tinkerbel
post Jan 2 2007, 07:12 PM

Fanaddict!
13,495 posts

macball,
As you probably can tell, I'm unable to provide much opinion/thoughts when it comes to use of software/easy-bility/gaming for Apple systems (As of this moment, I'm still on a PC system) doh.gif

Now, using price as a factor in comparing the 2 models you mentioned, I *think* the MacBook's probably cheaper. Main diff is in the additional 20GB HDD space on the Vaio. I think the Vaio's graphic card and the MB's one is probably ~about~ the same but I'm no biggie when it comes to graphic cards as I'm not a heavy graphics user hence i'm pretty ok with the bare basics tongue.gif

For me, I'm more concerned when it comes to RAM hence my min requirement would be 1GB RAM, etc. If you're using the notebook mainly for emails, surfing, chatting, and the likes of Microsoft Office (mainly Words & Excel), be assured there are other compatible programs on a Mac platform icon_rolleyes.gif

I know how you must be feeling at the moment, I was once in your shoes rolleyes.gif . Check out "Windows to MAC - Should I?" thread and you'll know where I'm coming from smile.gif

TSmacball
post Jan 2 2007, 07:49 PM

259 posts

QUOTE(goldfries @ Jan 2 2007, 06:44 PM)
aiyoh - man, how come people always have the mentality that once they go MAC they're betraying / switching camp.

it's a joke man.......

look macball, going to Mac doesn't mean you betray or switch camp or anything. (i used Windows, Linux, Mac OS X - i'm in all camps. biggrin.gif)

IMO home user, a macbook would be nice. but then again you could have a desktop PC with overall more powerful capability at that price. (or better specs at even half the cost).
Actually my point is to get something nice, something cool, with monthly installment. I want to own ferrari yet i am poor..... rclxub.gif

And I got what u mean. But I am determine to get a MAC, no matter wat. Just at the moment I need to work on my computer. By means of working at home, I use it to write blogs, surf the net, play some games, and do some work brought back from office. And also make sure that I learn CSS...and wordpress. shocking.gif
tinkerbel
post Jan 2 2007, 08:42 PM

Fanaddict!
13,495 posts

macball,
R u saying you've decided on a Mac except now price is the main issue? If so, why then did you shortlist it with the Vaio which is also as pricey? doh.gif

Ah, I get it now. It's the 'GAYA-ness' that you want! blink.gif
prasys
post Jan 2 2007, 09:58 PM

Heros Never Die
12,925 posts

a mac is a mac , you can always ditch osx and install windows. and you can run both systems side by side. Thats the beauty of it. Trust me , OSX is pretty good for folks like you. You may find it hard at first , but then you will get the hang of it. Tell you what , for that kind of things a mac would do

I would suggest getting an iMac with Radeon x1600 . Just incase if you wish to do some gaming. have you tried OSX before

I suggest you to grab OSX 10.4 with PearPC to give it a try. It might be slow , but its just a nice way to explore OSX.
goldfries
post Jan 3 2007, 12:08 AM

40K Club
Forum Admin
44,415 posts

QUOTE(macball @ Jan 2 2007, 07:49 PM)
But I am determine to get a MAC, no matter wat.
so........... why bring VAIO into comparison? and what's holding you back? smile.gif

but seriously, if your work is standard documents then i think OpenOffice shouldn't have problem with it.

you can download OpenOffice for Windows and see if it runs your usually opened documents.

seriously, my macbook does everything my dell inspiron 1300 can and MORE..... hey at least i get GIMP there tongue.gif i don't know what else to use on Windows to edit layered images tongue.gif

what i like about my mac is that it came with so many things already, even the remote control, DVD player, iPhoto blablablabl........... and adding other stuff was way easy, like MAMP and other apps.
tinkerbel
post Jan 3 2007, 12:23 AM

