4 Pages < 1 2 3 4 >Bottom

Car Care & Detailing [V5], Caring for your car apprearance

StevenL
post Dec 2 2020, 09:43 PM

732 posts

QUOTE(Jay Chua CC @ Nov 30 2020, 11:41 PM)
Just got Turtlewax Seal n Shine Improved formula for rm72 with free shipping on Shopee. Moving on since osren sio2 and soft 99 fusso spray doesnt works well.
I'm totally disappointed with osren Luminous Coat. Applied using both wet and dry on diff cars and the smoothness and gloss were much below SnS. However beading looks comparable but I don't think it'll be as durable as SnS of 4 mths under exposed sunlight

I'll finish up this bottle and return to SnS next year

This post has been edited by StevenL: Dec 3 2020, 08:36 AM

Attached Image Attached Image Attached Image
StevenL
post Dec 5 2020, 12:16 PM

732 posts

1st rinse since applying Luminous Coat

This post has been edited by StevenL: Dec 5 2020, 12:17 PM

StevenL
post Dec 5 2020, 12:19 PM

732 posts

QUOTE(pinn0chi0 @ Dec 4 2020, 10:43 PM)

Kit wax, 3 weeks on unclayed car (never clay before 😅), seems to last or it's normal for paste wax to last at least for another month or two?

Dried off after driving back home.
I've seen these photos before in this thread...🤔
StevenL
post Dec 6 2020, 01:01 PM

732 posts

Up the game...
StevenL
post Dec 6 2020, 07:52 PM

732 posts

Not available in Amazon yet 😅
StevenL
post Dec 9 2020, 07:38 PM

732 posts

3 weeks, 2 washes durability of Luminous Coat...

StevenL
post Jan 21 2021, 11:54 PM

732 posts

Guys

Can I use microfiber pad to apply ceramic coat if not, what type of cloth can I buy as extra as the cloth which will come with the coat usually one piece only

I'm afraid one piece will not be suffice to apply the whole car as the coat might dry up on the same cloth?

Doing a little project on an old car

This post has been edited by StevenL: Jan 22 2021, 08:23 AM
StevenL
post Jan 26 2021, 05:34 PM

732 posts

QUOTE(woodentiger86 @ Jan 26 2021, 11:57 AM)
Nice.

You bought those Meguiar's items in bulk or during their warehouse sales?
https://s.lazada.com.my/s.cLRBQ

Pls volunteer bossku
StevenL
post Jan 29 2021, 11:54 AM

732 posts

1st time using and applying ceramic coating on an old car... Package arrived safely in glass bottle. Lasts 2 years is a bit skeptical for a $50 product. 🤔🤔🤔

I guess the process is:
Wash
Clay with PG Type 2
Polish with orange pad or microfiber pad
IPA cleaning
Ceramic coating to be applied
Wait for 2-3 days preferably 1 week to cure
Topped with some ceramic coating spray ie SnS

What am I missing?

This post has been edited by StevenL: Jan 30 2021, 12:31 AM

Attached Image Attached Image Attached Image Attached Image
StevenL
post Jan 30 2021, 12:28 AM

732 posts

Help! My itchy hands used a 2000 grit to get rid of few scratch lines only to realise I do not have any compound! I don't think polish can take out the haze from wet sanding

What's the best alternative besides expensive Meguiar's UC? BTW I've a purple pad fro Osren just in case to use with compound or not?

Kindly advise

This post has been edited by StevenL: Jan 30 2021, 12:32 AM
StevenL
post Jan 30 2021, 11:37 AM

732 posts

QUOTE(blurcase @ Jan 30 2021, 10:04 AM)
If u have polish, why not try first? 2000 grit is very mild already. At consumer range just about any compound will do for removing 2000 grit. U could consider Osren if on budget.
Thanks Bro for replying...

Being old can't read clearly without glasses and I checked again apparently there's this Osren per pic still in the box though I think it's 7-9 years ady can't recalled exactly hoping it hasn't expired.

