Car Care & Detailing [V5], Caring for your car apprearance

lkoky
post Aug 28 2017, 01:45 PM

1,127 posts

QUOTE(CAL V @ Aug 28 2017, 01:41 PM)
How frequent do you need to reapply? I've tried other ppl's cars with rain X on the windscreen, wiper judder with Bosch OE wipers, not sure if it's application problem.

However they are really good for side windows, a must for rainy season, mine lasted about 4months before it starts to show signs of wearing off.  thumbup.gif
I also using rain-x for quite a few years.

wiper will judder, if u didnt wipe clean the residue or uneven application.

Generally, I re-apply every 3-4mth; with 1~2 car wash every week.

lkoky
post Sep 2 2017, 10:55 AM

1,127 posts

anyone tried Meguiar's Ultimate Fast Finish yet?

also, after watching video from this guy, https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=P_SEPVn_uOk

It seem like those wax friendly car shampoo is really a bad idea.
lkoky
post Sep 3 2017, 08:21 AM

1,127 posts

QUOTE(douglas_tong @ Sep 2 2017, 12:36 PM)
Lol a couple of days ago was discussing this with blurcase about this issue. Same guy.

Personally I think acid based car shampoos are not acidic enough to remove road film. And difficult to find acid based shampoo too.

Sticking to my regime and see no harm. His theory might be right, but many issues and factors are not considered as well Imo, so it might not be 100% correct. Unless tests are done, this remains a hypothetical theory to me.

Traditional wax are based on oil formulation. Nowadays we have sealants that are waterbased and water activated. Ie: carpro hydro2. Meaning oil is not the ONLY hydrophobic property, thus his consideration is inaccurate.

His argument is that pH neutral is not able to remove oil, therefore oil films cannot be removed. His only support is that because pH neutral cannot remove oil from wax, therefore oil films cannot be removed.

What if oil can be removed, but not grimes?
QUOTE(blurcase @ Sep 2 2017, 03:04 PM)
Yup, personally the more I watch the videos from Dallas Auto Paint Correction, the more I take a pinch of salt to what he says. I understand he has alot of professional experience with detailing, so I wont dispute his experience and expertise, but I dont like the idea that ppl try to trash talk or disprove of everything the detailing industry norm has on almost every recent video. It makes me feel more like they are doing it just to get more ppl viewing their videos and make money from Youtube rather than being honest about things. I believe everything in detailing has its pros and cons, and to only tell one side of the story most of the time isnt a balanced view.

I have not tried Meguiar's Ultimate Fast Finish, but from reviews and how it works, it looks like a liquid wax put in aerosol can. From my personal experience with aerosol cans, there can be disadvantages such as the compressed air finish before the product finish. In this case the remaining product becomes wasted. Another disadvantage is nozzle clogging, but this only commonly occurs in spray paint, hopefully it doesnt happen to this product.

I also will stick to my current regime. I am currently using Meguiars NXT Ultimate Wash, and I find it effective in cleaning the car even though it is pH neutral. My ratio of concentrate to water is higher than recommended in the label description, as it gives me more effective cleaning of visible contaminants. For non-visible and below surface contaminants, I continue to use clay, tar remover, and polish when necessary. For protection I wax or coat, but now trying out spray sealants as well.

Just my 2 sen. smile.gif
Yeap, I also got no plan to change my current regime. Noentheless it also got me thinking, right now everytime before I wax my car, i will wash the car with normal household detergent hoping to strip old wax before putting new one on. However what i notice is, after the first application of wax... my applicator pad will go black, so does it mean my cleaning is not thorough? still have traffic oil film left on car paint?

I have tried numerous car shampoos and household detergent to clean before wax... but none give a satisfatory results... by satisfactor I mean I shouldnt have those black stain on applicator pad after waxing.

even claying before wax doesnt guarateen a thoroughly clean surface from oil film. Any thoughts?

lkoky
post Sep 3 2017, 06:47 PM

1,127 posts

QUOTE(N33d @ Sep 3 2017, 06:21 PM)
We have the same feeling
my gut feeling told me that he started to talk like a salesman and wanna sell something
true enough, in one of his vid, he commented he is working on some kind of car wash and looking to patent it. I was like "gotcha"!
BTW,
meg came out with a new cleaner wax aka AIO
D166 Ultra Polishing Wax
drool.gif
i am big fan of polishing AIO and with D166, HD speed should be worry now lol

