Amateur Radio User, Ham

anoko
post Sep 11 2008, 01:54 PM

18 posts

QUOTE(joejoney @ Sep 11 2008, 09:01 AM)
yeah yeah... no one will eating u when u TX la...

dont hv to b shy shy la... just up ur PTT then talk... that all... biggrin.gif
oso the CW, many site hv the online test lor... can test online onli...

that a good starter practice for becoming 9M

Added on September 11, 2008, 9:10 am

its call Persatuan Orang Memantau lol.. biggrin.gif biggrin.gif biggrin.gif
Good be a good boy he he he.....but what i c here most of you guys interested only on VHF and UHF why dont you guys
explore more.....why dont you guys try to monitor on HF ......!!!!
anoko
post Sep 11 2008, 02:00 PM

18 posts

QUOTE(BingYao @ Sep 11 2008, 01:56 PM)
Monitor HF need different antenna right?? Somemore need to put up high enough.. aduh how to homebrew one?
Very simple my friend for monitoring just through one long wire say about 30 to 40 feet good enough .....
u will get so many things...from 4Mhz up to 28 Mhz....

Added on September 11, 2008, 2:04 pm
QUOTE(earl-ku @ Sep 11 2008, 01:56 PM)
duit tarak ... (applies to me)

the pirate activity in HF is even better than 2m
Well if you like the hobby why dont u save a little bit and buy one receiver Sangen is quite cheap around RM480...in Singapore
This receiver u can receive broadcast...and also communication by ham ....aircraft and so on.....

Added on September 11, 2008, 2:08 pm
QUOTE(earl-ku @ Sep 11 2008, 01:56 PM)
duit tarak ... (applies to me)

the pirate activity in HF is even better than 2m
apa duit tarak.....beli rokok, camera digital...pc ...hp boleh.....

This post has been edited by anoko: Sep 11 2008, 02:08 PM
anoko
post Sep 11 2008, 03:06 PM

18 posts

[quote=santacruzer,Sep 11 2008, 03:04 PM]
[quote=anoko,Sep 11 2008, 02:00 PM]
Very simple my friend for monitoring just through one long wire say about 30 to 40 feet good enough .....
u will get so many things...from 4Mhz up to 28 Mhz....

icon_rolleyes.gif A simple dipole one end tied to window grill the other end tied to a papaya tree = RM14.

Almost every weekend there would be a contest worth checking out while 40M have too much indonesian lanun.

[/quote]

Aaaa hah....40m what freq?

anoko
post Sep 11 2008, 03:09 PM

18 posts

QUOTE(santacruzer @ Sep 11 2008, 03:08 PM)
7.000 to 7.100 Mhz
But i dont think lanun works on 7.055 ?
anoko
post Sep 11 2008, 05:29 PM

18 posts

QUOTE(santacruzer @ Sep 11 2008, 03:12 PM)
They do, try turning your antenna towards Sumatra area. Those lanun have minimum 400watts linear. Cant blame them much too, its their only means of communications I believe.
My friend 7.055 on LSB in the evening is Nusantara Net no lanun up there....most of the lanun...are below 7.035 most of them works on USB....

Added on September 11, 2008, 5:42 pm
QUOTE(santacruzer @ Sep 11 2008, 03:12 PM)
They do, try turning your antenna towards Sumatra area. Those lanun have minimum 400watts linear. Cant blame them much too, its their only means of communications I believe.
TUNE ANTENNA TOWARDS SUMATRA ...? SOMETHING NEW.....TO ME

Added on September 11, 2008, 6:59 pm
QUOTE(santacruzer @ Aug 29 2008, 11:39 AM)
If you guys are into setting up base stations. Try rebudget your radio getting into the HF arena. HF are very interesting place where you can listen to worldwide ham stations. Its slowly opening up to 9W stations too, right now in Malaysia 9W can also transmit at 6M and 10M frequencies. Know how the rest of the world talk in Ham Languages and speed up your learning curve.
My friend 100% Agree with you....Most of the Ham today are on 2 meter only a few of 9Ws are on 10M ......Bet me...HF is more
challenging and more fun 2 meter is nothing some of them talking rubbish .......I am getting sick looking at what is hapening now....and some of them try to be smart and said "Pre Amateur Radio" i dont know which clown teach them all this............sad to hear all this rubbish...15 years ago we have qualities hams....but now we have quantity....but lack of qualities...So if want to learn more about radio hams dont learn from half pass six hams or from a mamak shop....but try to get good sifus and do some readings and get one HF Receiver and do a lot of monitoring than u will learn.
Why GOD give us two ears one mouth....That shows that we have to do a lot of monitoring............
Good Luck....