First pass with wool on 2nd pic and 2nd pass with the same wool 🤣 using Turtle Polish

Some deep old scratch can't be removed caused by camry reversing into the door 😡

Think this is the best ady, any adv further? Thanks👍

This post has been edited by StevenL: Jan 30 2021, 11:45 AM

Attached Image Attached Image Attached Image Attached Image
StevenL
post Jan 30 2021, 08:09 PM

732 posts

Ceramic Coating done on old car...prety easy, coating flashes fast due to our humid weather. One regret which should have used microfiber pad to polish instead of orange pad 🤔

Update : rain this evening, beads looks tight and tiny😀

This post has been edited by StevenL: Jan 31 2021, 07:24 PM

Attached Image Attached Image Attached Image
StevenL
post Feb 5 2021, 01:42 PM

732 posts

QUOTE(christ14 @ Feb 3 2021, 11:51 AM)
i meant those hcw or tw csc lol

using osren sio2, like its glossy and durable but not the smooth i wanted, so i thought another spray over this sealant unsure.gif
You use this is it? If yes think the smoothness not even close to TW SnS, not sure about HCW

StevenL
post Feb 5 2021, 07:43 PM

732 posts

QUOTE(celciuz @ Feb 5 2021, 03:06 PM)
TW SnS feels more slick than HCW (I did a 50:50 comparison sometime ago, but hor... the durability of the SnS not worth the premium over the HCW). But haven't compared against Osren HCS/Coatz though.
I absolutely agree and having compared SnS against TLC, it wins hands down
QUOTE(christ14 @ Feb 5 2021, 05:43 PM)
Lol yes. I was sold at the wording

So i ensure a good prep clay and what not. To no avail. I mean few months down its not bad, still maintain the glossiness but beading from rain wise hope can be slicker haha guess i have to top up with other product and use this as sealant
No harm trying and giving local brand a test. Well continue to use until finished lor the TLC. But I'll not buy it again unless there's new product with better comparison against big names
StevenL
post Feb 6 2021, 01:44 AM

732 posts

Meg fan! Up against TW graphene I supposed
StevenL
post Feb 6 2021, 08:05 PM

732 posts

QUOTE(celciuz @ Feb 6 2021, 09:56 AM)
What's TLC again?

HCS was the first spray coating I've used... my memory was it is kinda easy to apply and buff compared to HCW. But then again, the HCW I got lazy and just spray and pressure washer weekly LOL. Optimum beading.
The Luminous Coat 😉
QUOTE(Jay Chua CC @ Feb 6 2021, 01:25 PM)
one of our guys tried this. not exactly worth it if i can recall haha
Really? Thought its a new product
QUOTE(celciuz @ Feb 6 2021, 04:55 PM)
Keep your finger nails tidy... or can't be avoided I guess  laugh.gif do plastic coating should be able to hide it further. Last resort, PPF perhaps.
Or deligently polish it... 😉
StevenL
post Feb 6 2021, 08:13 PM

732 posts

Did another 4 yrs old car today... Clay, TW Ceramic PW and to be seal with TW SnS tomorrow... This hasn't been polish or wax for 1.5 years at least cos always parked indoor both at work and home. No ceramic coating left to coat this... Maybe later this month if not too lazy

Update : photos updated 7/2/21

This post has been edited by StevenL: Feb 7 2021, 01:21 PM

Attached Image Attached Image Attached Image Attached Image Attached Image
StevenL
post Feb 13 2021, 09:22 AM

732 posts

QUOTE(SZEHUE @ Feb 12 2021, 10:52 PM)
hi all, first timer DIY asking for advice here..  I used Meg UComp (by hand with foam applicator) on my car hood/roof (7Y+ car, never polish, first 5Y was parked outdoor).. As shown by the foto, the left side is the 'original' condition, the right side is after compounded.. Im not able to remove the water spot/etch even after 2-3 application.  Did I expect too much; or DIY by hand has its limit?

Think you need to do clay and do wet sanding before compounding using DA with wool pad at least for such condition.

Maybe other sifu has better adv here
StevenL
post Feb 14 2021, 11:01 PM

732 posts

QUOTE(Quazacolt @ Feb 14 2021, 10:57 PM)
Personally, rain X , as durability last between 1 to 2 years if not more.

Front windscreen is permanent because got rain X washer fluid additive to renew it's effectiveness.

Rain driving was always a breeze with guaranteed clear vision lol

(Video to come once I can get my lazy ass to do it lol)
I can concur this Rain X works well at least for a year before reapplying for a car that's parked outside on weekdays
StevenL
post Feb 14 2021, 11:05 PM

732 posts

Separately noticed I missed out on a spot which I have overlap during the application of glass ceramic coat. It has crystalised as per pic below. I supposed a polish may get rid of it?

4 Pages < 1 2 3 4 >Top

0.0686sec    0.26    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 17th December 2025 - 12:50 AM