To me, currently AIO is like those big sensor mirrorless camera in camera world where it disrupts DSLR market(Compound+polishing 2 steps)
...Meguiar's D166 Ultra Polishing Wax ...
Part #:
D16601 - 1 Gallon Size
D16616 - 16 oz Size

MSRP:
D16616 - $17.99
D16601 - $69.99

Always amazed me how down to earth the price of car care products in US, compared to bolehland here. Pricing here is really ridiculous.
lkoky
post Sep 9 2017, 03:39 PM

1,127 posts

I just order Meg Ult Liquid Wax n Ult Fast Wax. Cant wait to try it out
lkoky
post Sep 10 2017, 06:27 PM

1,127 posts

QUOTE(GuyM @ Sep 10 2017, 03:09 PM)
Can't remember how much as I've had it for few years already. It's heavy though, need to buy something lighter

Anyway did 4 cars over the last long weekend
sweet, all mirror finished like
lkoky
post Sep 20 2017, 01:46 PM

1,127 posts

QUOTE(celciuz @ Sep 20 2017, 12:00 PM)
What is the best way to clean the pads after usage? Some recommend to hand wash and wring dry (which some commented said this will cause the velcro to peel), some say to use pressure washer to spray and remove the residue (but some say will expand the interior structure) then some recommend use the bucket where you spin it...

So for DIY newbie like me, which would be the easiest and safest way to clean the pads? what sort of cleaner? Is it worth getting those like tool to agitate the residue? or those brush?
I just clean it using a normal plastic brush under running water... a bit of household soap.

Anyway, my damage from Lazada kawkaw sale... RM148 for Ult Wax, and RM98 for Fast Fin Wax (using maxis voucher code)

lkoky
post Sep 30 2017, 06:57 AM

1,127 posts

QUOTE(squallx840 @ Sep 28 2017, 02:45 PM)
Meguiars Warehouse sale this weekend.

https://www.meguiars.com.my/index.php?route..._blog_post_id=7

Update: Just went and bought Meguiars D156 1 Gallon for about RM214.
What other product is on sale?

lkoky
post Sep 30 2017, 08:30 PM

1,127 posts

QUOTE(FirstOne @ Sep 30 2017, 08:07 PM)
Went there bought this xD. Thinking of getting myself a DA from them. Worth it? Or is there any other brand?
I got my DA from Osren, around 760.

Anyway, is there any foam gun that work with normal garden hose? (without pressure washer) Or more impartantly, is it worth to get one for car wash?
lkoky
post Oct 8 2017, 06:50 PM

1,127 posts

Damned regret didn’t get the xpress spray wax last week from Meguiar sale.
Anyone who bought care to sell half gallon smile.gif?
lkoky
post Oct 12 2017, 07:35 AM

1,127 posts

QUOTE(ar188 @ Oct 12 2017, 12:30 AM)
do you want with the spray bottle? brows.gif

Not at the moment, havent bought the spray wax yet.

Anyway, bought extra the foloowing, anyone interested pls pm me

Meguiars G14422 Ultimate Quik Detailer
Meguiar's G8224 Perfect Clarity Glass Cleaner

This post has been edited by lkoky: Oct 12 2017, 08:04 AM
lkoky
post Oct 17 2017, 10:09 AM

1,127 posts

Guys,

what do u use to protect sport alloy wheel after wash? just normal car wax?
lkoky
post Oct 29 2017, 08:22 PM

1,127 posts

anyone used thsi fw1 cleaning wax before?

Just got 2 cans from a friend.

lkoky
post Jan 19 2018, 11:55 AM

1,127 posts

QUOTE(busta_dude @ Jan 17 2018, 10:13 AM)
My first attempt to try glass/ceramic coating. Paint prep using Wash with all purpose cleaner, Clay using Meguiars White Clay using ONR diluted as Lube, Meguairs Ultimate Polish on Yellow Rupes Pads on LHR15 Mark 2 (lightswirl), Finish with OSREN P20 on White Rupes Pads  on LHR15 Mark 2. IPA 99.7% diluted 1:1 with RO water. Glass Coat -> 30 seconds light pressure MF buff -> 5minutes later medium Pressure  buff.

[attachmentid=9522868]
[attachmentid=9522870]
[attachmentid=9522871]
[attachmentid=9522873]
Zoom in the lamp part

[attachmentid=9522874]
Applicator suede MF used to apply the coating, right after coat already sunk in water with APC, yet it still hardened.

