Car Care & Detailing [V5], Caring for your car apprearance

ar188
post Mar 9 2017, 02:38 AM

9,206 posts

QUOTE(chongkiatz @ Feb 27 2017, 11:18 PM)
I try to pm thrm, recently my brother give me the Black Decker KP600, i not sure it really can polishing to remove light swril? Plan to use on my wife consider new car because just drive 4month++ , some place that have light swirl which already got there when received car, any review on this kp600 actually?
quite a useless thing, vibrate the hell out of your hands. biggrin.gif and the wool pad got once it flung out also due to its slip on mounting style instead of hook and loop.. laugh.gif

try to mod this way..
http://www.autogeekonline.net/forum/auto-d...op-implant.html
ar188
post Mar 9 2017, 10:52 AM

9,206 posts

QUOTE(deadgriever @ Mar 9 2017, 10:23 AM)
Hi guys..Im new to car detailing. Hoping to get some guide here. Recently bought few items to start.

1. Waxco Car Wash & Shine
2. Meguiar's Compuound
3. Meguiar's Polish
4. Meguiar's Quik Wax
5. Fusso Coat Wax
6. Some cheap MF cloth + drying cloth
7. Cheap foam polisher pad from ebay + grinder/drill adapter 4"
8. Bosch grinder with adjustable speed

I've started polishing with item 7 & 8, however i found it hard to control the heat & motion due to grinder RPM (slowest 2.8k RPM). Might be due to the cheap pad. Im not sure.

So i planned to add either a Rotary or a DA machine. I have a budget around RM600.
Need recommendation on type & brand of machine. Thanks biggrin.gif
wow..use grinder.. sweat.gif later clearcoat also got one hole. biggrin.gif

anyway, try the osren type or chinese made DA (8mm or 15mm orbit) with megs microfibre 6inch cutting pad,
ar188
post Mar 9 2017, 10:53 AM

9,206 posts

QUOTE(chongkiatz @ Mar 9 2017, 09:36 AM)
Yup i already modi and buy pad from osren , force disc white pad and black pad, it really vibrate alot, the speed not enough fast for cutting , need to do 2-3 pass with very slow motion and can remove all light swirl, but if deep scratch i never try because i just use meg ultimate polish, might try the meg scratch X with grey pad but i think i will invest Osren DA in future , the BD orbit polish can use also just very slow to get job done
yea try the DA with megs MF cutting pad and using ultimate compound or D300 or M100, sure can cut well.
ar188
post Mar 9 2017, 11:54 AM

9,206 posts

QUOTE(deadgriever @ Mar 9 2017, 11:50 AM)

thanks to all for the advice. why nobody recommend rotary? is it too dangerous for newbie?  tongue.gif
rotary can cut well but newer advances on DA and the pads/compound makes it as effective
and
then we can get swirl free finish by using the same DA with finishing pads. so one machine does two jobs.
ar188
post Mar 9 2017, 11:58 AM

9,206 posts

QUOTE(blurcase @ Mar 2 2017, 02:35 AM)
I think that is still reasonable price compared to Meguiars. A bottle of 16oz M100/M101 is about RM200 each, and suppliers in Malaysia dont even sell small bottles of M105/M205, minimum 1gal. With last year GST price increase, it is even more expensive since then.

i tot the brown bottles are 32oz? of 200 is ok. cos usa also around 140 liao for 32oz M100
ar188
post Mar 9 2017, 06:40 PM

9,206 posts

QUOTE(frozen7 @ Mar 9 2017, 03:55 PM)
Hi, may I know how is the Megs DA Power Tool performance? Thought to get one but what holding me back is worrying lack of torque. I have a Bosch GEX 125 E btw.
wah use wood sanding orbital for polish ah? i think not so suitable leh? those things only got 2-3mm orbit. i have dewalt version, dont do much for polishing.
am now waiting for my 5inch interface pad, gonna try 2000grit wet sanding on it.
ar188
post Mar 9 2017, 06:43 PM

9,206 posts

QUOTE(blurcase @ Mar 9 2017, 06:40 PM)
Oops, sorry, actually it wasnt 16oz or 32oz, cuz in Malaysia got special packing 28oz for M100/M101, black colour bottle. The light brown/cream colour bottles that we see online are 32oz.
oh. usually the black squeeze bottles are like 14-16oz. (similar to ultimate compound bottle)

special packing for malaysia? dun say ppl buy 1gallon and repack it?
i think better stick to 32oz brown bottles..at least we know ori from usa .. biggrin.gif

ar188
post Mar 9 2017, 08:59 PM

9,206 posts

QUOTE(chongkiatz @ Mar 9 2017, 07:49 PM)
I see osren youtube that honda have a sticky paint, meguiars polishiing and compound can work on it? If its just a light wash scratch can the meg scratch x done the job? Because compound seen abit too much for new car paint
The lakecountry force disc pad not good kah? Bought it from osren
not sure about osren and lake country on honda paint,
but so far i tried mostly megs product only with some wet sanding cos of some serious oxidation and bird poo on my car. biggrin.gif
ar188
post Mar 9 2017, 11:25 PM

9,206 posts

QUOTE(chongkiatz @ Mar 9 2017, 10:47 PM)
U using osren DA?
similar style model, 8mm orbit
next time if buy another model, will try rupes style 21mm
ar188
post Mar 10 2017, 11:10 AM

9,206 posts

QUOTE(linkin182 @ Mar 10 2017, 07:08 AM)
I think the Bosch would outperform the Megs DA Power Tool. The difference I noticed when working upon this tool is for paint correction/polish, it MUST be a wired/corded Drill.
You need that extra muscle to remove and correct in order for the DA Power Tool to work properly. Other than that, with a cordless drill it is a great waxing tool.