Fanaddict!
13,495 posts

goldfries,
I jeawous cry.gif
goldfries
post Jan 3 2007, 02:03 AM

40K Club
Forum Admin
44,415 posts

QUOTE(tinkerbel @ Jan 3 2007, 12:23 AM)
goldfries,
I jeawous  cry.gif
and i effectively reduce my $$$$ by a few k. biggrin.gif although it does help me greatly in my business. so in the long run, still covers the cost. hehe.
TSmacball
post Jan 3 2007, 08:32 AM

259 posts

QUOTE(goldfries @ Jan 3 2007, 12:08 AM)
so........... why bring VAIO into comparison? and what's holding you back? smile.gif

but seriously, if your work is standard documents then i think OpenOffice shouldn't have problem with it.

you can download OpenOffice for Windows and see if it runs your usually opened documents.

seriously, my macbook does everything my dell inspiron 1300 can and MORE..... hey at least i get GIMP there tongue.gif i don't know what else to use on Windows to edit layered images tongue.gif

what i like about my mac is that it came with so many things already, even the remote control, DVD player, iPhoto blablablabl........... and adding other stuff was way easy, like MAMP and other apps.
Yes, money issue is holding me back. That is all. blush.gif
tinkerbel
post Jan 3 2007, 11:56 AM

Fanaddict!
13,495 posts

goldfries,
If it's helped you generate more business, then it's become an asset more than a liability. Plus, I'm sure you've oredi made the additional $$$k's back from the new business it's generated.

macball,
Wait a minute - are you looking at a MacBook or an iMac now? Or, any Mac for that matter? *confused* rclxub.gif Ah well, think hard about it and who knows? You may just win yourself a lottery biggrin.gif
goldfries
post Jan 3 2007, 12:01 PM

40K Club
Forum Admin
44,415 posts

QUOTE(tinkerbel @ Jan 3 2007, 11:56 AM)
goldfries,
If it's helped you generate more business, then it's become an asset more than a liability.  Plus, I'm sure you've oredi made the additional $$$k's back from the new business it's generated.
in progress. tongue.gif i do designs, my fiancee uses the macbook to do presentation to clients. biggrin.gif it surely is better than using a low-end Dell.
babyk
post Jan 3 2007, 12:11 PM

BANNED 101/100(tm) : Your avatar too sexy
10,052 posts

goldfries,
If it's helped you generate more business, then it's become an asset more than a liability.  Plus, I'm sure you've oredi made the additional $$$k's back from the new business it's generated.

macball,
Wait a minute - are you looking at a MacBook or an iMac now?  Or, any Mac for that matter? *confused*  rclxub.gif  Ah well, think hard about it and who knows?  You may just win yourself a lottery  biggrin.gif
ya..i'm kinda confused too~
first...he said iMac,then MacBook then VAIO rclxub.gif rclxub.gif rclxub.gif

that is why i asked him,he wants a mac for show off or buying it for work purpose in other thread
butterflydarling
post Jan 3 2007, 12:16 PM

544 posts

how much does an iMac cost these days?
azxel
post Jan 3 2007, 12:32 PM

moological mooster
3,421 posts

QUOTE(macball @ Jan 1 2007, 02:45 PM)
Any one of you has friends of friends working in Standard Charatered Bank, as I would like to apply for a Standard Chartered Bank Credit Card.  smile.gif

Plz drop me a message if you have friends. Thanx.

Help me to get a new iMAC  icon_question.gif for 2007 ~~~
go to MidValley or One Utama, there are tonnes of credit car sales folks around. laugh.gif

QUOTE(macball @ Jan 3 2007, 08:32 AM)
Yes, money issue is holding me back. That is all. blush.gif
if money is an issue, then wait a bit... you don't really NEED one now and I bet that waiting won't really kill you. smile.gif

QUOTE(butterflydarling @ Jan 3 2007, 12:16 PM)
how much does an iMac cost these days?
http://www.macasia.com.my/
wei
post Jan 3 2007, 12:41 PM

