Car Care & Detailing [V5], Caring for your car apprearance

Quazacolt
post Apr 25 2021, 01:21 AM

Riding couple
5,366 posts

QUOTE(sonotme @ Apr 24 2021, 02:01 PM)
my rear passenger windows gets fogged up but not the front.. but i wonder why. maybe i forgot to clean the rear passenger windows previously  doh.gif
tint getting oily or people smoke in rear or something?

maybe somehow air flow to your rear windows good? outside cold inside hot = fog.
you can try having more aircond fan (and less air cond temp so you dont freeze) to circulate air around the car better.

QUOTE(sonotme @ Apr 24 2021, 10:46 PM)
use 1 bucket method if can, meaning multiple microfibre and dont reuse/redip into wash bucket to avoid any contamination..
you mean 2 (or 3) bucket method? XD

This post has been edited by Quazacolt: Apr 25 2021, 01:23 AM
Quazacolt
post Apr 25 2021, 11:05 PM

Riding couple
5,366 posts

QUOTE(lsyp @ Apr 25 2021, 10:55 PM)
i m looking at polisher to do DIY polishing. Any recommendations which one to buy?
Rupes bigfoot
Quazacolt
post Apr 26 2021, 07:32 PM

Riding couple
5,366 posts

QUOTE(Scissorshand @ Apr 26 2021, 07:25 PM)
Wah! Straight go atas level ka?
That's what I'm using tongue.gif
Poisoned by sifu Krismas
Quazacolt
post May 10 2021, 12:04 PM

Riding couple
5,366 posts

Lovely dearest wife helped arranging my detailing tools 🥰
Quazacolt
post May 10 2021, 12:08 PM

Riding couple
5,366 posts

QUOTE(christ14 @ May 10 2021, 10:44 AM)
quick question..also lazy search lol

when u guys use isopropyl alcohol like whats the percentage like 99% or 75% ones?
I had the privilege to be given a 99.9% pure lab grade IPA many years ago and I've been using slightly less than 1:10 dilution (between 1:8 to 1:10)

Anything less it flashes way too fast and you'll get streaks/spots
Quazacolt
post May 10 2021, 12:15 PM

Riding couple
5,366 posts

QUOTE(sonotme @ May 10 2021, 12:11 PM)
1:10 dilution means if my bottle is 1L, about 900ml water, 90ml ipa?
https://www.detailingwiki.org/guides/guide-dilution-ratios/
900ml distilled water 100ml IPA

=Edit=
Actually you're more accurate/correct though it's kinda splitting hairs lol
The website I linked was quite shit in the chart too so here's an image lol

This post has been edited by Quazacolt: May 10 2021, 12:20 PM
Quazacolt
post May 10 2021, 01:56 PM

Riding couple
5,366 posts

QUOTE(sonotme @ May 10 2021, 01:32 PM)
Thanks.. i was gonna try 1:1 ratio lol..
Luckily someone asked here..
Actually can also depending on the purity on your IPA (eg:75% pure)
Quazacolt
post May 10 2021, 08:58 PM

Riding couple
5,366 posts

QUOTE(christ14 @ May 10 2021, 08:30 PM)
sweet thanks quazacolt, am about to embark on the journey of diy ceramic coating lmao and on most videos, the step repeats on using ipa to wipedown any excess polish/compound etc but nobody said anything about dilution or what % of IPA. come to think of it i just scared it do away on the paint if mis used
you're most welcome bro! laugh.gif

i don't think IPA even on neat (undiluted) will have any effect on fully cured clear coat... it isn't acid, just alcohol.
it may probably have really bad marring/streaks as it kinda forced the dirt out and kinda concentrated form then settled again along with whatever contents from the IPA altogether.

i think the main concern is alcohol being a solvent?
supposedly if you have really concentrated alcohol to soak or sit on the surface that could potentially damage the clearcoat/paint, but i don't think you'll purposely do that and general wipe down applications it will just flash off really fast even under cool nighttime.
Quazacolt
post May 14 2021, 12:05 AM

