9 Pages « < 4 5 6 7 8 > » Bottom

PDA user (Strictly or Wanna-be), What is the purpose of using it?

sniper msia
post Jan 2 2007, 11:17 PM

Do U Scratch?
1,127 posts

QUOTE(ben_ang @ Jan 2 2007, 11:14 PM)
wahaha, then should consider having PDA then those media player like Pods.. haahahaha!
Definitely. But not everyone can afford a PDA, let alone a PDA phone.
ben83
post Jan 2 2007, 11:28 PM

IT & GADGETS ELITE SPECIALIST
1,602 posts

QUOTE(sniper msia @ Jan 2 2007, 10:51 PM)
The biggest drawback of the XDA II Mini is the built-in memory for running programs and we all know that memory is very very very important for smooth running of Windows Mobile. They matter much more than processors.
That's actually known as the RAM
sniper msia
post Jan 2 2007, 11:29 PM

Do U Scratch?
1,127 posts

QUOTE(ben83 @ Jan 2 2007, 11:28 PM)
That's actually known as the RAM
I know.

I'm just making things simple for the less-knowledgeable here.
ben_ang
post Jan 2 2007, 11:29 PM

ITS JINX NOW.POWDER FELL DOWN A WELL
2,013 posts

oh yeah.. PDA phone, combine of phone, PDA, personal media center...i wonder if u buy these 3 kinda of gadget separately cost how much..? definetly cheaper than buying a PDA phone i guess.. yeah!!
sniper msia
post Jan 2 2007, 11:31 PM

Do U Scratch?
1,127 posts

QUOTE(ben_ang @ Jan 2 2007, 11:29 PM)
oh yeah.. PDA phone, combine of phone, PDA, personal media center...i wonder if u buy these 3 kinda of gadget separately cost how much..? definetly cheaper than buying a PDA phone i guess.. yeah!!
Yeah, probably.
But now PDA phones are not that expensive anymore. A brand new Dopod 818 Pro can be had for RM1688 only.
ben_ang
post Jan 2 2007, 11:33 PM

ITS JINX NOW.POWDER FELL DOWN A WELL
2,013 posts

BTW.. talking abt storage.. actually how big memory we can hav in a 818 pro anyway?
H4RRY
post Jan 2 2007, 11:36 PM

393 posts

I wanted a PDA phone for MP3, ebooks, WAP surfing, opening Word/Powerpoint files and calendar function. I liked the Treo 600/650 a lot.

But can it open all Word files witout probs? I know there's a program that can do that, how good is it? Also, using wap, can i surf full-blown website and not wap-specific website? With Windows Mobile, i can sync calendar with Outlook. How about Palm, what software do we use?

I think Palm or Windows Mobile can run Scientific calculators, right? Any recommendation?
ben83
post Jan 2 2007, 11:36 PM

1,602 posts

QUOTE(ben_ang @ Jan 2 2007, 11:33 PM)
BTW.. talking abt storage.. actually how big memory we can hav in a 818 pro anyway?
4GB SD should not be a problem.
Baronic
post Jan 2 2007, 11:44 PM

Problem?
7,533 posts

QUOTE(H4RRY @ Jan 2 2007, 11:36 PM)
I wanted a PDA phone for MP3, ebooks, WAP surfing, opening Word/Powerpoint files and calendar function. I liked the Treo 600/650 a lot.

But can it open all Word files witout probs? I know there's a program that can do that, how good is it? Also, using wap, can i surf full-blown website and not wap-specific website? With Windows Mobile, i can sync calendar with Outlook. How about Palm, what software do we use?

I think Palm or Windows Mobile can run Scientific calculators, right? Any recommendation?
All word files? yes it can open, though it doesnt save in .doc format i think. (a diff format, readable on PC also dun worry)

yes, u can view full blown website, since u're using an internet browser not a wap browser. I believe u can set/choose. Viewing full blown site will burn a hole in your pocket. Pictures, colours, thats a lot of kb there. Use wi-fi instead.

Palm, i know u can sync also, special windows software sync for palm la thats all.

