Superbikes V5, Share & Discussion

mrjgx
post Apr 8 2016, 10:05 AM

59 posts

Hey guys,

Noob here, like really noob. So hopefully got some good reply from all experienced riders here. I'm about to buy a new bike for:

1. Daily rides to office, 10-20km per day but next year will be 40-50km per day (cyber/Putrajaya to KLCC daily), so might use MEX a lot.

2. Occasional weekend riding with friends

3. That might be fun to ride in Sepang Circuit

Riding experience: none. Just normal kapcai to work daily years ago.

Budget: depends

So as usual, before embarking into any new purchases, I googled and youtubed everything, hence I have narrowed down to 4 bikes:

Yamaha R25
Kawasaki Ninja 250
Yamaha R6
Kawasaki zx6r

I would probably buy the R25. No need loan, not gonna costs me arms and legs, or one of my kidney. But Is it a good buy over the Ninja? I know it's not a superbike, but I'm sure likes the look of it. I also like to upgrade the bike, here and there. And deep down I know years later I will probably ended up with a 600cc when I have some experienced with it.

The thing that have taught me in photography or cycling, I will always ended up buying the better and more expensive things once I start with something that is basic. So more costs by following that route.

Internet do have mixing reviews on getting a starter bike, some guys saying get the 250 first, some said they are ok with 600 or even 1000 as their first bike if you respect the bike, etc.

I'm gonna be a slow rider anyway. What are your thoughts? Is 600cc not gonna be ok for the first timer, and would it be too difficult to ride in the evening KL city traffic jam? Or any other bike recommendation?

Thx in advance.

This post has been edited by mrjgx: Apr 8 2016, 10:06 AM
mrjgx
post Apr 8 2016, 10:34 AM

59 posts

QUOTE(Quazacolt @ Apr 8 2016, 10:25 AM)
considering bolded, i would highly recommend R25/ninja 250.

However, if you want the best of track/weekend rides, and considering i share similar consensus as you such as your other hobbies, i would recommend getting BOTH the lightweights and then a liter bike, keep both if possible.

use the light weight to explore/learn, then as you're more familiarized/know what you want, go for the big liter bikes. who knows if you'd love a naked or touring bike and no interests for track, who knows it'll be the opposite, and want a sharp track weapon like the ZX10R or R1.

the lightweight supersports is kinda just that, you get to experience a bit of both.
albeit you don't get the dual sports/adventure portion, but as you didn't mention those, i guess we can just omit them tongue.gif

Now, if you are set on the lightweight supersports, may i suggest you to wait if you're not urgent for a bike?
- Honda CBR250RR
- Suzuki GSX 250R
- R25 with ABS/facelift
- Ninja 250R facelift (not sure if this has already been released)
Now this is helpful. Actually getting a 250cc first has been the initial intention (because I saw one YouTube vid where the guy crashed an R6, having trouble moving the bike from still, engine always mati, and crashed when he couldn't lean the bike)

I guess that would be the best option for now. I need to buy few other stuffs as well, jackets, helmets etc.

Ok, given an option between R25, or a Ninja 250, which is the one to get? Not really fond of Honda or Suzuki.

Eh why you advise me to wait? Does it means newer version is coming soon? I prefer to have an ABS if possible though. I'd spend extra for that thing.

mrjgx
post Apr 8 2016, 01:07 PM

59 posts

QUOTE(Aesthetica @ Apr 8 2016, 11:32 AM)
If you have absolute no experience, like no kapchai or scooter experience at all (bicycles don't count), get the 250s. You caaaan find Ninja 250/300s with ABS but it takes a bit of searching.

R25s don't have ABS here (only EU and AU) but you can also look at KTM RC250/390s with ABS or Honda CBR500s sometimes have ABS too.

He's suggesting to wait because there's probably alot more 250cc class bikes possibly coming out later this year if you wanna stand out abit more wait for the new ones because there's a tonne of R25s on the road already.

Got your license already? B2? BFull?
Scooters, rode daily to office years ago, still ride to mamak and all. but yeah I think I will forget the big cc as for now. Softballs..heck I don't even ride a motor with clutch before. Haha. But my friend told me as long as I can drive a manual car, it's basically the same.

I'm 173cm, 58kg (I'm a cyclist), bicycle stuff is as expensive and some parts surpassing the price of superbike's parts and stuffs . Ok I admit, my basikal is more expensive than this 250cc bikes..but that passion somehow dies a bit. Well the main reason is to commute to office, but at the same time why not..getting into a new hobby. Upgrading is addictive!

Eh shoot, that CBR 250RR is damn cun!

Lesen is B2 je..

Ok I can wait for this thing!!!

This post has been edited by mrjgx: Apr 8 2016, 01:12 PM
mrjgx
post Apr 8 2016, 03:48 PM

59 posts

So, beli bike dulu atau buy suits / helmet dulu? Haha. And 250cc need suits or not?
mrjgx
post Apr 8 2016, 03:59 PM

59 posts

Ok..how about the costs range?

