9 Pages  1 2 3 > » Bottom

PDA user (Strictly or Wanna-be), What is the purpose of using it?

TSeric84cool
post Dec 28 2006, 06:34 PM, updated 19y ago

I'm BACK!!!
4,540 posts

Hey guyz...I would like to know what is the purpose of buying a PDA phone?? and how actually do u use it for ur daily task?? Appointment? Checking Market Stock etc??

do u find it convenient carrying it around without worrying ur PDA being steal by somebody?! Is PDA today really an essential for u or u just buy it for the sake of enjoying the technology??

if don't mind..can u tell me how much u earn and what position r u in co-operate?

remember to state down ur PDA model as well...

This post has been edited by eric84cool: Dec 28 2006, 09:12 PM
imperialrealcs
post Dec 28 2006, 06:57 PM

IMPERIAL DEATH STAR!
6,724 posts

Im using the PDA for GPS navigation, notes (always forgetful), games (definitely better than those in phones (symbian or java), watch movies/music, internet, MSN messenger via wireless biggrin.gif
btw, i'm using O2 XDA IIs
TSeric84cool
post Dec 28 2006, 07:42 PM

I'm BACK!!!
4,540 posts

QUOTE(imperialrealcs @ Dec 28 2006, 06:57 PM)
Im using the PDA for GPS navigation, notes (always forgetful), games (definitely better than those in phones (symbian or java), watch movies/music, internet, MSN messenger via wireless biggrin.gif
btw, i'm using O2 XDA IIs
huh?!games?!don't u feel it abit irritating when u need the pointer to press the screen ???
ben83
post Dec 28 2006, 08:16 PM

IT & GADGETS ELITE SPECIALIST
1,602 posts

QUOTE(eric84cool @ Dec 28 2006, 07:42 PM)
huh?!games?!don't u feel it abit irritating when u need the pointer to press the screen ???
The stylus is actually making navigation much easier than using directional pad in conventional phones without touch screen. However, one might argue that it is just personal preference. Here comes the good part of pda, as one can use the directional pad for navigation as well.

Baronic
post Dec 28 2006, 08:38 PM

Problem?
7,533 posts

Student here,

Primary use is the schedule. As a uni student and constantly changing tutorial times and lessons, as well as extra additional block teacher with odd times, (8.00am-9.00am, next class 3.pm-4.00pm) i find a pda essential to remember when my class is. It reminds me one hour before classes with an alert, and i can easily set and change my schedule. Also, when arranging meeting with frens and all, i can double check if i busy or not. much easier than carrying a huge organiser around.

Secondary use is HEAVY GAMING BABEH!! Pdas have absolutely superb games, if u choose the right games. i'm a serious heavy gamer, and i can say i play 90 percent of all pda games in the market already (no interest in porn games mar)

Tertiary use is a mobile movie device. convert into small .avi with smart movie converter (google it) and then can see movies on my pda! but i usually put stuff like simsons i download of the net, and futurama or drawn together
shockk
post Dec 28 2006, 08:44 PM

[ T A R G E T - L 0 C K E D ]
11,883 posts

QUOTE(Baronic @ Dec 28 2006, 08:38 PM)
Student here,

Primary use is the schedule. As a uni student and constantly changing tutorial times and lessons, as well as extra additional block teacher with odd times, (8.00am-9.00am, next class 3.pm-4.00pm) i find a pda essential to remember when my class is. It reminds me one hour before classes with an alert, and i can easily set and change my schedule. Also, when arranging meeting with frens and all, i can double check if i busy or not. much easier than carrying a huge organiser around.

Secondary use is HEAVY GAMING BABEH!! Pdas have absolutely superb games, if u choose the right games. i'm a serious heavy gamer, and i can say i play 90 percent of all pda games in the market already (no interest in porn games mar)

Tertiary use is a mobile movie device. convert into small .avi with smart movie converter (google it) and then can see movies on my pda! but i usually put stuff like simsons i download of the net, and futurama or drawn together
My reasons for using a PDA phone are about the same as you. tongue.gif

Used to use a paper organizer but the amount of editing that i did wasn't very good for paper. =.=''
So switched to a Windows Mobile and all is well (take note that the Palm OS calendar is NO MATCH for the Windows Mobile calendar)

I'm studying and working part-time at a well-established international publisher that requires good organizing of my time.
So yes, it is essential to me. smile.gif

This post has been edited by shockk: Dec 28 2006, 08:45 PM
TSeric84cool
post Dec 28 2006, 09:00 PM