This post has been edited by anoko: Sep 11 2008, 06:59 PM
anoko
post Sep 11 2008, 09:45 PM

18 posts

QUOTE(BingYao @ Sep 11 2008, 09:05 PM)
Thats my dream HF rig too. But crazyghost.. Lets get our license during Nov first.. Anyway how much does that rig cost? Nowadays.. 2m really is abit messy.. Some of them just get the license just to be on air and dont really have the enthusiasm to play with the radio.. Seriously dont you people notice that??
My friend....this are the diference between a true Radio Ham.....and those who are real Hams ......We start from SWL (Short Wave Listening) what i mean a real SWL most of the real hams... they have HF Communication Receiver. They are the real or true SWLs.....now a days...most of them are FML (Frequency Modulation Listener) they dont even owns Short Wave Receiver....and I heard there is a new term they called it SWAL. I wonder who suggest this term ? I never heard this term in my life ........ well this is what we called Malaysia Boleh......
As you guys can c even SWL carry many handys now a days......99% have VHF handys....sometimes you can see them at the mamak stall
if you see 5 of them i am sure on top of the table you can see more handys than roti canai.....hi hi hi.....looks like TONTO but bare in mind most of them are new commers SWLs or legal SWL who can talk on some comercial freq...and they called themself "Pre Amateur Radio" and guys this is another DISASTER which the new comers creat.....Guys there is no "Pre Amateur Radio" through out the world...well again this is what we called Malaysia Boleh. The funny thing they creat their own special callsign such as SC3xx For infomation "SCxxx" is an International Callsign Series for Sweden and PR is prefix for Brazil.....as some of you knows 9M AND 9Ws is for Malaysia....HS is for Thailand DU for Philiphines and so on....
I dont know what is going on now......looks like ham radio in Malaysia is going down the drain. We have smart people around who mess the whole things......Disaster....disaster...disaster......

So wakeup ....try to get some good gurus.....learn from them...and please do some reading...... may god bless all of us.

anoko
post Sep 12 2008, 06:48 AM

18 posts

QUOTE(santacruzer @ Sep 12 2008, 01:07 AM)
Its just a hobby and everyone have their own reasons to be on air. No wrong or right in hobby, too much regulation just takes the fun out of it.
My personal reason is pure technical and see how far I can make contacts with homebrewing . Gadgets are fun and I believe lowyat net is founded on this basis. Commercial bands have its own merits and its contained within Malaysia and may just reach certain places outside our borders. No biggies if you ask me. Rather than having pirates jamming up frequencies.
Yap i agree with you everyone have their own reason. Congratulation to u because u like to homebrew.
But than this is not a remote control hobby or fishing.....WE are talking about Ham Radio
we communicate with over sea...so we hv to follow some rules and guide lines.....Yes comercial are comercial but dont mix
comercial with hams...the problem now they mix it....and they call themself Hams....This becoming rojak....Lately I received
a phone call from an old times saying that he heard some pirate using 2 meter ham band at night....So this is where things are
not in oder......ones their repeater are crouded they will come to our freq ....some might say tidak apa......
are we going to allow this......? In future.....they will say why must we take RAE....ini Hoby Ma....why dont we pay certain fees
and wecan go anywhre we like....
There are a few things we need to consider...we have Rules and Regulation....and in amateur radio there is also what we
called UNWRITTEN LAW...example If you go on 40 meter and below we will work on LSB. There is no rules saying u cannot work
on USB. And if you go on 20 meter and above we go on USB.....this thing is not written in CMA 1998 MCMC ...ITU or IARU.....

anoko
post Sep 13 2008, 06:30 AM

18 posts

QUOTE(BingYao @ Sep 13 2008, 01:36 AM)
Anyone from LYN involved in the checknet session on V38..?
V38 OPS....so soly.....FORGOT LAH.....

