18 Pages « < 7 8 9 10 11 > » Bottom

Car Care & Detailing [V5], Caring for your car apprearance

sonotme
post May 15 2021, 06:53 PM

1,711 posts

QUOTE(Jay Chua CC @ May 15 2021, 05:05 PM)
Anyone know whats this? seems very stubborn. is it tar? abit yellowish in colour.
Trying to diy before sending to detailling shop
[attachmentid=10879012]
could be tar/mud or grim. pressure wash or run with hose and see if it goes off. I hope its not cement..
sonotme
post May 19 2021, 01:14 PM

1,711 posts

QUOTE(newhouseowner @ May 19 2021, 12:33 PM)
This bro,
https://www.meguiars.com/automotive/product...ofiber-towel3pk

I think Malaysia selling single piece or twin. I didn't come across 3 pieces pack as in USA.

Superb quality towel for such long usage and didn't scratch paint at all.
Can use for rinseless wash?
sonotme
post May 19 2021, 02:32 PM

1,711 posts

QUOTE(woodentiger86 @ May 19 2021, 02:17 PM)
Hmm, you wanna use for wipe dry purposes or to use it as a washmitt replacement to wipe the car with rinseless wash solution bro?
Wipe for rinseless wash.. i already got osren ultra for drying.
Now just using mr diy mf cloths.. maybe can upgrade hehehe..
sonotme
post May 19 2021, 10:22 PM

1,711 posts

QUOTE(woodentiger86 @ May 19 2021, 03:47 PM)
I see. Osren's Ultra a bit too big for me so I bought a slightly smaller drying towel from ADM.

Anyhow, those twisted loop drying towels really are a game changer.

Seems like you're referring to those multipurpose/all in one type towels that are pretty much easily replaceable.

I bought a pack of 10 pcs MF towels under Rolson brand from Ace Hardware a couple of years ago and used it either for kitchen/wiping table and interior use for car. If really wanna consider towels, try checking out ADM/Osren range of those general purpose towels I suppose. I stock up some edgeless, some slightly plusher ones with higher GSM for buffing purposes since I'm used to wiping off spray waxes or sealants.
Rolson i think i saw it at ben"s grocer last month. It's abit thin, not really plushy, no?
sonotme
post May 24 2021, 02:00 PM

1,711 posts

QUOTE(woodentiger86 @ May 24 2021, 01:57 PM)
Hmm, true.

Most of my neighbour's cars which aren't washed nor have any form of protection already have oxidised/clear coat failure somehow.

Even my brother's previous car which is hardly washed - I saw the engine area got some oxidation too...
Previously i drove white saga blm, never had any paint or clear coat issues apart from stone chips and headlamp fading.. maybe solid or white is harder to see?
But my wife's red car is good too, except the repainted part faded because of cheap paint job.

Any recommendation for repaint job near Ampang?
sonotme
post May 27 2021, 09:38 AM

1,711 posts

QUOTE(StevenL @ May 27 2021, 08:54 AM)
g88
Juct checking the overall experience if any over here especially in our hot humid climate

newhouseowner
considering between this and IGL ezi for another car...
Go over to youtuber scott hd for comparisons.. he has all kinds of coatings, sprays, waxes comparison put on hood and left outside with weekly updates for u to judge
sonotme
post May 27 2021, 10:29 AM

1,711 posts

QUOTE(StevenL @ May 27 2021, 10:05 AM)
those weather not suited here
Understand.. but from a theoretical point of view, u want to know how durable it lasts vs claimed. I think igl just launched a new graphene coating.
sonotme
post May 27 2021, 11:24 AM

1,711 posts

QUOTE(woodentiger86 @ May 27 2021, 10:52 AM)
Haha locally or US? Fuyoh graphene coating...
I think locally too. Checking their live videos for any promos if ur interested.. but igl abit pricey for me compared to even meguiar
sonotme
post May 29 2021, 05:59 PM

1,711 posts

QUOTE(christ14 @ May 29 2021, 03:24 PM)
hand polish is the worst lol the amount of pads changed and polish topup and then damp buff off fuh... the roof is the most tiring

yeah as we can see, they all do in garage LOL even got AC!, man if outside next to highway summore i shudder think the condition bangwall.gif

i dont polish much so i didnt think of getting one bottle hahah

side question; does anyone put toppers on coating? like not their range but different LSP, i got S&B, osren SiO2, and a few stuff not sure can use or not
i tried hand polish twice so far (soft99 meta and osren luminuous) but felt like it didnt remove the scratches?
should i use scratch remover instead? sweat.gif

I saw my father's car full of swirls and door handle scratches, wanted to try hand polish to remove them, what do u think?
sonotme
post May 31 2021, 04:00 PM

1,711 posts

QUOTE(christ14 @ May 31 2021, 03:57 PM)
seems like a good time to hop on the Megs bandwagon brows.gif
Where do u guys get megs stuff? Shopee/lazada?
sonotme
post Jun 11 2021, 08:53 PM

1,711 posts

Any recommendation on products to protect wheel rims?
Anyone used soft99 wheel dust blocker?

This post has been edited by sonotme: Jun 11 2021, 09:48 PM
sonotme
post Jun 12 2021, 12:49 AM

1,711 posts

QUOTE(maxxsp @ Jun 12 2021, 12:47 AM)
If you don’t already have a pressure washer I’d go for option 2. A pressure washer makes a huge difference to the wash process. There are many decent units available under RM1k. A basic unit I recommend is the karcher k4 basic (around RM800 on Shopee) and add a foam Lance from China. Make sure you order one with the right connector.

