7 Pages  1 2 3 > » Bottom

> Military Thread V20

SUSKLboy92
post Mar 2 2016, 03:33 PM

189 posts

QUOTE(Fat & Fluffy @ Mar 2 2016, 01:32 PM)
all 3 are non-citizens... thinking how foreigners can serve in the SAF? hehehe...
non-citizen =/= non-PR
SUSKLboy92
post Mar 4 2016, 08:25 PM

189 posts

QUOTE(marfccy @ Mar 4 2016, 04:04 PM)
US has about 20 operational CVs? provided mixed classes, not fully CV

i think losing one also they get farked up real bad
10 CVNs (Nuclear) and 10+ other LPD/LPH which mainly operate helis and 4-6 Harriers

Just like in WW2, US can happily trade their CVNs with Russia, India or China's CVs 1 for 1 and still come out winner, even 2 for 1 also they won't cry, some more the Nimitz class is set to be replaced with Ford class soon.
SUSKLboy92
post Mar 4 2016, 08:42 PM

189 posts

After looking into our Malaysian Army structure I am a little confused.

Kor Armor Diraja is said to have 5 regiments. Naturally 1 regiment operates our PT-91s. Other listed equipment are:
26 FV101 Alvis Scorpion 90 (Para Armd Sqdn)
184 Sibmas 90 IFV (160 90mm, 24 ARV?)
460 Condor APC
80 Bv206
103 K200 KIFV
211 ACV300 Adnan

In what way are they organised into the other 4 regts? At about 80+ vehicles per battalion I can make them fit, sort of. But as far as I can see these are 'empty' IFVs and APCs, except Sibmas 90. Are they intended to mate up with infantry battalions when deployed? And where will the 250 Deftech AV8s go?

Mintak ajar skit...

This post has been edited by KLboy92: Mar 4 2016, 08:51 PM
SUSKLboy92
post Mar 5 2016, 08:02 PM

189 posts

QUOTE(DDG_Ross @ Mar 5 2016, 01:11 AM)
dun take face value, most of the sibmas and some of the condor is ady retired,

the armor themselves is considered a "support" elements, so they are always deployed alongside other infantry battalion and other support elements under their corresponding division command
Yeah guessed as much, they are robust but also ancient biggrin.gif some sources say jsut about 200 Condor still running
QUOTE(heavyduty @ Mar 5 2016, 07:30 PM)
KAD administrative bang bukan field formation.the other 4 are combined with infantry regiments forming mechanised brigades

Scorpion dengan stormer are with Para.
I understand, I am asking about how they organise for field deployment. Good idea that, a little armour goes a long way with Para. Wonder if we have the airdrop capability brows.gif

So when forming brigades the armour regiments mate with the infantry battalions to form mechanised battalions. At 14 APCs/IFVs per company and 6 companies (we still use square battalion? A, B, C, D Coys plus Support Coy some more?) I can imagine about 80+ vehicles per battalion. So with that, and looking at a force of about 200 Condors, 100 KIFVs, 200 Adnans, that's 5 mech inf battalions...?

What do we use the Bv206 for then?
SUSKLboy92
post Mar 7 2016, 06:49 PM

189 posts

QUOTE(thpace @ Mar 7 2016, 08:50 AM)
Any news from rt or sputnik need to have a massive bucket of salt because like i say licking own butt and praising your self how clean it is.

Of course bbc and other western news outlet will hardly praise russian effort in syria. Again, is western opposition even praise them then it is really effective  then

No argument then
Western opposition also got to see who is talking... for example US RAND corporation and UK RUSI is probably better informed than Huff Post and the 'Daily Wail' whistling.gif

+10 about not trusting RT, sputnik, tass or their proxies like russia insider, southfront
SUSKLboy92
post Mar 9 2016, 02:47 PM

189 posts

QUOTE(SouzaDE @ Mar 9 2016, 02:41 PM)
We can re-position all the bases to face South China Sea but be prepared for the straight to be re-named from "Selat Melaka" to  "Selat Sumatra" one day.
+1

So, 5 classes of combat and amphib ships la. Okays... MCM? hydro survey? replen?

littoral this littoral that... whatever happened to patrol fucking boat vmad.gif
SUSKLboy92
post Mar 9 2016, 03:13 PM

189 posts

QUOTE(MilitaryMadness @ Mar 9 2016, 02:51 PM)
Probably coined by the same people who coined the phrase 'kinetic military action'. laugh.gif

I think the 'multi support ships' cover those jobs. The job scope seems pretty broad.
Mehsia don't have to follow mah... unless we really do use "aksi kinetik ketenteraan" laugh.gif

If we really can consolidate then it'll be fantastic... but replen and MCM can combine roles? hmm.gif at least need 6th class unless the Littoral Mission Ship is not just patrol boat but actually MCM/patrolboat, which would be verrryy interesting
SUSKLboy92
post Mar 9 2016, 03:35 PM

189 posts

QUOTE(MilitaryMadness @ Mar 9 2016, 03:24 PM)
I think these classes do not refer to a single ship class, but rather refers to ship designations. I can see probably 2-3 ship types of each class under this revamp. Different ships under the same designation. For example the term NGPV can be used as a blanket term for several class of frigate-class ships. LCS can be used for any type of OPV/Corvette-class ship, stuff like that.