Full face helmet
Gloves
Boots
Suits (1 piece or two piece)
Jacket (for daily use)
mrjgx
post Apr 8 2016, 04:12 PM

59 posts

1 piece suits vs 2 piece..is it for different purposes? Usually which one is recommended for beginner?
mrjgx
post Apr 8 2016, 04:14 PM

59 posts

QUOTE(Quazacolt @ Apr 8 2016, 04:12 PM)
- helmet good ones 1-2k
- gloves 300-600
- boots 700-1.5k
- suit 2-3k
- jacket 800-1.5k
- if you want to get knee guards while having jacket, 200-300

price are sorta "bare minimum for ori/branded" products, in the low/mid range. obviously if you go for the high end branded ones, it easily increases exponentially to even double/triple what i've mentioned.

for example, alpinestars super tech r is about 2k lol

then again, if you go overseas and got ways to bring them in without being taxed, you can save a TON.
Ok thanks bro that is helpful in my budget planning. Id go for the one that is value for money. Not too low not too high end..safety is no 1.
mrjgx
post Apr 8 2016, 08:21 PM

59 posts

Guys, agv pista so handsome. Any shop recommendation around KL?
mrjgx
post Apr 9 2016, 09:43 AM

59 posts

eh guys...If buy 2nd hand 250cc dulu ok not? But price wise I see at Mudah, R25 2nd around 17k... not much diff with brand new lah

mrjgx
post Apr 11 2016, 09:21 AM

59 posts

Guys, just wondering on the difference of handling between a naked and faired bike. z250 vs ninja250. Byk beza not? Engine all same right?

mrjgx
post Apr 11 2016, 02:05 PM

59 posts

Ok, all set for R25. But wondering what is the difference between the one that in the promotional image/video ridden by Rossi, and the one that is available in the market. Mcm got a bit of differences where the one in the promo looks meaner and sexy. Aren't they are the same bike?

mrjgx
post Apr 11 2016, 02:21 PM

59 posts

So can modify later to make the R25 to be like in the promo type? #malaysiaboleh
mrjgx
post Apr 12 2016, 09:21 AM

59 posts

Morning guys. Just wondering if TC and ABS will helps beginner a lot in riding a superbike?
mrjgx
post Apr 12 2016, 11:21 AM

59 posts

There's no TC for small CC bike in the market right? From Google, there's Ninja 300cc with ABS but no TC, and the next option would be zx6r? I think zx6r is a safer bet than R6 for 600cc.

So, is Low power setting on zx6r (80% power reduction) with maximum TC setting (mode 3) on zx6r is ok for beginner?

TC and ABS means, near impossible to get a high/low side?

Haha now gatal dy wanna have those electronic aids
mrjgx
post Apr 13 2016, 07:44 AM

59 posts

QUOTE(Aesthetica @ Apr 12 2016, 07:04 PM)
Is it ok for beginner? To ride, yes - so is a S1000RR. To learn on, no - an FZ150 is better to learn on.

Impossible to fall? You can still fall on your sides trying to do U-turns or going around roundabouts too slow. Or from panic throttling because you're used to gripping on your handlebars on a bicycle. Even with the TC&ABS.

If you really wanna get the ZX6R straightaway with 0 experience, go get your BFull license completed first atleast - bash Metro Academy's ER6N until you can pop wheelies then buy the ZX6R.

But if you're stubborn and drop it before learning how to ride properly, the going rate for a used ZX636R is about 54-58k (New - 76k) - just fyi.
Thanks for the info bro. Will register myself to get a B full license the soonest possible. Metro driving school website stated it will take 7-10wks? Man that's long! Rm1200 is it normal or not normal?

http://metrodriving.com.my/en/services/motorcycle-b-full/

This post has been edited by mrjgx: Apr 13 2016, 07:47 AM
mrjgx
post Apr 14 2016, 09:48 AM

59 posts

Hi guys, what year is the model for a used Ninja 250 with fuel injection? And roughly what's the market price like?
mrjgx
post Apr 19 2016, 02:54 PM

59 posts

Unlike cars, why pricing of 2nd hand bike is still expensive eh? For example new zx6r costs rm66k-72k (mudah price). 2nd hand 2013 ish model costs rm50-55k. Crazy, I believe the price should be at least reduced by 50%. Top up a bit can get new bike IMO

This post has been edited by mrjgx: Apr 19 2016, 02:54 PM
mrjgx
post Apr 28 2016, 09:43 AM

59 posts

Guys..Monster 821 ok X?
mrjgx
post Apr 28 2016, 10:51 AM

59 posts

Well initially plan to get 250cc bikes but most of my bike frens is suggesting otherwise. So my choice of naked bikes are:

Triumph street triple R: abs, no TC
Z800: heaviest, abs, no TC
Mt09: somehow I takot this bike, mcm wheelie monster je so will skip this
Monster 821: abs, TC..but mahal a bit lah. If can find good 2nd hand option I'd be happy

Decided for naked than full fairing sbb Nk pakai daily commute

mrjgx
post Apr 28 2016, 12:10 PM

59 posts

I ride my scooter daily to office, ok for short distance but I'm buying a bigger bike because will have to commute a bit far using expressway after moving to a new house. Abs n TC mcm needed bcos I need to ride the bike, daily, rain or shine.

0.0801sec    0.85    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 20th December 2025 - 03:39 PM