Took out both the spotlight thinking to clean the outer glass. Have tried sanding and polishing but notice the stain is in the inner lense. Have no skill to dismantle the lense. Any other solution to clean cos brush/thinner has no effect.
This is almost 13 yrs old original spotlight. Swab the halogen with 6.5k led bulbs for under $55 back in mid 2019 DIY and its working very well
After 1 round of ultimate compound. So nice to see the stubborn dirt/watermarks goes away Hairline scratches are still there though.
Totally underestimated the time needed so just manage to do 1 round of compound today. I guess another round of compound or polish need to wait until next weekend But so happy with the result.
You did by hand or da? Just ordered UC which will be my very first Meguiar's product...
This post has been edited by StevenL: Feb 21 2021, 11:53 PM
Ya diy, that video was last year, the coating lost its water repellent after 4 months of minimal car wash and 24x7 outdoor parking.
No maintenance done since to revive it? I guessed that's the thing to expect fro cheap ceramic coat? Have DIY on older car couple of months ago and using whatever left over LSP as mthly maintenance
Nope, in other hand I wanted to know its longevity, monthly wash using Carpro Iron-X Snow Wash as decon wash, the coating able to survive that wash (still beading during wash) which would strip-off traditional waxes.
Noted. Just checked the coat you applied is over $100 in LzD hence it ain't cheap range like I had (<$50).
I deal with the manufacturer on Aliexpress, halves the price (with postage) because I bought 2 bottle. If bought more bottle the cost per bottle would be cheaper (same postage parcel box).
That's a good bargain. In any event, my personal view after applying this cheap $50 coat almost 2 mths ago in comparison to another car which is just applying TW SnS, the coated car is.. 1. Still feels smoother when washing or drying (8 washes and countless rinse) 2. Water beading and sheeting still way better
UPDATE : SORRY 6 WASHES NOT 8, but countless rinse in between early Feb and mid Mac
This post has been edited by StevenL: Mar 14 2021, 11:32 PM
Just bought a car and want to learn how to clean it properly
Do you guys just buy the car cleaning products from tesco/aeon/giant/mrdiy or shops to specialized in car care products?
Are there any brands that I should avoid? Or are all of the generic brands found in supermarket fine? I searched on shopee for the brands recommended by American youtubers but they are all so expensive.
Right now I'm looking for normal car wash soup, car polish, wax, compound, something to treat the interior plastics and car seal, and tyre shine.
Brands NOT to avoid, Meguair Turtle 3M Mothers....
not recommended for newbie? hahaha but so far my go to channel is pan the organizer
nice tips and knowledge
and yesteryear hype on diy coating is avalon king armor shield, nubbad
With that budget you should try DIY saves heaps of money. Go for a good ceramic instead of cheap ones (I used <$50). Just follow the steps like many sifus here mentioned and you'll not go wrong.
Hi, any user tried the above? What's the durability like? Seems a lot easier than other ceramic albeit shorter flash time and shorter durability <6 mths....