wonder sometimes, are APPLES really that HOT selling??

Then my friend told me that out of 1000 ppl in Malaysia, only 1 person use apple. And in college , only 1 out of 5000 students uses a MAC. I do not know about the fact. Still, I am going to get a MAC no matter what. This time maybe from my supplier.

Added on January 30, 2007, 9:37 am
QUOTE(tinkerbel @ Jan 30 2007, 08:37 AM)
macball,
Your CC application got rejected?  On what basis?  Your credit out there with the rest of the other banks are oredi too high? 

Anyhow, u still going ahead with ur iMac or what?
No reason given. Receive the letter. mad.gif mad.gif

Nvm, I will get it from somewhere else.

This post has been edited by macball: Jan 30 2007, 09:37 AM
tinkerbel
post Jan 30 2007, 10:19 AM

Fanaddict!
13,495 posts

macball,
Keep us updated then. In the meantime just use whatever u have. As to ur CC application - well, the banks don't normally tell you why you'd been rejected... *gulps*

N0eL
post Jan 30 2007, 11:43 AM

1,479 posts

macball,

If u want it now... U can get it from Cycom at lowyatt.. they even have the old CD 2.0Gz 512mb mb at RM 4799
tinkerbel
post Jan 30 2007, 11:45 AM

Fanaddict!
13,495 posts

N0eL,
Someone was looking for the older machines - i just don't remember whom, well.. at least u have that information posted here so if he/she reads this thread, the information will be put through. Otherwise, just too bad lor, hor?! ohmy.gif
goldfries
post Jan 30 2007, 11:48 AM

40K Club
Forum Admin
44,415 posts

QUOTE(N0eL @ Jan 30 2007, 11:43 AM)
If u want it now... U can get it from Cycom at lowyatt.. they even have the old CD 2.0Gz 512mb mb at RM 4799
rather pricey isn't it? the new 1.83ghz C2D version is selling at RM 4399.

donno about the RAM la. but point is, processor vs processor also there's a marked difference already. smile.gif
tinkerbel
post Jan 30 2007, 01:13 PM

Fanaddict!
13,495 posts

goldfries,
I ain't comparing the prices so I've no idea if it's cheap or expensive. If i'm gonna give a personal recommendation I'll make sure I go through the specs. All I can say for now is I rather be getting the White MB than the Black one. The difference in price is just not worth it, for the specs given.... And besides, wouldn't a MB look better in White than Black?! kEKekeekke rclxms.gif
TSmacball
post Jan 30 2007, 03:09 PM

259 posts

Weird and funny. right after I posted here that Standard Chartered rejected me, some1 from the bank call me again, saying that they will resubmit my application........................is this a fraud or wat?

We have spies in here............hmm...................GOODFRIES, time to become hahahhaa....who? LEONARDO or ...............
tinkerbel
post Jan 30 2007, 03:29 PM

Fanaddict!
13,495 posts

macball,
They must really want your business smile.gif Er.. I must have used up too much credit limit last month - or hEHeh perhaps the bank didn't receive my payment yet *shrugs*. Tried to swipe something through yesteday for S$870 but it didn't go through - had to use a different card cry.gif
TSmacball
post Jan 30 2007, 07:30 PM

259 posts

veri rich ah u TINKERBEL...S870 to buy wat?
tinkerbel
post Jan 30 2007, 08:33 PM

Fanaddict!
13,495 posts

iYah buy ticket to watch show lah..... And no, not veli rich..... no more $ oredi... that's Y gotta use CC !!
KTay
post Jan 30 2007, 09:10 PM

247 posts

QUOTE(tinkerbel @ Jan 30 2007, 08:33 PM)
iYah buy ticket to watch show lah..... And no, not veli rich..... no more $ oredi... that's Y gotta use CC !!
No money still use CC somemore doh.gif hahah ...
tinkerbel
post Jan 30 2007, 11:00 PM

Fanaddict!
13,495 posts

KTay,
No $ that's why gotta use CC. I think my earlier payment wasn't cleared, that's Y kena rejected lor - didn't want to use the other card cause I'd oredi bought 3 tickets using this CC, so figured be easier when I collect and show them my CC, no need to show so many CCs mah biggrin.gif
madstone
post Jan 31 2007, 03:50 PM

BUY 1st REGRET LATER
3,042 posts

macball
Why don't you try to submit your CC application to others bank like Direct Access or Maybank, Public Bank, MBF etc etc

Why still wanna wait for Standard Chartered if u know they fcuked up you before?
Find another bank laaaa...

I'm afraid Standard Chartered will approve your application but with certain terms & conditions OR may be give you minimum credit limit base on your salary
TSmacball
post Jan 31 2007, 07:28 PM

259 posts

watever lah, too many CC also not good....
madstone
post Feb 1 2007, 07:31 AM

BUY 1st REGRET LATER
3,042 posts

What i meant is not to get all of them
BUT to apply for the best of the best
the one that can offer you maximum credit limit
TSmacball
post Feb 1 2007, 09:01 AM

259 posts

How to know which 1 offer u the maximum limit?I think this is determined by the bank itself, rite?

Still havent get my mac.................aiseh...really sien lah..
madstone
post Feb 1 2007, 12:38 PM

BUY 1st REGRET LATER
3,042 posts

You can just ask them about your credit limit by telling them your salary income
I think the bank officer can give you roughly CL thumbup.gif
tinkerbel
post Feb 1 2007, 01:38 PM

Fanaddict!
13,495 posts

madstone,
Banks also take into consideration the other credit cards u currently have, to gauge your 'credit spending limit', or so I been told unsure.gif
madstone
post Feb 1 2007, 10:38 PM

BUY 1st REGRET LATER
3,042 posts

i'm not sure or i missed something here
the CC macball applied is his 1st one or 2nd or 3rd CC?