Surely they don't mean RMN LCS only one single type of ship, NGPV one single type of ship, like that. Because it is rather ridiculous and silly if RMN have 5 ship types only in the entire fleet.  laugh.gif
Yeah well, see how it develops. Certainly a good idea if we finally do move away from picking up odd ships here and there and limited production runs of various designs.... but as always with Mehsia, planning excellent but we have to see how its executed whistling.gif
SUSKLboy92
post Mar 10 2016, 12:01 AM

189 posts

QUOTE(thpace @ Mar 9 2016, 05:05 PM)
Still got hope for a flat top hahaha.
A kind of flat top can lah, helicopter ro/ro... maybe 3-4 heli spots, 1 coy of tanks. Good for sending IFVs or even Pendekars to East Msia.

I like the stealthed boat bays and bridge wings on that Gowind. Got confidence in the stealth design smile.gif
SUSKLboy92
post Mar 11 2016, 06:13 PM

189 posts

Falklands War has already been extensively analysed, there's a public report that details all the points stacked against HMS Sheffield that day.

On top of all the points already stated above, Sheffield was apparently making a 1 minute long satellite communication which interfered with her radar at the exact time of the attack. Furthermore the Argentines also possessed a same type destroyer with Sea Dart and the radar they had bought from the Brits, and practised on this extensively to know exactly how to defeat the radar; flying at x height and y speed in z weather etc etc which was actually lower than their Super Etendard radar could track, they had an AEW aircraft vectoring them in... which again was missed by the Harriers on CAP patrol for some reason I forget.

Bottom line, the Argentines fought well and got very lucky a couple of times. But well, so did the British. That is just war.
SUSKLboy92
post Mar 11 2016, 06:20 PM

189 posts

QUOTE(BorneoAlliance @ Mar 11 2016, 05:08 AM)
Vintage attack planes used in Vietnam are brought out of retirement to help US special forces defeat ISIS in Iraq

http://www.dailymail.co.uk/news/article-34...-ISIS-Iraq.html
So? apa titik Daily Wail? B52 also Vietnam War era what... and as has been pointed out, fighting ISIS with OV-10s and even A-10s is nothing like flying in a modern AA/AD zone.
QUOTE(DDG_Ross @ Mar 11 2016, 07:29 AM)
some of the ships got different weapons, some got russian gatling, looks like they still tinkering what to put on it
Kirov reporting! My god, what year is it anyway?! 2016 or 1976?!
QUOTE(thpace @ Mar 11 2016, 09:11 AM)
By the time fully operational

India and russia will already deploy brahmos 2 hypersonic missile
Still a very strong refutal to that 'consultant' who said USN can't hit anything over 70 miles... Some abilities kept quiet only, and besides Tomahawk ASM and LRASM coming soon. And with SM-6 an Arleigh Burke could launch saturation attacks like crazy, the weakness of the Russisn type supersonic missiles is that they're so big there's only so many shots they can carry.

This post has been edited by KLboy92: Mar 11 2016, 06:23 PM
SUSKLboy92
post Mar 12 2016, 08:49 AM

189 posts

QUOTE(thpace @ Mar 12 2016, 08:36 AM)
i guess even sputnik (russian media) mistake typhon class with akula class sub laugh.gif
to be fair, they're both named Akula laugh.gif

Haven't heard much from USN submarine fleet. No upgrades to 688i? How many left in the fleet I wonder
SUSKLboy92
post Mar 12 2016, 06:29 PM

189 posts

Re: North Korea, what are the chances we have a Red October situation here? laugh.gif
SUSKLboy92
post Mar 16 2016, 07:11 AM

189 posts

QUOTE(Frozen_Sun @ Mar 15 2016, 05:04 PM)
Just set up 12 teams of light, portable ATGM...like Metis-M on the landing beach. After all 48 missiles fired...then withdraw to the next defense line.

Huge losses on the attacking side.

range of Metis doesn't fill me with confidence
QUOTE(IReallyNeed Answers @ Mar 15 2016, 08:32 PM)
Have the 35 improve recently,

All I know is that the f35 is unbelievably bad overall last time

Or sinkie buy to counter indon su35?