Riding couple
5,366 posts

QUOTE(zswei @ May 13 2021, 10:00 PM)
May I know if wax do have the effect like coating? Just that it last not so long compare to coating?
to my knowledge, most wax, especially carnauba based and/or boutique waxes will definitely have better effect/gloss compared to most coating.

their main drawback are only durability, yet my waxing experiences I can bring boutique wax to last close to, if not well over a year with very minimal maintenance (this could be the key tongue.gif)

yes, the lines between wax/sealant, paste or spray, or simple spray on wipe off, and coatings definitely blurred over the years and as technology advances.
so I personally wouldn't be too mindful on what form the product is, so long they fancy your preferences/requirements/budget.
Quazacolt
post May 23 2021, 10:09 PM

Riding couple
5,366 posts

QUOTE(jyane @ May 19 2021, 11:01 AM)
Hi guys, wanna clarify something.. Dilution 1-3, 1-5, 1-10 meaning

EG: Shampoo

1-3 : 100ml(shampoo) : 300ml water 
1-5 : 100ml(shampoo): 500ml water
1-10 : 100ml (shampoo): 1liter water?
Read back my previous post lol
Quazacolt
post May 24 2021, 01:15 AM

Riding couple
5,366 posts

QUOTE(MalekChua @ May 20 2021, 04:47 PM)
Tat does make sense now. Shall change to HCD instead of using UQW.
actually detailer should always be a maintenance.

just go gold class wash > HCW

or if you want a clean slate/more thorough detailing (maybe annually, or few months once), do a claying after GC wash, and/or some polishing, maybe an IPA wipe down, and then HCW.

HCD should be in between washes, GC > HCD for maintenance.
or slightly more thorough GC > HCW > HCD, or just GC > HCW enough. no need waste HCD.
Quazacolt
post May 24 2021, 10:19 AM

Riding couple
5,366 posts

QUOTE(celciuz @ May 24 2021, 09:51 AM)
Probably works only when coating is nice LOL. Last time I drive 2-3 km at 100~140... zzz my back area a bit wet aiseh. Need more beadings!
Good products and/or maintenance XD

QUOTE(woodentiger86 @ May 24 2021, 10:16 AM)
Probably physics at work.

Unless reverse car at speed also to remove the rear-facing beads. brows.gif
No need reverse, just need a well engineered car with decent aerodynamics tongue.gif

This post has been edited by Quazacolt: May 24 2021, 10:20 AM
Quazacolt
post May 24 2021, 10:42 AM

Riding couple
5,366 posts

QUOTE(MalekChua @ May 24 2021, 10:34 AM)
Actually which is better? When u spray water on your car bonnet, u want it to bead nicely or the water easily glide through and left only a few bead.
I find my car bonnet easily glide through and left only a little bead at the end.
But most ppl said left a lot beading means still have good amount of wax protection.
I'm greedy, I want both!

QUOTE(celciuz @ May 24 2021, 10:41 AM)
Not everyone has a sports car  bruce.gif

Water easily glide! With this you can "dry" your car with water easily.
notworthy.gif

Yeah agreed, so long nothing sticks on the surface, all is well
Quazacolt
post Jun 2 2021, 11:30 AM

Riding couple
5,366 posts

QUOTE(junclj @ Jun 1 2021, 06:49 PM)
I’m using Meguiar’s Ultimate Paste Wax, Soft99 Authentic Premium Wax, Meguiar’s Hybrid Ceramic Liquid Wax, Meguiar’s Hybrid Ceramic Detailer, Osren Paintwork Coat.
Mind elaborating a bit as to what's the order of your application and/or how/what's your usage on all those products?
Quazacolt
post Jun 3 2021, 01:37 AM

Riding couple
5,366 posts

QUOTE(junclj @ Jun 2 2021, 11:54 PM)

thanks for the detailed reply bro notworthy.gif
definitely not aware that UMW delivers their car polished laugh.gif

hmm the washing seems... thorough and at the very least unique. how often you do such washes? i can't imagine it being weekly routine lol.

as for the wax, you're referring which one on carnauba? soft99?
the order seemed a bit odd to me
layering is nice, however 6 layers of 2 different brands and 4 different product lineup seemed a bit excessive/counter productive.
(i only do at most 3-4 layers at 2-3 product brand and/or lineup, and even that recently my DodoJuice aren't playing nice with my Meguiar, probably due to product age lol)
Quazacolt
post Jun 3 2021, 12:05 PM

Riding couple
5,366 posts

Yeah some cars sit in warehouses or even exposed open air lots for months to even over a year (like my late Inspira)

Then when they transport, over exposed trailer over highway rain or sun.