IF it's 1st time, i think there's should be no problem at all
tinkerbel
post Feb 2 2007, 06:43 AM

Fanaddict!
13,495 posts

madstone,
I think macball oredi has existing CCs from Citibank, hence not 1st CC application *shrugs*
TSmacball
post Feb 2 2007, 09:49 AM

259 posts

where is my cc??? no cc means no apple yet..no apple means no vitamin c.,....
madstone
post Feb 5 2007, 09:25 AM

BUY 1st REGRET LATER
3,042 posts

Hahahahaha....
macball, what is the latest situation now?
TSmacball
post Feb 5 2007, 01:46 PM

259 posts

Still no news from any bank...........sien lah..this 2007...........hehehe....

how ever i am looking to buy it in bulk.Any1 interested?Can read it under my new thread.

http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/409248

This post has been edited by macball: Feb 5 2007, 03:33 PM
tinkerbel
post Feb 5 2007, 06:05 PM

Fanaddict!
13,495 posts

macball,
How do u intend to purchase bulk using CC? Unless of course ur credit card's gonna give u lots of credit limit? smile.gif

Anyhow, hope u get ur CC and Mac soon, whichever Mac u decided to get nod.gif
TSmacball
post Feb 6 2007, 10:01 AM

259 posts

if bulk buy , then pay cash lo...but no1 seems to bother me....aiks...
tinkerbel
post Feb 6 2007, 10:48 AM

Fanaddict!
13,495 posts

macball,
Can't u see ur flaws? sad.gif
TSmacball
post Feb 6 2007, 10:58 AM

259 posts

wat?plz tip me
tinkerbel
post Feb 6 2007, 12:37 PM

Fanaddict!
13,495 posts

macball,
Wanna give me a reason to wait until I can find 5 people to purchase? What about after sales service?
sweeann
post Feb 11 2007, 03:10 PM

183 posts

Hey, I am interested in the MacBook Pro, I noticed that all the shops are selling at the same price, is the price fixed? I mean if pay by cash, can get better deal?
tinkerbel
post Feb 11 2007, 05:11 PM

Fanaddict!
13,495 posts

sweeann,
The prices are generally fixed, whether pay by cash or Credit Card. However, if paid by Credit Card instalment schemes a nominal sum or percentage is charged by the respective banks. Check with the respective merchants for the different charges.
TSmacball
post Feb 11 2007, 05:21 PM

259 posts

No discount even if u pay in cash, same for all Resellers. I am still waiting for my Stand Chart Bank............

No news..
madstone
post Feb 12 2007, 09:24 AM

BUY 1st REGRET LATER
3,042 posts

I'm in a doubt now whether to go for Canon DSLR 400D or MacBook doh.gif doh.gif

I already own a laptop, Dell Inspiron 6400, i can let go my laptop, buy macbook n the camera.... hmm.gif
carpathia
post Feb 12 2007, 09:38 AM

2,619 posts

QUOTE(madstone @ Feb 12 2007, 09:24 AM)
I'm in a doubt now whether to go for Canon DSLR 400D or MacBook doh.gif doh.gif

I already own a laptop, Dell Inspiron 6400, i can let go my laptop, buy macbook n the camera.... hmm.gif
Well, have you used a mac before? if not, you probably want to buy a macbook, try something new !
TSmacball
post Feb 12 2007, 01:29 PM

259 posts

buy a macbook and canon. bulk buy??madstone?
BlueSilver
post Feb 12 2007, 02:25 PM

1,142 posts

eh no more imac ah? aiseh, i also wanted to buy an imac la. sad.gif
tinkerbel
post Feb 12 2007, 03:28 PM

Fanaddict!
13,495 posts

How come this thread suddenli become 'What Should I Buy?' thread? Aren't we seriously out of topic here? rclxub.gif
TSmacball
post Feb 12 2007, 03:40 PM

259 posts

QUOTE(BlueSilver @ Feb 12 2007, 02:25 PM)
eh no more imac ah? aiseh, i also wanted to buy an imac la. sad.gif
wat no more iMAC? wink.gif
hoonglong
post Oct 27 2009, 02:00 AM

23 posts

want to ask,can i buy imac by monthly installment payment with my maybank debit visa ?
thank you.
i cannot find the monthly installment payment at malaysia apple website.
xaw5126
post Oct 27 2009, 10:37 AM

3,488 posts

nope, you need a credit card for monthly payments.
hoonglong
post Oct 27 2009, 11:47 PM

23 posts

thx for info.
which credit card good ?
ketnave
post Oct 27 2009, 11:53 PM

868 posts

QUOTE(hoonglong @ Oct 27 2009, 11:47 PM)
thx for info.
which credit card good ?
normally citi / mbb should have 0% installment ...

since it's zero % installment ... what kinda "good" are looking for ?
hoonglong
post Oct 28 2009, 12:37 AM

23 posts

ok,i m first time to make the credit card.
do i qualifier to make the credit card ?
naughtyz
post Oct 28 2009, 02:14 AM

1,557 posts

i thinking of buying new macbook...is it 12 month is the max? as i know ambank credit card does have 24 month scheme...
nimrod323
post Oct 28 2009, 08:34 AM

Macster/Gunner\Autobot /Alphaman\
2,664 posts

congratulations for unearthing a very old thread,dont you guys ever take a look at the sticky threads that contain everything for mac types and payment options? look under mac buying guide sheesh

0.0536sec    0.35    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 22nd December 2025 - 08:19 PM