Added on September 13, 2008, 6:55 amHi Anyone of you interested in monitoring Aircraft?

This post has been edited by anoko: Sep 13 2008, 06:55 AM
anoko
post Sep 13 2008, 06:17 PM

18 posts

QUOTE(BingYao @ Sep 13 2008, 05:05 PM)
Yes yes I will record down every aircraft that pass by and their details.. Then check on flightstats for more details.. My place near KLIA so most of the planes will be approaching. Nice!
MY dear friend I dont think u are interested....Please dont waste your time and my time so solly.......
anoko
post Sep 14 2008, 08:11 AM

18 posts

QUOTE(BingYao @ Sep 13 2008, 10:59 PM)
Mind to elaborate further?
Ok my friend let me share with you something here. I was monitoring for more than 20 over years....I start monitoring since i was teen age. Most of my monitoring is on HF. Example broadcast station..we can receive..BBC. Voice of America...Radio Australia...Radio Netherland..Algeria and so on. NEWS well we get first hand news....
One of my favourite is I like to monitor on SSB....I have been monitoring Military, Police, Custom, Marine...secreat service , Air Craft and so on
even at one time when US Air Force was striking Iraq I was monitoring it live on the air.....Through my experience the most interesting
in communication is monitoring on Aviation Frequency. Among the Airman or Pilots they call it Aviation Language...i Love to monitor them.
For information aircraft is on VHF AM and also on HF SSB depend on which air route or sector.....they are.
Generally speaking, for VHF high flying aircraft can be received up to 200 miles away. As rule of a thumb, frequencies below 123Mhz are allocated to Tower and approach units and those above 123Mhz to Air Traffic Control Centre (ATCC) although there are exceptions to this.
For example the Air Traffic Control Tower which located at KLIA only guide aircraft take off and landing. and also ground communication with an aircraft. Any aircraft which fly 5,000 feet and above ATCC (Air Traffic Control Centre) which is located at Subang airport will take over......for info
this ATCC is not located at the Subang Tower at terminal three but they are located on the other side of the building. For your info i have been to this
place and talk to some of the ATC (Air traffic controller)

Example if one aircraft from KLIA going to fly to Bangkok....after given clearence from the control tower at KLIA.on 118.500
Example: ...."Lumpur TOWER this is Malaysian two three four....we are ready for take off..... Tower will reply ..." Malaysian two three four Climb 5,000 ft Report Lumpur Approch North on one two four two....You are clear for take off......

Example when the aircraft airborn at 5,000 ft they have to change to other freq example if the aircraft enroute to the north they
have to report to Lumpur Approch North on one two four two or they might say One Two Four Decimal Two (124.2) ...
Example when the aircraft MH234 rech at Flight Level 5,000 feet they will call on 124.2.....
......"Lumpur Approch North Malaysian Two Three Four on One Two Four Decimal Two..... the ATC will reply Malaysian Two Three Four Climb at Flight Level One Four Zero(14,000ft) right turn track direct KIMAT. and so on.....

Any aircarft enroute to Kota Kinabalu...after pasing certain miles towards south cina sea...the pilot have to report to Singapore ATCC on HF (High Frequency) on Eight Niner Four Two 8942........
For your info while typing this info at the same time i am also monitoring on 124.2 very heavy traffic now !!! and i am also monitoring on 9.435MHZ (HF) listening on broadcast...FEBC MANILA transmit in Indonesian Language.....

