[V29] Lowyat.Net Mechanical Keyboard Club

richard912
post Sep 5 2016, 03:51 PM

d('_')b
1,821 posts

QUOTE(cyclone9 @ Sep 5 2016, 03:44 PM)
budget mechanical keyboard for gaming ? without any backlight.
It would help if you indicated your budget as well as preference for size and switch type
richard912
post Sep 6 2016, 08:59 AM

d('_')b
1,821 posts

QUOTE(cyclone9 @ Sep 6 2016, 08:53 AM)
normal size keyboard, as cheap as possible?
As cheap as possible would usually mean the unbranded ones. Go search in GS section. There are some good sellers peddling their wares that may meet your requirement.
richard912
post Sep 6 2016, 12:18 PM

d('_')b
1,821 posts

QUOTE(cyclone9 @ Sep 6 2016, 09:17 AM)
what is the cheapest branded mechanical ?
I am assuming you are looking for new. Ducky had a recent promo offering non-backlit Ducky One at RM339. Not sure if it is still valid. You could check with the likes of Ultimate Zone or any other shops that carry them
richard912
post Sep 6 2016, 05:05 PM

d('_')b
1,821 posts

New Leopold with Topre switch!!!
richard912
post Sep 6 2016, 06:40 PM

d('_')b
1,821 posts

QUOTE(kianweic @ Sep 6 2016, 05:43 PM)
My first impression of the Corsair K70 brown switches keyboard:

1. Very mushy
2. Tactile feel not as apparent as Filco or even Ducky and Coolermaster's variant.
3. Backspace key is noisy and doesn't really feel like brown switch at all.
Go MX clear or Topre for more tactility without the mushiness thumbup.gif
richard912
post Sep 9 2016, 08:55 AM

d('_')b
1,821 posts

QUOTE(kianweic @ Sep 9 2016, 07:44 AM)
Can you take a photo of it?

Although I am getting fake leather wrist rest for my keyboards, I am interested to see the wood wrist rest.

You can view the various types available here
richard912
post Sep 17 2016, 08:16 AM

d('_')b
1,821 posts

QUOTE(Heeezy @ Sep 17 2016, 02:45 AM)
Getting my filco on Monday, anyone has thick pbt set that they want to let go? Hit me up
Was at Ultimate Zone yesterday and saw stock of Tai Hao PBT keycap sets available.
richard912
post Sep 17 2016, 08:24 PM

d('_')b
1,821 posts

QUOTE(-Hzu- @ Sep 17 2016, 07:57 PM)
How thick are Tai Hao sets though? I tried the Leopold there, it's so thick and juicy. I like.
Dunno, did not measure
richard912
post Sep 18 2016, 08:47 PM

d('_')b
1,821 posts

QUOTE(Heeezy @ Sep 18 2016, 08:32 PM)
ultimatezone

was told that was the last one that they have, maybe they can bring in more stock
Yes, they can order stuff for you if they don't have the stock. That's what they usually do for me.
richard912
post Sep 20 2016, 09:33 AM

d('_')b
1,821 posts

QUOTE(quovadis123 @ Sep 20 2016, 09:21 AM)
Photo of the day..
I still finding the correct name for this wrist rest.  vmad.gif

With the exception of the logo, looks like this.
richard912
post Sep 20 2016, 02:04 PM

d('_')b
1,821 posts

QUOTE(nothintodo @ Sep 20 2016, 01:10 PM)
Poor college boi here so have to save the extra buck for lunch... Hahaha..

But seriously though I had a relatively bad experience with dead leds (quickfire rapid i).. I rma'd the board and basically never turned on the leds lol
QUOTE(justnits @ Sep 20 2016, 01:40 PM)
just FYI, AFAIK there's 2 keyboard that has a lot of led issue, and that is Ducky Shine 3 and CM QF Rapid-i.
i believe it's due to bad batch of led, but have not dismiss that it might be pcb design issue yet.

those 2 models have the worse dead led cases that i've ever come across.