Just imagine laugh.gif
Quazacolt
post Jun 4 2021, 03:04 PM

Riding couple
5,366 posts

QUOTE(StevenL @ Jun 4 2021, 12:49 PM)

Over 300k expected cry.gif
Quazacolt
post Jun 5 2021, 03:23 AM

Riding couple
5,366 posts

QUOTE(maxxsp @ Jun 3 2021, 06:36 PM)
Wow! I've been a LYN member for ages but never knew there was an active detailing community on here  doh.gif

Hello all!
Welcome bro!
Quazacolt
post Jun 29 2021, 03:52 AM

Riding couple
5,366 posts

QUOTE(chaurous @ Jun 23 2021, 04:43 PM)
After reading and watching lotsa videos, I also think it’s better to send it for professional to do it.
Diy is probably too risky for new car.
personally i don't mind DIY and that's what i did for my new car back then.
however i've already been in the detailing hobby for quite some time before i had my new car so was obviously different circumstances than you.
Quazacolt
post Jul 10 2021, 07:16 AM

Riding couple
5,366 posts

QUOTE(faujc99 @ Jul 6 2021, 09:00 AM)
and is it necessary to put lol in the end to mock people? what did i type up there that offended u so much, i dont even know u? but if there is any, I apologize here, my intention is just to give my 5 cents to him in a simple and general way, and avoid him from making costly mistakes.

When it comes to car care, everyone has different experiences/motivation/dedication/persistence, and as long as it works for u, great, share your experience, boast your sifuness all u want, but no need to criticize others. pro or not, everyone continue learning as technology and products are updated from time to time
chill bro... i don't think there was any "lol" being made here? notworthy.gif
he shared his opinions, then it is up to @crixalisrox to determine and decide himself.

for X50 carbon fiber textured plastic, it is just that, fake textured plastic. so just treat it as any normal plastic trims and apply any coating/LSP products as you wish.

=edit=
woah maximum tagging of 5 members reached

QUOTE(sk41 @ Jul 6 2021, 12:51 PM)
guys, how do you fix minor scratches at front windshield?
glass polish, ideally get from reputable brand as cheap ones may leave permanent damage/haze on your windscreen.

QUOTE(newhouseowner @ Jul 6 2021, 08:06 PM)
Oh you butthurt, I see. So be it.
sifu also chill ya notworthy.gif

QUOTE(ZzZzz... @ Jul 7 2021, 11:15 AM)
just realize there's minor scratch as below photo (not sure is it due to my careless car wash  sweat.gif ), anyway to remove it without polish?

no way without polish.

have some patience, and try to stick to hand polishing as it is sitting on an edge and machine polishing may burn off your clearcoat and god forbid paint.
done that mistake on my sister's new car however seeing as i did more good correcting the damage on that area resulted of a fender bender at the parking lot scraping a pillar, all is good.

QUOTE(newhouseowner @ Jul 7 2021, 06:09 PM)
Nope. Some more need machine, hand application quite challenging.
i would think machine being more challenging unless you have small tool for very small spot correction and that would be a lot of budget as you'd typically want bigger machine for quicker (that's usually the purpose of machines ya? lol) overall car usage / coverage

so in that sense i'd disagree and side more on just going by hand for small spot corrections, involving an edge of curve of a car surface.

QUOTE(G-CooL^_^ @ Jul 8 2021, 11:11 PM)
how do you wash microfiber towel ?
What detergent u all using ?
multiple soakings /intervals between Vanish powder, and dishwashing liquid.
All hand wash, indoor drying.

and typically soak for 3-4ish days, as modern LSP tend to last longer, they tend to cling/stick on your cloth too...
same goes for modern day pollution bangwall.gif

11 Pages « < 7 8 9 10 11 >Top

0.0481sec    0.58    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 5th December 2025 - 04:36 AM