Am I right doing the application? Please Comments and Critics sifu.
Boss,

Which coating u used? wanna try.
How lasting is the coating?

lkoky
post Feb 6 2018, 08:04 AM

1,127 posts

QUOTE(blurcase @ Feb 5 2018, 08:22 PM)
Very nice! Great shine!

I've just started detailing my own car today also. Prepping it for CNY. Since I had some new products that I have yet to try, decided to try them out for this session.

2 Items I have tested so far, Carpro IronX and Carpro TarX. Just to give a short review:

Carpro IronX:

1) Sprayed it on a dry car, the smell of this chemical is probably worse than public toilet. The smell is quite strong, but good thing the smell doesnt spread or last very long.
2) Started to see some streaks of purple, left it for a while then rinsed off.
3) Total amount used abit more than half of the 500ml bottle.
4) Found that despite some purple did streak out, it isnt as severe as how we see in videos. Maybe because we as car enthusiast take better care of our cars, so the purple streaking was limited.
5) Did it help to make claying easier or quicker? Absolutely not. Used plastic bag test on body panel and minimal difference in terms of roughness.
6) Would I continue to buy this product and use? Probably not. My idea of getting this product was to make my life claying the car easier and faster, and proven wrong today. I dont find other significant use for this that claying cant do.

Carpro TarX:

1) Sprayed mostly on the lower half of the car, especially closer to wheel arches. This product smell way better, actually similar to Osrent Tar Remover smell (possibly same chemical components).
2) Started to see tar spots melting, left it for a while, then sprayed second round.
3) As this product is abit oily, proceeded to rinse, then use some regular car soap to wash all the areas that got sprayed, and rinse again.
4) Unfortunately numerous tar spots still stuck there, other than creating the streaks, TarX did not totally remove it.
5) Did it help make claying easier? A little bit. TarX probably loosened the tar spots enough so that claybar can pick it up easier. However, lower area claying needs plenty of care, must always fold and re-knead the claybar and open new surface frequently, else the tar residue stuck on the claybar can scratch paint.
6) Would I continue to buy this product and use? Probably not, I think Osren Tar Remover is abit more aggresive against tar compared to TarX.
Next up to clay entire car, using Meguiars Aggressive claybar and Last Touch diluted 1:1. So far did 1/4 of the car and tired already, continue tomorrow.
Just curious, when u clay just a section of the car, do u straight away put on some wax or sealant? Given u will be spreading the clay job over a number of days.

I always do clay, wax/sealant in one shot... cause dont know whether to clay+wax a section or, wait till whole car done. Especially if spread the clay into few days. Scare got new containminant stick on the just clayed section.

lkoky
post Mar 7 2018, 10:12 AM

1,127 posts

Guys,

how do you generally wash SUV? now am thinking getting a step ladder and maybe a broom stick style sponge. The roof is so damned high. hahaha
lkoky
post Mar 7 2018, 02:20 PM

1,127 posts

QUOTE(blurcase @ Mar 7 2018, 11:06 AM)
It depends on your height. A 2-step stool is definitely a must have, but if your hand wash mitt can reach half the car from the side while standing on the stool, then I think the broom/mop stick is not necessary. But some ppl dont like climbing up and down stools during washing, so the mop stick makes sense for them.

I am 5’8”, and the SUVs I have aren not very high, so I use 2 step stool and normal hand wash mitt
Ya, can reach half of the width when on stool, just need to move the stool constantly from front to back.. ahahhaha.
so much fun, now got a bigger car, much larger area to detailing.
lkoky
post Mar 12 2018, 07:42 AM

1,127 posts

planning to get a pressure pump and foam gun. any recommendation? budget below 1k for both
lkoky
post Mar 14 2018, 07:44 AM

1,127 posts

QUOTE(slk @ Mar 12 2018, 02:00 PM)
get a water cooled Karcher.
MJJC foam lance from www.aliexpress.com
water cooled motor Karcher? seems like only starting from K4 model.

Mya I know the advantages of getting a water-cooled motor? can run it longer without spoiling motor?
lkoky
post Mar 28 2018, 08:40 AM

1,127 posts

QUOTE(slk @ Mar 27 2018, 09:36 AM)
Gtechniq is from UK.

The first car I coated using Osren's is coming to 2 years now. Still beading/sheeting very good.
Boss,

Mind shared the process u took to prep the car before apply coating? Am thinking whether to coat my SUV.

4 Pages < 1 2 3 4 >Top

0.0384sec    0.45    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 13th December 2025 - 12:14 AM