7 Pages « < 3 4 5 6 7 >Bottom

Japanese Vinyl and Figures V12, 2D Waifu in 3D

Ryutaro
post Oct 26 2018, 02:05 PM

~ Just a noob programmer ~
545 posts

come on guys u cant use knife collection to compare biggrin.gif try coloring ur knife i am sure those color will fade as well lol...

if i din remember wrongly those paintings they store in museum needs to do touch up paint and dust clearing every month(or once per few months) to keep the color vibrant as well so if u want to keep the figure in a good condition u gotta start doing maintenance on ur own..
Ryutaro
post Oct 26 2018, 03:36 PM

545 posts

QUOTE(MeToo @ Oct 26 2018, 02:37 PM)
Pretty sure they do not do regular touch up of paintings...

https://www.pri.org/stories/2012-08-25/amat...-painting-spain
only those who know what they are doing does the maintenance, that news is just what could go wrong when u leave it to amateur to do it...

normally its just some simple maintenance job until there are missing spots or damaged spots...

read this if u want to know more..

granted they do not do it regularly because they control the environment that preserve paintings very well

This post has been edited by Ryutaro: Oct 26 2018, 03:36 PM
Ryutaro
post Oct 26 2018, 03:58 PM

545 posts

QUOTE(MeToo @ Oct 26 2018, 03:37 PM)
I'm aware of art conservation/restoration.

but museum largely do NOT touch a painting unless its absolutely necessary.
comes down to them controlling the environment well i guess
like in my case my room tend to collect dust quicker than normal and its a headache for me to figure out why and how to control the amount of dust in the room
Ryutaro
post Oct 27 2018, 01:17 AM

545 posts

QUOTE(WingNut @ Oct 27 2018, 01:01 AM)
so true. my swiss army blade has been with me for more than 25 years and i can attest that the blade is still as sharp and zero colour fade/discolouration. besides, no need take up much space. a drawer holds plenty of penknives... and abouts wifey's dagger looks too! rclxs0.gif

but back to figures. whilst i never had any expectation that they'll last as long as my penknives, surely it's fair to expect them to last at least five years, no? was i being overly optimistic? mebbe the figures are not meant for tropical climates? doubt we have sophisticated climate controls for our mancaves, but surely the figures should be able to withstand the humidity behind closed doors and without direct sunlight beaming in, no? sigh... no wonder this thread has been pretty quiet also these days.
u know what u said actually made me try googling for a real answer and I found this due to our nature weather of high humidity I guess that's the REAL reason the paint faded but I do wonder whether fluorescent light or LED light does the same damage as the sunlight hmm.gif

another post to read about protecting our figures...from that I conclude that we need lots of silica gel, plastic zip lock bag and no direct sunlight or heaty room

QUOTE(ITLearner @ Oct 27 2018, 01:10 AM)
is the figure mall ok?

i accidentally press buy now on their website cry.gif
if u meant thefiguremall.com

they are fine no worries there are quite established..also u must've been clicking things wrong many times for that to happen==

This post has been edited by Ryutaro: Oct 27 2018, 01:25 AM
Ryutaro
post Oct 27 2018, 01:33 AM

545 posts

QUOTE(ITLearner @ Oct 27 2018, 01:27 AM)
can cancel? gg now
err message them on fb or call them when it's their operating time...ask politely and I am sure they will be of great help
Ryutaro
post Dec 4 2018, 12:47 PM

545 posts

not sure if u guys know a bout this but kinokuniya start doing preorder services for nendoroid and figures

https://www.kinokuniya.com.my/nendoroid/

thou some of the figures price was really high, it's still good to have another option to compare the price on.
Ryutaro
post Feb 7 2019, 10:07 PM

545 posts

QUOTE(Exiled_Gundam @ Feb 7 2019, 12:17 PM)
Japan Trip End December 2018 - Early January 2019
with so many box the custom officer didnt check u when u exit from the baggage area?