Get your Macs done right!
6,496 posts

I've waited for years for what I have now...
no harm on using a used mac if you're on tight budget.
tinkerbel
post Jan 3 2007, 01:44 PM

Fanaddict!
13,495 posts

goldfries,
How I wish my clients make their decision based on the kinda notebook I carry for presentation purposes blink.gif - i wouldn't need to go on standing at the ATM machines waiting and hoping for people to drop their cash *grins* blink.gif But I'm pretty much sure, as a designer the Mac's serving you well biggrin.gif

wei,
You've a very valid point - just dat most people are impatient these days and with easy accessibility to credit facilities and instalment plans, many spend their future $ today, and end up with loadsa debts sweat.gif

macball,
Another suggestion is ask ur folks for a subsidy for your new pc. You just top up the difference. And if so, ask them for RM5k - that should be more than sufficient to get u an iMac or the MacBook, even the Vaio blush.gif
goldfries
post Jan 3 2007, 03:17 PM

40K Club
Forum Admin
44,415 posts

QUOTE(tinkerbel @ Jan 3 2007, 01:44 PM)
goldfries,
How I wish my clients make their decision based on the kinda notebook I carry for presentation purposes  blink.gif  - i wouldn't need to go on standing at the ATM machines waiting and hoping for people to drop their cash *grins*  blink.gif  But I'm pretty much sure, as a designer the Mac's serving you well  biggrin.gif
no la they don't make decision based on notebook.

it's just that having a Macbook some how does give a more impressive feel.

heck even normal sites look nicer. pictures look nicer.
cywings
post Jan 3 2007, 04:29 PM

415 posts

QUOTE(goldfries @ Jan 3 2007, 03:17 PM)
no la they don't make decision based on notebook.

it's just that having a Macbook some how does give a more impressive feel.

heck even normal sites look nicer. pictures look nicer.
is it really sites n pictures looked nicer??

i've been longing for a macbook as well...tight budget that's the problem.. cry.gif
goldfries
post Jan 3 2007, 04:32 PM

40K Club
Forum Admin
44,415 posts

maybe i should do a side-by-side comparison
my old acer vs my inspiron 1300 vs my macbook vs my 2007WFP monitor. biggrin.gif
TSmacball
post Jan 3 2007, 04:52 PM

259 posts

Guys and girls, because I used to have a computer a desktop and recently it broke down. I switched to my brother's macbook, and got hook to it. Impressive machine.

And I have spent lots of time repairing my PENTIUM 4 computer than using it, so I am really pissed off with what the desktop had cost my time.

So by having a better machine, I can spend more time doing what I want with it.

And recently, my bank account has not gotten fatter and I in need of a computer. That is why I am opting for monthly installment plan to purchase a computer. I am not showing off what I can afford. I am just as humble as a DELL computer ....hehehe... but the determination to own an APPLE is as hard as a rock ( just dun blast it with a bomb tongue.gif ).

So my plan is to save for the APPLE , and get a really cheap notebook to work on. iMAC 17" I am getting u soon....

macball,
Wait a minute - are you looking at a MacBook or an iMac now?  Or, any Mac for that matter? *confused*  rclxub.gif  Ah well, think hard about it and who knows?  You may just win yourself a lottery  biggrin.gif
I am looking for a notebook now for the latest plan. Then I will save the money to purchase an iMAC. smile.gif Cheers... thumbup.gif
goldfries
post Jan 3 2007, 05:17 PM

40K Club
Forum Admin
44,415 posts

seriously, i don't see a purpose for buying a notebook now and then buy an iMac later.

if you buy an iMac later, what do you plan to do with the notebook?

if you like Mac and portability, you can consider the Macbooks too.

EDITED : say, how about a Mac Mini? smile.gif i like Mac Mini.

This post has been edited by goldfries: Jan 3 2007, 05:17 PM

10 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > » Top

0.0222sec    1.90    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 23rd December 2025 - 08:26 AM