Or because want Uncle Sam happy happy?
F35 is not completely shit IMHO
but yeah... sounds like SAF trying to justify budget and reason for existence whistling.gif
SUSKLboy92
post Mar 16 2016, 08:16 AM

189 posts

QUOTE(Frozen_Sun @ Mar 16 2016, 07:39 AM)
Metis-M has longer range than the original Metis...roughly equal to tank gun range. Enough.
Tanks guns shoot further these days too. Just sayin'
QUOTE(MilitaryMadness @ Mar 16 2016, 07:47 AM)
I think you'll have to choose whether you use shorter-ranged portable light infantry-based ATGM like Metis-M or heavier, longer-ranged ATGM like TOW that are larger and much more difficult to carry around.

If your tactics depend of fast hit and run infantry tactics, a lighter weapon would probably be more appreciated. Heavy ATGMs are really suited best for vehicle mountings or fixed ambushes, not fast infantry action. You could always mount them on a truck or Humvee, but vehicles are easier to detect and destroy than small units of 3-4 soldiers.
True enough, and in denser terrain it should do fine. But for the purpose of countering amphib attack? Its no substitute for e.g. NSM coastal battery
SUSKLboy92
post Mar 16 2016, 10:56 AM

189 posts

QUOTE(MilitaryMadness @ Mar 16 2016, 10:15 AM)
It would go without saying that the beach and any immediate inland defenses in question would be under heavy air and naval attack even before the landings begin.

As the suppression attacks would no doubt be lifted before the actual landing wave lands, it is easier to embed and infiltrate the coastal area with small, scattered tank-hunter infantry teams on foot with light ATGMs rather than vehicle-mounted heavy ATGMs that would undoubtedly attract the attention of patrolling CAS airplanes supporting the landings.

As in Normandy in 1944, small teams of German tank-killer infantry armed with Panzerfaust grenade launchers did significantly much more damage to allied forces than Panzers who were mostly destroyed on their way to the area by patrolling allied CAS airplanes.
True that. ATGMs like Metis would work well on the beach-head armour. But like the Argentine objectives at Falklands, I was thinking of going for the LPDs and/or even LCACs/LCUs to deny followup and strand the initial wave...
SUSKLboy92
post Mar 16 2016, 12:22 PM

189 posts

QUOTE(MilitaryMadness @ Mar 16 2016, 11:19 AM)
I don't think that will work, the longer you delay hitting the initial wave, the more time it gives the landing force to consolidate. The best time is to hit them the moment the first soldier lands on the beach amid the confusion and fog of war.

Interestingly, Marshal Rommel was fully committed to this approach during the D-Day landings. His superiors ordered for tanks to be held back inland and only deployed to engage the allies when the allies broke out of Normandy. Rommel argued allied tactical air power would neutralize their tanks even before they can be deployed to the area. Turns out he was right.
If possible then yes it should be done. But can't always predict where the first wave lands, just like Normandy. So priority IMHO is take out the LPDs and LCUs. To this day amphib capability even of USN cannot put ashore and support anything bigger than a battalion, and landing ops always presume 3-4 days time is needed to build up supplies (though I understand they're working hard to fix this). If we make choking that lifeline a priority within that time period we can limit the effectiveness of the landed troops. Attack indirectly not head-on.
SUSKLboy92
post Mar 17 2016, 05:28 AM

189 posts

QUOTE(cunnilinguist @ Mar 17 2016, 12:33 AM)
No they are not. At least not how you're thinking. When Rheinmetall introduced the L55, the focus is on penetration power, with range increase being an added bonus (because increased gun length=longer range)

You can only get significant increase in gun range by employing gun-launched ATGM
True, but you don't need super penetration to kill a missile team or even ATGM-armed IFV. Metis-M has a 2km range, standard L55 range is 2.5km with older rounds, probably more now. Bushmaster 3km+. Hell even Mk 19 40mm AGL goes out to 1.5km+. Point is, Metis-M isn't that amazing any more, we should shop for Kornet or the Chinese knockoff brows.gif

Speaking of which, what weapons do our infantry battalion weapons coy carry? Do all squads carry Milkor MGL or just certain battalions or just GGK?
SUSKLboy92
post Mar 18 2016, 08:24 AM

189 posts

QUOTE(thpace @ Mar 18 2016, 12:00 AM)
NASAMS 2 would be better for base defence
Mmhmm looks good, even uses better AMRAAM than our F18s

but seems to be merely fantasy fleet, sighhhh doh.gif
SUSKLboy92
post Mar 18 2016, 08:48 AM

189 posts

QUOTE(thpace @ Mar 18 2016, 08:43 AM)
Our f18 is geared toward land attack role.
The amraam is just a completion for any air self defence need on the f18. The one that will doing the air to air will be our  mkm
Hmmm dyou think Western armies overlooked this area for too long? Their SAM units like... tak berapa cukup even including MANPADs hmm.gif

7 Pages  1 2 3 > » 
Bump Topic Topic ClosedOptions New Topic

0.0821sec    0.55    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 5th December 2025 - 09:04 AM