So there are alot of things to monitor...........
If you have a receiver try to monitor some of this aviation frequency.
to name a few....
Bare in mind there are on AM mode...
Hopefully you get some info now.....Enjoy yourself and have a nice weekend......

anoko
post Sep 15 2008, 05:53 PM

18 posts

QUOTE(someone_stupid @ Sep 15 2008, 04:52 PM)
wow anoko tatz quite an explanation!
anyway anyone knows where i can check for list of callsigns in malaysia?
Callsign List heeeemmmm...... Have anyone of you heard about CALLBOOK?

anoko
post Sep 15 2008, 07:03 PM

18 posts

QUOTE(someone_stupid @ Sep 15 2008, 06:04 PM)
yea tat list like nt quite accurate i mean as in nt quite updated wan
callbook? is tat a software?
He he he....Callbook..is not a software..I dont think most of you guys knows what is a callbook.....
I will explain to u later lahhhh.....
anoko
post Sep 15 2008, 09:15 PM

18 posts

Yes is a list of callsign complete with address...so that easy for us to sent QSL card ma.......

Added on September 15, 2008, 9:22 pmHam Radio is not just QSO on 2 meter.....there are many things to explore...What you guys know is IC-2200, FT8900, IC-706MKIIG ...IC-7000. Do you know what is this.... NRD545, R5000, RX340....?????

This post has been edited by anoko: Sep 15 2008, 09:22 PM
anoko
post Sep 15 2008, 09:41 PM

18 posts

QUOTE(Empathy @ Sep 10 2008, 07:08 PM)
I am not a HAM but I been monitoring the 2 meter band for a long time. It all started during my school days when I love to monitor the shortwave. Many years ago I bought a scanner and that's when I started to monitor the 2 meters. It's kind of addictive ...monitoring almost every night...My antenna is Diamond using coaxial cable LMR-400. My scanner is Icom. I also love to monitor the shortwave utility stations.
Nice to hear that u like to do monitoring especially on the utility stations very interesting!....But so sorry some of us here might ask silly question .....monitor only ? Why not transmitting.....? They dont know that monitoring is more interesting than transmitting.....
anoko
post Sep 15 2008, 09:56 PM

18 posts

QUOTE(earl-ku @ Sep 15 2008, 09:28 PM)
Anoko, i am not as rich as you to have played those sets

old but very good sets which would cover almost any bands ...

you dont have to ask questions like that with google, i can give you at least 10 page introduction on any sets ...

thats the whole reason of a forum ... to share ...

and most importantly this is amateur band ... amateur band does not cover air band of 108 - 137 ...

Added on September 15, 2008, 9:37 pm
From what i see best if you would start somewhere ... at least have some experience on it before exploring a wider fields ... and not to mention spending more money ...

Exposing oneself to more sets, more antennas and then only move on to HF would be a better option ... when you move on to HF you don only take into consideration of what you practice in 2m ... its a whole more, propagation being the most important ... being able to read charts to determine the best propagation to Tx and Rx ...

but as for me most importantly ...  the amount of money thats is needed to get a HF working for Rx and Tx ... example a decent HF set will set you back as much as 2k ... antenna 500? antenna tuner 2k?
My dear friend I am not rich too....i started my swl with an old junk HF receiver Valve set....What i am trying to say here is if you are really a real ham you should invest on a receiver first...you can buy those second hand receiver which cost you less than 1K sometimes when u are lucky you can get less than RM400.00 . I started my radio ham with just RM100.00 using a thumb wheel handy that time which dont have memory at all.......
Antenna i built my own ...at the moment if you want to go on HF try to monitor first...you dont need an ATU....I myself 99% of my RIG are second hand i cannot afford to buy a new rigs.....i built my own HF antenna...and also my 2 meter antenna. I dont spend RM500 to buy antenna. RM500 i can buy ATU .....Even the manual ATU you can built your own. What u need is just variable capacitor and
a coil.....So you dont need to be rich to become a ham.....

Added on September 15, 2008, 10:04 pmThe reason I am here is just to share some knowledge with you gentleman. But if you think that i am a trouble maker....i just leave u gentleman with what u are. But what i c here is. I think i need to give some good advice....how to be a good radio ham there are ways to solve some of you problems......Most of our people here today when there is a problem they will ran away from it. For me i am difference when there is a problem we go for problem solving...we will try to give some solution....if you like.....otherwise.....I will leave this forum....to the youngster...who think they are great..!!!! 73....