I'm BACK!!!
4,540 posts

EMmmm....for Baronic...maybe it's essential for u but for me, I still can remember it...unless if i have hectic schedule...then i might consider to have one too...i don't find playing game on PDA is sounds interesting to me...wouldn't it cause damage to ur PDA as well as shorten ur PDA life span???

anyways, who is the one choose the CEO income status??i would like to know... tongue.gif

This post has been edited by eric84cool: Dec 28 2006, 09:03 PM
cIvIc_noob
post Dec 28 2006, 09:11 PM

Yays i get to have a title...er...what should i put?
761 posts

Eh i own a pda,
I'm plannin to use it for surfing
i do own a lappy and has wifi too
the reason i got the pda phone was for surfing,cos sometimes i might be looking for just a lil' bit of info and i don't want to go through the trouble of getting the lappy outta my bag and on it and off it, it's kinda bothersome.
With a pda ,u can just buka the wifi and hook on
Btw im studying in a uni,Sometimes it help to keep u entertain like games and e books.
One down side, battery lasts 2 days
Btw if u ran outta battery while surfing for some important info, im sure ur pda will be much of a use.
My lappy last +/- 3 hours on wifi.
Third party software help u keep track of ur expenditure.
Bout the navigation thing havent really tried it out, dunno how to use , might be tryin it in the future.
BTW Pda phone now are much more value for money than normal hp, for less than 1k,u can get new / 2nd hand pda phones,
Reccomended pda phones are ranged between 1.5k to 2.5k
All the best dude
Mgsrulz
post Dec 28 2006, 09:18 PM

30 years of Metal Gear
14,258 posts

student,bought it thinking i could use it for many things,turn out got bored with it. laugh.gif
used to play games on it(actually only 1 game,since i only found the shooting games worth playing)-recently switched to the psp...pwns pda/hp gaming anyday tongue.gif MGS FTW!!

now i mainly use my pda for wifi and alarm. laugh.gif

ipaq rx3417
shockk
post Dec 28 2006, 09:25 PM

11,883 posts

QUOTE(eric84cool @ Dec 28 2006, 09:00 PM)
EMmmm....for Baronic...maybe it's essential for u but for me, I still can remember it...unless if i have hectic schedule...then i might consider to have one too...i don't find playing game on PDA is sounds interesting to me...wouldn't it cause damage to ur PDA as well as shorten ur PDA life span???
A lot of PDA phones out there can take the beating. tongue.gif
By the time it actually gets damaged, it is probably time to buy a newer PDA phone already. brows.gif

QUOTE(Mgsrulz @ Dec 28 2006, 09:18 PM)
student,bought it thinking i could use it for many things,turn out got bored with it. laugh.gif
used to play games on it(actually only 1 game,since i only found the shooting games worth playing)-recently switched to the psp...pwns pda/hp gaming anyday tongue.gif MGS FTW!!

now i mainly use my pda for wifi and alarm. laugh.gif

ipaq rx3417
Also, carrying your phone and a PDA together with you everyday can be really quite tedious and 'ma fan'. laugh.gif
Mgsrulz
post Dec 28 2006, 09:28 PM

30 years of Metal Gear
14,258 posts

QUOTE(shockk @ Dec 28 2006, 09:25 PM)
A lot of PDA phones out there can take the beating. tongue.gif
By the time it actually gets damaged, it is probably time to buy a newer PDA phone already. brows.gif
Also, carrying your phone and a PDA together with you everyday can be really quite tedious and 'ma fan'. laugh.gif
to some,maybe most,yeah laugh.gif

but want to know what i carry with me everyday?
phone+pda+psp+camera+wallet+car keys. laugh.gif

leave out any one of these,i'll feel naked sweat.gif
shockk
post Dec 28 2006, 09:30 PM

11,883 posts

QUOTE(Mgsrulz @ Dec 28 2006, 09:28 PM)
to some,maybe most,yeah laugh.gif

but want to know what i carry with me everyday?
phone+pda+psp+camera+wallet+car keys. laugh.gif

leave out any one of these,i'll feel naked sweat.gif
Whoa. What kind of pants and shirt you must wear to carry all those? sweat.gif

Or just t-shirt and short pants enough? laugh.gif
Mgsrulz
post Dec 28 2006, 09:32 PM

30 years of Metal Gear
14,258 posts

QUOTE(shockk @ Dec 28 2006, 09:30 PM)
Whoa. What kind of pants and shirt you must wear to carry all those? sweat.gif

Or just t-shirt and short pants enough? laugh.gif
when i had only my phone,wallet,and pda,used a pouch.

then changed to cargo pants brows.gif

now can bring anything anywhere,without any problems. biggrin.gif

only thing is,if i go to the cinema,i risk being searched laugh.gif
but been to gsc 1 u,luckily they didnt frisk me..
TSeric84cool
post Dec 28 2006, 09:35 PM