This post has been edited by Ryutaro: Feb 7 2019, 10:07 PM
Ryutaro
post Feb 8 2019, 12:14 PM

545 posts

QUOTE(Exiled_Gundam @ Feb 8 2019, 09:30 AM)
Run thru x-ray machine only
and they nvr suspect it might be taxable huh...anyway good for u! 趙雲子龍 looks nice!

QUOTE(MeToo @ Feb 8 2019, 11:21 AM)
Most of the time when I come back form long trips.. 1 backpack, 2 big roller... no problem.. I just jalan straight.. sometimes the customs officer will call u.. but if there is a lot of people.. just buat bodo and walk straight.. they will give up and concentrate on more pliable 'clients'
interesting all this while I thought it might be a crime running away from them...nvr thought u can do that..guess many factors are included like if u r walking with ur family or solo traveller
Ryutaro
post Feb 8 2019, 05:06 PM

545 posts

QUOTE(MeToo @ Feb 8 2019, 12:36 PM)
I dont advocate running away from kastam... but if you were preoccupied with something else and didnt hear them calling you amidst the crowd, then you cant really be blamed......  blush.gif

But I only do that when travelling alone, with family (and my kid) if they wanna stop us we will comply..
haha noted...this excuse might comes in handy one day since when I solo travel I most probably am wearing headphone biggrin.gif
Ryutaro
post Mar 15 2019, 06:22 PM

545 posts

QUOTE(KY Kiske @ Mar 15 2019, 03:14 PM)
Hey guys a little help here pls.
I'll be going to overseas soon for a trip but I got to know that one of my parcel may have some problems.
What does the status "Held at" means?
Over at Japan Post tracking, it says "Item held at inward Office of Exchange".
My item kena tahan dy? What should I do?? cry.gif
check the tracking number on pos laju? probably custom withheld it cause ur item might need to impose import tax
Ryutaro
post Mar 15 2019, 08:41 PM

545 posts

QUOTE(KY Kiske @ Mar 15 2019, 07:15 PM)
The status at poslaju shows "Import terminated Item disposed off according to sender's instruction."
What the..? What does that even mean?
personally never seen this before you need to contact poslaju through phone or email and ask them what does that message mean.
Ryutaro
post Apr 18 2019, 03:58 PM

545 posts

QUOTE(IMBeta305 @ Apr 18 2019, 02:00 PM)
My GSC Ultimate Madoka Dieded. The rod break jor.
Maybe due to cold and heat?
it is when extreme temperature changes in a very short period of time that could possibly break the rod,
else I would guess it is by external force.
What I could think of is when a figure have a relatively heavier upper body than lower body,
you need to be extremely careful when moving the figure around,
those kind of figure if you move them by simply holding on the base plate ONLY then it can very easily break said figure

This post has been edited by Ryutaro: Apr 18 2019, 03:58 PM
Ryutaro
post Apr 29 2019, 10:09 PM

545 posts

QUOTE(ikuto94 @ Apr 29 2019, 09:40 PM)
Hi, I'm not too familiar with purchasing figurines online but I am planning to get this one: https://www.amiami.com/eng/detail/?gcode=FIGURE-038296 from AmiAmi within the next few days.

Was wondering how often do figures get held up at customs nowadays? while I can understand having to pay extra tax for it, the distance I will have to travel is quite a bit and I would prefer if I could somehow avoid this.

Also, how do they determine how much extra tax I will need to pay for a specific product?

I understand that bigger sized boxes will have a higher chance of being examined?

Thanks in advance for your help.
they will get hold up because you need to pay import tax based on the price of the figurine, cant remember the formula they used so cant help u with the price need to pay, but be prepare to fork out around 100++~200++
for toys and figurine anything above RM500 will be imposed tax
for my case I let poslaju handle the payment (meaning they will help u get the figurine released from customs), then poslaju will post it to the nearest poslaju office for u to go and collect it (they charge a certain amount called handling fee so u dun need to visit custom urself)..
whether ur shipment get inspect by customs or not is completely based on luck, but yeah bigger box are more prone to get checked
Ryutaro
post Apr 30 2019, 12:52 PM