Added on September 15, 2008, 10:10 pmAnoko, i am not as rich as you to have played those sets

old but very good sets which would cover almost any bands ...

you dont have to ask questions like that with google, i can give you at least 10 page introduction on any sets ...

thats the whole reason of a forum ... to share ...

and most importantly this is amateur band ... amateur band does not cover air band of 108 - 137 ...

My dear friend who says so the amateur band does not cover the air band....I bought IC2200 a few years ago it covers the air band...most of the dual band which most of the 9Ws USED TODAY also covers the air band....

This post has been edited by anoko: Sep 15 2008, 10:10 PM
anoko
post Sep 16 2008, 08:08 PM

18 posts

Dear All,

I spend more than 11 years on monitoring…huuu so long …(think about it 11 years as a SWL) than only I took my RAE and got my ticket and until today I still love to do monitoring……Why 11 years…because at that time nobody guide me…no internet…books no sifu no workshop etc…exam only in KL and further more I don’t have enough money….
That is history…got my ticket way back in the 80s. Now let me share with you what I have learn ….

Hams are divided into a few categories to name a few….:

1. Those who likes to listen…even though they have Callsign..
2. Those who likes to Talk and “rag chew”
3. Those who likes homebrew.
4. Those who likes to go on CW 90% of their QSO is on CW
5. Those who likes to go on satellite
6. Those who likes to go on microwave
7. Those who likes to go on ATV
8. Those who likes to go on Digital
9. Those who likes to go on moonbounce….
10. Those who likes to collect old stuff …
11. Those who likes to go on IOTA
12. Those who likes to go on contesting.
13. Those who likes to participate in Emergency Communication./Disaster Coms

Yes two meter is the best entry…a two meter rig will cost u around RM800 to 1,000 plus + + including antenna and power supply. For your info the best entry is HF receiver with power supply will cost you less than RM500…..and if you ask those senior Hams I am very sure they will agree with me. A scanner which cover 2 meter and above will cost you more and is not available in 9M2 land….

Why two meter …..for simple reason two meter set is easily available. I don’t see any reason why we cannot start our hobby …from listening on HF that is why for a biginner to radio ham we called them SWL (Short Wave Listening) I repeat again SWL…SWL….
Why we call them SWL the fomula is, a radio ham should start from SWL.
Listening on Short Wave not on two meters……. Otherwise we might call them FML (Frequency Modulation Listener) Maybe time have change maybe we should change the word from SWL to FML…….
Some people might said if one cannot even cover 2m how to move on to other bands?

This is where we must understand the Definition of SWL……and the Definition of Radio Amateur

The point here is, the difference between the old Hams and the new hams is…..we old timers started our hobby by listening on HF. And most of the old timers learn a lot of things from the HF. The problem here today 99.99% of ham today started their radio Ham from 2 meter FM. They are only interested to talk rather than to dig what is inside the Radio Hams what I mean is Knowledge behind the Radio Amateur they are a lot of things to learn. If some one ask what is 80meter band or 17 meter band?? Who will know this…maybe a few. I don’t blame anybody here…..looks what is going on today lack of quality…..the reason why I like to emphasize you gentlemen to go on HF is to gain more knowledge on Ham, by doing so you will learn a lot of things not only homebrew your antenna but you can also homebrew ATU, Pre amp, learn more about propagation an so on.

I would like to share something here during my good old days as SWL I learn to construct my own G5RV (Multiband HF antenna) through listening on HF. What happen was in the evening one day 2 station was on air on 40 meter one guy is a new comer he ask the old timer how to construct Multiband antenna than the other station said you have pen and paper…..than I quickly get ready my pen and paper he explain it through the air and I manage to copy all of it….after a few days I construct my own G5RV multiband antenna until today I can remember by hard how to construct the antenna without any diagram…what I am trying to say here…through my experienced you will gain some knowledge by listening on HF