I've read some forums suggesting that the Bosch GEX is the better option compared to the DA Power Tool, reason being I believe the GEX has a 5mm throw compared
to the MEGs DA Power Tool which I believe was rated at 4mm throw but I believe that 1mm wouldn't matter.

i think bosch AE option is 2.5mm

https://www.jewsontools.co.uk/bosch-gex-125...ander-110v.html

AC option is 5mm
http://www.bosch-professional.com/za/en/ra...0601372565.html
ar188
post Mar 10 2017, 11:25 AM

9,206 posts

QUOTE(linkin182 @ Mar 10 2017, 11:23 AM)
Ooh interesting biggrin.gif then get DA Power Tool  biggrin.gif
i think get proper osren style DA. biggrin.gif the megs one, very clumsy using it with a power drill.. sweat.gif
ar188
post Mar 10 2017, 03:24 PM

9,206 posts

QUOTE(deadgriever @ Mar 10 2017, 11:14 AM)
U need to directly pm them on fb @osrenmalaysia. I pmed them yesterday. Fyi

The prices are as follows :
1. Dual Action Polisher 8mm = RM680
2. Dual Action Polisher 15mm = RM850

Both prices are before GST. 😁
not cheap. last time i bought from taobao during sale 8mm orbit only 300+
ar188
post Mar 10 2017, 06:18 PM

9,206 posts

QUOTE(frozen7 @ Mar 10 2017, 05:06 PM)
How lasting is it? I mean the DA you got from taobao.
already hentam like crazy, until the carbon brushes half its size now. they also give 2 spare.

so far nothing broken, even the osren ones looks rebranded from china suppliers.
ar188
post Mar 10 2017, 08:25 PM

9,206 posts

QUOTE(slk @ Mar 10 2017, 08:14 PM)
RM300 is cheap!

Osren rebranded from Ultramate with black cover
now the hot ones are the china rupes style 21mm.. hand itchy liao.. biggrin.gif

but now allocating budget for supplies first.. MF cutting 6inch pad and some professional megs range stuff.
ar188
post Mar 10 2017, 09:17 PM

9,206 posts

QUOTE(froggyx @ Mar 10 2017, 09:13 PM)
Is this the one ur hand itchy....
yeah most are similar to this

ar188
post Mar 10 2017, 10:36 PM

9,206 posts

QUOTE(slk @ Mar 10 2017, 10:30 PM)
try Menzerna's compound, they are located near Ara Damansara
https://www.facebook.com/MenzernaPolishingM...=SEARCH&fref=nf
good to know they are here. i wonder Fg400/heavycut 400 how much, in the meantime i will order n try megs D300 with MF cutting pad first

anyway, i am getting most of my megs at better price than local/online so i get more items for the money, so if buy other brand in kl, mostlikely will be charged local retail $$$ price.
ar188
post Mar 10 2017, 10:37 PM

9,206 posts

QUOTE(slk @ Mar 10 2017, 10:33 PM)
err the MK1 Rupes are retailing for RM1k now.
so why people pay so much for osren? laugh.gif
ar188
post Mar 11 2017, 02:36 AM

9,206 posts

QUOTE(douglas_tong @ Mar 11 2017, 01:28 AM)
you have an excellent point! couple hundreds more rupes lei!

been eyeing for rupes mk2... not sure if the price is jacked again or not....
how much is the mk2 selling here? its a 400+usd machine if not mistaken.
ar188
post Mar 11 2017, 12:58 PM

9,206 posts

QUOTE(slk @ Mar 11 2017, 12:54 PM)
I was told the 21 is a bit harsh. 15 is just nice
good to know.
how about MF pads on the 15/21 DA, effective? or just use hex pattern foam cutting pads would be fine?
ar188
post Mar 11 2017, 06:06 PM

9,206 posts

QUOTE(chongkiatz @ Mar 11 2017, 04:35 PM)
Can dry with DA? U open max speed let it turn? The water will damage polisher or not kena watee , or polisher is waterprof?
dont worry
not so easy kaput wan DA

yeah just take the foam pad out, wash/squeeze, then put it back and wring dry it. laugh.gif but do it somewhere away from the car cos its gonna fling all over when u max speed it.

0.0346sec    0.51    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 22nd December 2025 - 10:56 PM