I'm BACK!!!
4,540 posts

QUOTE(Mgsrulz @ Dec 28 2006, 09:32 PM)
when i had only my phone,wallet,and pda,used a pouch.

then changed to cargo pants brows.gif

now can bring anything anywhere,without any problems. biggrin.gif

only thing is,if i go to the cinema,i risk being searched laugh.gif
but been to gsc 1 u,luckily they didnt frisk me..
when the staff found out that u have loads of gadget..their 1st expression on the face ----> blink.gif
julchin_09
post Dec 28 2006, 09:43 PM

"Complicated Nutter"
7,485 posts

I get a lil worried having my gadgets in my cargo pockets. Those near you knees can be quite clumsy in tight situations. Would want to knock my devices around. But I guess after doing that for a while, subconciously you tend to adjust you body.... smile.gif
Mgsrulz
post Dec 28 2006, 09:46 PM

30 years of Metal Gear
14,258 posts

QUOTE(julchin_09 @ Dec 28 2006, 09:43 PM)
I get a lil worried having my gadgets in my cargo pockets. Those near you knees can be quite clumsy in tight situations. Would want to knock my devices around. But I guess after doing that for a while, subconciously you tend to adjust you body.... smile.gif
i whack my gadgets(unintentionally,ofcourse) almost everyday sweat.gif
against the walls,my cats's cages,the car door,you name it..since it swings here and there(the pockets) it's hard to control them sweat.gif
but most worried bout the psp...the others either have a thick cover or is already in a bad situation laugh.gif

This post has been edited by Mgsrulz: Dec 28 2006, 09:47 PM
choongyouqi
post Dec 28 2006, 09:50 PM

software engineer
2,507 posts

GPS and ToDo list currently.
Baronic
post Dec 28 2006, 10:58 PM

Problem?
7,533 posts

QUOTE(eric84cool @ Dec 28 2006, 09:00 PM)

anyways, who is the one choose the CEO income status??i would like to know... tongue.gif
lol, my schedule quite hectic lor. Cuz i need to remember wat time classes are, since i go home, i need to know which week classes canceled, or moved to another date and venue.

Oh, i forgot to add, my PRIMARY PRIMARY use of pda is now GPS navigation. Gf studies far away in TAR college, and without GPS i dieded. Even with GPS i took a few wrong turnings, but hey, after my first try, no more wrong turnings (taking a wrong turning 3 times, forcing u on the highway with a jam, wasting 15 mins per time tends to make u remember)

PDA gaming will not damage your pda. If u find PDA games boring, then u need recommendation

Some notable ones,
The Quest
Worms World Party
3D Pool
Everquest series
Pocket UFO (freeware, and i find it most addictive)
and more, there's already a PDA gaming thread. more details there.

Baronic
post Dec 28 2006, 11:01 PM

Problem?
7,533 posts

QUOTE(julchin_09 @ Dec 28 2006, 09:43 PM)
hmmm, i dun carry my pda around often. I bring it in the car, leave it there, and bring it with me when i go for classes to take down work or any changes. (also take it anywhere i know i'll be bored, people giving lectures and speeches, i'm kicking alien butt on my PDA muahahaha)No need pockets and all that, get a good krussel pouch and hang at belt lor. or if u have something super slim like Hp Ipaq 4150, u can slip in into your breast pocket easily, no fuss.

TSeric84cool
post Dec 29 2006, 12:29 AM

I'm BACK!!!
4,540 posts

QUOTE(Baronic @ Dec 28 2006, 10:58 PM)
lol, my schedule quite hectic lor. Cuz i need to remember wat time classes are, since i go home, i need to know which week classes canceled, or moved to another date and venue.

Oh, i forgot to add, my PRIMARY PRIMARY use of pda is now GPS navigation. Gf studies far away in TAR college, and without GPS i dieded. Even with GPS i took a few wrong turnings, but hey, after my first try, no more wrong turnings (taking a wrong turning 3 times, forcing u on the highway with a jam, wasting 15 mins per time tends to make u remember)

PDA gaming will not damage your pda. If u find PDA games boring, then u need recommendation

Some notable ones,
The Quest
Worms World Party
3D Pool
Everquest series
Pocket UFO (freeware, and i find it most addictive)
and more, there's already a PDA gaming thread. more details there.
hey...BARONIC...which PDA model r u using? About the GPS navigation, how much u pay for the service??under which telco company? I wondering whether normal phone can use this kind of service or not?

9 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0502sec    0.85    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 21st December 2025 - 01:04 PM