I can see some of the hams today have more than 2nos. of VHF sets and some of them even have more than that….they even have dual band triple band and so on. But they don’t have HF receiver…pity them maybe their exposure is more on two meters….cannot blame them also because they are serounded by two meter wave hi hi hi…That is why I am here try to shift your mindset to HF don’t stick to two meters. I don’t say you have to stop your two meters…but try to balance it….I bet you HF is more trill than 2 meters like what our friend said……So far I have trained a few 9Ws…to go on HF and most of them are happy they even have contacts on 10meter SSB and showed me the QSL card they received plus some green stamps and IRCs…and now they know what is a “green stamp” and what is “IRC” and guess what they said to me….brother what you said is true HF is more interesting …….and they learn a lot from it…..Now this 9Ws knows… HS1 , 4S7, BY1, 7A ,VK3, IK5 and so on. Now they know this prefix comes from which country……They even follow me when I organize Dxpedition. Some of the 9Ws are really good they are knowledgeable and very hard working….. I don’t say here most of 9Ms they knows everything some of them might not and some don’t even own HF set…….

For your information I and a few old timers have met MCMC last month. We discuss about reducing the speed of CW….We also request that the RM60 to be abolish..and we also request that those 9Ws who hold more than two years AA to allow them to works on 160Meter, 80 meter and 40 meter…provided they attend some workshop. This is to give them exposure on HF…..and a lot of things also have been discuss with the higher level staff in MCMC.I also proposed to MCMC to form up “Radio Amateur Development And Advisory Council” So be patient we are trying our best to help all of you. We are doing this not for name and glamour….but we love all of you and we love the hobby. My dear brothers and sisters Amateur Radio is in our blood. We are doing this not for the societies. clubs or individuals but we are doing this for the nations…..My humble apologize if I hurt anyone here………….73.

anoko
post Sep 17 2008, 06:03 AM

18 posts

QUOTE(santacruzer @ Sep 16 2008, 09:32 AM)
My RM14 HF dipole antenna can work pretty well but for serious monitoring as you guys called it, I have yet to know of any cheap directional antenna out there. Homebrew or commercially available. HF sets can be cheap but how about antenna?
The cheapest homebrew Tribander Yagi I know and built up cost me no less than 1k and cheapest entry level commercially available is 3.7k. AND you need minimum turning radius of 30ft on roof top. Most terrace houses in Malaysia is about 24ft wide and unless you have a very very nice neighbour or a detached house. I have not include the rotator. Cheapest rotator out there that can turn a 20kg antenna RM550.
People tend to shy away from HF due to this costing but when they got bitten then they will venture there automatically. No need to belittle VHF/UHF people here. I recommended a re-budget and not kicking them in the balls for staying within 2M.
Don’t worry about the antenna…If you are so serious about it no need for you to spend
3.7K for the yagi. I spend less than that…..I am very lucky even though my terrace house is about 24 feet wide I can still put up my 4 element Yagi the longest element is 26 feet.
If you are interested with the tri band yagi it cost you less than RM700 I have tested this tri band Yagi two month ago……at one of the Dxpedition. Talking about rotator u can modified some motors or use servo motor some of the old timers does’t used rotator they use “Armstrong Method”……..there are so many things u can do don’t limit ourself.
During 1991…92…93 when propagation is good I used to work Europe and US using my
Simple dipole because that time I cannot afford to have a Yagi and Rotator…….You can build your own Delta Loop Antenna by using electrical wires and for info this antenna performs better than the Yagi ……and its very cheap less than RM150.

I don’t belittle VHF/UHF people here but what I am trying to say here do explore some other frequency which is more interesting and learn more things there………I am trying to share some of my experienced and knowledge, even some of the 9Ws which I met said they are getting board listening and talking on VHF…..….we cannot stop people from doing what they like……If you are happy and satisfied what you are today than we cannot stop you….just enjoy yourself….and be happy with it.

anoko
post Sep 17 2008, 06:02 PM

18 posts

QUOTE(BingYao @ Sep 17 2008, 03:57 PM)
Can someone recommend me a place to fix me mobile rig within the klang valley? Thanks!!
Very simple ...Try to join some organization.....or you can visit the flea market in PJ every 1st Sunday of the month, they are many helpful friends there... i am sure they can help you....

0.0525sec    1.40    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 23rd December 2025 - 01:13 AM