Scientific calculators, a lot on the market, but hard to find good, easy to learn and use ones. many are simply too complicated, with no clear instructions
sniper msia
post Jan 2 2007, 11:46 PM

Do U Scratch?
1,127 posts

If you really want a PDA that is good for surfing, Windows Mobile is the best way to go and I hate the calendar function of Palm. tongue.gif
ilham87
post Jan 2 2007, 11:54 PM

SSD Freak
848 posts

i'm using xdaIIi

normally use it for notes, appointments, surf internet at hotspots, msn, games or watch movie during lecture... tongue.gif lecturer gives lecture like talking to himself.. damn bored... so i filled my time watching movie.. hehe.. rclxm9.gif
ben83
post Jan 3 2007, 12:00 AM

1,602 posts

Documents To Go Premium Edition for Palm support Word, Excel, PowerPoint & even PDF. For web browser, Blazer & NetFront for Palm is pretty good. For sync, Palm has HotSync.
sniper msia
post Jan 3 2007, 12:01 AM

Do U Scratch?
1,127 posts

QUOTE(ben83 @ Jan 3 2007, 12:00 AM)
Documents To Go Premium Edition for Palm support Word, Excel, PowerPoint & even PDF. For web browser, Blazer & NetFront for Palm is pretty good. For sync, Palm has HotSync.
Documents to Go is an excellent software.
I used the Symbian Series 80 version for my Nokia 9300 last time and it is just perfect for full-function editing.

This post has been edited by sniper msia: Jan 3 2007, 12:02 AM
THTgadgets.com
post Jan 3 2007, 12:14 AM

Bigger than Bigger
5,005 posts

Agree with u guys there... DocsToGo is the best app to view and edit MS Word or Excel files on the Palm... Its similar to the Pocket versions of both Windows programs which is available on WM handhelds...

And seems like there are many of u students who use PDAs also eh... Looks like the student of today is more gadget-savvy than during my college years a decade ago!
Baronic
post Jan 3 2007, 11:31 AM

Problem?
7,533 posts

Lol, and the students of today will soon be outstripped by students of tomorrow
TSeric84cool
post Jan 3 2007, 05:19 PM

I'm BACK!!!
4,540 posts

QUOTE(sniper msia @ Jan 2 2007, 11:31 PM)
Yeah, probably.
But now PDA phones are not that expensive anymore. A brand new Dopod 818 Pro can be had for RM1688 only.
Hohohoho......their price is like that...by end of next year....with 1688..u can buy better spec than this.....damn tempting...don't know when is the right time to have one?! drool.gif

QUOTE(Baronic @ Jan 3 2007, 11:31 AM)
Lol, and the students of today will soon be outstripped by students of tomorrow
laugh.gif I myself feel shock to see many PDA users here are student.....wahhh.....parent nowaday very rich...
THTgadgets.com
post Jan 3 2007, 10:57 PM

Bigger than Bigger
5,005 posts

But good also what... Seems like both the parents and student themselves see the benefits of these gadgets during lectures as well as assignment time... I was like that also what, i started using a handheld during my college days way back in 1999...
Baronic
post Jan 3 2007, 11:08 PM

Problem?
7,533 posts

parents now a days very rich? no lar, my pda all self buy wan. work my ass of as a mobile game reviewer lol
julchin_09
post Jan 3 2007, 11:16 PM

"Complicated Nutter"
7,485 posts

But seriously...There are Form 4 students in schools using XDA IIs and I was shocked to see them. Some even use these costly devices as mere encyclopedias and dictionaries without SIM cards in them... jeez....spoilt!
H4RRY
post Jan 3 2007, 11:20 PM

393 posts

QUOTE(eric84cool @ Jan 3 2007, 05:19 PM)
laugh.gif I myself feel shock to see many PDA users here are student.....wahhh.....parent nowaday very rich...
No, my parents aren't rich. They set monthly budget for me. Depends on me how to spend the money. Have to eat Maggi at least once everyday and no going out. 1 year can save roughly RM1K lor.

9 Pages « < 4 5 6 7 8 > » Top

0.0480sec    0.66    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 20th December 2025 - 08:34 PM