545 posts

QUOTE(ikuto94 @ Apr 30 2019, 03:30 AM)
How did Poslaju handle your package from your personal experience? Just worried that they will handle the package roughly and damage my figure. If its generally alright, it would be more convenient for me to get Poslaju handle the payment in my stead.
the outer box will inevitably have lil bit of kemek here and there, but amiami always does a great job in making sure the figure box is not damaged..generally quite impossible for figure to be damaged
Ryutaro
post May 5 2019, 04:10 PM

545 posts

QUOTE(sheushen @ May 5 2019, 12:00 PM)
People getting salty over virtual awards  doh.gif
it's all about the e-peen bro....
jokes aside
I try to stand on his perspective
he thinks that EX is not winning it fair and square by calling people to 'boost' the publicity
hence the detailed statistics that a dozen of Malaysians voting and liking EX's photo
I imagine that means he wanted a fair and square competition where neither him nor EX
ask people to vote for them and let the visitors in MFC vote do the works...

he sees EX as someone who will do anything EX could to win the vote..
well we know thats definitely not true but it's very hard to change's one view on another person

oh well a lil drama and i had fun trying to imagine his thought process
oh btw EX nice photo as always from you cheers.gif!

Ryutaro
post May 6 2019, 02:31 PM

545 posts

QUOTE(EXkurogane @ May 5 2019, 06:40 PM)
It is not against the rules. Period. Friends go vote only, it's not like I made duplicate accounts. He is from HK, and he also has his own Chinese "Army" that go vote his pics one. Dunwan to admit only.

That guy holds the record for the most gold awards in that site, he is scared that i will surpass his record.
I thought I have seen it all but apparently there are ppl who are so hypocritical sigh
purposely bringing up drama to inflict damage on your public image shakehead.gif
Ryutaro
post Jun 18 2019, 01:35 PM

545 posts

QUOTE(hayrol @ Jun 15 2019, 06:11 PM)
It's been a while since I'm posting in here. A little rant to clear up my mind.

After a long waiting, finally my 1/8 Meteora Osterreich (Phat) reach me last week.
As for my inspection, I'm notice the detail & figure paint quality is very poor. The gold & blue color on for her cloth line very poor painting & messy. Some of the MFC communities also facing the same problem.

Feel disappointing after a long waited, which is why I really hate pre-ordering figure anymore. Damn.

As for my lesson, my Altair (Gunpuku no Himegumi) will be my last pre-order figure.
is it really that bad? the MFC post i see was arguing before the figure start shipping..come give us some photo see see
Ryutaro
post Jun 18 2019, 09:00 PM

545 posts

QUOTE(hayrol @ Jun 18 2019, 06:23 PM)
hmm the other side looks perfect lol for me this is a very very tiny paint problem that I prolly wouldn't be so nit-picking about..
plus my eyesight is very bad when looking at things from afar so that could be contributing as well haha
Ryutaro
post Aug 27 2019, 04:26 PM

545 posts

QUOTE(shah_ho_nam @ Aug 27 2019, 02:13 PM)
some of it. thing is, figures are all in box. not yet open.

cheers
Just a quick suggestion to help u boost ur sales
come up with a list
MANUFACTURER | Figure Name | Condition | Price u desire to sell

good for u to keep track and also for potential buyer to see (+ u get to estimate ur earnings if u sell all of it)

just a suggestion if ur too busy then dont bother
Ryutaro
post Sep 12 2019, 11:59 AM

545 posts

QUOTE(Hasuu @ Sep 12 2019, 11:48 AM)
Ohhh boy, the one I bought from taobao came and the box was smashed beyond my expectation. Asked seller whether they could add extra packaging next time and he asked me to use Shunfeng lmao
sakurajima mai 1/7! mind to disclose how much you pay for it?
they seriously doesn't care about wrapping it up nicely so the box doesn't get squish
can't really tell if it's worth it to pay lower price but get the box squished

This post has been edited by Ryutaro: Sep 12 2019, 12:02 PM

7 Pages « < 3 4 5 6 7 >Top

0.0231sec    0.20    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th November 2025 - 01:54 AM