though i'm not sure if there's anyone who owns a shine 3 or rapid-i swapped out the leds on their own...
I encountered the same issue of LED dying on my former QFR-i, twice! Was informed by a member here that 2014 batches had this problem and true enough, both the units were indeed 2014 batch. 3rd unit from RMA was a 2015 batch and all was well thereafter.
richard912
post Sep 21 2016, 01:43 PM

d('_')b
1,821 posts

QUOTE(jasmineivan @ Sep 21 2016, 01:12 PM)
Check some cm nova touch review, the keycaps seems terrible. Is it worth it compare to you just get realforce and stay with the stock cap?
The advantage of the Novatouch lies in the fact that it can take MX compatible keycaps. This means, you can switch keycaps to your heart's content, which unfortunately cannot be said of a Realforce. MX keycaps come in a variety of design and colors and are easier to procure either from shops or online.

The first thing one should do when getting a Novatouch is to replace those stock keycaps (thin ABS) with thicker ones like PBT.

Do keep in mind too that the cost of a Realforce can be Really painful to one's wallet too.
richard912
post Sep 21 2016, 03:07 PM

d('_')b
1,821 posts

QUOTE(khelben @ Sep 21 2016, 01:52 PM)
Girlfriend just got me a Ducky One no backlit, and I have been browsing keycaps sets and all every since.

This is such poison.
Lucky fella
richard912
post Sep 21 2016, 09:27 PM

d('_')b
1,821 posts

QUOTE(jasmineivan @ Sep 21 2016, 08:52 PM)
Yeah, agree with all your points. The hesitation is on the casing. Seems like it still have some coating will ends up shiny and look greasy. Somehow nova touch price tag is not even as friendly as other cherry board.
I actually prefer the Novatouch's case compared to the QFR-i's case. The latter's has a "rubbery" coating which over time, feels "sticky" to the touch.

And you really should not compare the pricing of the Novatouch to Cherry (or equivalent) boards. The Novatouch is afterall, a Topre!
richard912
post Sep 22 2016, 08:14 AM

d('_')b
1,821 posts

One option for those wanting white cases is to have your existing keyboard Vinyl wrapped. As for Ninja white keycaps, you could buy them online. Here's an example.
richard912
post Sep 27 2016, 04:13 PM

d('_')b
1,821 posts

QUOTE(TheHitman47 @ Sep 27 2016, 03:27 PM)
what did you call a keycap that has a gap with the board?

something like this.

instead of something like this.

is there any special jargon/wording for it?. im looking for that kind of keyboard.
im using CM Rapid-i now btw.
It's called, "floating keys" design. More commonly seen in the form of Corsair's K65 and K70. There's also Varmilo's VA87M
richard912
post Sep 28 2016, 01:19 PM

d('_')b
1,821 posts

QUOTE(Eoma @ Sep 28 2016, 01:15 PM)
Hi guys.

Waiting for my ducky one (non led) cherry brown to arrive.  Paid rm326 for it.  Gonna replace my 7 year old Logitech Dinovo Edge. Any tips?
Be prepaid to invest in nice(r ) keycaps

This post has been edited by richard912: Sep 28 2016, 01:19 PM
richard912
post Sep 28 2016, 04:29 PM

d('_')b
1,821 posts

QUOTE(Eoma @ Sep 28 2016, 04:15 PM)
Lol, like usage tips,  cleaning tips,  what to expect etc. Thanks bro.
Was reading on o-rings,  yay or nay? Keycaps eh, okie boss, will keep this in mind.
Thanks brah!
I have a Ducky One TKL RGB and I only o-ringed the spacebar and return key.
richard912
post Sep 29 2016, 01:40 PM

d('_')b
1,821 posts

QUOTE(Heeezy @ Sep 29 2016, 01:21 PM)
yeah, i've spent a total of close to 12k on mkb, i finally got out of it, and now im going back in again. someone stop me!  puke.gif
Gives Heeezy a nudge down the slippery slope devil.gif
richard912
post Oct 1 2016, 09:58 PM

d('_')b
1,821 posts

QUOTE(dadudeneverabides @ Oct 1 2016, 09:47 PM)
BTW, any taobao sifu here can help me find OG cherry caps?
There are original cherry caps? Or do you mean original from Tai-hao etc?

11 Pages « < 7 8 9 10 11 >Top

0.0801sec    0.33    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 30th November 2025 - 12:50 PM