If your budget is lower than that maybe you can try the Karcher K2 series. Pricing starts from under RM300 depending on model.
I find Ace Hardware is really overpriced nowadays.
Any recommendation for cordless pressure washer?
sonotme
post Jun 13 2021, 12:22 AM

1,711 posts

QUOTE(junclj @ Jun 12 2021, 11:40 PM)
Probably you were misunderstood my car situation. I only wax once my car after I wash my car and I only wash my car every two weeks because I have two new cars. Each week only wash one car. So I can't always wash the same car every week. Let's say this week wax with carnauba wax, then 2 weeks later I wax with ceramic wax. Actually the ceramic wax is not a pure wax, it is a sealant for block water. You will never know how is my car situation but only until to come to my house to see my car. It is definitely looks like just did a professional ceramic coating. The car is very new until like just polished. In fact that, I never polish my car since the first day I took my car from showroom. Even the car get hit by raining, the body just looks like 99% very clean after it dry off in the next day.
I just did clay + polish last week for my 6 month old car.
I also wash + wax almost every week like u, but i felt like the paint is not so smooth anymore. I felt maybe in between waxes got contaminants..
But it still beads/shine like new la..
sonotme
post Jul 1 2021, 01:00 AM

1,711 posts

QUOTE(GuyM @ Jul 1 2021, 12:36 AM)
That video mean nuttin instead more test needed..
This guy did comparison tests, got cerakote inside..
https://youtu.be/d8DfooXgWgc

sonotme
post Jul 4 2021, 06:09 PM

1,711 posts

QUOTE(FrogBlob @ Jul 4 2021, 05:35 PM)
Hi! Was washing my car and did abit of paste waxing, which the older folks of my family saw me doing.
They told me it is not necessarily beneficial to wax new cars as it would make the car paint thinner in the long run.
I am not familiar with detailing, so can anyone shed some light on this?
They must have confused waxing and polishing i presume?
Polishing/decon new car is okay because who knows what happens to the car from the factory to the warehouse, to the showroom, then washed by people using the same cloth from wheels and body..
sonotme
post Jul 11 2021, 12:22 AM

1,711 posts

QUOTE(ZzZzz... @ Jul 10 2021, 10:37 PM)
looks like my option either grit guard or get around 6 wash mitt (without recycle it) for wash entire car...

or just PPF, less hassle on scratches/ car wash/ high speed stone chips..maybe im just too OCD  tongue.gif
Dont think too much. Go for multiple wash mitts, therefore zero chance of having recycled stuff scratching your car.. polish / clay will need to do when the time comes..
sonotme
post Jul 11 2021, 12:46 PM

1,711 posts

QUOTE(GuyM @ Jul 11 2021, 10:20 AM)
Opinion... Do u guys think this almost 6 mths combo cheap ceramic coating/Osren Luminous coat is still holding up for a car parked 5/7 outdoor? The sides eg doors are still beading and sheed well..... 🤔

Am thinking to also do compounding for the 1st time on this 4 yrs old car.

Note: Car haven't been washed since start of emco...
Still looks good to me, if u compound, u will need to coat again tho..
sonotme
post Jul 14 2021, 11:58 AM

1,711 posts

QUOTE(sk41 @ Jul 14 2021, 11:18 AM)
hi guys, i have read previous post about polishing to remove minor scratches at body

1. need to compound, polish & then wax right?
2. what polishing product do you guys recommend & where to find? trying to find meguiars ultimate polish at shopee but couldnt find any reputable one
3. is it safe to compound then polish for new car (<6 months), can skip polish? i.e. after compound then wax only, no polish
For meguiars product in shopee, u can find at their official store or another distributor called skideas.
For my new car, i did clay and hand polish (osren), followed by wax.
For scratches, i used scratch remover like turtlewax. It works for small/thin scratches but for stone chips, i use touchup paint instead.
sonotme
post Jul 16 2021, 09:51 AM

1,711 posts

QUOTE(sk41 @ Jul 16 2021, 09:47 AM)
for entry level like me, will products such as
meguairs 3-in-1 wax
osren all-in-one polish
does the same job with meguairs UC & UP? to remove minor scratches at body
It's more to trial and error for beginner like me.
In a way, i can test the products too.
I suggest getting scratch removers, i see the results faster n better.
I tried osren polish but i find scratch remover does the job as intended.
I never used uc n up yet.. need other sifus to commend hehe.. but if you're using DA, Im sure you can
sonotme
post Jul 24 2021, 03:25 PM

1,711 posts

QUOTE(Scissorshand @ Jul 24 2021, 02:47 PM)
OK couldn't resist myself since my son gave 2 cars a good wash yesterday upon returning from my evening run.

Applied remaining SnS and Cerakote Graphene on diff cars yesterday night after Olympic opening. My personal review on both products...

Cerakote Graphene+Ceramic Spray Coating (CG)
Very easy to apply, streak free 👏 and easy to buff off 👍 unlike SnS although SnS is still much better than Osren Luminous by far
At 225pm today, the smoothness level is very close to SnS
CG has a smell which I don't like it compared to fruity SnS which smells great
Gloss on par for both although the cars are different in colours
CG price is still on par if calculated based on cost per oz against TW Graphene Flex Wax (I'm a cheapskate but willing to try out the cheapest graphene 😂)
Watermark unknown yet
Beading or sheeting not tested... 😂😂😂
Reliability unknown until Xmas... 😂😂😂

Note: Both cars were coated with cheap $50 DPro Ceramic Glass coating before CNY and the coat is still doing great
please take pics after rain to compare rolleyes.gif rolleyes.gif

18 Pages « < 7 8 9 10 11 > » Top

0.5392sec    0.34    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 5th December 2025 - 05:34 AM